(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

augustmum,
i read from others mum in the forum must of their injections are ard $200-300 for 6 in 1 better check with your hubby what else its included for the package.

Graduates:
<table border=1><tr><td>Augbaby</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>23-Aug</TD><TD>6-Aug</TD><TD>BOY</TD><TD>2.8kg</TD><TD>Jayden</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong </TD></TR><TR><TD>Augustmum</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>12-Aug</TD><TD>30-Jul</TD><TD>BOY</TD><TD>3.06kg</TD><TD>Zacchaeus</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bbnmum</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>13-Aug</TD><TD>27-Jul</TD><TD>BOY</TD><TD>3.365kg</TD><TD>Vytoz</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chrys</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>2-Aug</TD><TD>23-Jul</TD><TD>BOY</TD><TD>2.96kg</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dino</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>13-Aug</TD><TD>30-Jul</TD><TD>BOY</TD><TD>3.325kg</TD><TD>Pierson</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong </TD></TR><TR><TD>Erin00</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>25-Aug</TD><TD>5-Aug</TD><TD>BOY</TD><TD>2.445kg</TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Judy Wong </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jesline Tan</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>11-Aug</TD><TD>1-Aug</TD><TD>GIRL</TD><TD>3.3kg</TD><TD>Jia Hui</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jfong</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>7-Aug</TD><TD>6-Jul</TD><TD>GIRL</TD><TD>2.68kg</TD><TD>Reanne</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kelly</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>4-Aug</TD><TD>13-Jul</TD><TD>BOY</TD><TD>3.23kg</TD><TD>Edward</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mamaiffah</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>6-Aug</TD><TD>30-Jul</TD><TD>GIRL</TD><TD>3.00kg</TD><TD>Dina Qistina</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Irene Chua </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ningyo</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>14-Aug</TD><TD>7-Aug</TD><TD>BOY</TD><TD>3.64kg</TD><TD></TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Kenneth Lee </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rain</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>1-Aug</TD><TD>1-Aug</TD><TD>GIRL</TD><TD>2.82kg</TD><TD>Xylia</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sierra</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>17-Aug</TD><TD>26-Jul</TD><TD>2GIRLS</TD><TD>2.45kg &amp; 2.21kg</TD><TD>Amelie &amp; Kathlyn</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wanli</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>2-Aug</TD><TD>19-Jul</TD><TD>GIRL</TD><TD>2.77kg</TD><TD>Melody Ho</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

<table border=1><tr><td>Total Princes</TD><TD>8 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Total Princesses</TD><TD>7</td></tr></table>

HELO MUMMIES,

My frd recommend mi this gynae at MAH.
Kinderclinic n i seen e package quiter reasonable..

Hope to share over here to have more options!

mime_msexcel.gif
6 In 1 Package
PDcharges(2).xls (20.5 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Hi Piyo,
Ever tried on choz's full month cake? I noe their kueh is nice.. but no idea of their full mth cake. Intend to get from them??

mummies who have popped,
Congrats

augustmum,
I lurveeee Zac's double eyelids.

kelly,
Pls give us feedback abt the massage lady. I haven decide who to get yet.

Haiz... so envious of those mummies who have a later EDD than me but who have popped. Me wait until neck long liao. Didn't expect my #2 to be tis late.

Rain
Maybe u can try putting heat pack on yr breasts, 5-10mins before pumping, this should help the flow better.
Or u can massage more often to unblock the ducts.
I did both , n my flow are much better now.

pups,
dun noe whether the food good or not. i jus took the flyer standby in case my CL MIA. if u dun need 7 days a week, can be different package, i tik. weekend anybody can cook for u?

i will be seeing my gynae later for a check regarding the muscus discharge. may be she might ask to me to deliver today?? well, keep u all posted.

So envy for the ladies who has popped already. I am still around. Those ladies with the same EDD as me 13 Aug (This Sun) all has already popped except me. I will be going for checkup again on this Thurs and gynae did mention to induce on Sun or Mon if baby still haven't pop yet. I also have problem sleeping at nite. Luckily already on leave, or else stress if next morning still have to go to work.

