(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

CT,
Its ok if baby don't like can keep the baby cot. until baby can sleep on its own again. also can keep for second baby haha.. after that can sell back to the baby shop..if the kids don't like it..

Good morning mommies, I'm so tired this morning.. >__<

Saw that u all are talking abt BB cots here, I'm going to get a used cot for my girl. I'm not fussy abt the equipment itself, coz most imptly is tat the mattress, comforter, pillow n bolsters are all brand new and safe for bb.

I'm sure some of you hv heard abt babysafe?
www.babysafe.com.sg
pls wait for GSS, there will be sale @ Robinson and other big mega stores.
Thou their things are abit exp, but it's worth it. coz alot of colleagues swear by it coz it is anti dustmites, as NB are very super sensitive to dust n humidity. Their products are very good, esp for NB.. as there are many holes on their pillows, and our NB will not hv sweaty or smelly head after sleeping on it. and the holes are just nice to suuport their heads and they wont hv flat head due to long hrs of lying on the bed.

hey, some good news to share abt Fox...
http://edm-fox.emarketing.com.sg/00152/main.html

Hi all , just to check with you all , when we give birth that time , in hospital , do we need to bring our own breast pump ? if not will have to rent from the hospital ya ? cos i m thinking of getting a breast pump only after give birth , cos scared no milk , ha ha

Leobbsmom ,

you mean babysafe Cot bedding is good for NB issit ? then i better get baby safe too ... are they very expensive ? more than $100 for bedding ?

hello leobbsmom

i'm also super sleepy today .... the babysafe stuff sounds good will wait for sales to come on n check this out. thing is a lot of cots come with free mattress, so dunno wat to do with that one

cat,
i will def check out the AMK store this weekend! are all of u using maternity clothes already? actually i haven't, but i'm starting to burst out of my clothes. try to use my empire line dresses i already have.

ct,
to date, i've spent less than $300 on doc's visits, scan etc. i've checked 5 bedder, no need any initial deposit. i feel that unless i hv had a bad experience with pregnancy be4, no need to spend so much at this stage, as overall quite healthy too. but later will invest in other things, v tempted to get quinny pram, and also plan to buy medela PIS pump ... hopefully la.

anyone got good ideas wat color baby boy's room shd b? as we are currently renovating our new home, deciding between blue, yellow, or blue and yellow, or white and yellow..

white_lady &amp; pups,

their mattress cost from $149 to $169, got 3 sizes. i was thinking if robinsons got 15%+5%, it helps me save quite abit mah! =)
i'm getting the smaller bolster cost $21.90, coz the bigger one abit bulky for them to hug even when they grow bigger. i'm also getting the NB pillow($15.00) and infant pillow($18.90).

my hubby also agreed tat we shld invest things like these, coz these are the things tat our sweetheart will really use or come into contact with.

my colleague only got it after her NB got asthma,a little too late... but the bb is doing well since he sleeps on the babysafe mattress. even no problem when he takes afternoon nap on a warm day.

pups, the extra mattress u get for free, either u sell it or use it as a cushion for the cot la.. as bb gets bigger n heavier, it's good to hv thicker cushion for him/her ma.

i vote for white n yellow (stripes)! coz it will look good even if u decide to paste wall borders later.

haha,

I painted my baby's room yellow during renovation last time, cos we won't know if it is boy or girl... &amp; yellow is nice &amp; cheerful... makes me smile everytime..

i think yellow is nice too, okie, am quite inclined towards 3 blue walls, and a yellow wall, all pastel shades. will lean cot on yellow wall. stripes will be nice must ask my ID folks if they can do yellow stripes
thks for the tips gals

hi pupsandcups, u like medela PIS? may i know how u compare it w the other brands? ive no idea they all look the same to me.

Hi zshih and babyboy,

I was at Mrs Wong's class yesterday too! what were u wearing? then next time can say hi hi! well, i was one of those yawning non-stop towards the end cos' end so late last night!

PLAYPEN

Playpens are great when baby is able to crawl, sit up and learn to walk. When i was taking care of my ger (4 yrs ago) on my own, i wud put her in the playpen and go toilet or bathe without having to worry abt her safety.

