(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Angeline,

Megan has the same pink singlet as Trinity in her "real" standing photo! I bought it in Hong Kong Fa Yuen street for unbelievable price! Wow she can stand unsupported... cool...!

Brenda i want to see the piks too...
pm me the link can?

<font color="ff6000"><font size="+1">jRt</font></font>, I'm back! okok got your PM already, will email to your co's addy then.. I went to buy myself a new camera!! so u got to wait cos I'm going to play with my new toy first la!
Puree info, later ok :p

<font color="ff6000"><font size="+1">Phoebe & jRt</font></font>, I think I'm going need to spend some hours with my new toy so better send the invitation to you girls first. Check you email..

<font color="ff6000"><font size="+1">rexbabie</font></font>, U PM me can? Invitations are sent via email..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">WoofWoof</font></font>, welcome to the thread! What's your boy's name? and any pics of him to show off to us?!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">MingLiew</font></font>, hihi! welcome back
, been a long time since u last posted yah.. hey, where did u read that piece of info on that fish/poultry can only be fed to bbs one year and above? very very strange piece of info le.. can share??
Well to clear your doubts, some parents already been feeding their bbs when they were 4 months old and most resources (including PDs and Paediatric associations) recommend feeding poultry/fish 8 months onwards.. that's why I was surprised to see your post about the article..

What happen if yr baby's poo is very green? My mum told me Dylan's poo is very very green today, never before. He has been crying when we left him sleeping alone for a while since last nite.... not sure whether he has been scare or wat... but even in the afternoon, he also cry when sleeping alone... jialuk!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Diana</font></font>, ya that's why I'm curious to know which article published that info.. But there are 2 matters actually. 1 is what <font color="ff0000">MingLiew</font> has mentioned about that article reflecting 1 yr and above then can feed fish/poultry, the other is, when can we exactly feed FISH?

There have been some confusion going on about feeding fish either from 4 months, 6 months or 9 months (or 10 months as per your post) amongst some mummies here.. We are reading a lot from FOREIGN webbies like wholesomebabyfood whereby their researches are based on their local produce (if I'm not wrong wholesomebabyfood.com is AMERICAN). I don't think we can find fish like threadfin, sliver white fish(ying yu) or white pomfret eg.. in their local supermarkets. And I can guarantee u that you'll not find fish like batang, kuning, kembong or selar too which is super common here! unless they import like we import their cod, salmon and tuna etc..

I just double checked with <font color="ff0000">BlessedMom</font> and she too, didn't manage to find threadfin selling in Australia's supermarket when she was living there.

Our aunties here advised us to feed fish when our bbs hit 4 months, whereas in the West, fish is considered one of the highest allergen food becos their fishes are BIG in size and they contain lots of mercury, and this is harmful to our bbs. I actually just discussed this with <font color="ff0000">Buttons</font> night before..

Personally, I've collected enough understanding that our local fish such as threadfin and ying yu are safe for bbs at the age of 6 months so I do feed my Arianne with them.. as for cod and white pomfret (they contain VERY good Omega fats!), I'll leave it till she hits 10 months when she's more active to break down those fats.. heh So it really depends on which school of thoughts you prefer to lean on la..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Emoments</font></font>, what was he eating before he poo-ed? And dark green veg like broccoli? Frightened = Green Poo is a myth la! hahahaha!!

hi hi!

<font color="0000ff">Trinity</font>, u are SO CLEVER u can stand! wow wow! clap clap, clever girl leh!

<font color="119911">Go Go Bambini</font>,mommies, so NICE MEETING YOU GUYS! hehehe. had such fun, Jovann slept most part of it but in time for the photoshoot. thus explainig why he loook so blur lah, still in dreamland i think hehehee. I HAVE EMAILED you the link to our pics oredi!

<font color="aa00aa">brenda, mingliew</font>, i only know fish is to intro a bit later, but my PD say meat can start 7mths leh! ooops, i started 1 mth early??? oh CRAP.

<font color="0000ff">emoments</font>, nice to finally meet you, i have emailed you our shots liaoz hehhe. one of them very funny, Jovann was fingering your yellow watch and grinning mysteriously to himself heheheE!

<font color="119911">cheekz</font> i din see ur mail about where to get crepes till now heheheh! oh, i also got at marche! like what i told you at the cafe hehehe! ur desc of PS cafe tempting me so much lah! but so exp hor????!!!!

