(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

leobbsmon , ur baby so cute , kicking u when u type , mine is keep pushing me , haha ... think i will cut down on my birdnest intake liao ! ha ha

wow leobbsmom

im tempted by the raspberry tea, can i buy it anywhere, or must it be bought online from momsinmind? i think lipton also has raspberry tea. it doesnt contain caffeine?

i'm getting heaps of calcium from the heaps of milk ive been drinking. i take milk formula for pregnant ladies, think its not bad.

leobbsmom,
oooh yum i will go get...
my boy oso moving about just now... sometime i dunno if its a kick, push or roll hahaha or maybe a hiccup.

pupsndcups,
i think she mentioned can oso get from carrefour... i will go there check it out when i can go shopping heheehe...

white lady,
hmmm too much birds nest - how ah, if we get the concentrated type must finish in 1 week, then everyday must take 2 teaspoon, - is that too much??

maybe take one week then stop for a while?

hi pupsandcups, as mentioned in my email...I bought mine from Carrefour, $4.20 for 25bags. The brand is Dalcott, Gourmet Ceylon Tea, from Sri Lanka. It comes in wooden packaging.

my fren bought from MIM, and she paid $7 for delivery...unless u stay near MIM la..

The Lipton one comes with other berries, I'm not sure if it's too sweet for preggies. raspberry alone is not so sweet, but smell sweet la.. think it's the fragrance lah!

i start to drink after lunch or heavy breakfast. coz dowan to drink when tummy is empty. so one bag will last me till office hrs are over. i only drink during office hrs, coz dowan to fill myself with tea the whole day.

okie, i'm going home liao, mommies!
chat with u'll tomoro! =)

take care and hv a good dinner later! =)

o dear, when i take birds nest i take heaps like 2 bowls or more, cos MIL prepares in big loads, anyway i think birds nest is a waste of money, $170 for like 8 pcs, and she uses 4 pieces at one go...
i also take black chicken soup now n then, also dunno if got use.

i feel best to stick to cereals, vege, fresh fruits n milk to nourish baby.

BIRD'S NEST (pardon me for e long-winded post! can ignore if u like)

during my 1st pregnancy, i took bird's nest 5x between 5th-20th weeks. MIL was nice enuff 2 cook for me. i stopped cos 2 GFs shared wif me their experiences.
1) GF has 3kids. she took bird's nest faithfully every wk since 6mths for 2nd child. she didnt take for 1st child cos couldnt afford it then. when her 2nd child popped, within e 1st 2mths, e infant went 2 KK/PD 2 'chou tan' - clear e phlegm. my GF shared wif me how 'xin ku' it was for her girl n how heartache 2 c her girl go thru e process, of course not forgetting e $$ spent. her 1st child didnt hv tis problem so she suspected tat it could be due 2 bird's nest. she didnt take bird's nest for her 3rd child n there was no such problems

2) GF has 2 kids. she took bird's nest quite often fr 3mths (not wkly but at least once every 2-3wks). both kids kenna very bad phlegm problems in their 1st 2-3mths, went thru e 'chou tan' process, lotsa $$ spent at PD & KKH.

both GFs strongly recommend me NOT 2 take bird's nest in view of me having atopic genes (sensitive skin-eczema, lungs-asthma, nose-sinus, eyes-conjuncivitis & stomach-irritable bowl symdrome). as i may pass on e genes 2 my boy, if he kenna sensitive lungs, he's quite vulnerable 2 suffering fr phlegmy cough attacks.

after hearing such stories, i quickly told my MIL 2 stop cooking and she wasnt convinced. in fact, i told MIL 2 stop cooking when i was abt 16wks but she still continued 2 cook some for me when i was abt 20wks n i had no choice but 2 eat e bird's nest.

i told her abt my GFs' experience n my mum's advice abt NOT necessary 2 eat bird's nest (my mummy tiks tat bird's nest isnt effective for everyone). MIL kept saying how gd bird's nest is n how her frien spends $1K+ 2 cook bird's nest for her daughter. my husband has 2 step in 2 stop his mother fr cooking more bird's nest for me.

i switched 2 eating fu zhou all e way until i popped. i hv 2 admit tat my bb's complexion is fantastic. husband & i dun hv fantastic complexion (lotsa pimples & breakouts) but there are many factors for bb 2 hv gd complexion & health

1) genes
some parents hv fantastic genes for their skin. flawless, rosy & fair type. for me, i'm not flawless n i'm more yellow-based than rosy, fair type. husband n i also hv acne problems
2) BM
there's some argument tat breastfed bbs hv betta complexion than bbs who drink FM cos FM is heaty.

