(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Jasmine,

Oh I c.. so many theory n facts abt this which i realli didnt know.. so bb better be gd ah cos we cant judge e labor..
Regarding Jab at polyclinic i not sure FREE OR NOT.. bt i heard if bb give birth from GOVT hospital is FREE..

I not choosing polyclinic becos partly e crowd n also got feedback bb jab at polyclinic have higher percentage of getting fever..

POLYCLINIC JABS

Hmm, i don think its free, but i know it is cheap.

hmm, i know a lot of pp who go polyclinic n no bad feedback. to me i think all the same leh.

Augustmum, one week canlah...the last time I used the "bengkung" only after three weeks had passed...my mil and mom sure "hot" wif me then..heee...heee...

To get the correct sizing, must first measure your <font color="ff0000">HIPS</font>. I bought the 3 PANELS one in the smallest sizing (76-114cm) cos my hips are 90cm wide.

Note: Must ask hubby to read whether it's 3 or 4 panels. The pic for 3 and 4 panels are the same (3 panels) so must read the details on the opening of the box.

My hubby also super blurlah..lucky we bought when we are at KKH. He chose 4 panels and had to go down to pharmacy to exchange for the 3 panels one.

Here's the specifications:

DALE
Abdominal binder
3 panels
Uses: Post-Surgical Support, Post-Childbirth,
Abdominal Support/Back Support

Price (at KKH):
3 panels $40plus, 4 panels $50plus..sorry can't remember exact pricinglah.

Comes in white box with a photo of binder on its front.

Hope this helps;)

Erin00 ,

dont worry abt baby , baby is will be fine .. at the moment , take good care of urself ok ! dont think so much , just have enough rest ! =)

so many mummies have pop already..........when is my turn? getting very cranky these days, a bit of things will upset me, dun knoe is it becoz of the waiting........

hi celine

me also cranky. im ok with the waiting, not in a hurry. but i just feel extremely sensitive these days. also vvvv clingy to my hubby these days, go to work also like v hard to not b with him, SIGH so weird. hormones.

augustmum,
i cant help it. if u c how my elder son behaves, u'll understand y i have no choice but 2 'bao bao' him.

erin,
be strong &amp; take care. i'm sure kayden'll b fine &amp; b discharged 2mrw. hope i've answered ur queries over e phone.

wa.. the thread really move so fast..!!]

Any mummy here doing total breastfeeding, and have too much supply? Things are getting messy at my side, cos I need to pump my milk out every 4 hours.. very tiring.. even at nights.. 12am, 4am, 8am.. else the breasts will feel like rock (engorgement) and milk will leak out and wet my bra even though breast pads are put on.

Reg the postnatal massage, i find it quite good.. Maybe Kelly can comment more.. as tis is first time i do massage..

Today is my 3rd session, another 2 to go. I plan to start another 5 session after tis 5 sessions is done. On first day after i remove the binder, quite obvious tat my tummy bcomes smaller. And i fart alot.. hehe.. and alot of blood discharge.. in fact my discharge already decrease even though gynae said still have some inside as shown in the ultrasound scan.. it's good tat it can expel out faster.. some can wait till next menses then slowly expel out..
For the charge of $30/hr, i think it's worth lor. I even request for doing thighs wrapping today, need to pay for additional $2 for the plastic wrap.

Hope tis helps.

cj, piyo
i just tried e massage lady recommended by chrys. thumbs up 4 her. her massage skills is juz as gd as mdm naini but her wrapping skills is betta. my whole body feels much betta (not so achy). she is rather fully booked so do call her asap if u 1 2 book her. tell her u r recommended by kelly or chrys. she'll know.

according 2 e massage lady, chrys has lost 2.5inches on e waist over two days of massage/wrap.

for me, i have water retention problem so i peed a lot after e 1hr massage. wrapping is abt 5-10mins. she also used jamu herbs on ur belly.

hi chrys

i am frm the sept thread. can i have the contact of your massage lady ?

She charge $30 per hr .. so how long is per session ?

thanks !!

chrys,
very gd tat ur BM supply is abundant. me very envious. i merely latching my son, will love 2 pump out more so can feed my elder son too but i doubt i have tat much. my breasts only feel rock hard after abt 6hrs.

wat do u do 2 have so much milk? for me, i merely drinking my longan water now. havent even eat papaya fish soup or taking any supplements.

me not doing full-mth celebration 4 ed. me pan-tung lah, dun 1 2 do anything during 7th mth. we just ordered some cakes fr ecreative for my ILs 2 distribute 2 her relatives.

hi kelly and chrys

i just booked mona
said i was recommended by both of you. she sounds v nice on the phone! i can't wait to start my massage!

thanks for the recommendation guys!

pupsandcups,
wait til u c mona...u'll b surprised. she's not ur usual malay auntie looking type of massage lady. u meet her then share wif us ur comments/feedback abt her ok?