<font color="aa00aa">brenda</font> oh you have been to paris! so xin fu!!! i no go before! oh wow, ur descr of the street side crepe is too YUMILICIOUS LAH! i dun like yoU!

<font color="0000ff">emoments</font>, one PD say before that when babies are excited about something, or their digestive system a bit too stimulated, sometimes the poo come out very fast, so its kinda green. not that they scared.... did he eat spinach or broccoli before this?

<font color="119911">cheekz</font>, cant help wondering at what happend with ur desktop and then ur hubby's laptop.... eerrr...were u conducing some electric current or something? how come it happen at the same time and at the moment u touched it huh? did u manage to save ur data?

<font color="0000ff">Hi Brenda</font>

No, I didn't feed him anything special.. just like normal days, milk and cereal only. I haven't feed him any veg puree yet (cos I dunno how to make).

<font color="0000ff">Hi buttons</font>

Now that you mention, I went back to take a look at the photo.. yep.. so cute.. Dylan was looking down too.. like both boys are up to something thou Jovann was smiling more mysteriously... :p

Dylan never eat any spinach or broccoli b4... but he seems to have many nightmares last nite... I need to pat him then he ok.. but after a while, cry again... so eventually I shut down my PC and went to sleep together with him.. then he's ok. Heard from my mum, today same thing... cry and need someone close by....

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Emoments</font></font>, the waking ups and crying at night could also be stomach ache, the greenish color (also wet?) could be diarrhea? give a call to your PD and check since u haven't fed any veg and yet his poo is green. Hope he hasn't eaten (like secretly swallowed something) anything he shouldn't like chalks or crayons or anything he can grabbed hold of when your caretaker wasn't looking..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Jasmine</font></font>, missed your posting earlier! For our bbs, we didn't pay anything for them to be in the play area.. I just paid for my coffee and waffle like cafe prices..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Buttons</font></font>, ooooh especially when your fingers are freezing cold and your nose hard until like going to drop, bite into the HOT STEAMY CREPE with NUTELLA & Freshly Peng Bananas (Oh, they also got CARAMEL! as sauce like maple syrup), then the warm steam comes out from your nose, softens the hard skin and u lie on your back on the soft green grass... yessshhhh it's H-E-A-V-E-N!

But eh, u went PRAGUE hor! (die la.. I'm going to plan for Europe trip.. heh)

Thanks for the pics, nice cos yours from another angle!

Brenda,
Thanks.. received the album... wow... u all must have had loads of fun! We shall join u guys next time!

Angeline
Yah me too.. got the singlets in many different colours.. when i was there in Mar, i bought so much clothes for Megan cos they were so cheap..! Some Carters cut-off label were going as low as HK$5!

cheekz,
I think I better ask this in case I can't find the place on that day... hahaha... sorry but I'm real bad in remembering addresses but I can remember how to get to a place I've been to.

OK... my question is where is the swimming pool at Suntec City, as in which tower and which level? I think most prob I'm sending my hubby down into pool with Gabe since I can't swim!

<font color="0000ff">emoments</font>,maybe dylan is over stimulated from the sunday gathering??? sometimes coz of over stimulation they may be hard to sleep peacefully. over excitement could also explain for the greenish stools.... hope its not anything he ate. did he steal something from your plate at the cafe when you not looking? hehehee.

yah! Dylan also got a cheeky look leh, heheheee...both boys very cheeky lah, come to think of it, that day ours the only baby boys issit??

<font color="119911">brenda</font>, STOP RUBBING IT IN. CARAMEL somemore! i bite your nose off then you know! uuurrrrrrrgggghhhhhhhh......!!! Prague dun have crepes leh. they got funny dumplings though hahahaa. eerrr... u not serious about the comment on europe trip right? hehehee!

<font color="ff0000">buttons</font>
my hubby also blame me for the pc crashing ...must be the "force" in me hor? i've gone to the dark side for eating too much crepes...hheheeh...

anyhow, my laptop was resurrected...don't ask me how come last night kaput then now ok already...

but i don't like to use laptop...screen too small keypad not big enuf...i'm an old lady lah...

