(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

cynthia,

Mine is auntitology.blogspot.com

Mine is private but I've checked and you are in my invited list... You just need to log in using yr email...

leobbsmom,
do let me know the brand ya...so do u mean that everyday sherv will take porridge with brocolic? The brocolic u buy at perth itself?

mummies who ordered e leapfrog 5 dvd, something went wrong at deepdiscount so i juz placed order for 12sets again. waiting 4 them 2 deduct e $$ fr my card n ship it out. will keep every1 informed.

erin,augbaby,
i also ordered bigger sizes for denise's shoes. i very kiasu, even ordered 2 pairs of different sizes bcos their feet really outgrow very fast...

re: bringing food overseas
i only bring her milk formula leh...all the rest i let her eat alongside with us, bcos now denise prefers rice to porridge liao...is that ok?

me bringing denise to genting today, see ya gals next week. hope you have a great weekend!

kelly,
thanks for helping us to order and updating us

Hi fiona,
you are not the only one. haha... i ordered 2 pairs of different sizes but then decided to change to 2 different designs in the end.

i'm like u. let her eat along with us if we're outside. he likes noodles and rice.

have a good trip. enjoy!

hi kelly,
thank you very much.

Fio/leobbsmom/Augustmum,
Thanks for advice. I am more or less decided to resign liao. Not bcoz of that PA but more bcoz I do not have a suportive boss who appreciate my commitment (he made me cried again ytday, sigh...think I am too weak liao). I have the same idea as Augustmum that the PA (or rather my new boss) is trying to make me quit before I pop. But I am not going to quite now, will try to 'dong' till after 3 months ML then first thing I back to office is to throw letter. So from now on I will bo chap about all the things unless they are finance related. If my boss ask me to do other things will just tell him not within my job scope.

Leobbsmom,
wah, so envy you have a nice trip! Initially I plan to go travel b4 I pop but too bad hubby need to go for overseas assignment. I might be taking few days leave to accompany my hubby back to his hometown then can go Redang Island for a short holidays. But I know my boss sure disapprove my leave one la.

Fio,
Have a nice trip to Genting!

cocomo,

I suggest you endure, put on smiling face and still maintain amicable r/s with your boss/PA. Tai-chi work away is one thing, but outrightly reject work assigned to you by your boss, though not within your job scope, is another thing.

What is your termination notice period? 1 mth? 3 mths? Don't be in a situation where you get terminated, or worst, dismissed for insubordination/non-performance (of cos, one sided by the coy). Bad for your future jobs.

leobbsmom,
also the brand new seal rice cereal and FM you juz put them into yr suitcase n check in one rite? did they open yr suitable to inspect?

Leia,
Noted your advice, thanks! He just thrown the payroll function to me (without pay adjustment) one mth ago as his PA (also HR manager) cant handle the payroll. I accepted without saying a word. So as FC I need to do finance, accounts, investments and now payroll. He engaged an assistant for his PA to do PURE HR works. I heard from my colleague that he intent to ask me oversea the operation side as my GM always overseas nowadays, need to approve all PR, PO, invoices etc. Of course I will not really reject him the work he assigning to me in future but since the auditors are in for audit now so I am really busy and will use as an excuse. I think I am really do too much for the company and sometimes people just taking advantage if I too shui bian.

augBB,
the brand is nestle i think, coz we've thrown away the box liao.=( there are 2 flavors, fish or veg. and the i bought 1 each. over in Perth, i bought another 2 diff flavors of pasta for Sherv to try. so she's eating different flavors everyday. yes, i bought the broccoli at the Coles Supermart there. if you like, u can also get their carrot, very fresh!

apart from broccoli, i fed Sherv fruits also tat we can get from the supermart. the air there is just SO dry!

and ya, all the food stuff must be checked in, i packed them in my luggage. but still kenna the customs there to open up my luggage and check my stuff. but they wont bother u with the sealed food stuff that are meant for BB when they see we hv a baby with us. they are quite nice in tat sense lor..

hot water
u can hand-carry a vaccum flask of hot water for the milk to feed on the plane, as long as u declare it to the customs both ar SG and Perth sides. they will allow it when u hv a BB!

moisturiser to be applied on plane
pls bring a small tube of mosituriser to apply on the plane for BB n urself. coz the moment the plan flew for a few hrs, my skin starts to crack and i was itching everywhere my body! my lips also cracked, so painful! Sherv has rashes on her cheeks due to the dryness... >_<

