(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

lit pony
has transferred $$ + postage to peachie. she will snail mail to me. thanks for offering to 'exchange' package with me earlier

btw, the ON package arrived. will call them to re-deliver to me on Sat. Then, will sort out and probably can meet up next week.

I wanna join too

Glenn Dorman presentation on 2/Apr AM :
1. Angeline
2. jerene (can only make it if after 11 a.m.)
3. cheryl & zhi ning
4. Cheekz & Rae Ann (AM ok)
5. Doreen & Damien

btw regarding the LETTERS from Better Toy Store.
I went to the one at Taka this afternoon n they have all the alphabets available.

<u><font color="ff0000">Glenn Doman presentation on 2/Apr AM :</font></u>
1. Angeline
2. jerene (can only make it if after 11 a.m.)
3. cheryl & zhi ning
4. Cheekz & Rae Ann (AM ok)
5. Doreen & Damien
<font color="0077aa">6. J@@n & Der Nen</font>

thanx angeline for the invite... will there be too many pple at ur place tho?? can i bring something for everyone to munch-munch?
hee hee... year of the pig mah, must behave in the appropriate fashion!

<font color="ff0000">BB MILK INTAKE WHEN ON SOLIDS</font>
just like to share this. ask PD on monday (when i brought caleb for his jab) abt Caleb not drinking 500-600ml milk everyday now that he is on solids. PD told me that is too much milk now since he is on solids which has higher calories. will cause him to be obeses. he said the guide is for 500-600ml of liquid in total for the day. liquid includes water, juices n milk. now i not sure what to follow.

including the milk added to his cereals, caleb takes avg 550ml milk a day. wonder if it is too much for him. dun wan him to end up obese like his papa. i prefer a muscle boy then a fat boy

<font color="ff0000">selina,</font>
aiyoh, ur hb is not obese la! in fact, he looks very fit! some more u say he goes jogging? er... i, on the other hand, married a "day-bed potato". (we have a day bed, not a couch)

thanx for sharing what ur PD said. hmmm... really? jia lat... then my @@ also on the way to obesity! he takes 3 x 180ml milk (540ml!!) PLUS water throughout the day PLUS 3 latch-ons!

*faint*

i'm going to the PD on mon, will check with my PD and update.

<font size="+2"><font color="0000ff">BB Puree Making Class</font></font>
31 March 2007 (Saturday) | 3-5pm
Hong Kah North Community Club

ATTENDANCE
The following are the mummies who have confirmed your attendance for the class.
1. Phoebe
2. Diana
3. Xena_princess
4. E-Ling
5. June
6. Angeline
7. Jerene
8. jRt
9. Cheekz
10. Ling
11. Daisybuttons
12. Jo
13. Alicia
14. Cheryl

I've sent an email to all of you, so please check yah.. if you haven't receive it, please PM or email me to let me know!

SYNOPSIS
- Introduction to Weaning
- Nutritional Facts
- Understanding of Fruits/Vegetables
- Food/Kitchen Hygiene
- Familiarization of Kitchen Equipment
- Different Methods of Cooking Babys Purees
- Demonstration on the Whole Process of Making Babys Purees
- Q&A

Should theres anything else you girls think I should cover let me know yah..

COST
The total cost for this class, which includes the classroom rental and my raw materials, is S$104.00 and Ill be splitting this amount amongst you girls. Each mummy is required to chip in S$8.00 and Ill be collecting (or my PA Phoebe will assist to collect ok? Heh..) from u girls on the day itself. For those who cant make it, Im afraid Ill still need you to cover this as to be fair to everyone. Anyone objects to this, please feel free to raise your hand and let me know whats the best way to deal with this ya!

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">Any last minute takers who'd like to join?</font></font>

yippee,
seems like my GD presentation is turning out to be a mini gathering.

I definately welcome BBs. Mummies, can miss it, but BBs must come ok. Mmmh.... but how will BB know how to get there without mummy tagging along?

J@@n,
yummy, already hungry thinking about what food you will bring.

Our place is just a HDB flat, but should be able to accomodate mummies and babies. I recall we had about 60 pax in there for our wedding buffet years ago.

Can you all PM me your email and ctc numbers so I can update you once they come back to me on the exact time.

<font color="0000ff">j@@n</font> i dunno leh but tt's wat PD says. u check wif urs then let me know cos i am confused too.

<font color="0000ff">j@@n, jo</font> hb went for free health check n results showed he is obese, overweight n have ABNORMAL waist circumference. he jogs cos he always kana RT so no choice have to jog. tho he plays lottas sports, tennis, dragon boating, golf, he is obese. n i like to tease him now.

