(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

i watched 'in the womb' on natl geographic on thu night, it was a real eye opener!! makes me nervous about the labour process and pain.

also, ask you guys, do you think stress can have a truly detrimental effect on bb? the program said so... can lead to depression etc in bb's later years. worried cos sometimes at work, i am v high strung and stressed

Hi Wanli,
It's good your baby is putting on weight. Is your nxt appt 4wks away, or 2wks away? Did you ask dr wong any questions, care to share? Are you sitting against the mirror last sat during Mdm wong's class?

Hi pupsandcups,
Would there be a repeat of the show? I missed it on Thursday!

hi wanli,
Good to hear that your baby has put on weight! care to share what you have been eating?

pupsandcups: I caught that programme too
Think u really have to destress and take things easy...it's not good for both mummy and baby! amazingly, i think the baby can "feel" mummy's emotions.

When i was in a very stressful work condition during the early stages of my pregnancy, I was spotting and all...and it lead to bleeding. Which was lucky, cos the babies were ok, and I got the reason to get transferred to a less stressful job scope. I believed that it was a combination of the physical and emotional health that lead to that condition....so please take care of yourself now

no prob abt the massage lady..i ask her if i shld give her a list of pp confirmed booking her and she say no need..the magic word is juz mentioning my name..hee hee..juz have to mention u r shermeen(my real name)friend n then u would automatically get the $380 price instead of the $400 price..

Hi catherine,
i heard that the denmark cot is actually made in malaysia..any idea is it true..i am still undecided wich cot to buy..sigh..guess juz have to wait for the GSS n motherhood fair to buy lor..

Hi cj,
Thanks for the infor
. Will go there and check when got time. Heard my friend said the Avent pump discount also not much different with outside, so will bought it during singapore sales.

Hi Dino,
Yah, I'm very happy with the baby weight. At least if got anything happen need to deliver early then baby still in good weight. My next appt still 4 weeks apart lei.....doctor wong said only after 32 wks then visit her every 2 weeks. Actualy nothing much to ask during this visit, she just said after u reach 28 wks then everything will like become very fast

She advice should buy all the thing before 32 wks. and she also advice on some of the sign of pre-mature labour that we need to watch out. She said if family got history on pre-mature labour then will get higher chance. Same as Chrys, I also booked the bed in TMC. You just need to tell the doctor you want to book the bed then she will ask the nurse to let you sign a form.

During Mrs WOng class I sit near the wall but not on the mirror side :p. Where r u sitting?

Hi piyo,
Actually nothing special, I just eat as normal but I did try few times of durian :p. but after I eat durian I afraid too heaty so normally I will drink birdnest the next day. Doctor told me no need too worry on the baby weight, because some baby may grow at later stage. So just eat healthy.

Hi CJ,

No. I am wear a blk pants and white halter neck top.

I am sitting the first one on the left side of the lady:)

How abt you?

augbaby,
wat is mdm inah's number? can keep it on standby, will ask my hubby to save it in his phone

sierra,
thks for sharing, sigh. thing is my boss is female and has a kid, and she always says everybody works till they give birth, its no big deal, she dsnt understand at all, i have verbalised that im not happy servicing a particular account (im working in a pr agency), but she thinks i am capable (which i disagree is more like we are under staffed), but capable means working till 8 or 9 everyday, which i don wan to. SIGH, moreover, i'm only contract staff, i plan to be SAHM after i pop. ya im trying to take things easy, listen to classical music on my ipod, but inside im stressed, and after work i'm v edgy, and sometimes quarrel with hubby over the smallest sensitive things.

piyo,
i checked the listing, cdnt find a repeat, as i also wanna see it again, as i only caught the last 45 min. they actually showed a mommmy giving birth, yes camera right on her .. u knw! i was quite freaked out, funny seeing a head of hair coming out of you.

rain

how does doc tell placenta is low? im due for my next check up next monday. mine looks low to me, and other people also commented.
my hips also rather narrow, i also scared C sect.

Hi rain,
how many weeks are you at now? your baby turns down very fast lei! are you carrying your baby high or low? when does baby head normally turn down? Did you gynae say anything about possibility of the placenta shifting up in the next few weeks?

hi pupsandcups,
thanks for checking! maybe not watching may be better then we won't be so scared of the day? haha

Hi pupsandcups,
You can only know whether yr placenta is low or not throught the scan. From outside you can not determine whether it is low or not.

Hi Rain,
Is that placenta low must do C sect? Remember Mrs Wong talked about this on 2nd class.

hi MTBs,
anyone heard fr peacy? e last we heard fr her was her 24wks checkup then no more fr her. i was wondering if she has popped cos she carrying triplets mah...

hi rain,
dun worry. the nurse at the antenatal class says bb will most prob turn at wk 32. they will only confirm at wk 35 or 36 cos bb can still turn back. placenta will usually move up later during pregnancy. however, if by then still haven't shift up, then guess u might have to consider c-section.