Cocomo,
my boss also the stingy type when it comes to leave. but i dun care, i just tell her tat my doc told me not to travel after end of 2nd trim, so i must clear my leave now! so she has to agree lor... my annual leave is my entitlement, not privilege from HER! >_< sometimes i'm too soft then she took advantage of me... =(

i hope u can travel to redang and enjoy urself with family! it's good to hv a relaxing hols when we are preggie, the trip just feels so different from the rest! =P

Augustmum,
Yaya think I have already register myself liao
just need to do some updating on my side! Getting short memory again ever since preg again... U gg back to work liao? So good.. I m still waiting till 2009 after all the stuffs been settled down lo.. think I cant long term SAHM no patience hahaha

Cocomo,
So poor thing... If i were you I try till I cant. Sometimes when you are not happy with e ppl &amp;environment, every morning you are dragging your feets to work! I believe ur hb will be supportive even you cant tong till after ML. Don stress yourself ok &amp; you are trying your best &amp; within your means liao. Flying kiss for you :*

Fio,
Wow Genting again! Shiok! Esp recently weather been so hot here! I wanted to go BUT gynae gave mi red Lights... so i can only stay put here sian... rember tk more pics.. more denise hehehe to let us see yeah

kelly,

thanks for the update.

Leia,

Ya, it's a good change but once back to work, will not be able to take no-pay child care again.

Cynthia,

Ya, I thought I would last long as a homemaker but think the novelty and patience wear off. However, I must admit I really enjoy my leave and to be able to really play with the kids. On top of that, I learnt to cook and bake.

The opportunity cost to be a homemaker is really high but I think the experience of taking care of the kids is really priceless. Enjoy yr stint as a homemaker. I have only 4 months left as a full time homemaker; then I would become a tax payer

Hi Amy

Congrats.

Hi Kelly

Thks for the update.

Crisann is down with v bad cough. She cough a lot during the nite and afternoon nap. Which make her can't sleep well. I had applied vick for her but doesn't work. Any idea what can help her to sleep better. Me have been having sleepless nite for a wk. So tired.

leobbsmom,

Leave is our entitlement, is one thing. But going on leave is still subjected to coy's approval. Strictly speaking, if you go w/o approval, it's considered AWOL. :p

Cisann,
Hmmm maye try let her sleep on her side? Fan don blow direct to her and try to make her pillow slightly higher see if it helps? Most impt she seen a doc &amp; also give her more fluids... Make her diet more light also. Remember cough cant take apple, egg, chicken...

Hope it helps.. u too must take care don fall sick.

Augustmum,
Sometime when ur deadline is near u will start to feel reluctant to go back work again.. but as what we are experiencing now is sure meaningful and sometimes drive us crazy hahaha!

Hi Cynthia

Thks for yr advise and concern. Will try it on her. She refuse to drink this few days think her throat must be painful.

Cisann,
OIC.. poor things.. mayb give her porridge water if swallow is tough n make her milk slightly dilute... She will recover fast.. bless her and hugs for u n her okie (hugzzzzzzz)

cynthia,

ya, that's what happened last year. Near the deadline, I extended my leave. Think it should not happen this year.

Crisann,

vicks and wearing socks doesn't work? Try feeding her warm water using teaspoon very often. Oh no, better see a doc if she has not seen one. You take care.

SL,
Jay also cough 2 week ago and last for 1 wk+, PD said his lung sensitive and wanna give neubaliser but I refuse. I stop all fruits and morning bathe, also apply vicks on his chest and let him wear socks when sleep. .hug hug crisann for me!! Hope she gets well soon.

cynthia,
Ya, everyday when wanna go work feel so reluctant. Juz like forcing myself to work lo. Really hope now is Aug.

Hi Cynthia

Thks for the hug. U take care too...

Hi Augustmum

The vick with sock doesn't work for her. Already brought her to see a doc on Mon night. Than at nite she vomit twice. Throw out all those phelgm she has. But now still coughing quite badly. Think if tomorrow still have not recovered will bring her to see the doc again. Thks for your concern.

