(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Hi Kris

U are most welcome. She is fine. Thks for yr concern. Now still not scare. Walking round the house and try to climb up the coffee table and our bed.

Piyo.
Regarding Montessori, Normally other childcare is only half montessori, unlike MMI. I discourage MMI cos their childcares are training centre for their teacher. You will encounter different teacher every now and then. Furthermore at their sengkang branch (received feedback from other mummies) that they hardly/seldom use their outdoor facilities.

HoneyB,
U r oso into baking ....

Augustmum,
Some of the baking instrument that BIY is selling, you can found at Phoon Huat oso. Saw it at their branch in Hougang. Furthermore, Phoon Huat got the ready mix cup cake flour which i think make baker life easier. BTW d u hv any idea the difference of muffin n cupcake?

cecelia,

not sure if it correct. Someone told me muffin uses normal flour, cupcake uses cake flour. Muffin's easier to make. Just mix dry and wet ingredients.

So many people interested in cupcakes. Should we have a session pref. at an expert's house with a big kitchen and maid to help clean up?
Any volunteers?

Augustmum, honeyB
I try baking Muffins. Starting very nice but after left it for sometime seems bit hard bt taste good though hehehe...

I also like to learn more on baking.. dono cup cake how to make? maybe really we can organise a group to learn? Its so much interesting!!!

Augustmum, honeyB
I try baking Muffins. Starting very nice but after left it for sometime seems bit hard bt taste good though hehehe...

I also like to learn more on baking.. dono cup cake how to make? maybe really we can organise a group to learn? Its so much interesting!!!

kris,
hee hee...jay actual birthday over liao...on 6 august...

augustmum,
thanks...well no choice leh...hubby wan an adult cake so mummy gotta customise it to b a kiddy cake...

Leia,
augustmum is right..the icing is creamy type...n based on the comments of the guests that day, they felt that the cupcakes are very yummy...
but a little too much i feel coz till today we still have abt 2-3cupcakes left over...

Any mummies looking to buy cupcakes, i juz tried some which is selling at Raffles place area and they are simply yummy..even so much more than coffeebeans ones...they also sell kiddy cupcakes..here is the website...www.angelzcup.multiply.com i tried the nutella, the oreo and the butterscote and they are very very good and inside is chocolate but very moist and nice...

Jas u go check out that website...the kiddy cupcakes are rather cheap the price...

HoneyB,
can i also have the recipe for the cupcakes u tried baking..love to bake as well but long time never do liao since jay born...heehee

Muffins/cupcakes: From what I know, muffins are usually more dense and filling - with the flavour ingredients like chocolate chips/banana/blueberries baked inside. But for cupcakes, the very basics of it is just ordinary sponge cake and the icing/ deco on the cake is the rich part

I'm having cupcakes for my girl's B'day next Sat too... I'm having a ladybird theme party so I'm struggling to make red icing to make ladybird cupcakes!

hi augbaby,

u just gave me idea on where to get cheap cupcakes. Will get some from Coffee Bean for Justin's bday party this Sun. Cos i ordered the cake from Pine Garden and its blackforest so got rum in it. So I thought better order some cupckes to stand by the kids instead.

hi Crisann..
same same lah.. Zorian also not scare.. after his knock yesterday, went to try to climb into his grandfather's fish tank!!! he was trying to catch the fishes in there... sigh... almost knocked his head.. haahaa.. think they are still exploring so have to keep a very close look at them.. if not sure fall or knock..

hi augbaby..

noted down lor.. next year wont forget.. keekee.. me getting forgetful.. everything must write down.. if not sure forget.. keekee...

Re : Baking..