<font color="0000ff">phoebe</font> cant remember how much i owe you but i trsf $56 to you. shld b enf for my 5 tubs of cream. here's the transaction details:
From Account POSB Savings
056-27396-4
To Account DBS Savings Plus
020-1-027024 Phoebe
Amount S$56.00
Transaction Reference 1110941079

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Selina</font></font>, with regards to your concern on <font color="ff0000">TOTAL MILK INTAKE</font>, I guess the only way to confirm this is to find 2nd and 3rd opinion from reliable sources.
So your PD mentioned 500-600ml of LIQUID, then what about milk? 300ml? 400ml?

Wah if your Leslie is obese then my Shawn is what?!?! ELEPHANT ahh.. hee

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Ling</font></font>, Brisbane?? when? nice! Hot Jappy surfers with nice bronze tan on the beach!!

Yesh, will be bunnies in Aug/Sep so can hit June 2008! I'm still trying to convince Shawn la.. he doesn't seem to be too keen on this idea leh - rat+gemini. He wants more couple time! uurrgghh

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Em/Ling/Peachie/RainnieMama & whoever that's interested</font></font>, for the DIM SUM I can't make it le.. we're going to the PD on that day la.. pai seh.. another day can?

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Jo</font></font>, sorry couldn't find the duckies, think they went hiding!

Eh, your flu bLug iS causing u some typos too ahh? heehee.. Also made u posted wrong pics? hee.. I think u better rest la, if not more mistakes made! heh

<font color="ff0000">SO DID YOU WIN THE BEAUTY CONTEST?!</font> What kind of prizes did get? Got car or condo or just lots of formula milk tins? heehee..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">edksd</font></font>, how come such a weird qns le? the parking at Bot Gdns or Dempsey.. *puzzle* but we parked at both..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Rachel</font></font>, I think Stokke Chair is just another high chair with a designer label and an enormous price tag. Just like a Ferrari and a Toyota, both bring you to your destination, only the leather seats smell different.. As for their highly advertised posture building feature, forget it.. cos bbs cant sit long in that.. max? 30 mins I think and they'll start screaming to get out! heh

Oh, of cos it's a nice piece of furniture to have at the dining room..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">BM da Biggest B & SHApopotamus</font></font>, wahhhhhh today's forum too glaring so I don't want to spoil my eyes and left for the day! heh..

<font color="ff0000">Sha</font>, u know where I went right?! u don know meh??

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Diana</font></font>, Jac has grown! looks so happy and fun in the swimming pics! would love to meet her on Sat!

PD Appointments
Hey gals, do you still have to go to the PD monthly after you finish all the series of immunisations? Coz my pd says we're done and do not need to see her monthly unless we want to.

Selina
Now that your pd says 500-600mls of milk is too much, i'm confused. Coz my pd says that milk is still key but i forgot to ask her how much is needed in total. Maybe i'll call her later to ask. Sophie is also still latching on at least 6 times a day and plus the milk added into cereal that shd be at least 600mls. Does Caleb eat solids 2 or 3 times a day?

<font color="0000ff">Selina, Brenda</font>
If Selina's Leslie is obese and Brenda's Shawn is elephant, then my hubby will be ... ... ... DINOSAUR!

<font color="0000ff">joon, Ling, Bigger B and Biggest B</font> <font size="-2">I'm curious too. what's that B mean?</font>
Hope you all enjoy your holidays lots lots lots!
*envy envy*

<font color="0000ff">jo</font>
Wah real nice pics. What duckies? Me want buy duckies for Gabriel. Who has the lobang?

<font color="0000ff">dim sum</font>
Hey I also want to join! But weekdays ah? Hmmm... ... let me think think if I want to take leave coz I only have 2.5 days leave up to this month.

<font color="0000ff">Angeline</font>
I'd like to join for the Botanic Gardens but I'm going for gynae checkup that day and after that gotta go for my hubby's grandma's birthday celebration. Dun think can join ler... ...
Any other gathering with you? The zoo outing no more right? What about the hightea that joon was suggesting? Still onz or not?

ling
u talking abt dr belinda? i feel 600ml incl water n juices is not enuf for a baby under 1 yr old. n moreover try not to intro juices too early. its really too sweet for a baby n not good for their teeth. now u dun realise it its only when they r older like mine! then u start to worry when their teeth decay before their time.

dumpty,
yup the zoo outing no more. after thinking carefully about does seem like a bad idea to have such a young baby smelling all the animal poo poo under this heat.

I'm all in for the high tea, but no more news about it. Anytime is good for me cos I am no holiday, but where and who? Weekend will be better for most mummies rite?

from babycentre:

As your baby grows older, the more solid foods he eats, the less breast milk he will take. There may be some days when your baby doesn't seem to want to eat very much but will breastfeed a lot, and other days when he wants to eat all day long and doesn't seem interested in nursing. There really isn't a set amount that a baby needs to take in a 24-hour period.