<font color="ff0000">brenda</font>
eh i would NEVER think of feeding rae ann zuchinni if not for u! she likes it leh...i fed her pureed but raw...never steam...

after throwing away so many apples and pear, i finally found something with Vit C for her...and its not even a fruit!

thanks ah!

<font color="ff0000">dumpty</font>
dun scared...i will email u the address and other info nearer to the date, okie?

its quite inconvenient for me now because i hate using laptop to type type...

taking a hiatus from this forum...BUT i WILL be BACK!!! sooner than u think...

hubby will bring pc to the "hospital" this weekend..

<font color="0000ff">phoebe</font>, i have TT to you oredi thanks so mucH! pity the top i want for Jovann OOS oredi.
Ref 1166514613. $49.60. thanks!

<font color="119911">cheekz</font>, hehehe dun mean to blame you leh, i just find it very cute that u fried both pc and laptop in one session hehehe. but very glad ur laptop okie oredi. well, it could have been the PC got funny current, got to you, and u transmitted to the laptop and it gana fried too. hehehe. okie enough of my nonsense! hehe!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Cheekz</font></font>, it's better to steam it for bbs cos it might be a bit raw for them to digest.. see if she gets stomach upset or not, if she does, better cook the zucchini ok?

The other thing is Zucchini is supposedly in the family of pumpkin/melon.. so u might want to try feeding her some of these veg yah
ooh try PARSNIP! to me it's quite close to Zucchini (when cooked la..) just that Parsnip has a strong smell.. but worth trying!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Ming Liew</font></font>, ahh? It's written on the chart from 9-12 months, feed:
<font color="ff0000">lamb, veal, tofu, poultry,</font> noodles, bagel, beans, rice cakes, peas, egg yolk, yams, cheese, oatmeal, yogurt
Did u make a mistake?

Don't forget these sites you're reading from refering their local produce.. I've just seen my PD last week and he already gave me the thumbs up to feed fish/poultry. With my 1st girl, my PD then also told me to feed when she was 5 months old.

And also as for fish, if u notice under '12-18 months' then they mentioned fish - SALMON & TUNA, cos they probably don have threadfin/white silver fish like us.. if u read my post to Diana, I did explain my understanding of feeding fish here in SG or Asia la.. but do throw more doubts here if you still have any ok?

Hope this clears
best if u check with your PD too yah!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Buttons</font></font>, I'm not sure if it's going to happen but it's certainly in my plans to plan it! heehee.. u want u want u want?!?!

Hi Brenda

Thanks for the info on feeding! Hmm, I think it's hard to say who is wrong, who is right, as even in Singapore, different PD has different opinions.
But for me, I think I'll delay fish until Jac turn 10 months, as she showed allergic with fish maw with chicken soup when she was about 5 months old. That time we were in a restaurant, she wanted our food so much, so I feed her a few spoon of the soup, and she got some rashes around her chin almost immediately. Luckily it went off about 30mins later. It really gave me a good lesson, since then I dare not to feed her any adult food any more. But we started Pork and Chicken about 2 weeks ago, and she seems like it, and no allergic sign. Except her poo poo become very very smelly.

My hubby was telling me tat his lady colleague told him tat it would be good if we can delay giving chicken to baby GIRL until later stage cos of the hormone level in it. Anyone have info on this, i tried to research more on it but cant seem to find much info.

Yuna

I think there is some truth in it.
Nowadays chickens are given injection to expedite their growth and I heard chicken wings is to be avoided cos that's where they do the jab.

Similiarly this applies to adults. We shld not take so much chicken wings.

Diana,
can I ask you for a photo of your Jac sitting on the potty again. I would like to get a potty for T too, but those we have seen at the shops, when she sits, her leg still cannot reach the floor. Which brand is your potty?

<font color="0000ff">Hi Phoebe</font>

I have transferred the $$ to you. Transaction Reference: 1167043031

Please check, thanks.

<font color="0000ff">Hi Brenda</font>
We will monitor him today and see how if the poo is still green and watery, we will bring him to see PD 2mlr. He still looks active and happy, but couldnt sleep well at nite again. Woke up a few times for feed, then at 4plus, couldnt get back to sleep even thou he looked tired and kept yawning.. maybe uncomfy but at 6plus, he finally dozed off to sleep but woke up at 8am for feed.