As for playpen doubling as a cot, my baby din like it cos' was a bit wobbly, probably the one i got wasn't very good.

Guess most of the mummies here already spending a lot liao so maybe can leave the playpen purchase till when the baby is 6 mths old. Maybe people might buy as a gift leh!

BABYSAFE

Swear by their stuff cos' really durable and comfy (a bit cololing effect). My ger now 4 yrs using their contoured pillow and she loves it. I wud suggest those interested to buy their products to check out during the Motherhood Fair at Expo (if they r participating) cos' they usu hv veri gd discount. The last Babyfair, the prices were like 40 to 50% cheaper.

White Lady

I got a free gift pak from the parencraft class yesterday compliments fr Avent, saw smthing abt rental of Avent breastpump. U might want to chk it out.

CT,
ya i was thinking i can pour out or store in other bottles...

leobbsmum,
will this mattress fit oso on playpen?

pupsncups,
wow reno now... i just using back the old room with white and orange
i think yellow is nice too!

you all talking abt baby cots and mattresses ah? I got a playpen in March during the Taka fair. they just delivered to my house last week.Quite stable. I did not get a cot cos my friends who are already mothers told me playpen can use till 2plus of age. I was also thinking come older, I will wanna change her bed hehe! Mine comes with a mattress but I got a babysafe mattress for her during the last Motherhood fair, cost abt $70+ after discount! It's the size for playpen. What I did is to stack it on top of the given mattress then the height would be just right!

I heard for the beginning, babies do not need bolsters, pillows etc. They wil need it when they are older. Is that true?

piyo, wa piangz...only $70+?? sure its a steal manz! =P

ya, think they only need bolster when they are bigger, but i'm just getting it since it's sale period. i'm also getting the NB pillow and infant pillow. if NB dun need pillow, why they hv NB pillow ah??

hmmm...like tat shld i get anot ah...?

some of my friends told me they use those washable napkins (clean ones of course) folded them and use as pillows cos they say the baby's so small when birth... only much later then the pillow would be in use so until now I am contemplating to get it now or later???
Can I ask if the one with the hole in the middle, would it help in making the baby's head round?
what's the dif betweent he flat version and the one with the slight dent in the middle?

Ya my coleague got it for me when she was at the motherfair this March also got 2 extra bedsheets for the babysoft mattress only $10 each I think.. so with that the bedding portion like more or less settled

Piyo,
Its true bb don need to sleep on pillow n bolster. Those are to put at side in case bb start learning to turn etc. Even those pillow wit a hole in e centre i felt no much in use. My 1st gal hate it so much. So plenty of my frds using diapers or towel which is not so thick to fold as pillow.. till bb reach maybe after 4-6mths den use pillow bah.

Pupsandcup,
Tat is cheap for ur total check up! Initially i tot of KK becos of all e ready equipment there lo.. bt partly they don have SAT clinic so i opt it out cos starting do not wish to take leave just to visit e gynae.

piyo,
you are wrong NB need pillow..if not they will feel insecure their head need support...esp beansprout pillow to be put on their tummy also..

Piyo,
Different ppl different views. Jus follow ur heart no worries. Jus rember to shift ur bb head once awhile so next time will be nicer e shape.
Some ppl don use NB pillow, they use cloth diapers or towel around e head so bb head also feel secure at e same time. U can buy n try NB pillow for ur gal. if she feel awkward or sweat feeling hot alot, try use cloth diapers to replace it bah.

hi CT
yep i am surprised at how cheap it is too. can u believe my detailed scan only cost $30+?? i knew it would b cheap but didn't know that cheap. i didn't even wait more than 10 min, and the staff all super nice to me. unless i hv some complications, i don plan to spend on the hospital/doctor bit, but spend on nice clothes, educational toys, good pram and food for baby .. i can't wait to see my boy

anybody know where to get bean sprout pillow? i wanna get one, saw a thread on it, but i think closed for orders.

Pupsandcups,

I totally agree wit u! I also don wan to spend too much in hospital.. so my gynae is abt 550.. cheaper lo..N for hospital, heard MT A cheaper n i may jus opt for 4bedded.. faster give birth faster discharge!!!!