Honeyhaven,

Don worry so much, who knows bb wan to come out liao ah.. I know hw u feel too. For mi i also waiting n waiting esp last week bb give mi v bad pain ah n don come out! haiz.. waiting to be executed now..

I seeing Dr Adrian on Thurs morning also.. he mention to judge hw bb grow too.. cos scarewait too big also headache.

Sometime sleep at nite, DO U ALL feel that changing position is getting tougher N maybe even got some pain? I been having that dono is it normal.. esp lower...

Hi Cynthia,

Yes, I feel the same too. Feel like have to use my hands to support my tummy before I turn, its getting so heavy and uncomfortable...sometimes when baby moves her head or hands, feel so painful at the lower part...can't wait for her to be out.

hi CJ

think my mom will cook for me on and off, but cos she's bz with my dad, i don want to put the responsibility of cooking for me on her, i just told her whenever she can.

hey r most of u guys following confinement traditions strictly?

i've been super moody just thinking about not washing my hair, cannot do this n that etc. MIL was sharing w me, and i really don look fwd to it.

i think jus wash hair during day n don soak in the water can already right?

food wise, will try to stick to confinement dishes, but prob eat fruits, and mb healthy sandwiches shd b ok too?

*getting nervous and feeling unprepared*

pups,
i've flouted almost all confinement rule, except 2...i didnt drink any cold drinks yet &amp; i still wear slippers around e hse most of times (sometimes i forget). for me, i
1) wash my hair almost everyday (even after washing my hair, i dun bother 2 blow dry)
2) bathed everyday
3) drink fluids while standing up
4) carried my 11kg+ son (not supposed 2 carry heavy stuff)
5) touch cold water when washing bottles/breastpump (can only touch warm water), 6) drink plain water (will cause water retention but i sometimes very thirsty n e longan drink not ready yet)
7) dun rest much (shld rest as much as possible) 8) sleep in aircon room.

wat other rules i've flouted?

augustmum,
hahahahahaha, gd question. either we do it during 'safe period' or husband MUST use condoms since he wont let me ligate. i very eager 2 ligate but i know deep down husband still likes 2 have a #3.

$900+ seems pricey but if it includes all e jabs, then it shld b reasonably priced.

piyo,
the table given by Cynthia is very useful info. which jabs are must-take? let's juz say tat for my 22mths son, he has taken everything in the table.

rain,
if xylia has jaundice, pls ensure she gets lotsa fluids...BM/EBM or FM. i know u really 1 2 do TBFg for ur girl but if she's running a risk of jaundice, pls take care of tat problem 1st. u wont 1 her bilirudin levels 2 increase n risk staying in e hospital 4 photolight treatment (like wanli's girl). give urself time for ur BM 2 kick in. u r a 1st time mummy so it may take time. e key 2 BFg is latch latch latch. since u r trying TBFg, dun bother 2 pump 1st. just let her girl latch all e time.

pups,

actually i won't be following the confinement rules, i will still bath and so on. i felt that if i don't wash my hair it will become oily and lead to hair fall. which i had read that if hair is not clean and oily will lead to hair fall.
and hygien is veryvery important.
food wise just don't eat seafood and cold things

augustmum,
who's zac's PD? i consulted dr lee chien yee fr kinderclinic (she's dr terence tan's cousin - equally as gd as dr terence tan). she advised tat pneumoccocal (i also dunno how 2 spell) is not necessary 4 bbs <1yr>2yrs cos they mingle more wif other tods, go 2 childcare/PG/classes, etc.

wif tis advice, husband &amp; i decided not 2 give edward e pneumoccocal jabs in his 1st yr but we'll let gabe take it when he's 2yrs old. he runs at a higher risk n wif e vaccine, hopefully he'll b protected n wont infect his lil bro.

there's also 1 more jab...rotavirus. is it part of ur $900+ package?

