(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

blessedmommy & Brenda

Yes I promise I won't feed fish maw to Jac again. That time I felt she very pitiful as we were eating the nice food but she was eating the pacifier, so I fed her a few spoon.... Now whenever we go out, I'll bring some baby food, so she won't get bored.

can anyone tell me how to cook porridge with jap rice ?

shld I put more rice than normal rice ?

more water than cooking normal rice ?

duration ?

can I cook it with slow cooker ?

i heard jap rice is not easily digestable, so only give bb during lunch ya ???

ilovebabies

Can answer part of your questions. I ask my maid use slower cooker to cook porridge using Japaneses rice. Make sure you add hot water, and it is ready to server about 2 hrs later.

Diana Tks !!

but u need more water than normal rice ?

do u need more jap rice to make the same amount of porridge we cook with normal rice ?

u feed jap rice for jac's dinner ?

btw

why do u need to add hot water ?
the water is already boiled right ? by adding boiled water, the water is boiled the 2nd time.. which is not good right ?

ilb,
i think its bcos Diana is using slow cooker, thats why add hot water to slow cooker. If you add tepid water, it will take very very long to boil in the slow cooker.

ilb & diana

I use normal tap water when i cook the jap rice using slow cooker.

it is only when i need to add water half way thru the cooking den i add cooked water.

ilovebabies

I feed Jac jap rice for the whole day. I'm not sure whether it's difficult to digest as Jac has no problem to poo poo. Angeline is right, if add tap water, it takes long long time to boil. But if using hot water, if we cook at 7am, by 9am sth, the porridge is ready to serve. Like this, my jac has fresh porridge to eat everyday.

<font color="aa00aa"><font size="+1">j@@n</font></font>

im interested in the small thermo mug u mentioned. do u hv the model no. or a pic? me oso dun like to bring big things :p

Angeline, Diana

I know hot water speed up the process and I agree too. But once water is boiled, it is considered dead water. Not advisable to boiled it twice. It was in the news quite some time ago.

anyway I use tap water to cook the porridge which takes me slightly more than 2 hrs.

ilovebabies

You are a very careful mommy. Me so exhausted at the end of the day, don't bother to think so much liao. Like this, my husband still always complain I'm a perfectionist!

ilb,
can share with me what was the reason cannot 're-boil'?

If i don't let the water 'cool down' inbetween, it should be ok hor? What I do is I will use my electric kettle to boil the tap water and once it boils (less than 3 mins) I will immediately transfer the water into the slow cooker.

Logically speaking, the water is kept at hot temperature just like if it boils in the slow cooker and continue to keep hot in the slow cooker. So should be ok rite?

Diana

This knowledge is passed on to me by my hubby ! He tells me never to re-boil water lor ..

Angeline

When i cook porridge with my slow cooker, I turn to HIGH setting and the water actually boils (i use tap water). So I reckon I shld never add boiled water to it. As long as it is boiled once, the water is considered "dead".

errr according to my hubby, he says it involves the ions and stuffs, and cause some chemical reaction in the human body. That's what he recalled from the news lah .. sorry I dont have a better explanation.

ok, one more pix here to show... see if really look like peachie's clarence.

792399.jpg

btw, my boy is named Asher.

EATING FISH EYE, isn't that one of the challenges in FEAR FACTOR??

i am quite scare to go SALE nowadays... when i see so much crowd and the sizes are running out, i juz grab whatever left. always end up buying the wrong things.

mommy to 5Js: yes, i am also member at XXXsupplies. the SEPT BB thread is quite quiet... so i am here. hope i have the energy to catch up- this thread moves so fast.

Preparing Meat or Fish
Rexababies, i usually cook the fish with the porriage. hope to make the porriage more 'flavourful'. for veg, only add into porriage b4 feeding (veg when cooked for too long will turn yellow)... maybe other mummies have better ideas

JOON, i nicknamed myself WOOFWOOF as i love dogs...btw, my ASHER is also born in the Year of DOG

YUNA, abt my boy's hair- my DH and i are joking that our boy's only selling point is his hair (cos he is not handsome) poor BB!