Home sweet home la..

Hi CT/Catherine,
I heard mixed comments about pillows but generally most tell me they bot in the end never use cos either baby don't like, or feel hot or of not much use or can only use a few months down the road. So I tot, I wont be getting, if really wanna get maybe wait a few more months down the road. Anyway, there are always slaes around, non hurry

I only paid $40+ for my last gynae's visit after signing on his package from 20th weeks onwards. That covers the scan and the medicine. Cheap not?

I called madam inah already. The best price she can give all of us is $380. Coz wat she mentioned is that the usual price is about $400 but only if all the mummies are like staying in the same place..So she said that because i am the one who recommend u all and it is my friend friend who recommend me to her, she charge all of us irregularless of location a flat price of $380. She will provide everything, from jamu to blinder, even she will bring a bed sheet when she comes to massage us and will place it over our bed. We juz have to call her a day after we give birth. But she mention, the most impt thing is to tel her my name, if not she will charge at the original price. Her 1st visit, we juz have to pay her at least $100 and then the rest of the amount at the end of the entire 7 sessions. To ans one of the mummies query, if u happen to develop rashes etc, she will give us camomile lotion to apply but if u decide not to continue afterall after one session, then u juz have to pay for that session which will cost $65 instead as it is not a package already.. She also mention that it is not a problem that all of us is due in august coz she is able to take up to 4 people per day and we r not going to be giving birth at the same day..
well tried to negotiate for better price but that is the best..
well do let me know if u r stil keen lor..so i can roughly let her know how many pp..

Hmm see that u all is discussing abt cot n playpen..me intend to get a cot most prob from robinson hence waiting for their GSS sale..for those mummies also thinking of getting a cot from robinson, wat brand do u intend to get from there? I saw one the brand is something craft..not bad so might be getting that..
reali not sure wat else is there to get leh..

Oh ya, forgot to ask u all, wat actually is a receiving blanket? Is that the kind that has a hood that can cover bb head etc..where can i get that? anyone any idea...been looking around but dun noe where to get..

augbaby,
i saw seiyu selling, now 20% storewide discount

its just a nice blanket to use to bring the baby home from hospital.. yes some have a portion to wrap the head.

they are also sold in baby shops like kiddy palace.

augbb, receiving blanket cost $11 from NTUC. Tollyjoy brand. my mom juz bot one for my princess last Sat.

i m still keen on the massage. pls keep me in teh list. your real name is...???

Hi Augbb,
Ya the receiving blanket has this hood for the baby's head and it is not very thick.

I am also still keen on the massage. Would you be giving her the list of names of us who are still interested? else when we call her, she may not recall about us?

hi augbaby

yes please let us know the details for mdm inah, and THANKS SO MUCH for arranging for all of us! if not for you, i would have gone ahead with my $490

everyday i pray for a smooth delivery, get out of hospital soon, cheap cheap. KK doctor's charge is $20 each visit, i get to see one regular doc, cos managed to pull strings got relative working in KK ..

we must all pray for smooth and easy deliveries

I have a question here , is it ok for us to sleep on our back ? cos i always try to sleep on my left , but every morning when i wake up , i find that i am sleeping on my back ! Wonder will this hurt my BB ?

white_lady

i think it is preferred that we sleep on our left, but won't hurt baby la if we sleep on back, don't worry too much. if u are concerned i think there are wedge pillows u can buy to slip under your tummy that help u sleep on your side as well, about $40, i think waste money.

i hope to get a bb cot during the fair/ sale too. cos i worry they may not hv stock if i buy too late. most probably getiing the one wif few adjustable heights but not sure of the brand. saw it during Taka fair but din buy that time.

me also thinking of getting the bb cot and everything during GSS or the motherhood fair , but scare the motherhood fair will be very very pack !

oh ya , and i have a question here ...

this few days , my tummy area is feeling so tight ! and i cant walk straight at all , like BB pushing me , wonder is it contraction ? or is it normal ?? And i keep going to toilet !!

oh ya , and i have 1 question here , when i go for my scan everytime , my doctor will measure my BB head size , and after measure , the scan show that my EDD is getting more nearer and nearer , does that mean that BB is bigger than normal size ? so the EDD become earlier and earlier ?
And do u all get a print out of the BB everytime ?

hi white,
my doc will do measurement of bb body. It may vary the EDD plus minus around there, becos sometimes the bb is more curled up, sometimes less so i guess difficult to say. btw, wen is ur EDD?
yep, doc do give me printout each time.