*FAINT* so many jabs 2 consider now...back in gabe's time, it seems so simple then.

hi kelly

thanks for sharing!

my MIL always has a way of un-nerving me, sad to say. she was telling stories about how she endured EVERYTHING, and despite smelling bad, ddnt shower. and also told me that the herbs for the water to bathe in must to boiled on the stove, and must have 3 kettles worth, and must use wooden tong to keep the water ETC ETC ETC, and the way she was telling it was as if i don do all this crap, im not a good mom (unlike how good she is), and it really got to me.
i mean u ddnt follow all the rules, and everything still turned out v well right?
im going to follow the rules as little or much as i please, i don wan to be under the 'i must keep to it' stress, don think it'll do me any good.

wa today my mood is super on the edge, SIGH. even i type about my MIL also like pressing dam hard, making a lot of noise.

re: CONTRACEPTIVE
me also on the lookout for something that works, without too much side effects. i was on the pill gynera before, but im the super fertile type, missed 2-3 and im pregnant, and we really can't afford to have another kid in the near near future.

i heard that b-feeding can work as a natural contraceptive, is that true?

am thinking of taking that jab that lasts 1 year, but i heard the side effects r quite bad, like bloated, put on weight which i have a phobia of, esp since after giving birth wan to go back to my original size.

Wow!! This thread sure moves FAST!!!

OK, regarding the DALE binder...it's very comfortable and soft. Comes in two range; shorter one wif three sections and taller one wif four sections. You can fold the sections in case you need to go to toilet..hence no need to remove the binder at all..very convenient.

I totally recommend it for all mothers who've delivered..cos helps to keep womb in place and reduces discomfort. For C-sect..it's a lifesaver.

What you can do is to get a nurse measure your waist once you've given birth. Those who are petite would find the three sectioned ones more comfortable..those who are taller would opt the four sectioned ones. It all depends on one's body.

Personally I find the binder so much easier to use than the traditional Malay "bengkung"..wahhh that one made me sweat and stiff like bamboo...

Heee...heee....I not earning commission from increased DALE sales hoh...though I wish I am..heee...heee...

thanks for sharing nurbates

i'm not sure how many sections mine is, but mine is the dale 2810, is it the same as yours?

cool didnt know it keeps the womb in place and reduces discomfort, thought it was just for slimming purposes.

Hi Cynthia and HoneyB
I also feel that when I turn I can feel the heaviness and slight pain too. These few days also have the tightness on the whole tummy. Maybe 10 to 20 mins. Then tightness again abt every 2 to 3 hours.
BTW Cynthia, will u be using the jab service that Dr Adrain's nurse intro. I mean jab done at the GP's clinic. Cost more than polylinic but cheaper than PD. Did they intro this svc at his cck branch??

pupsandcups
we can "gossip" abt our MILs next time...i totally understand wat u going thru. juz use ur gut instinct when it comes 2 confinement. i believe in keeping myself clean (hence e bathing &amp; washing hair) &amp; making myself comfortable when it comes 2 rest (hence e aircon at nite). if not, how can i be in prime condition 2 handle my 2 boys? imagine BFg ur bb when ur body is sticky, dirty &amp; ur hair is oily? yikes! i dun like such feeling. in fact, i'm taking 2baths now (another hot bath at nite b4 i sleep). the weather freaking hot, i can b sweating away, thks 2 e longan/red dates drink, e confinement food, etc.

oh ya, another rule i flouted...i wear tee shirt &amp; shorts at home. sometimes i even wear tank tops.

my menses didnt come until my 1st boy was abt 6mths old when he nursed lesser &amp; lesser due 2 him taking solids. it's no guarantee tat IF u dun have menses, u wont get pregnant. my cousin who didnt have menses as she was TBFg, got preggie when her girl was 4mths old. i know of another mummy who got preggie too.

pupsandcups 2810? Alamak! I don't read codeslah...heee...hee...

But it's easy to find out if yours is three-sections or four sections...just count the no. of rows the binder has.

Three rows= three section, four rows=four sectionlah..

Think the box does state it also.

thanks kelly
think i'm the same pattern as u
if im dirty and feeling gross, i won b functioning well, and will be so bloody moody, won do baby, or hubby and my mental health any good.
i mean i try to be a good, well decent DIL, but my MIL and me like really stars mis-aligned, she has a way of un-nerving me vvv easily. she's a nice person deep inside, and actually v caring towards us, but on the outside she can b rather harsh, and i can b ultra sensitive. also she is the exact opposite of my mom, so i really can't gel with her.

hi honey haven
i bought my dale binder 2810 at the KKH pharmacy for $55. but i think they sell it all hospital pharmacies.