If organize, count me in.. i also love to bake.. but like augbaby, have not manage to do any baking / cooking after the birth of zorian.. haaha...

kris, aiyo, his chin became blueblack... ppor boy! must be so painful leh.. rub it with a hard-boiled egg ok, dun rub it with hand, coz very painful de... =( ~~sayang zorian~~

my girl also likes to climb up climb down.. hv to watch them almost every sec, they can do alot of stunts within secs! sigh.. really tao tua!!

my girl even attempted to flip my coffee table when she was angry last nite, she did it until blood rushed up to her brain! whole face was red like a lobster!! she has a very bad temper, everyone also tells me tat! =(

but she's only afraid of me, coz i beat her the most! so hubby told me tat i shall play the "bad guy" since girlgirl is afraid of me! so smart hor! he thinks i'm tupid!

hi leobbsmom..

zorian says 'thank you'.. he was crying so loudly... took a while to pacify him..

zorian also very bad temper.. always scream and shout whenever cant get wat he wants.. my hubby and me take turn.. at times when he keep on screaming or shouting non stop, we either place him on the floor and let him cry or let him face the wall.. not sure if that helps.. keekee..

usually it is the daddy that plays the 'bad' guy one lah.. keekee.. but i believe both parents should play a part lor..

Hi Kris

That is really v dangerous if he will to climb in. Really have to keep a look out on him.

hi leobbsmom

Me too have to watch Crisann every sec. If not something will happen. Crisann also shout and scream v loudly. Scold her she will just smile at me. She only scare of the daddy. Haiz.... So daddy will be the bad guy everytime.

Crisann, tell me abt it! they wan means wan...if not, they will cry as if kenna beaten like tat! my girl, she will clench both her fists and bend both hands upwards and go, "hmmmmmm!!!!!' then the blood will rush from neck to face then to head! all my relatives saw tat b4, n they were all so shocked!

i will stop her by beating and shouting into her face to STOP, then just let her cry! coz i believe i better stop her b4 she let this habit grow on her then it will be hard for us to teach her liao!

more imptly, as girls, i dun like her to be so hot-tempered! coz her daddy is enuff for me liao!!

hi leobbsmom

What I mean is if she want the thing. She must make sure she has it if not she will scream and shout so loud. Or even cry.

ya, i hv realised tat they really dunno how to share.. i hv seen it alot of times when i was at the cryroom at my church, a place where all infants or babies will stay with their parents and attend the svc inside this room.

there are usually many babies, it's like a playgroup! n many times, i see young babies like my girl will snatch, push, "slap" each other when being "provoked".. i must say it's fun to see how they react when their terrority or assets being intruded!

esp when other babies walked past their parents! for my girl, she will quickly walk back to me, and sit on my lap to "protect" me! hee...quite a heartwarming moment i must add!

Hey augbaby!

great suggestion! I will go visit Sq2 this weekend n bio! but hor.. i scared too much dessert leh..

Hey Piyo,
thanks for letting me know about delihub! i think i will go for that! hee hee!! was actually considering chillipadi.. haiz.. but not really sure leh..

Kelly,
thanks for helping me sort out the playgroups. I registered Jadelle for JG playnest @ Forum.. i know the Evans road outlet better, but i am on waitlist for that for billingual playclub on weekends.. cos i prefer daddy to join in. Also, Forum nearer my work place and MIL easier to take cab home.

So, now Tuesday/ Thursday my lunch time = play time with Jadelle then back to work for me! And MIL will take 1.5 break then to do nails/ wash hair etc.

Hi augbaby,
Do u want to go for a trial or sign up for the lessons straightaway at JWT?

Also, can u help me check out learning vision (which is near ur place)if u pass by the place? think it's at blk 817.

I've just checked out the abc children's place near my parents' place. might sign him up when he's 18 months 1st cos i just want him to learn some social skills 1st. half day childcare is 7 to 1pm but lessons will officially start at 9.15am so i might bring him for lessons instead of staying there for half a day.

The supervisor told me the children will be taught to put on their clothes and shoes, self-feeding, toilet training, academic stuff such as learning words in English and Chinese, singing, colouring, etc.

Saw that registration for 2008 preschool education is open at some centres already. these incl. Soka Kindergarten, Kinderland Sports (Safra) and the educational centres at tampines central CC. Will be checking out the educational centres at Tampines Central CC most prob in Sept.

cupcakes
talking about this.. i have been experimenting with this for a month, as i was contemplating to make it for jade's b-day.. but hor.. very time comsuming.. and.. i find the hardest part iz decorating the cupcake..

I have been relying on betty crocker's instant mixes for sponge cakes and they really work well for cupcakes.. not too sweet! but, how to do the icing & cream? ah.. that iz tough!!