Hey hey hey, mommies!
we are back from fabulous NZ...had an awesome time in Auckland, Piha and Rotorua. Hunny believes it is an excellent place for retirement and I am not disagreeing violently. Will post some photos if I do eventually get off my fat ass to load them up.

I am terribly lazy to go through the llllooonnngggg archives, just scanned through today photos and <font color="0000ff">j@@n</font>, I love your touch-ups pixs - so funny! Mind awfully doing a couple for my little one? :p

Speaking of my little one, her recent development has been rather interesting, she has been doing the "humping" motion, which is pretty embarassing if you ask me. She is on all fours and kinda rocked front and back! I think that's one too many Animal Planet episodes she caught :p Either that or she spied on hubby and me!!

Also, for the first time and hopefully last, poor baby fell off the bed onto a carpetted wooden floor in a quaint little bed & breakfast we stayed in and for a couple of seconds, I think hubby and my heart either beat so fast we had heartburn or stopped completely. It happened within all of two seconds and man, you should have heard her wails...totally heart-wrenching.

BTW for those who want to get the thermos flasks or other items in Isetan sale, let me know coz I can asked my mom who is slogging there to get for us at an additional X% from sale price.

<font color="0000ff">phoebe</font>
I shall transfer the money tonight but $14.73 seem awfully low for 3 items of clothing, you sure tabulation's right??

<font color="0000ff">Hi Jerene</font>

Welcome back to SG. I know what you mean by the humping motion. Dylan is going thru that now as well. I still remembered laughing at my nephew who was going thru this last year I laughed at my bro and asked why he let his kid spy on them etc. so now their turn to laugh back at me.

jerene
U'r v funny. Imagine the baby spying on your x-rated activities!

My girl has done the "humping" motion very often one or two weeks back (very much to my initial embarrassment). I think the baby is testing her strength in hands & legs before crawling forward. She is one of those babies who did the reverse crawling first.

Pls post pixs of NZ.. Hubby wants to visit some of his relatives there either this year or next year. Heard that the people are very friendly over there!

<font color="ff6000">SPREES UPDATE </font>

Kindly inform me if information posted is incorrect. Thanks.

My bank acccount for transfer is
DBS Saving Plus 020-1-027024

<font color="0000ff">WALLDECORSHOPS SPREE </font>
- xena $30.89 <font color="ff0000">PAID</font>
- jamie $60.22 <font color="ff0000">PAID</font>
- Alicia $40.15 <font color="ff0000">PAID</font>
- jasmine $7.67 <font color="ff0000">PAID</font>

<font color="0000ff">AMAZON.COM WALL BORDER </font>
- e-ling $77.47 <font color="ff0000">PAID</font>
- phoebe $77.47 <font color="ff0000">PAID</font>

<font color="0000ff">OLD NAVY SPREE #4 </font>
- diana $38.73 <font color="ff0000">PAID</font>
- brenda $115.48 <font color="ff0000">PAID</font>
- cheekz $76.40 <font color="ff0000">PAID</font>
- doreen $24.80 <font color="ff0000">PAID</font>
- xena $34.81 <font color="ff0000">PAID, EXCESS $24.30 </font>

<font color="0000ff">OLD NAVY SPREE #5 </font>
- selina $123.98 <font color="ff0000">PAID</font>
- lit pony $106.93 <font color="ff0000">PAID</font>
- blessedmommy $38.75 <font color="ff0000">PAID</font>
- orange $103.96 <font color="ff0000">PAID</font>

<font color="0000ff">OLD NAVY SPREE #6 </font>
- peachie $22.48 <font color="ff0000">PAID, EXCESS $22.46</font>
- doreen $7.73 <font color="ff0000">PAID</font>
- sha $126.31
- emoments $96.04 <font color="ff0000">PAID</font>
- daisybutton $49.60 <font color="ff0000">PAID</font>
- ilovebabies $15.48 <font color="ff0000">PAID, EXCESS $53.38</font>
- jerene $14.73
- emma $40.25

Hi Jerene,
Only 1 item is available only. Paiseh.

