(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Hi HoneyB. v pretty cupcakes...i've pmed u..but nvm...can share ur recipe wif me at [email protected]
thank u..

Leia,
Thanks! I know the pictures are abit blur, don't know why I tried to reduce the file size, looks ok to me but when I published it on the web, it looks blur...let me see what I can do. We rented the cup cake stand from B-I-Y, the rest of the ingredients we bought it from Poon Huat, they sell most of the stuffs that's available from B-I-Y but at a lower cost.

HoneyB,

Yeah, I do agree Phoon Huat's stuff are cheaper. The cupcakes stand is about $10+ cheaper too. But I don't seem to be able to find those nice edible decor (flowers, hearts, penguins, etc) at Phoon Huat.

For a while, I was actually toying with the idea of baking cupcakes for my boy's birthday. But since they're gonna be just about the only cakes for the party, I think I'll be totally stressed out making sure my frosting looks consistent (which I think won't be too possible without enough practice) and nice enough for phototaking. In the end, I gave up the idea. :D

HoneyB,

Nice nice! Got even more closed up pic? Zoom in to just 1 or 2 cupcakes?

I don't know how to make pic bigger but smaller in size....

Btw, how many cupcakes did you make and how much time you took in total?

Leia,

If you have the time you should try it out, we had a lot of fun making them and our guests were quite impressed with the cup cakes. All the kiddos were so happy that day cos after eating the birthday cake and agar agar, they can still tabao home haa...we let the kids queue up to pick their favourite cup cakes and the remaining were brought back by some the of adult guests. In the end, I'm left with many balloons cos they are all more interested in the cup cakes.

But I do agree that its tough work and you need to get alot of apparatus to get started like the design heads to create the icing patterns, these are not expensive about $1.30 each but you need a couple of them to do different designs. Good thing is you can always reuse them next time :")

As for the edible decor, I prefer to use free play to create different patterns or draw our own creations. Phoon Huat doesn't sell those edible decor, they only have those chocolate chips types. I bought the rabbits decor from B-I-Y but ended up we only use about 10% cos the rest are defective.Its not easy to remove them and they break easily even when sitted on the cup cakes so in the end we gave up and drew our own.

HoneyB, looking at ur cupcakes really inspire and motivate me...can u oso share what are the necessary equipment needed to do??? dun wan to start baking and then realised no have certain things..hehehehe

sorry sorry...one more thing..
how long can the cupcake last??? as in one day??? or how to store??? in the fridge...

hi augbaby,

I usually steam the asparagas for 10mins and check to see if there is a need to steam longer by poking with fork. Definately do not have to steam them for more than 15mins.

Only vegetables like carrots, swede, parsnip, broccoli, potato and sweet potato, I will steam for 20 - 25 minutes.

Bought the safety corners from First Few Years, so far so good, both rae and her cousin did not peel them off the table or maybe they are not curious enough.

hi augustmum,

Thanks for sharing abt the steam egg, just tried this morning. Though, Rae did not finish all, but at least she managed to ate more than half of it.

Hi Jasmine,

I haven't tried those frozen veges which you mentioned except green peas. When I choose the frozen green peas, I just make sure the salt/sodium level is the lowest.

hi cocomo,

I'm thinking if Jay can still finish whole bowl of porriage but not the pasta and mee suan, that means he is still not very bored with the porriage, right? You can also consider adding lentils or millet into the porriage for higher nutritional value and variety.

Leia,

We made about 40 plus cup cakes but only displayed 38 cos thats the max the stand can take. Took us about 3 hrs to bake them all and another 3-4 hrs to decorate them. Still need another hour to clean up after that cos the floor was covered with sugar ha...

HoneyB,

Shocked by what you said about the rabbit decor!

Am certain that the kids enjoyed the cupcakes. I would too! :D Anyhow, my invitees are mainly adults. Am ordering the cupcakes instead of baking them myself.

Leia,

PM me your email address lah and I'll send you the bigger version and the recipe :")

Handi,
Yes I did receive your pm, give me awhile hor, will email you the recipe. I think the cup cakes can last for a couple of days, we made them on the Friday and some of my friends told me they only ate it on Monday morning and still taste good. I did not store them in the fridge since the icing won't really melt, just need to put somewhere cooling and no ants land...hee

HoneyB,

Looking at the amount of time you guys put in for the entire project... GOOD HEAVENS!!!!

Still, it's v commendable! *pat pat* I don't have the luxury of time... especially since my event is at 2pm. Unless bake the night before. Ho ho ho!

I've actually baked some recently just to try out. Takes about 15mins in the oven. The vanilla cake was ok but the buttercream frosting don't seem too correct. So in the end, I didn't really use it. The cake still taste good after storing for 2 days.

Amy,
okie thanks for the info..regarding the corner safety guard, i went into first few years website to see...u bought the one that cost $46+ that is like a double side tape that can go around the table? Wow..that is exp leh....haha

HoneyB,
pls email me at [email protected] Btw where is Phoon Huat located ah?

augbaby,

No lah. I didn't buy that one that can go round the table. I bought those for the 4 corners only. But, can't remember how much is it now.

amy,
oh icic..coz i look under safety and only found that...hee hee...do u rem the brand name of the one u bought?

can i check if anyone bought the fridge to go cooler bag ah..this time thinkin of getting coz my normal cooler bag from medela can only last a few hrs outside..can anyone tell me where to get or if there is a road show going on ah...n wich model did u get and it is gd to store EBM ah? n how long can it last outside..