Nurbates,

Thanks for the details...

Kelly,

I'm also thinking of give my elder son some breastmilk to drink if possible...do we use it to replace the FM that they are drinking now or just like H2O to quench their thirst?

i definitely will.
my EDD is 28-aug, but she was glad i called earlier to book. my location is also not a problem for her to get too.
cool - i can't wait!

wa chrys - lost 2.5inches is awesome!

keke.. wat a coincidence!

pupsandcups,
i just gave her a call!! and she tell me i am abit late in booking.. but still accepted! muz be you calling her before me.. keke!

augustmum
*scratch head* i havent figure tat out yet...i tik i would mix wif his FM 2 let gabe get used 2 it then slowly feed EBM entirely. i dunno leh, wat do u reckon?

heehee

jasmine when your due date? wah she must be full of business now!

for me she told me just in time just in time, so i guess when u called, nearly just not in time

Kelly,

But the nutrient in our BM is for newborn babies...not enuff for 2 years old rite...I'm thinking of just offering it to him like a beverage, not to replace the milk...do you think it's ok?

jasmine

rcv your pm .. $30 per session is very attractive .. cos chrys mentioned it was $30 per hr .. so I guess per session is only an hr ?

hey gals

I just called Mona as well .. she almost fainted when I told her my edd is 2nd Sept and I could delivered in end Aug as well ahhaa

but she said she will slot me in admist her busy schedule.

tks for the contact !

augustmum,
my understanding is tat if ur tod is eating solids well, BM is gd enuff as a drink. mayb tat's y i tot of mixing it wif his FM cos BM is like 70% water.

false alarm. so ther's no change in schedule. will be checking in hospital tmr morning for induce. so kan cheong yet excited now. hehe.. will post my birth story wen i m back.

kelly,
so e massage lady is good n cheap ah. can SMS me her contact to me? may try to call her tmr at the hospital... while waiting for bb to come out. hehe..

i just had my massage fm Mona.
I find that she is good and friendly.
She was doing the massage for me, n she rec'd all yr calls/bookings.
She say really tks Kelly n Chrys for recommendation.
Can see her schedule is full, but she say she will try to accomodation all of us.
Those who has not booked, quick make yr reservation!

Kelly
He say Gabby is cute n noti.

Chrys
I m doing total bfeeding, n like u, i have to pump every few hours.
My supply is quite a lot, and i let my elder take BM also, luckily he got no rejection.
Agree is tiring, but for sake of our bbs, we have to carry on ok?
When engorgement, try puting heat pack to loosen the tightness.
Do drink a cup of hot drink before pumping, will help the flow better.
I think payaya and soup really helps, been taking twice a wk, and my supply has increased.

wa.. so many of u booked the massage lady ar.. hope tat u all find her good too.. and manage to trim down and have a good relax time.

Hi Kelly,
I din take any supplements yet though i have 2 big bottles of fenugreek to stand by on the shelf.. hehe. Wait till my supply drop maybe i will take tat. I drink fish soup (ngor fish) with papaya, sometimes fish soup only without papaya, or steam fish, also pig trotter (te kar chor), pig tail soup with groundnut/ black beans, sesame oil chicken, etc. maybe one of the recipe helps? I do eat fish and drink milk everyday. And keep latching bb and pumping, once the "milk tank" is emptied, it'll be filled up again.. I dun wan to pump out too much now, i heard the more u pump, the more it'll be refilled. Fresh is still best. I dunno wat i m going to deal with the 30 over packets of milk in freezer now.. no place for storage liao! End up bb always drink old stock.. think i should give him the fresh one betta..

Hi bbnmum,
How much u manage to pump out each time? How much u feed ur bb n how frequent bb cry for milk? U also wake up at night to pump? (tis is the most sien part.. zzzz....)

Ok, gtg liao.. bb sleeps with me tonight... anticipate will have another restless night.. "take a deep breath.." jia you..

To all mummies who are waiting to pop.. ur turn getting into tis hectic lives.. very soon..

Do you all mind to pm me the massage lady contact too? My EDD is 4 Nov but Dr Joycelyn Wong expect me to deliver in early or mid Oct as I have preterm labour signs.

Thanks a lot!

bbnmum &amp; chrys,
can pls share wif me how u cook e papaya fish soup? up 2 now, i still havent eat it yet. hai...long story. my confinement ending soon, i tik i'll cook it myself. just buy ngor fish rt? no need 2 buy fish bones or anything else rt?
i havent eaten any supplements yet, merely latching but definitely like 2 increase ss so tat my son can sleep longer in e nite. i dun mind latching every 1.5-2hrs in e day but every 1.5-2hrs in e nite is very siong.

bbnmum,
so u r e mummy in yew tee? gabe notti bcos he was crying badly when he saw mona. i tik bcos he doesnt like her doing stuff 2 me. she also saw gabe's pics taken fr a studio so commented tat he very cute.

chrys,
how come ur bb sleeping wif u 2nite? now u know being a mother aint easy hor...