3) mummy's food intake (IF bb is on BM)
if u consume healthy food (minimal fried food, heaty stuff, etc), u can c positive results on ur bb's face. i've come across a few mummies who tell me tat when they eat heaty/fried/curry food, their bbs tend 2 hv 'pimples' outbreak.

4) proper maintenance
it helps 2 keep ur bb face clean after every milk/solids feed by cleaning wif fresh water (not advisable 2 use wet wipes on bb face all e time). it's also gd 2 keep bb fingers/hands clean cos they'll keep touching their faces when they r >1mth old.

5) environment & living conditions
it helps when u keep ur bb face clean by keeping e environment/surroundings clean.

in conclusion, for my 1st boy, i tik drinking BM for 14mths may help, keeping his face/fingers/hands/surroundings clean help too. i also apply Mustela Cleansing Fluid on his face every nite so i tik tat helps. lastly e fu zhou which i took wkly may hv help too. there r so many factors which i cant pinpoint which is e main factor. Also, no phlegmy problem for him until he was abt 9mths old when he kenna a very bad cough episode.

for my 2nd boy, i havent touch a single strand of bird's nest so far n probably wont do so. i'll stick 2 wat i did for my 1st boy n hopefully complexion & healthy turns out gd.

DISCLAIMER:
i'm not saying tat bird's nest isnt gd. i just decide 2 play safe in view of my genetic condition (atopic genes). my GFs both have sinus/asthmatic problems hence probably their kids kenna e phlegmy problems while being infants.

it varies fr person 2 person n i've come across a few friens who took bird's nest n their kids turn out fine wif gd complexion BUT bird's nest isnt e sole factor....genes, maintenance, etc.

at e end of e day, it boils down 2 taking EVERYTHING in moderation.

thks for sharing kelly
i agree everything in moderation.

btw what is fu zhou? me know me v blur, but if its good for bb, i don mind trying.

morning all,
yesterday went for check up again baby is 801g at 25 week.

BTW I went to AMK to look for maternity clothes and found that there is one maternity shop selling price was very cheap. From $17.90 - $29.90.
maternity clothes all around $20-$29 and pants and skirts around $17.90-$29.90.

YOu can imagine i bought a similar pants for just $27.90 and first one i bought at my office area is $49.
i feel like i have been chop by the maternity shop at my office area.
And the clothes at AMK are much much more fashionable and alot of variety...

I was so excited that i bought 2 skirt 1 pant and 2 tops. and cost $110+ compare to i can only buy 2 pants at those expensive maternity shops its very worth it...

The shop is near the HAWKER CENTRE. Beside a CHinese herbal shop. You all can go there and search for it...

morning ladies!

any recommendations for diaper bags? preferably unisex (solid colours) cos think hb will be carrying it most of the time.

just talked to some friends yest abt combi. they were saying it's gd but can only use until 2+ yrs old. so in the end, might be considering buying maclaren quest now. sigh... so confused. hb says dun have to buy so early but I've heard that the gst might be increased (dunno true or not. heard from a taxi driver). anyway, was thinking of buying it during great singapore sales. now doing research 1st.

hi kelly,
thanks for informing us abt the consumption of bird nest. ya, heard of bird nest causing phelgm in bbs but wasn't very sure until u share ur friends' experiences. i think take in moderation will do. i'm like pupsandcups, dunno what is fu zhou? where can we get it?

hi catherine

the maternity shop u discovered sounds like a marvel, do they sell shorts n short skirts for weekends? exactly whr is it ah? me not too familiar with AMK. if im not wrong, AMK also got cheap baby shops

I also heard from my frens that too much bird's nest is not good for baby.. in term of phlegm & asthma & allergies.

Went for check up yesterday & baby is doing fine. At 24 weeks, baby weighs 668gms & all appears ok. it was a quick visit..

regarding strollers, heard that mcclaren quest is not bad.. lighter, cheaper... Xt Techno can only use until ~15kg? & most combi can last only until 20kg max... haven't made up my mind yet..

Going to call mdm Inah soon so wanna juz confirm the list of pp invited in booking her so i can let her know the total count...