Piyo i know u have one rite...

honeyB,

Well done!! So much effort invested to make such beautiful cupcakes. I'm so motivated.

Can you show me pics of the piping bags and hee... how to assemble them. Have never tried using a piping bag before.

amy,
i surf first few yrs website again and they dun have the brand prince lionheart corner protectors liao..only the exp one...not sure if the outlet itself hav coz i din see it on the website..
saw yr link n its looks reali good n better than those i saw so far...

augustmum,

Shoes
If you have the time, go to this link and read about choosing shoes. http://www.orthoseek.com/articles/selshoes.html

I have a tough time looking for suitable shoes for my girl who has quite big feet. The first pair of proper shoes I bought from her is from Colette, now the second pair i bought is the same design with the biggest possible size simply because i can't find a suitable one from Clarks, Osh Gosh, Bubblegummers, Bata etc.

hi augbaby,

Called First Few Years, they have it in Paragon at S$27.40. Anyway, to play safe, called them at 6836 3693 to confirm just before you go down.

hi honeyB,
ur cupcakes definitely look marvelicious!!

so have u signed up for hannah? they told me the term will start on 1st sept 9.30am... but if got more pple sign up then they may open up another session for sunday afternoon... i told them i prefer sunday else gotta wake up so early!

Hi Kris

The Pigeon shoe at Taka is around $20+ but they have limited design and size left.

Hi HoneyB

Wah so nice cupcake and bday cake.... Agree that the corner protector is unless. Crisann remove all and play with it. As for using a cloth to cover it, she also remove it and play.

hi amy,

thanks. after reading the article, I might get combi for zac.

At first, I was thinking of those soft-soled shoes from the bulk purchase. Now, I think they may not be suitable. However, their designs are really cute.

Here is some pics which was taken on 18/8 Sat, which we celebrated Natalie 1st Birthday 3days in advance. WIll post more in my blog!

Her Cake
933620.jpg

Family Pic
933621.jpg

With Jadelle
933622.jpg

Future POP Group Star! (T.N.J) (Tara,Natalie,Jadelle)
933623.jpg

Hi morning mummies,

I've emailed out my recipe, let me know if you did not receive it.

Jokojoko,
No, I did not sign up the tumbletots class for Hannah, wanted to go for the free trial class to check out first before we decide, the course is quite expensive compared to other schools huh.

Handi,
To make the cup cakes, you will need the normal equipments to prepare a cake (mixer, cups for the cup cakes, etc). To prepare the icing, you will need the piping bags and the piping heads with different designs to attach to the bags so that you can create different pattern. They have a wide selection at Phoon Huat so you may want to go down to their store to check it out.

Augustmum,
I don't have a photo of the piping bag, Phoon Huat sell in I think 10 bags in a pack. Its like a triangle plastic bag, what I did was I cut off a small corner, then put in the piping head before adding the icing sugar. This can be quite troublesome if you want to change the piping heads in between so I went to B-I-Y to get this piping head adapter so that I can place the piping head outside of the bag instead of inside the bag and I can change the head anytime I want without creating a mess. I was told we can also use a tracing paper to fold into a cone shape instead of using the piping bag, this is what the chefs are doing but wah I don't think I can do that, will need some skills hee...

HoneyB,

Well done on the cupcakes!
I been trying the whole month and my most dreaded part is the decoration of the cupcakes!! Can i ask where you buy the cupcake paper cup? i can't find it anywhere leh? muz go Phoon Huat??

Can also PM me the receipe? I am exploring on the icing portion and need some help before JAdelle's birthday!

Cynthia,
thanks for the photos! Nat & Jadelle looks like sisters.. hahaha.!!

Piyo/ cocomo,
Can let me know the contact number of st. james please?

I brought Jadelle to her 1st playnest lesson yesterday @ Julia Gabriel and just wish to share the activities behind it:

- 1.5 hrs @ 680 sgd for 2x weekdays.
- 12 babies max per class, rooms r big and comfy.
- every lesson, start with sitting on playmat/ playing with toys with other babies (Free play)
- "cleaning up" of toys (using a clean up song)
- "Hello" song with a different animal each week (yesterday was cat - jadelle's favorite)
- and story telling
- break/ eating time with other babies (snacks like rice krispies). Jadelle copied other babies and learn to feed herself with finger/ spoon in just 1 lesson.
- "outdoor" play. In Forum, it is just a playground..@ Bukit Timah, it will be really outdoors.
- special activity of the week (this week is playing with flour & colours)
- washing up
- songs with keyboard and goodbye songs!