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Ling</font></font>, yupyup I feel the same as what <font color="ff0000">BM</font> commented. 600ml of liquid INCLUDING MILK is pathetic le.. I'll also be going to my PD on next Tue and will check on that too..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Dumpty</font></font>, next time we put them side by side and see who's BIGGER! heehee..

Jerene

Thanks! My girl's name is Jacqueline !

BTW, how many mummies are bringing bb for the after puree class gathering? So far I know

Angeline - Trinity
Diana - Jacqueline
Phoebe - Javier

Got this from kellymom.com

http://www.kellymom.com/bf/pumping/milkcalc.html

How much expressed milk will my baby need?What if baby is eating solid foods?

Sometime between six months and a year (as solids are introduced and slowly increased) baby's milk intake may begin to decrease, but breastmilk should provide the majority of baby's nutrition through the first year. Because of the great variability in the amount of solids that babies take during the second six months, the amount of milk will vary, too. One study found average breastmilk intake to be 30 oz per day (875 ml/day; 93% of total intake) at 7 months and 19 oz (550 ml/day; 50% of total energy intake) at 11-16 months.

Several studies have measured breastmilk intake for babies between 12 and 24 months and found typical amounts to be 14-19 oz per day (400-550 mL per day). Studies looking at breastmilk intake between 24 and 36 months have found typical amounts to be 10-12 oz per day (300-360 mL per day).

BM/Brenda
Yah i think so too... aiyah anyways I don't have to worry about Sophie being obese anyways so whatever she can take, i'll let her take...
But ya if the rest can find out from pd too, that'll be great. (BM, ya i was refering to dr belinda)

ABOUT JUICES
Since BM brought up juices, actually i find that if you really blend the apple a lot more, you'll get apple juice so what's the diff between giving apple juice and puree? It'll still have about the same taste right? Unless you're refering to off the shelf apple juice.

selina
i just re read your post. The 500-600ml of milk recommended shd include all forms of milk you intro to your baby, including the milk you add into cereal. So 550ml for Caleb per day is just nice, right? Anyways unless you've started on meat/fish, it's unlikely that Caleb will get enuf protein so milk is still quite needed.

Ling

my PD also told me to see him when rachel turn 1 yr old. BUt he did mentioned that I can see him when Rachel turns 9 mths old and I am worried abt her development.

ilovebabies,
Sherilyn will be going for her next check in Jun / July, according to the baby health book to check on her growth, weight, alertness, response, sound, etc.

<font color="ff0000">Brenda</font>,
yes I know you are on a secret mission that is why can't tell the everyone here. . haha

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Ling-ah-Ling</font></font>, the point with the juice thing is a-v-o-i-d, not cannot.. I'm just using my logical mind to analyse this so I could be wrong ahh.. I guess the difference between giving a whole cup of juice and a whole fruit's content of juice, is in the amount.

I'm not saying CANNOT give juice and I think <font color="ff0000">BM</font> too, but avoid or lesser. And also, if you start giving a whole cup(serving) of juice, you'll be replacing water space in Sophie's tumtum.. Like for my A's case, she's already hardly drinking much pure water itself, probably about 100ml each day and if I still give her juice then I'll be taking up valuable real estate in her tiny tumtum!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Diana</font></font>, I don't think we'll swim but we'll join the after class gathering if I'm not strained out from defending the bullets! heehee..

BTW, how many mummies are bringing bb for the after puree class gathering? So far I know

Angeline - Trinity
Diana - Jacqueline
Phoebe - Javier
Brenda - Arianne (Hubby Shawn)

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+2">Brenda</font></font>,
<font color="ff6000">Orange Juice</font>. . I had for breakfast this morning! Nothing much. . just tot of <font color="ff6000">Orange</font>. haha

brenda
Eh....... ok, i think i know what you're talking about. But logically speaking.......... now i give sophie 2tbs of apple puree and some water after. SOOOO if i combine both the puree and water and blend it more, i shd get JUICE right? Heh (sorry this is the cooking idiot speaking so i'm speaking theory) Food wise, nutrition wise, sugar/sweetness wise, shd be the same?

BUT i think the reason WHY i wouldn't do that is because she might not want to drink water and only just want juice coz it's got TASTE and the long sucking of sweetness can lead to tooth decay like what BM said. Not so much yr second reason because it'll fill her tum tum coz juice is still water plus it's got more nutrients than water.

I'm also using my logical mind.... hahah... pls feel free to counter argue coz like you i like to find out the real reason behind a CANNOT/AVOID. Heh...

Juicy Sha
Yah... what's with the juice?