Honeyhaven,

Hmm Dr Adrian didnt mention to me leh abt e service.. bt i think its ok lo. since i intend to take up KinderClinic cos its near to hb work n also IL hse.. incase i cant make it to bring bb they are available.

Ur tummy tightness can be a sign.. dono tat time i like this also den i tell Dr adrian he will advise to stand by n monitor.. Realli don like this feeling.. Y NOT jus give a right signal leh hehehe...

Kelly,
Talking abt MIL... sometime realli so hard to raise issue or talk to them N different from talkin to our own mum.

Like my MIL already signal mi don do this n tat.. I tell hb straight certain still can.. I already v gd to give in. I will b using herb to bath tip to toe. sometime.. esp weather in sg esp now.. we jus try bt cant guarantee we will break or not lah heheeh.. BT i will still believe n try not to squat too much during confinement n also don carry too heavy things lo

Hi pupsandcups and nurbates,
If the binder is that good, we can buy it in advance... since both natural and csec also can use

Hi Cyn,
Turning at night is difficult for me too. I also feel some pain when turned so I will pause for awhile b4 I turn or get up to go toilet...

Do you all bath/intend to bath when you are in the hospital? Me thinking of doing so... cos really cant tahan not bathing... as for aircon, we are in aircon room after we deliver during the hospital stay... so if we continue to use aircon at home after we are discharged, does it matter?

congrats to the mummies who graduated... keke.. makes me all excited.. wondering when it will be my turn!

I am on leave today as have gynae visit in the morning.. did the Strep B culture test (cost me extra 50 sgd, but claimable from company).. My girl is headdown, but, her face is facing outwards, not towards my spine.. hope she can turn around by next week's check up... otherwise, cos the diameter when she facing outwards is bigger, i might have a longer labour that may need to be assisted delivery... now, she weighs 2.7kg, but not yet engaged.. so, i am not likely to pop early too.. hehe.. was wondering if i can pop this week on Aug 9... keke!!

Wow....this is really too fast

Cynthia,

thanks for the list. It's very useful. I saw Dr Terence Tan in hospital. Seem nice. However, he also seems very busy and popular. Did not want to follow up as his clinic is too far from my house in Sembawang and did not want to wait too long for each consultation.

I'm seeing Dr Ooi at Ooi Clinic in Yishun. My elder son is seeing him too.

Kelly,

Noah just took his jab for pneumoccocal. Only one jab required cos he's already two. Decided to send him to childcare next year cos' doctor commented he's rather late in vocalisation. She suspected that he is understimulated at in-law's place.

pneumoccocal and Rotavix are also included in the package. So, my package price should be ok. Will want Zac to be immuned for pneumoccocal too as if Noah goes childcare, I will take him along when I send Noah to childcare.

Nurbate,

It's too late for me to use the binder as I gave birth a week ago? If no, will ask hubby to buy for me. Can give me the exact name cos hubby very blur one? Me to the petite side so must use the 3 parts one rite?

Piyo,

No need to bathe in hospital. Got air con, don't feel dirty. Just wipe...

Piyo,

I will bath in hospital but sure use hot water.. cos u know hospital aircon already so cold don think i can take it.. When discharge i at home air con will be out.. cos i don realli like air con BT i sure need fan to beat ard e room n air! IF not I WILL SUFFOCATE TO HEAT!

Jasmine,
Hmm our baby face where got difference? Wat i know is my gal she don face mi.. but towards spine BT i not sure it got makes a difference.
BT fast ur darling head is also down liao!

I'm back at home. actually was discharged yesterday but was very down and tired so din log in. baby kayden is still in hospital as he din passed the thyroid test and has slight jaundice. has to wait for day 4 (which is tmr) to take the thyroid test again. hope he'll clear it or i'll definitely blame it on me cos i have thyroid. sigh... dunno why i kept crying when i have to leave the hospital. can't bear to leave him behind. logically, i know he's in good hands but emotionally, just can't take it. guess it's due to the hormones. gosh! me tearing again. just like a tap nowsadays.

i'll be ok so don't have to worry abt me. hope he's healthy and i can bring him back tmr.

Kelly,

I have broken the same rules....huh? Cannot drink water while standing up.