<font color="0000ff">OLD NAVY SPREE #7 </font>
- daisybutton $61.23 <font color="ff0000">PAID</font>
- diana $56.58 <font color="ff0000">PAID</font>
- joon $24.03 <font color="ff0000">PAID</font>
- e-ling $49.60 <font color="ff0000">PAID</font>
- mary goh $89.13
- phoebe $62.78 <font color="ff0000">PAID</font>

emoments, xena_princess
Thanks! Your statements about your juniors made me felt so much better, hehehe! alex seem more keen in standing than crawling and after spotting trinity with her "little" umbrella I got inspired and let the little monkey practise standing by holding onto a table and she did fine, though losing her balance every now and then. In the blink of any eye, I think all of us will need to buy a baby leash to keep them from running too far away!

Photos - okay lah but must be patient, me and technology lives in different world

Phoebe
I see...no wonder lah. It is ok, not your fault they do not have stocks, may I know which item is avail? Actually would you have an estimate of shipping costs? Then I can transfer the total cost to you. Thanks!

A couple of friends, hubby and I are catching Broadway Beng tonight, I can't wait...found the first show totally hilarious, the kind that gets you in stitches and tears running freely. Or maybe it is just my cheesy sense of humor? :p

does anyone knows how much such a chair costs?

792689.jpg

my mom's place is small, wanted to get one which is foldable. n this kai, not sure if he can keep still in a high chair dun want to invest too much.

<font color="0000ff">edksd,</font>
when i got home today, i merrily took pics of my mug, planning to post it here for u, then, AIYAH! i didn't bring my laptop home today! so i can't download the pics
i'll do it tomorrow ok? akan datang

<font color="ff6000">jerene,</font>
welcome back to the LAND OF THE HOTTTT! (as i'm sure u'd have found out by now -_-) LOL abt the "humping". hee hee hee... these babies can be quite a sight eh? Sure! i can help "touch-up" ur shots! hee hee hee... the only thing is, coz i do it on my phone, u'll have to mms me her picture. i'll PM u my mobile no ok?

Tiger food Jar
--------------------------
Since u gals talking bout this hor then I shall pass the infor here too...keke

I was at Isetan today(again) n saw that the Tiger food jar 0.7L sellig for $39.

N those who have Shell reward points can redeem the 0.9L($65) 1 at the bugis shop dun need to buy.

N I wanted to say blessedmummy so U are teni.....hehehhe
Its been a long time since I last posted there cos I find that forum very slow. Here more happening...kekekke

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">jRt</font></font>, cos if we buy the Zor@^$&* thermo flask, it comes with chopsticks mah.. KIDDING la! I'd rather she learns HYPY first or else become like her mummy..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Phoebe</font></font>, the Causeway Point's JL doesn't have a household dept so didn't find any thermo flask! But I found them at Metro, nothing below S$45 though so I thought I not buy and probably pop my head into JL Specialist tomorrow to see if there's any you pee you qi(Hokkein yah..) ones..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">J@@n dear</font></font>, so nice of u to offer your help but I'll be in town for my multi cultural playdate tomorrow so I thought I can just pay a visit to JL Specialist. Oooh I think I saw your model, the mini Thermos at JL Causeway Point earlier but I do prefer one that has a separate compartment cos I don't want to mix the veg/meat with the porridge as the veg/meat might cook more in that porridge heat.. Thanks for your help ahh!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Diana</font></font>, no la! not disgusting la!! heehee the way u put it so funny heh! Shawn loves fish maw too and it's his special request when I do steamboat.

I went to find out more info about it and read that fish maw is indeed big fishes' gas/swim bladder and it inflates/deflates for the fish to swim.. but it's still delicious yah! heehee..

Eh I've got another concern about feeding bb (in fact to my cats too when I had them or when I'm outside) our adult's food.. to me, I try not to do that, not even a bit cos to me, we'll cultivate a bad habit with our bbs and they'll learn to want to eat/play with our food and not finish theirs.. I like to draw that line clear with my kids la.. heh so that they won't fight for my ice cream in the future.. or maybe I'm just a very strict mummy heh..