<font color="0000ff">HiButtons</font>
Yeah hor only 2 boys in the pool of balls.. .and these 2 cheeky boys happen to have the same birthday as well :p Actually I think that day we have 4 boys Der Nen left and Enzo came later.
Brenda was saying actually in our thread there are more boys than girls, but dunno y the boyss mummies are not as active as the girls. I was telling her, maybe the boys are too active and energetic that drained most of their mummies energy to log in now... heehee. I find it so hard to log in at nite now gotta entertain Dylan till midnite most times I dozed off first :p

thank you mummies for the welcome.

this is my boy

791828.jpg

I am very impressed with how the other sept BBs are doing... some can even stand briefly unsupported.

SEPT BB's development
i try not to compare him with other BBs. my boy is still learning to crawl.. DH and i are encouraging him to lange forward (from sitting poistion) and be on his Fours. he still doesn't have the strenght to lift his chest and tummy off ground with his hands. we need to attract him to come foward with his toys and TV remote control (his favorite teether)
kao_drool.gif

FOOD to give 9mth old BB
me, a bad mummy... already gave my boy fish at 7mth old though some ang moh book advised against giving fish at such young age. i ran out pf ideas on wat to give him.

Woof Woof

hey your boy looks like Peachie's Clarence !!

anyway .. I started my gal on fish at 7mth too .. dont feel guilty !! My PD is very encouraging .. he always tell me that we asians dont know how to appreciate the good food and start the bb so late on semi solid foods ! hahaha

Diana

ya lah... so u intend to give Jac kampong chicken only ?

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Diana</font></font>, ehh, you can't place Fish Maw in the same category as those fishes we feed our bbs. Fish maw is an internal organ of BIG fishes, I think is it's bladder or something. I'm not sure what the nutritional value is but in order to be an expensive delicacy I'm not surprised it has lots of STRONG nutrients like Shark's fins! So best avoided for bbs la!

However, I can't put a finger to say that Jac wasn't allergic to fish when she ate the fish maw but I must advise that u shouldn't do it again la even if she isn't allergic to fish!

Just to let u know that food allergy can cause severe illness, even lead up to death if the allergic reaction causes choking in breath for example so it's best for us to be especially careful on what we feed our bbs and not treat them as test experiments!

ilovebabies

Not for Jac, usually I'll only buy kampong chicken for my family. But last week went to market too late, kampong chicken sold out already. No choice have to buy normal chicken.

<font color="ff0000">Welcome Woof Woof!</font>

haha, ur nick is so funny.

U know what? ur bb boy really looks like another Sept bb here - peachie's clarence! i actually thot it was him in the bumbo. hee hee... so cute.

ya, i agree with u abt comparing. i must always consciously tell myself not to compare but sometimes cannot help it! hahaha! ooops.

and, hahaha abt the remote control! i was just telling my hb the other day, "maybe we should buy one cheapo one for DN to play with. he ALWAYS goes for the remote controls!!"

ilovebabies

Thks for the pointers.

Btw, have u start Rachel on chicken? So far i only give C fish and pork, havent try chicken yet.

Yuna

not yet. she just recovered from cough so I may start a while later. she ate minced pork before .. very very little and very very minced lah ..

i may want to try minced beef .... do u all think it is ok ?

oh btw I think it is better not to buy minced meat , better to get the meat and we minced it ourselves cos I'm not sure which part of the meat are being minced and sold...

Woof woof's boy looked so much like Clarence!i oso thot it was him, then realised the nick is different... thot peachie has another nick!

Brenda
got ur email but haven viewed the pix yet. thks.

Phoebe
i oso thot its the texture problem but i tried pear puree-ing and using food maker. both ways din work.
i cant imagine how can a baby reject sweet stuff coz its supposedly to b the easiest food to attract?
but if its not mashed enuff, he will choke? i tried scrapping pear off the fruit and feeding him straight, he dunno how to swallow and threatened to vomit. headache!!!

so envious tt u mummies hvg fun with all the chicken, pork and fish! i am still stuck at puree-ing! i wanna move on!!!

Anyway, here's something to cheer everyone up! <font size="-2">after this, i gotta "fast" and go back to work ;p</font>

This is what happens when DN doesn't get his weekly shave.

791899.jpg

Here's the original pic la... DN, blur-blur after a nap!

791900.jpg