1.augbaby
2.CT
3.Jasmine
4.Kelly
5.Wanli
6.leosbbmon
7.ningyo
8.piyo
9.erin
10. orange03 (from sept brides)
11.stay

If i miss anyone out, pls let me know..Will let all of u know after i spoken to her..

Regarding the raspberry tea, me also interested...any other places selling them too other than at carrefour n MIM? those who manage to find at other places, pls share wif me ya..

Hi sierra,
Opps, think u also wanted to book the massage lady rite? Coz i din receive any PM from you with your details..pls kindly PM me ya..

sorry to trouble u augbaby, wat r mdm inah's rates? i don mind trying as well, can give me more details on her?
i have one in mind, but $490 for 7 sessions v expensive.

Hi ladies, I just went for my checkup yesterday. Gained 4kg in 1 mth!! Gynae said i need to watch my diet, and cut down on carbo....the babies are growing well, abt 930grams and 750grams each...i'm at wk 25 now, is that too heavy? I can feel the weight pressing on the pelvic area already....so the doc is recommending that I restrict my movements....

augbaby: with so many ladies booking her, would mdm inah be able to take on all of us?

The price for her at this point is $380 for 7session each session abt 1hr 20min to 1.5hr..that is wat she mention..Thanks..

Hi sierra,
I need to ask her...that is y i need to know the total number of pp interested so i can let her know..

augbaby, thanks for organising this for us! lets pray tat we can all get a good rate from her. dunno if our location is a problem to her. i will be staying at MIL's, @ Lentor Ave.

catherine, AMK so big leh...so many herbal shops...can U pls share the exact location with us? =) with our big tummies, not fun to search high n low wor... hehehehe....=P

pupsandcups, yesterday i went to Parkway, and checked out one Indonesia Massage Palour, they are charging $550 for 7 (90mins)post-natal sessions.. My hb said very exp.. they are really earning easy money manzzz..

Regarding raspberry tea, i've checked with my gynae, she said can drink but dun drink everyday. it's a type of traditional medicine, not really scientifically proven/ clinical trials proven, so take it moderately.. just to share..

augbaby,
if possible can count me in as well? just check with her if she can handle so many.
my location will be holland village..
tks, let us know if you need help organizing

Hi chrys,
Hmm seems like i cant seem to find yr email to me..can u pls PM me again wif yr details..Thanks..

Hi pupsandcups,
can u pls PM me yr details like real name etc as well..thanks..

sierra,
so do i count u in as well?

hi aug baby

jus PMed you, sorry im terribly swaku, how to check if you PM me back? anyway let me know if the details are sufficient.

thk u!

hi augbb,
wat are the things we have to prepare for the massage? some ppl say have to get mattress and 2 big bath towels. any info from the lady?

hi jasmine and sierra,
wow, all of ur bbs quite big hor. i still dunno bb's weight. sigh... dun even know how big now. no measurements at all.

Hi chrys,
rec yr PM already..

Okie gals, will try to update u by today regarding price of massage lady n rest..

pupsandcups,
yeah amk alot of cheap babies clothes and pretty babies clothes.. yesterday walk around point to my hubby if stay amk can buy alot of cheap baby clothes.

Found the shop name is call CARRANO GA.
tonite let you all know the address.. should had written down the address for you all...

Augbaby,

Think we need to let her know our EDD & location? wait all confirm sama sama same time then we all blur! keke! But i did ask her if she can handle boh.. but she say, 1 day do more then one of us lor.. and all start different timing, depends on when we deliver & delivery method...

Erin00,
I dunno if baby is big or not. Gyane says the size is appropriate, so, ok lor! I shoot up in weight gain this week.. so, i weigh 49kg now, compared to pre-pregnancy weight of 44kg.. phew... wondering how much i will end up with!

Raspberry tea can help with delivery? I want! I am so fearful of the process.. really dunno what to expect.. my hubby keep telling me millions of women go through labour, so ask me not to kick up a fuss..

Hi Jas,
Hee hee..ya..that is y i ask all the mummies here to PM me their location and i taken down the EDD date as well liao..so i can ask her abt it lor..if not, wait she also confused..haha..

hey gals,
ask u hor, regarding the tau huay, anyone know if the rochor one, do they put in hardening ingredients? Coz think one of u mention it is not gd for bb..but that store one, always the tau huay is always super soft soft one...can anyone pls advise?