Any expert to teach us??? I have been exploring www.wilton.com too! and thinking to go for classes @ BIY too.. though what for, i have no idea.. hehe.. juz for fun, i supposed?

playgroups/ pre-nursery
Erin,

I juz e-mail acension kindergarten to check it out apparently for N1 (pre-nursery), muz be min. 2.5 yrs old and for 2009 enrollment, most start in March 2008.. watch out and mark calendars then!

I stay boon keng.. not much choices leh..

Hi jasmine,
wah! must sign up so early huh? where is ascension kindergarten? I also dun have a lot of choices cos we dun drive so must choose kindergartens that are nearby.

hi augustmum,
I would be interested in the baking lesson. i can't have it at my place cos I dun have an oven. furthermore, i'm staying with mil and the kitchen's her territory leh. anyone willing to open up the kitchen?

honeyhaven,
if u happen to see this posting, can pm me the brands u have for moisturizer (perferably with SPF)? misplaced the name card u gave me. thanks.

Hi kelly,
can check out the link posted by augbaby
http://www.jwtkids-singapore.com/index.html. she mentioned that there's playgroup too but it's not in the webpage. she's waiting for them to send her details.

which church kindy is gabe in? i'm still researching.

anyone knows where i can rent ergo carrier? want to try out 1st. if kayden is comfortable in it, i might want to get it so i can bring him out without bringing the stroller. thanks.

hi piyo,
glad that megan (you) like the puzzle!

jasmine,
u mentioned acension kindergarten. is it the one near st andrews? i'm also considering that one cuz might be moving there next year...
so we can start to register in Mar'08?

re. playgroup, i've enrolled aidan to tumbletots cuz it's much nearer to my place and got 50% discount on their opening day (sembawang)... so just went for it... but understand the "gym equipment" not as fancy as mygym... but can do lah since main motive is to let aidan get used to strangers... http://www.tumbletots.com.sg/index.php?menu=2&main=ourprogram_physicalplay

Wow,

So many mummies are into baking. So, who's the expert here to teach us or does anyone know someone who could teach?

Can open up my kitchen but quite small and I have no mixer. In addition, I can,t teach baking, must have an expert to come. Anyone? Anyone??? Kelly and Piyo, got lobangs?

jokojoko,
dun tell me u bought one of the new apartments like One Leicester over there izzit? I bougt one there too before i deliver JAdelle.. but juz sold it.. go register with me lah.. march 2008!

erin,
ya ascension iz in st. andrew's village.. potong pasir.. cos hubby is old boy..
You can try my ergo if u want when u come over my place..

Augustmum,
hand mixer can boh? i have a moulimex one.. I have a all in 1 oven (grill/microwave/convection) but is quite a small one leh.. . 22L only.. think max iz 9 or 10" round pan..

erin,
hmm think i wont go for the trial as yet nor sign up straightaway for the playgroup..think i do some research and maybe also visit the place maybe during 1 of their playgroup session to see what do they teach there...think might register jay only after his sister is born...okie i go check out learning vision for u...its v near my home...juz next block only...hee hee...the abc sch u mentioned near yr parents place is at blk what ah?? how much is the rate and is it everyday from 7+ to 1pm? Seems a little long to me leh for them to attend...thinking of something shorter actually till he is older...

leia,
i ordered the following:
caesar salad
potato salad
laksa
rendang
cream spinich and mushrooms
mango chicken
thai style fish
pineapple fried rice
prawn fritters with wasabi dip
choc eclairs and cream puffs
mango pudding

I had also a friend bake for me brownies, mini cupcakes and agar agar... :p

Augustmum,
jus saw yr blog...yr doggies cookies look reali cool and nice...n its sugar free ah...can u share wif me the recipe? Can pls PM me...i am keen to try maybe baking some cookies for jay to snack since its sugar free..realise in the mkt, those bb biscuits n all also got some sugar one leh...n now trying to get jay to sit in his car seat n trying to tempt him wif food lor..haha...