However, I think we better don't carry our firstborn. Carried him yesterday and felt a bit painful. Then remember Mil telling me that she did not take care of herself in the past and now, her womb 'dropped out' and she had to remove it...

Erin,

I think it's normal for you to feel this way cos your birth was rather sudden.

My fren has thyroid too and her child is fine...

You have a good rest today as you will be very busy tomorrow. Take care...

Hi Erin,
It's natural for you to feel this way, especially when Kayden can't come home with you. this is also looming in my head these few weks, so worried that baby can't come home with us... you try to rest well 1st k cos you need the strength and energy to take care of him when he comes our of the hospital. Think of going to pick him up tomorrow and you will feel better, ya?

Hi Cyn,
Wouldn't it be aircon and not direct fan/wind wround the room be better for our confinement?

Helo ERIN

Welcome back!
Ur darling will be fine. Feeling down is normal esp for a start.. we tends to worry alot too.. BT remeber don cry or blame urself anything ok. Crying is not gd for eyes n u need to bring him home soon! Nw try rest more too okie.

Augustmumn,
I not sure why we can drink water while standing lo.. jus those tales from our e past so jus follow bah. I oni heard tat drink water while standing not good for our internal organs.. dono how true. But regards to carry heavy stuffs which can cause our womb to drop can listen some lo BUT do rember to kegel exercise cos it helps stregthen our womb. We are lucky to know all these as compare to our grandmothers mothers generations.

Piyo,

Alot mention Fan no good which is v true. Though some still felt air con is ok cos dry air. For mi, i will try not to blow e fan on mi bt jus air e room. As for aircon, this one i will opt when i home.

Partly I believe e CL will say alot too..
2nd, My frd she do confinement on aircon she got fever BT i felt it depends on individual body.
3rd, I heard tat no doubt aircon or fan e air or wind is penetrate into our pores n into our bones which is still opening..

There is a lot dilemma regarding bathing, aircon, fan etc.. SO difficult to judge. As we mention early do within wat we can. MOST IMPT eat well n also don forget e DOM. Cos my auntie she is also tat type breaks all rules! She even bath cold water bt till nw she v strong.. cos she drink DOM everynite m take care during confinement.

So we can only say up to individual bodies n when we don feel good with fan or air con den well jus switch it off hehehe..

hi jas,
thanks for updating the rest about my baby's delivery. now waiting for ur turn

congrats to augbaby, ningyo and jesline.

hi augustmum,
so exp ah. think the package incls more than the 6 in 1 cos in kkh the 6-in-1 package costs $450. haven't decide to take their package or to go to polyclinic.

hi rain,
my milk supply also hasn't come in yet. but can feel breasts getting fuller. don't know whether to express it out now or later. went to the hospital earlier. managed to latch baby on for a while but not much supply. he's hungry so in the end, feed him with FM again. dunno why he's always sleeping after sucking for a few times. will try to give him ebm when milk supply comes in so can monitor how much milk he drinks. if not enough, then will supplement with FM again.

hey erin

i'm planning to take bb to polyclinic for his jabs too. wat i feel is since the content is all the same, might as well jus take him to polyclinic, i heard it is much much cheaper.

Hey Erin,

Welcome back!! Don't worry so much ok? Kayden will be fine.. you take care, rest well, cos remind yourself u need to be there for him... ask hubby give u a hug... okie?

Cynthia,

according to the antenatal class i attended... if bb facing outwards, &amp; not towards spine, the head diameter is bigger and hard to go though pelvis.. in fact, the doc actually might have to wait for bb to turn around then can pass through the pelvis.. so, labour will be longer &amp; more tiring..

Some of my gal frens.. baby was facing upwards during delivery, so, kanna forceps/ vacuum lor..and if baby is in distress cos of long labour.. gyane will depends on situation recommends an emergency c-section..

pups,
heard polyclinic only have 5 in 1 thats why much cheaper.

Erin,
i heard from my colleague that is normal for baby to fall asleep during breastfeeding. Need to be very patient to breastfeed.

jasmine,
nothing in singapore is FOC even polyclinics they also want to earn.. If the jabs is free the polyclinics will be very very very busy giving jabs hehehe.