Hi cocomo

Thks for the advise. Will apply vick on her crest tonite. Hope this work for her.

augustmum,
Hehehe so this round wont be extending
But I think now we will feel less worryin as they are growing older and not as delicated like a baby. I also hope by the time I intend to go back wont hold back too....

cocomo,
Don't think so much.. just try till you cant. Rememeber to stay cheerful too ah as little one knows inside okie

Already 2nd time mummies abv,
Hmm how do you all manage with 1st kid around when doing confinement or even how to manage their sleep time? I am kinda worried now... cos confinement mayb my mum can help if not i am all alone and start to worry how to manage when 2 is at home after 2mths.... Have not send Nat to school yet as HB was kinda worried with the increasing of HFMD...

crisann,
Sherv also coughed quite badly for more than a week, she also coughed until she vomitted. it was so tough...

wat we did was we bought "hou2(monkey) zhao2(dates as in red dates) san3". her cough n running nose cleared up within 2days! we were all so amazed! so if u hvnt tried this method, then pls do so.

but the portion must be enuff to soothe her lungs n throat, fill the teaspoon with the powder n a few drops of hot water, use a toothpick to stir n mix in the spoon. let her take it then feed her with warm water in her milk bottle. feed her just b4 she goes to sleep, afternoon nap once n nite once.

still couple with vicks on her soles n with socks on. i really hope this will work for Crisann, so tat u can hv a good rest... hughug for both u and Crisann. take care ya!

leia,
but when u hv such a difficult boss like mine, u will also learn to fight for ur rights. >_< of coz, normal routine work we also clash with each other due to her personality.

cyn,
i also wont send Sherv to pg or cc until she turns 3, so i'm also worrying tat i cant cope and will tend to neglect/lose my cool @ Sherv when no. 2 is out. i noe it's harder for ur case if u r all alone. maybe u can consider putting nat at your mom's then u only handle no. 2 by urself? but for the confinement period, u definitely need someone beside u to help n support u.

Thank you mummies for your well wishes.

leobbsomom,
if you intend to send Sherv when she's 3, who will manage her plus your #2? I'm headache when I start to think about all these.

Hi leobbsmon

Thks for the advise and hug. Can u know what is hou2 zhao2 san3?

I wanted to try since is so effective for Sherv but i don't know what is that.

I used to be talking in this forum too. It has been a long long time since I last logged on. But I do still follow the thread.

Hi leobbsmon,
I am going to Perth too in july. It will be winter season, above 10degree celcius. However still must prepare all the winter clothing for my little gal. I am very looking fwd. I will be taking SQ 1am flight. Now starting to jot down the list of items to prepare for the trip. Also waiting for GSS for cheaper purchase of winter clothings !

sl,

the salesperson told me hou zao san is made from monkey gallstone. Not sure how true. However, when i checked up the internet, I found that monkey gallstone is indeed used in TCM to cure cough. You may want to double check with the salesperson cos the one I encountered may have given me the wrong info, just to justify the high price.

Anyway, I have not used it since unless I have a clear idea what the powder is concocted of... You post here to let me know k?

SL, augustmum,

Yeap, true, its monkey gallstone. My hubby who has bad asthmatic cough took it before. The Eu Yan Sang recommended it to him, its really for cough but maybe his cough too bad liao and its asthmatic so din work that well. But its really used in TCM to cure cough.

The other method my mum and MIL used is brew the chinese pear (big round brown skin type) in the north and south almond seeds and chuan pei. Then drink the water. It helped to soothe my throat and cough and nice to drink.

amy,
my mom is staying with me, plus we will get a maid 2mths b4 i pop. plus i will take the 3-mth maternity fully, so i hope to be able to cope with 2 little ones. after the 3-mth of training of routine/schedule, hopefully the maid will be able to help much after i go back to work.

wat's your plan in mind now? or wat's the routine for u now with just the tod now?

SL,
sorry! it's a powder for babies, like the pearl powder. small bottle which cost abt $20. u can get hou zhao san from chinese medical hall. they will know if u tell them for babies flu or cough. my fren also fed the tod the same, and she was okay after 2days. =)

Also, u can try to brew soup chinese pear (big round brown skin type) with pork ribs. it will "ren" the lungs so tat BB wont cough so hard bcoz of the phelgm.

happymum,
wow! u r so brave to go in july! i tried their winter season twice, and i know it's enuff liao! my skin n lips cracked like nobody's biz there, n i feel my bones were aching bcoz of the chilling wind. =P

i think u bring 2 winterwear for your tod will be enuff, just to change if one is dirty. just wear enuff on the insides. Sherv was wearing one short then one long sleeves, then her winter jacket with hood. my sis bought her baby gloves from John Little, 2pairs for $10. but we didnt use it coz it wasnt tat chilling in the day. but u will definitely need them in July hor, so u can go and check them out at John Little.

also, u must rmb to bring enuff socks coz they will need them even when sleeping.