My view:
- teacher Lynn was very very enthusiatic and take special note of every baby's development in her class. e.g. she congratulates VERY HAPPILY one of the babies who learnt to walk 2-3 steps herself this week in class!
- there are at least 2 helpers to assist and follow up on every kid. so ratio is 1:4.
- Forum is a little crowded.. especially when eveyone is hand washing in the toilet and strollers are parked outside the waiting area, making it really cramped
- location is great for me. at 1-2:30pm, i only take up my lunchtime to have more time with my girl 2x a week without clearing leave.
- I sign up MIL for foot reflexology & nail spa that she can utilise. or she can go shopping @ isetan...

I think the playclub (18 months onwards) are similar... but more babies per class and can be in bilingual..

Response from jadelle:
- learnt to self feed in 1 lesson
- shared her toys/ can see her interacting with others
- alittle scared to be in class but derives comfort from me sitting behind her.
- she observes that other babies are walking and attempted to stand by herself.
- very enthusiastic when she sees balls and slides.
- she has made friends in class that she recognise and greet enthusiatically!

Wah. . . long time no login, so many posts!!!

kRis,
Hi hi. . . both me and Jay are well. Recently I am quite busy therefore seldom check thread postings.

Amy,
Jay taking long long time to finish his porridge lo. sometime even up to 1 hour le!!! Then sometime must on 'baby can read' to distract him. That's why I feel that he might be sian with the porridge. Can I know what normally u will feed Rae for lunch and dinner?

Cecelia,
I am staying at Bt Merah side, thanks for the link!!

Jas,
You called St James? What did they said? Actually me and Piyo went to Acention at St Andrew and Pat's school house, find it not as good tho. Still prefer St James! The environment is good, education programme is great, the bonding between teachers/principal and students are fantastic, school fee is cheap, and most important thing is we feel that the kids are all so happy there!!

sharon,

the 680 before gst n registration n refundable deposit is for 10 weeks worth of lessons x 2times a week.

I think GUG is cheaper slightly @ 2hrs session.. but Jadelle i think cannot take 2 hrs now.. cos plus travelling time etc..

cocomo,
i called st. james liaoz.. will go down tomorrow morning b4 work. also to see how long i take to reach there in morning. if not, i go for afternoon liaoz.

hi jasmine,

*Clap! Clap!* Clever Jadelle and shes a cutie.

hi cocomo,

Im still feeding Rae porriage for her lunch & dinner, havent even start on pasta or macoroni. It just that I have exposed her to quite a variety of vegetables so I dont know whether that has help in ensuring her interest in the porriage. Like augbaby, I do my own vege puree over the weekend and freeze it for my MIL to use in weekday. Recently, I bought lentils and millet that my MIL can add to the porriage and cook, my MIL says it makes the porriage smell very nice and Rae seems to like it.

amy,
how do u add the lentils n millet to the porridge ah? i am afraid my mum or maid dun noe how to cook or add that in leh...

erin,
how is yr search for a playgroup for kayden? me drop an email for the playgroup at gym class thing i told u..when they reply me, i forward the info to u yah...think we both need to find a playgroup that is walking distance from our home so our parents can bring our bb too..alot of interesting playgroup like Julia Gabriel but too far n dun think my dad can travel to n fro to bring jay go...wat abt u leh?

Augbaby,
millet very easy to cook. Just added in together with rice or slightly later will do. Me n MIL usually do that.

Amy,
Need your advise how to cook lentil...

Re: Playgroup
Anyone stay around serangoon area? MIL stay there and am trying to find out on playgroup in that area but not successful.

augbaby & Cecelia,

Cooking lentils is the same as millet. Just add with rice and cooked together. Choose the green coloured lentils instead of red coloured, the green one is more nutritious.

Hi augbaby,
i might be trying out the tumbletots (gym class) 1st. if everything's fine, will sign him up then cos the place is nearer. but can email me the details for the playgroup when u get them. saw jasmine's posting on julia gabriel. ya, sounds very good and interesting. would love to sign him up there if i can but dun think so (for the same reasons as urs). As for weekday playgroup, I'm still deciding between Elfa, the one behind my parents' place, Learning Vision and Kinderland. Haven't visited Elfa, Learning Vision and Kinderland yet. Perhaps we can go together during ur maternity leave?

Hi Amy,
I've tried frozen peas and corns but Kayden doesn't seem to be able to digest them well. Can still see bits and pieces in his poo (sorry for 'polluting' the thread.) I steamed them 1st, then blend them into smaller pieces and finally add to his porridge. How should I cook them instead?

Hi jasmine,
the playgroup sounds so interesting. glad jadelle had a great time learning. actually, i heard from the supervisor of the childcare centre that children learn to self-feed and dress themselves very fast when they are together as they can see how others do.

Jas,
I still think St James too far for you liao la, imaging everyday Jedelle need to travel so long just for 3 hours class! I have just check with my freind on that Marymount you mentioned, she said this one is good, too bad it's too far for me
Did you hear about Ethon House? My cousin send both her kids there, she said very good, but a bit ex for me lo. The reason I don't like Acension because I like outdoor activities whereby Jay can run around one lo. Boy should be that way since can't run at home! Acension one not as big lo.

Amy,
Thanks! I will let Jay try lentils and millet, hope he like it!!