Augbaby,

Me still in for massage.

Bottle,
I was tested for high blood sugar during the last drawn blood test. there is also the urine test strip that you do every visit to gynae, where the strip checks for sugar in urine &amp; protein. If a positive is indicated, then doctor will send you for further testing! Hope all is fine though &amp; we don't need to go through that stage, as very xing ku to control diet.

I gave up the baby cot i booked @ 199sgd @ OG, cos i find the workmanship very rough. Scared my baby will kanna splinters. So, i changed it for other baby stuff (breast pump, nasal aspirator, diaper covers, mittens, booties, clip on fan, bottle cleanser, lucky baby bottle warmer etc). Just nice OG have 20% storewide discount.

I got a cot from my friend, so, not buying liaoz. only getting the cot mattress &amp; bedding.

I did buy the latex NB pillow from babysafe cos OG had 20% off on that..
now, i am of two minds if it is good or not to use initially!

good morning! it's mother's day today. next year, we'll be celebrating mother's day for ourselves liao. keke... i'll be going out for dinner tonight. hope everyone will have a great day today.

hi augbb,
count me in too. hope we will not bomb around the same time otherwise she'll be very busy then.

hi jasmine,
u mean og 's having sale now. 20% storewide. is it for all items?

i'm still undecisive abt the stroller. just went kk for antenatal course yesterday. saw that they selling maclaren quest at $236. very cheap. usual price at $299. combi no offer. price also at $200+. hb said shd wait for bb to be born, then bring him to try out. see which one he's more comfortable with. but just worried at that time, no more discount.

rain,
think u made a mistake. u shd be in ur 28wks liao rite?

Hi Rain,
U r in 28 wks not 18 wks lah :p, i remember yr EDD is one day before me.

Also just went for check up, so happy, baby weight gain to medium size laready. Now is 1.1+kg.

Hi Augbaby,
please count me in for the massage
. Thanks alot.

wanli,
hey u still want to buy the nurser bottle? i went to Avent Open house y'day n they are selling at their company. they package with 1 pair of disposable teats and selling at 15.90. i bought one. not sure whether after y'day still same price but they confirm have stock. u can check wif Cannon Avent.
the rest of the product jus 20% off regular items, nothing special.

HAPPY MOTHER'S DAY TO ALL MTBS.

RAIN,
still wondering which one was u at the 2nd antenal class y'day afternoon. i was too shy to go round asking who is Rain cos got so many couples there.
r u the pretty one wearing spaggetti top?

Hi erin,

Ya 20% discount off most items, except controlled items &amp; those already discounted (some items have a lower then 20% discount though)....

hey girls for the baby cot i suggest u all get the DENMARK Convertible Crib to Toddler Bed
i got it and the wood are very solid..
and the price is reasonable i think outside all stalls selling $300++ but i got it from babytown.com.sg only for $299 Made of pine wood. Has teething rails &amp; caster wheels. Adjustable Height: - 70cm, 57cm and ground level. Comes with high density foam mattress, and 9 piece bedding to include: 1 Pillow,1 Pillow Cover, 2 Bolsters, 2 Bolster Covers, 1 Fitted Sheet, 1 Blanket, 1 Cot Bumper.

http://www.babytown.com.sg/index.cf...=Product List&amp;ECatID=1476&amp;SearchText=

hi catherine Wong ,

for the cot , $299 included everything u mention ? think thats a great deal , but for the bedding , have any design to choose from ? or they only have 1 design ? thank

white lady you can check with them the bedding design i like the bedding they given me very nice.. i never choose the bedding at all...but of cos the bedding is not in the picture given.