DIAPERS
if u r not going to bring alot, u can always buy at their Coles supermart. their house brand diapers, 24pcs costs A$10.99, 10-15kg. their huggies pullups costs A$18.99(i forgot how many pcs coz i had enuff pullups but not enuff diapers so i didnt really check).
i brought 25pcs for 6D5N, still not enuff. shld hv brought abt 35pcs. so u all can gauge how many u'll need.

feel free to ask if u need to check with me coz we will always feel tat we didnt pack enuff for the tod rite! =P

SL/racoon/augustmum,
My mom also told me the (hou zao san) monkey gallstone is good for cough. But I never heard it b4 so dare not give Jay last time.

I tried the brewing pear method racoon mentioned when Jay had cough two weeks ago, unfortunately he dun like it and refuse to drink maybe coz of the smell of north and south almond seeds

cocomo,
maybe just pears with pork ribs is enuff for Jay, since he's still small... i forgot there's something tat we can get from Eu Yang San for tod's coughing... i suddenly forgot the name.

but their Pi Pa Gao is really good for adults, i've lost my voice due to the dryness in Perth, and still not recovered yet. =( i dun dare to try other stuff due to preg, so i'm only trying to drink more warm water...=P

SL,

Then probably just try brew barley water for her now and then to bring down the body heatiness which causes sore throat. The weather is really bad nowadays, and that makes everyone susceptible to falling sick. Hope Crisann recover soon

Justin lately like to drink lots of water before bedtime. After his last milk feed at abt 9pm + of abt 200ML, he'll down abt another 150ML - 200ML of water. I ask my maid to up his milk portion next time cos I thought maybe the milk is insufficient for him. How much of milk are your toddlers drinking nowadays?

racoon and cocomo,

so it may be true that the powder is made from monkey gallstone. I'm ok with eating stuff from chicken, fish, pigs and cows but things from monkeys, just couldn't bring myself to eat it. Wonder how they get the gallstones?

I also gave mu sons the pears+ almond seeds soup. Left out the chuan pei cos my kids doesn't like the taste. added dried figs to sweeten the soup.

racoon,

zac took 220ml 3 times a day...

cynthia,

I handled both kids on my own for almost a year before we enrolled our older boy in childcare. It will be good if you could settle the kids into a routine and you must also plan before hand what to cook for mealtimes so you could prepare the meals in very short record time.

My task was rather easy cos my older boy self fed himself very well by 2 years old, so I could actually leave him to eat on his own. Another good thing is that my little one slept on his own. Just put in cot and he would fall asleep. Usually, while he was about to fall asleep, I would vacuum the floor (suggested by my pd) and he would be lulled to sleep hearing the sound and I get my housework done.

I would try to involve both in activities such as singing and reading... Ha... this means the younger one would have to listen to stories meant for older ones...

To survive, always feed yrself first after cooking as we could finish a meal in less than 10 mins whereas the kids could take up to 30mins and we have to spend about 10 mins cleaning up the mess. If you don't feel hungry, you will tend to be more patient.

Do take them for walks as staying at home will drive you crazy and a stroll downstair could help to pass time easily.

btw, I did my own confinement so basically I took care of zac once we were home. Hence, the sleeping habit was dev rather early. I breastfed for a yr so that save time too.

My older one was taken care by my mil in the day during my confinement. We took over full day after confinement...

Leobbsmom,
I am kinda worried if try to send Nat later to school preferably after I have settle down 2nd one at least 1-2mths lo. Now still discussing with HB and also e school I looking at around my house all waiting list... Also not getting any maid maybe reason is I don like maid &amp; stranger in my house staying bah hehehe... rather do all things myself.

Augustmum,
This round, my confinement not getting any nann ever since what happen when I have Nat.. nanny terrified me. So planning during confinement Nat will be placed @ MIL hse and only bring back during weekend or when HB is around to help. As for 1st 10days of confinement, mostly HB will clear some of his leave to stay at home help me &amp; my mum once awhile come over help me. Unless BB wanted to arrive earlier sometime before mid June then my mum able to help me fully as she is having sch holiday. Shall see how it goes. Actually I felt make no difference whether I do it myself or not. Cos will be BF &amp; for sure lack of all the sleep and rest. As for confinement cooking I also master a few from my mum previously.