Anyway any mummies know of any other snacks or biscuits suitable for our bb ah? other than bb bites etc? my friend also say we can give our babies dried apricots as snack...any mummies know if there r preservatives or sugar in the dried apricots? i seems to think there shld be leh unless organic?? any mummies can advise?? Want to give jay healthier snacks leh...

augbaby,

I did bread bite size sandwich with green bean or red bean paste (boil and puree myself) without any sugar added. If not, I'll just give the babybel cheese or plain wholemeal bread lor. I do give Justin those bb biscuits in the mkt just for treats and encourage self feeding initially, but since its not a substantial part of his diet, I'm ok with the sugar content.

augbaby,

I boil the beans until soft then mash them thru the sieve. Then spread the paste on the slice of bread and cut into small squares. I buy the bread from bakery like Four Leaves or Breadtalk cos my friend told me those bakery bread got lesser preservatives than those gardenia type. I also try to buy those half loaves cos Justin can't finish so much.

any idea if we can use olive oil to maybe oven baked sweet potatos like french fries in oven for our bb like suggested from wholesomebabyfood website? i am keen to try that leh...

augbaby,

Hv you tasted dried apricots before? The ones that I have tasted are sweet, like dried mango - also sweet.

Common food preservatives are salt and sugar... Can't expect a piece of apricot or shrimp to be dried in the sun and then can last for eternity without decomposing. Surely need something like salt or sugar to preserve it.

I think vinegar and oil are also used as preservatives. Besides these, there are also other kinds of preservatives - compounds too cheem for my understanding.

If you want to give Jay "healthier snacks", I suggest you give him unprocessed stuff like -fresh- fuits (fresh apricots... if you can find them in Singapore) and veg sticks. Cos anything that is processed will *most likely* have preservatives. Some of your packet drinks also got preservatives. Canned food have plenty of preservatives.

Btw, french fries that you buy from the frozen food section are processed food. A *fresh* potato is not.

Butter8,

Thanks. The menu looks yummy! :D

Hi Amy,
thanks for the info.

Hi jas,
thanks. will try out then. see if he's ok in it. cos want to bring him to airport during one week break with colleagues. dun want to bring stoller. so cumbersome.

hi augbaby,
oic. then will wait for jay's sis's arrival then. abc's children place is at blk 878. i'm not sending him at 7am. will only send him at 9am when lessons start and bring him back at 12pm.

leia,
ya if i do french fries for jay, of course not those frozen one lah..those i cut myself using fresh potatoes lor...n then baked them in oven using some olive oil..that is y i am asking if our babies can take olive oil now...
ya i know preserved apricots has sugar etc n hence i am concern coz my friend say can give bb liao as snacks in the car...

hmm for fresh apricots ah, how is it like ah? n where to get? does it look exactly the same as preserved ones? hmm wat kind of veggies sticks to give our babies ah? how do i pre-prepare veggies sticks? i need some gd healthy snacks to give jay during long car rides and when we have our meals outside etc..dun wanna alw give him biscuits etc leh...so thinking of healthier alternatives..

hi augbaby,

Fresh apricots from Cold Storage or Jason's Market but they are not always available. Brown Paradise at Tanglin Mall also has some organic fresh apricots. In these places, the fruits and vegetables are usually labelled thus you will be able to know what you are buying.

I also started Rae on finger foods such as steamed asparagus, mini-carrots, zucchini and green peas. Just steam them for 10 - 15minutes then cut into smaller pieces.

Otherwise, soft fruits such as kiwi, papaya, mango, grapes can also be offered as finger foods when you cut them into cubes.

augbaby,

oh...when we hv meals outside, i either time it such that i can feed Justin his porridge at the same time. Or if not, I'll just feed him the bread or sometimes i bring yoghurt lor. Or maybe u can bring a banana out and mash and give him when u r having ur meal outside.

racoon,
thanks for the advise...gd idea..

amy,
so the fresh apricots will be labelled fresh organic apricots? coz from sun n moon i saw some apricots that states organic but i dun noe if they are preserved ones or not...totally blur abt it...
can our babies take blueberries or strawberries now too?

Amy, oh and does fresh apricots looks like preserved one...and if u steam veggies n when bring out to feed, will it be like cold n not nice..coz i am looking for finger food or snacks that i can bring out to let jay eat when we r outside or in the car...