<font color="0000ff">brenda, dumpty</font> at least that's what the health report says... but he does have abnormal waist circumference (hidden from the outside most times)... hee hee hee

<font color="0000ff">Milk Intake</font> tt's y i confuse lor so thought check here n see if can get other advise. anyway think water n juices wont consitute a lot in a day so majority still goes to milk. i try to keep to the 500-600ml milk intake a day so certain days i seems to be forcing milk down his throat lor so my mum is worried say i siao make him drink so much

<font color="0000ff">ling</font> he is on 2 meals of solids now. no meat/fish yet. wanna wait till later tho my mum been insisting i let him try now.

jerene,
sorry i am unable to attend the juzmusic class.

Milk in-take,
Amabel is drinking more than 700ml of milk now with 0ne cereal and one puree feed leh. Will she alway be obese also since she is so skinny?

PD visit,
Amabel will be going for the next PD visit when she is 9 month for her development assessment.

Anyone give your bb rotavirus? Is it too late to take now since she is already 7 months

How about pneumococcal? Can still take when bb turn 7 month huh?

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Juice</font></font>, so this morning I had kopi so I should also change la.. hee..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Ling-ah-Ling</font></font>, yesyes! simply to me, Juice + Water (diluting yah!) is better than concentrated Juice Only. It's the concentration of pure juice that could cause some harm such as tooth decay. Also, the other thing is the 'sweetness' that bbs tend to easily get addicted to and that makes it difficult to feed anything that's 'not as sweet' as juice! And we're digging our own grave! If your bb kena UTI, rashes or fever, she'll need lots and lots of water, pure pure water to flush them out. But if they've developed a sweet tooth then it'll be very problematic.. So it's better to prevent la. uurrgghhh.. I kena this with my Chloe before!

And we're already giving them lots of sugar in FM (I think BM also contains some sugar), fruits and some veg. And we can't help with these, but with juice, we can. Sugar is not totally no good, in fact for active bbs they need sugar for energy right..

Basically, again using my logical sense ahh, juice is VERY GOOD! but the method of consuming it is NO GOOD. Unless we can use injection and inject the juice directly into their tumtum, meaning by pass the mouth and tongue! But these are what my personal opinions, NO MEDICAL proof one ya! > DISCLAIMER heehee..

Kopi Orh
yep yep yep... aiyah, i'm also having problems feeding sophie more water. End up feeding her by spoon just to get a few spoonfuls into her. Thank God BM got more water content and so far poo seems ok.

I think hor for active babies better not give more sugar for energy COZ it'll cause them to be even more energetic and prob won't sleep in the nite!

But juice is only good coz of the fruit so just feed fruit lah... heh heh...

Btw, I drank milk this morning SO i'm milko.

talking abt milk intake u all worry ur bb taking too much, i worry mine taking too little.

3 x 110ml (9am - 6pm)

after i fetched him home i try to latch on whenever i can, no fixed timing or frequency or duration. so i duno how much he takes during latch on.

furthermore he's not taking cereal for the time being. as for puree, instead of 1 cube, i use half cube only coz he cant finish.

he's really a small eater. so unlike me!

<font color="ff6000">Juicy Juice</font>,

Hey, you missed me so much that you changed your name to Juice har? We are an item today ya !!

hmmm, we should go and take a photo together leh. then we will have the orange juice emoticon..lol

Edksd,
I think it's okie for Kai to be drinking water, although i understand that PD's explanation is that FM or BM contains water alreadi.

I fed Wayne with water because I miz it with gripe water for him. In addition, i let him drink water several times per day because FM, Cereal and porridge makes him thirsty plus of coz, the weather.

<font color="0000ff">Peachie</font>

Thanks for the well wishes and helping me to get the alphabets

<font color="0000ff">orange3</font>
haha, i like ur sense of humour

<font color="0000ff">Jerene</font>
haha, i love the way u put it..abt twin force..

not this time, 3rd time then twins , cos hubby wants 3 children, this time twins, i no chance to try again ;p

<font color="0000ff">Brenda</font>
yeah, seen doc liao, 2 days MC cos having fever too
got an oto trimax ..haha
hehe, thanks for telling me abt the ducks

<font color="0000ff">Dumpty</font>
Brenda has lobang, but no stock now

<font color="0000ff">TO SHARE</font>

E-ling, pneunomotcal can be taken at any time, just that the number of jab difer, at 2 years only need a jab

Recommended Feeding Shedule is found in the latest issue of Mother & Baby that feature Arianne & Shawn

<font color="0000ff">Selina</font>
haha,poor leslie with his ABNORMAL waist circumference

<font color="ff0000">forgive my spelling, i am feverish </font>

<font color="ff6000">Orange</font>
Yes we are an item today. . No one can separate us now.

<font color="0000ff">Ling</font>,
Nothing much about the juicy thingy. . . Had orange juice for breakfast this morning then I realizes I miss Orange. . so I decided to be call Juice for today just to be an item with Orange. . hahaha

Jo,
I think the fever is getting into your head coz you are not thinking right and did the wrong post of picture as well.

Seriously you need to rest more, drink more water and juice which I think it might help.