Hi Piyo,
As I know most of the baby head should turn down before 31 weeks then after that should be stay there until delivery.

Hi kelly,
I'm also thinking about peacy
. Not sure whether she has popped or not. Now she should be 29 weeks already.

Hi piyo,

I am in my 28 weeks now. BB head turn down but not enaged yet. i think i am carrying low baz..
Dr say it is still not early to worry. He will check again in my 34 - 36 weeks

Hi Erin,

Thanks! Hopefully i am able to hear good news from my dr in my next visit in 2 weeks time.

Oh, my visit is closer now. From every 1 mth to every 2 weeks now.. and then the last mth will be every 1 week

Hi Rain,
My baby head also already turn down on 28 weeks. Doctor said it may still change one, until 31 wks then only firm. Think it is not affected by the placenta. Don't worry too much. So, you visit doctor every 2 weeks from now?

Hi Wanli,

Dr say as long as the bb head not enaged, she will still moves.

Yup. my visit to gynae is every 2 weeks from now.

pupsandcups: sigh...i was in your situation before as well...working very late each time because the boss and the rest are working late. There's just so much to do and to have to deal with internal politics.

Is there a way for you to rest earlier before you deliver? It's quite near already, especially now the baby can "feel" us more...better take real good care of yourself before the baby is delivered...after that we will be very busy with the baby.

Morning everyone!

Just went to see gynae finally.. after 1mth of waiting.. can see my gal.. Think she scare my gynae. Everytime he scan her she stop moving, BUT before tat she still kicking mi haiz...

Im into about 25weeks, bb weigh abt 867g. Ask my gynae abt e weight will it reach more than 3kg when born. He mention since my 1st birth is abt 3.4kg, so estd wil be this range too

Surprisingly I been eating alot lately bt gain about 500g. Wonder is it bb absorbing everything!! GOSH!

Hi Wanli,
I am sitting against the mirror. I visualise that u are quite small size
Every wk, I am still thinking which one is chrys or u.Hehe.

Do you stand and walk a lot? So fast your baby head is down. I sit a lot when at work. I am worried my baby head will not turn down at the right time. I have not buy most of the stuff yet, still waiting for the GSS.

It has been so long since we last hear from peacy. I remembered that she ever mention her doc say she may give birth after wk28.

Hi Dino,
Actually I'm not that small size, now already 58.5kg. but i'm quite short only 156cm.

I think i sit most of the time especially during working hr. but I also walk not less than 15 mins a day. because I seldom do any exercise, so must do some walking.

Actually you no need worry about the baby head is down or not at the moment, now still too early. Doctor said 95% of babies will move to the correct position on delivery date.

Hi Wanli,
I am also quite short and my height is the same as you. I am now 55kg in my wk 27. Guess our size is almost the same. So during my nxt visit, i will book a bed with dr wong. I personally think that if you can go for your routine check up on wkdays, that would be better. Coz Dr wong can spend more time with us, and not in a hurry compared to saturdays.

Feel free to read this article abt baby positioning at the later stage. http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/labourandbirth/planningyourbabysbirth/babyinpositionforbirth/

Hi CT,
I remembered yr gynae same as mine. Did Dr Adrain changed yr visting frequency from 1 mth to 2 wk. I will be visting him this fri. Should be my wk 27 checkup.

I also thinking whether peacy has popped??

hi chrys & Dino,
hhahaa....we are all same height. :p but weight is definitely alot of different, I gained too much already.

Hi Rain,
I already gained more than >10kg.

keke.. me also 156cm tall! Now only in early week 25? I weight 49kg now.. from original 44kg.. still got more to come bah..

Isetan having private sale this thursday? Heard got some baby stuff, but i not member, so no idea what are the items, but i going with my friend who is a member..
I thinking of getting thermos flask (which i don't have at home), on my mum's advice. so can have easy access to hot water when needed. Also those tiger food flask for baby food can also be considered.. but that one like don't need to buy so early leh.. only 6 months onwards??

I gave up the babycot @ Og @ 199sgd. the wood quality is no good leh.. got like super rough edges.. i scared baby will kanna splinters, so i change other items... got a 2nd hand baby cot FOC from my fren, but the size super odd.. is like 28" x 42" & can use up to 1 yr old only..

I wondering where to get brand new mattress in such odd size from? Any idea? Even the lollipop bedding set i bought is way too long, but is ok lah, can fold inwards!