Jasmine, I'm sure all mommies hv the fear of the delivery process inside us, but maybe it helps if we hv a rough idea of the "process".

this is the video of the different stages of labour..I find it very assuring and informative. I watched it with my hubby and we both hv a better understanding now. i'm sure your hubby will understand our feelings better after tat! =)

http://www.babycenter.com/plus/sneak_peek.jhtml

just to share with you, how my little princess is doing or growing at week 26...this is very informative! i fwd to my siblings n hubby for their info too! =P so tat we all can learn n know abt my pregnancy which the whole family is so gan cheong abt.

http://www.babycenter.com/mybabycenter/126.html?scid=mbtw_preg27:20060501:0:0:0

u can join too, just register as a member and u will receive a weekly update abt the growth of your bb..

coz for me, i noe this is the period my bb's hair is growing, so my mom tries to prepare liver for my meal.

just to share with you... =)

hey catherine, no worries lah...just let us know the address tmr lor! =) thanks in advance hor!

augbaby, u mean the one @ Selegie road ar?? i find their dao huey not bad. but dun take it late at nite hor, try to hv it in the earlier part of the day.

my mom advised me to better stop taking all the "liang" stuff after evening.

augbaby,
i suggest you buy tao huey or soya bean milk from MR BEAN.
as their soya milk and tao huey are pure extra from soya.. and less sugar..and its thick.. they never add water or other preserve things..

hi catherine,
oh icic..cool..there is a mr bean at my office area in raffles pl..ya i always drink their soya bean milk

i heard that taking fenugreek will help to stimulate milk flow for breastfeeding?

Is this correct? it is very expensive @ GNC for 100 capsules.. ~21sgd?

catherine, really ar?? then i will start to drink from Mr Bean too liao! =P

Jasmine, i heard we only start to take fenugreek after delivery...

I read the following article from this mth issue MOTHER & BABY.

THIRD TRIMESTER
TEA TIME
--------
Raspberry leaf tea is a pregnant woman's best friend during the last trimester, as it tones the uterus and makes contractions more effective.
'Drinking the tea is reputedly better than taking the capsules.' says Michelle. Because of its effectiveness, its vital that you don't take raspberry leaf tea before 34WEEKS and, even then, do not drink more than TWO CUPS PER DAY. If you have had a prevous caesarean, or start having strong contractions, ask your doctor for advice.

Hope I have contribute something today! yeah!

this is true, and apparently v popular in the US, recommended by doctors too.
to encourage the flow of BM, drink half a can of beer.
its vvvv true, my aunt who's husband is a doc, did it and she said she had enough milk to feed a herd!

oops!

I went out to buy some tea infusion from cranberry/raspberry/strwberry tea from lipton! lucky only 10 bags @ 2.45sgd. but i think is ok, as the concentration not very high..

Ya, fenugreek is heard to be useful.. eat after delivery lah.. i planning to standby 1-2 bottles for during confinement month & maternity leave.

Any mummies interested to stock this one boh?

jas,
i am interested..hee hee..but not so soon lor..:p
as for the tea, is it raspberry only or a mixture all all 3?

leobbsmum,
thanks for the interesting read

CT,
so we have to only start drinking the tea later? thks for sharing..

catherine..
ooh i didnt know mr bean so good....

augbaby...
raffles plc mrt issit? i oso walk there some lunch time to buy

butter8,
yups it is..at the mrt there itself where there are shops around..near to the 7-11 there..morn sometimes got long q one..hee hee

Hi Butter,

YA.. start at third tri.. after 34WEEKS! V impt oh.... IF u have contractions feeling before 34weeks do seek gynae advice. My frd sis have feelings of contractions at week 32! so now she resting n montior.. cos its early for bb to come out lo..

Cos no doubt how TEA is v liang.. so rember to drop in ur small note book... RASPBERRY LEAF TEA after 34weeks, not more than 2glass a day!

wah! so many postings! all about FOOD
I like the soyabean at Mr Bean. I have one near my office so maybe one of these days I will roll by and eat the tao huey... I really got cravings for it leh!

So we should start drinking raspberry tea after 34 weeks? Thanks for the post! Any idea exactly when the 3rd tri will start? is it 28th week or 36th week?

baby's kicking while I am typing hehe

Piyo,

If i not wrong.. third tri shld be start after 28weeks..

Wow bb know u online wit all e mummies here leh.. at this hr.. my gal is sleep haiz.. she normally kick mi 8plus in the morning.. den stop... 12plus kick again.. stop... den evening ard 8plus again... n all e way till next AM.

WAt a miracle!