FYI...e massage lady also does slimming services. 1 of e slimming service is thigh wrapping. she'll apply slimming oil n use a shrinkwrap 2 slim ur thighs further. those who r keen 2 do tis extra service (it's chargeable at a very cheap rate), pls ask her abt it over e phone &amp; get her 2 bring e equipment e day she's starting ur massage.

chrys told me abt tis thigh wrapping n i only asked her abt it 2day when she 1st came but she didnt bring e stuff wif her so i lost 1 day of thigh wrapping.

mummies who have popped,

can i ask u something...has ur bbs try fliping 2 e side? edward flipped 2 his side 2x when he was abt 2wks old. he was lying on a flat surface n e surface wasnt tilting 2 any side 2 aid him 2 flip. husband saw it once, i saw it another time too. we were very puzzled cos i dun recall gabe flipping 2 his side at tis stage, in fact i dun even recall gabe flipping 2 his side. gabe only flipped completely when he was 4mths.

my GF's girl who is 2wks older than ed, also flipped 2 her side once in a while. do ur bbs do it too?

Congrats to all mummies who've popped! hvnt logged in for quite sm time...

Hi Kelly,

Not asleep yet? me jus woke up , now feeding Reanne. :0

when u say "flip", do u mean ed lying on his sides? Reanne does, in fact my HB and I were quite shocked too when she cud turn her head fr side to side in her first weeks. I dun recall my elder doing that leh...

so gum leh, i oso ordered my cakes fr ecreative! nice cakes! very satisfied with their cakes and service.

Chrys,

i used four seasons catering last Sat (hi tea), good feedback fr my guests. can consider...

Morning Mummies,

Hi Kelly, thanks for your pm!! Mind if I check with you another thing? Usually, for cloth nappies, do you all buy those made in China brand or another other good ones to recommend? I am in amidst of preparing the baby's items so will like to find out more.

Gingercat

sorry for intruding in this thread too..I am in the sept thread and will be due on 4 Sept. Can I please have the contact for the massage lady too? Thanks a lot!

Hi morning mummies,

Kelly, can I have the contact for the massage lady as well, I've actually booked Mdm Naini but guess 5 sessions may not be enough. Was thinking of continuing with Mona. I'll be online whole day, let me know how I can do the PM thingie, thanks.

Hi GingerCat,

You can get the nappies from Pigeons, they look pretty good and soft. Alternatively, if you have friends or relatives going to Bangkok, ask them to buy for you. Its much cheaper there and they also have tons of nice baby clothes from Little Wacoal (one would think they only have Lingerie huh...) Little Wacoal is only available in Thailand, my sister bought some back for my baby, very pretty and cheap.

kelly,
for your info, don't mix FM n BM it will cause your kid to have lots of wind. Its a no no to mix FM n BM.

Kelly and BF mums,

Got these recipes from Thomson, believed to improve milk flow in lactattion...

Fish and Green papaya soup

200gm Green unripe papaya
1 Fish head eg carp, snakehead, seabrebream, Pomfret or Kurau fillet
1 slice ginger

Method
1) Scale and clean fish
2) Simmer together with pieces of papaya and ginger for four hours or till soft and appearance milky in colour
3)Do not stir often, remove papaya and bones b4 serving

Longan and red dates tea
10pcs Dried Longan flesh
10-20 red dates, seeds removed
4-5gms Tang Kwei (optional)

Method
1) Boil and simmer ingredients in 4-5 cups water for 45minutes to an hour until liquid is fragrant and tasty
2) Drink throughout the day

Kelly,

Re: Slow Vocalisation

My elder son went to pd on saturday. Pd realised that he could understand instructions very well but seldom speak, the most one/ two words sentences. He is highly alert and happy so pd eliminated the possibilities of speech problems.

She, however, posed one question (which I knew abt but did not dare bring up to in-law.) She asked if my elder son spends a lot of time with mil who will leave the child alone to play and then does her own housework.

This is precisely what happen everyday. My son will sit in front of TV, watch SCV, Taiwan variety shows or walk around helping to wipe table and chairs or play with toys. I also suspect playing with toys is not frequent too cos mil complains very messy. She scares of trouble one. If my son played with markers and dirtied his hands, she would never let him touch markers again...

So this is my loooong complaint. Son is under stimulated at mil's house and seldom spoken to. He picked up more words from us instead. Should be the other way since he spends longer hours at mil's house. The only words he learned from mil is 'wipe', 'comb' and 'hot' in mandarin.

Hi Kelly,
Thanks for the mail! I have contacted Mona and she sounds nice and experienced over the phone. I have made reservations with her. She does thign wrapping as well but not advisable on the 1st day as as are still recovering from the stitches.She does for Csec as well but that will be 14-15 days after the csec...