Honeyhaven,

Last time i see him once every 3week, now is once a mth.
So e next time i see him will be 12June. Today he so busy.. think someone labour bah.. he on stand by keep receiving call n talk v fast! haha

Hi all MTBs ...

my stomach is very very tight always , and can feel BB sometime keep to left side n sometime to the right side , and will have the feeling that BB is pushing me , and sometime have the feeling that BB is twisting inside me , just want to see whether u all also have this feeling ... cos i scare that the tightening might be deal to contraction ... so scare

Hi honeyhaven,
I used to see him 3wks once, now also 1 mth once. Now u r in how many wks?? I think his business very good, so those not much problem MTBs all change to once a mth.. Wondering when we will change to shorter frequency??

wanli
are u always sitting at the same place during the parentcraft? if not then i think wrong person liao.. haha.

dino
I dunno which one is u leh.. hee..

I heard going down on our fours can help make our baby turn down but I think now still early (for me since my EDD is late Aug) would we feel anything that gives us a signal that baby turns down?

I won't be visiting my gynae till beginning of next month... such a long wait! wonder by then, my baby grew how much liao

I also wonder how peacy is liao... long time no hear from her...

Hi dino,
you mean more walking would make the baby turn down faster?

hi Rain,
Don't worry so much! My colleague is also a case of low placenta. She carried her baby to full term and tried for natural delivery initially. In the end, she went for c-sec still. But baby's very healthy and of good weight! But she did mention due to this condition, her gynae has asked her not to engage in sexual activities during the pregnancy. Did you gynae mention that to you?

HEHEHE Honeyhaven,
Ya he so busy cos he is cheaper. Now i abt 25weeks. Also v confusing at time.. cos my menses not regular, den he say EDD will be more accurate when drawing near.

Hmm I think when reach about 28weeks will be once every 3weeks, den cut to 2week & 1 week.

Hi Piyo,
I dunno if walking will make baby turns down. But I heard frm mothers that more walking will speed up labour.

Hi Cyrs & Wanli,
I use to sit right behind, and lean against the wall for lesson 1 n 2. I sat against the mirror last sat. So both of u lean against the wall at the sides of class room, near to the attendance list? So 'qiao', all 3 of us are the same height.haha.

Hi Rain,
If the placenta is low and blocks the cervix, the baby can no way go thru normal delivery. But dun worry too much, gynae did mention that most placenta will move up when ur uterus gets bigger as pregnancy proceeds. So dun worry. Try not to carry heavy things and let ur hb do it.

Hey gals,
do anyone of u know where i can get nice dress for wedding? My hubby bro is getting married this june n i need a nice 3/4 length dress...cant seem to find any..i tried the dresses at daniel yam and it seems they r totally not suitable for preggy ladies even when i wear L size..sob sob..i tried them on n it is tight on my tummy area..so depressing..i used to wear s size but now L size also cant seem to fit..
Other than mphosis where else can i get nice dresses ah?

Hi piyo,
i am only also seeing my gynae on the 1st wk of next mth as well...like all so long away...anyway now actively looking for a cot for bb..there is a 2 day member sales for robinson and there seems to be rather good bb stuffs on sale..will be going down tom to see...Btw maternity exchange at specialist centre is having clearance sale...anyone need more maternity clothes can go there to see...I guess i pop by there to see if they have nice dresses as well..hee hee...I dun noe abt placenta is low or not...so far my doc din mention anything about it..but i haven been sleeping well coz cant seems to find a comfy position as tummy is so much bigger alr..now i sleep with a small pillow prop under my tummy..

augbaby - re dress, u really need something very stretchy. I tried your method too of getting larger sizes but the problem is the tummy area and the stretchability factor. I think the local maternity shops may have some suitable evening dresses. I bought black one online in my first tri (I'm tall by Singapore standards so all the local maternity store evening dresses too short for me) and have gotten a lot of good wear out of it because it is stretchy and keeps growing!

hi zshih,
thanks for the advise..ya think we all need stretchy material one coz of our tummy...so good for u to be able to find one...I shall look around n hopefully can find a nice formal one..coz its at raffles the plaza n i will need to help out at the line etc n go onstage etc..so wanna look nice even when i am preggy..haha

Hi augbaby - You're welcome! I gave up loking for normal formal tops and dresses (even in larger sizes) when I reached middle of 2nd tri cos they just weren't comfy enough across the belly. I saw some evening dresses at Blisse (at Paragon) but I think they are rather expensive, though there is a nice very stretchy short one in various colours (it's in the display). You could look at Swell (Paragon 5th floor) too - I recall seeing some nice shorter ones but not sure if they are expensive though.

try Osmose? they have stretchy material at one point in time, though tummy will be super obvious.. Another place to find is OG.. they have nice dresses @ 59-69.90sgd.. reasonable price!