Thanks for sharing the Thermo flask link here!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Sha</font></font>, ahhhhh! but ehh I thought that day over MSN Ah Kum did mention about the outing or I remembered sa-lar? hmmm..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">ilovebbs</font></font>, S$150 for S$40!!!! what great value you've got! aiya how come u always manage to get such good steal?? I still remember that pretty tennis dress u got for Rachel in one of those fairs! cos the sticker thing u did so cute!

For Jap Rice, it depends on:
- how much u are cooking = how much water u should put
- Slow cooker, big or small? or rice cooker or just pot over stove fire
- how nuuwaa u want the porridge to be

For Arianne, this is what I do:
- at 6am for her brunch feed, I'll use 1 chinese soup spoon of Jap rice and 1 table spoon of Brown Rice powder into about 1 litre of tap water
- cook using mini-est slow cooker, cook till feeding time at about 9.30am.

I don't need to add more water during the 3.5hours of cooking process but I do stir occasionally. I was taught since young that when we stir our soups or porridge, we add love in! heehee.. try it maybe Rachel would love to have more after u stir more!

I've no idea about reboiling water, wait for my 'scientist' to come back, I'll ask him see if he has any info la.. But personally I don't like the plastic stench of reboiled water or water that been boiled and left standing for a long time, like those we use from the thermo flask to make milk. I ask my helper to change the water everyday twice at least..

Ohhh <font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Jerene</font></font>, heeheehee so funny u.. the humping is normal, a lot of pre-crawlers do that! So, chill and just be errr.. discreet when u are the one getting naughty! :p

joon, rexbabie, xena,
i hv <font color="119911">decided</font> i will go get the maxi cosi car seat tmrw! coz i am replacing the existing one which he will b outgrowing it pretty soon. and since u mummies say its a gd buy, i will buy it! (i hope still go stock!) do we need the coupon? i cant believe my darn hb threw away the mailer and tt incld my free disc coupons!
do we need the mailer to buy the car seat? i hope not!
<font color="0000ff">joon</font> CWP = causeway point
hehe i thot u were eatg the fish eyes man! and ur joke abt "except ikan bilis" is funny!

<font color="0000ff">john little sale</font>
me getting my mum to help me buy the car seat and thermos flash tomorrow.
think probably will try JP or SC.

<font color="0000ff">baby humping</font>
last time dexter dont hump.
but javier also does the humping. haha..
was thinking he must be watching too much tv show - west venom ouyang feng's 'toad skill'

ilovebabies,
I am now using Jap rice for Sherilyn's porridge but I dont use slow cooker I use a claypot I agar agar on the amount of the water as well.

So far so good.

Brenda,
got huh? Dont remember. . hahah. Me now on a secret mission so never log on all the time especially during office hour.

I have bought the Zorijushi thermo food flask already for $39 at JL Specialist Centre this afternoon. Alor of people were buying it. But the baby blue colour was sold out, left only beige colour.
And Brenda, it does come with separate compartments for dishes.

JRT, Phoebe
The maxi cosi car seat hor, i only saw at SC left with black/dark blue.. din see the red ones as advertised in the flyers. U do not need the mailer to receive the rebate or special price, just produce ur robinson card!

Rest of mummies who intend to go for the sale,
pls note that there is no discount at all for all baby items. The sale is not a store-wide sale..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">rexbabie</font></font>, thanks for sharing the info! ooh looks like I better make my way there tomorrow then!

rexbabie
thanks for the info. will get my mum to call 1st before going down tomorrow

<font color="0000ff">Some recent pictures of Javier</font>

793122.jpg

<font color="0000ff">dear j@@n</font>
you da woman! muack, muack (btw that is from alex)!!

<font color="0000ff">brenda</font>
discreet is my middle name!

<font color="0000ff">BM</font>
I saw your posting in another website (2005), you are one active mama...

<font color="0000ff">PG</font> I am going KL this Thurs, can you pls tell me the name of the ahop you got those lovely costumes for Chloe again?

<font color="0000ff">Hey Jerene!</font>

Welcome back, AGAIN!!! You are one lucky woman. Get to travel everywhere.

My hubby says its not a shop. Its one of those makeshift stalls in the shopping mall. However, he can't remember which floor or outside which shop. Maybe you can ask the information counter when you get there.

Hope you'll have a fruitful trip!

PG
Thanks! KL is work for hubby, again.
Erm, think I need also name of shop, sorry...pai say. I think once I get to the mall, should be able to find quite easily, worst case scenario, trawl floor by floor!
I would also love to see the photos your hubby took in GGB if possible.

793229.jpg

<font color="0000ff">Chloe: </font>Happy belated Easter Sept Mummies and Babies! My daddy finally put me in this bunny wabbit suit on Sunday.

<font color="aa00aa">J@@n, Orange, emoments</font>
Thanks for offering your babies for photo taking. My husband is delighted. He can't wait for the next outing now. <sub>Fine print: Please be warned, being amateur, his success rate is still quite low. There's probably 1 good shot for every 20 photos taken and sometimes, none.
</sub>

<font color="aa00aa">Hi Jamie,</font> Hope you are feeling better.

<font color="aa00aa">Woof woof</font>
Welcome! Asher looks a lot like Clarence in the first photo you posted. The second, no so much.

<font color="aa00aa">Phoebe,</font>
Javier is so cute! How did you manage to make him do the funny faces esp the Angelina Jolie pout. LOL!

<font color="0000ff">PG</font>
these candid shots are taken by hubby using his hp. so just capture whenever javier's in the mood to 'talk' and play.
'angelina jolie' pout look = trying to talk

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Phoebe</font></font>, wah u in the upload pics mode har? heehee.. Javier looks so funny on those facial expression shots!

<font color="0000ff">brenda</font>
haha...just got time to download the pictures.
so might as well also do some upload of pictures too

ilovebabies,

For me when i give Amabel eat the jap porridge. I use the Avent disposal cup to measure the rice taken, I take 50ml full of rice. Will wash until very clean and put in slow cooker with 340ml of water. Turn high power and slow cook for abt 4 hours / until the rice very nuuwaa. And Amabel like it so much that she finished all with the side dishes.

PG

That's a lovely pic of Chloe! Your hub is sure one gd photographer man! Always capture the rite moment. Pls waitlist my chloe on the next photo shoot. Sure hope to meet up with u & other mummies on the next gathering.

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Ilovebbs</font></font>, sorry some corrections on the <font color="ff0000">Cooking of Japanese Rice Porridge</font>. The amount of water + porridge quanity I told u before was supposed to be meant for stove fire, not slowing cooking! KOK my head.. I blur!! Cos all the while with my 1st girl I've never used a slow cooker to cook her meals, until recently my mum bought me a mini one.. so, the revised one:

For Arianne, this is what I do:
- at 6am for her brunch feed, I'll use <font color="ff0000">1 chinese soup spoon of Jap rice and 1 table spoon of Brown Rice powder</font> into about <font color="ff0000">200ml of tap water</font>

- cook using mini-est slow cooker, cook till feeding time at about 9.30am.

No additional water added throughout the 3.5 hours of slow cooking. However I do think that the amount of time spend to cook using the slow cooker really depends on the size of your slow cooker. The big ones (and I think the more exp ones too, my is a cheapo - S$29) have 'auto', 'hi' and 'low' as for my mini-est one, there's NO KNOB at all on the cooker! so it's a main power on/off thing..

Hope this clears

<font color="0000ff">Anyone's <font color="ff0000">U-LIKE</font> wearing out?? Is it normal ah?</font> mine so fast worn out

eling, brenda

tks !! so precise leh .. still measure the amt of water .. usually i just pour water into the slow cooker ... ok will try out this weekend ! tks !

btw brenda, jap rice + brown rice is good ? this is quite a interesting combination !!

phoebe

javier resembles u a lot ya !