Now only hope after 1mth can be more stable &amp; telling myself i can do it
If really cant make it or even damn real tired N need rest, will ask for help &amp; don't force myself cos we don have good healthy how to battle through the years taking care our kids!

You are so lucky, both on routine &amp; give you less worries.. Now I also on hold Nat toilet training as I been very tired lately &amp; standing squating is getting more tough for me... another 8weeks to go before bb arrive hai... finally... Just worry if I delay toilet train her will have any side effects or not... Have been pester by MIL &amp; MUM to trained her. I have tried earlier but realise her bladder still not as strong. Have to get her to pee every 30mins.. sometime mayb 45mins.. crazy right.. rather put her on pampers...
Sorry for the long post mummies :p

cyn,
i saluate u leh - if u really kenna cook and take care of no. 2 and urself during cnfinement. i surely cant make it coz i cant cook, and i need alot of sleep. so apart from BF-ing, i will try to rest n sleep whenever i can. but for sure, i cant take my eyes of the little one... and of coz, dun forget Sherv will be around to wreck havoc!

i've been "training" her to handle a bb, n will remind her tat bb is sleeping so she cant scream or be rough to the dollie... she somehow knows wat i expect of her. but of coz things could be very different when she sees a real BB b4 her eyes!

oh one thing to share, Sherv was so amazed by those ang moh babies &amp; tods in Perth! she even thot one bb was her dollie at home, she kept hugging n touching her nose, hair, hands n legs! and she cried when we said goodbye to the bb and her mum! i kept telling her tat the BB is not a dollie, it's a real BB... and the ang moh mum was amused by her actions just like us! =P

i will post some pics here once i find a way to DL my pics from my new SDHC card! headache...coz my laptop cant seem to recognise the SDHC format! HELP~~~~~~~~~~~

Leobbsmom,
I think what we can do now is to keep telling our kid that a bb is coming &amp; let them know what is bb (didi or meimei). I also don expect nat to be helpful or really understand as she is still young.. Even my frd 3yo daughter was very clingy and very jealous when meimei arrive few mths ago. Only till 6mths situation start turning well like she will protect meimei, tel mummie meimei cry etc. I think now i only pray hard nat wont be so clingy &amp; jealous when meimei arrive.

For sure time management again so impt! Hai.. working need management, staying at home also. Only thing can do it try to rest &amp; nap whenever can lo. Now I only hope Nat will stop her waking up during midnight after bb is out as recently she keep waking up &amp; look for mi or as for milk which hardly happen before i was preg! Keep finger cross...

We will be waiting for you to post the pics frm perth

augustmum,
wow i really think you train your boy well! i need training from u

I also think my problem is cuz i let my boy sleep on the floor on a mattress. sooooo, he tends to roll around, walk off and play or take his time to fall asleep. i have to be around to keep an eye on him, or put him to sleep before i go about my stuff.
my cot is scary, cuz i notice he can try to climb out....

I also headache when it comes to sleeping for the older kid when second one arrives. Now Justin shares my bed and even pillow. He will kind of mount onto my pillow and face me then fall asleep. After that he could be in any direction on my bed. I can't put him on the floor mattress cos that area beside my bed is very cold cos directly facing air con vault.

I'm going to HK for biz trip in May and I worry how is he going to fall asleep at night. First time me going to be away from him since birth so dunno what to expect. My MIL's room got no space to let him sleep cos maid sleep with MIL. Justin got his own playroom with a toddler bed but he only naps there during day time where he doesn't do his 360 degree turn. But I worry if let him sleep there at night with MIL on the floor beside him, he may fall off the bed when he gets up and starts searching for me in the middle of the night.

Dunno issit I think too much.

racoon,

oh u have toddler bed? i was thinking of getting one too. then put the rail/guards on the side..

u think can work?

Mummies have any suggestion or where to buy bed?

cynthia,

it's a good idea to hold off toilet training since there's a newborn and you hv no helper. I think no side effect for the delay. Only thing is must spend $$ on diapers. Hv you considered catering confinement food? I did that...

racoon,

Ya, don't think so much... who knows your mil could help you to train him to sleep alone

Butter8,

I think zac has associated the playpen with sleep. So, once in the playpen, he would try to sleep. Not that I really know how to train, things just happened.

I'm looking for a toddler bed for him too cos recently, whenever, I announced to him 'Sleeping time!", he would run to his bro's room and then lie on his bro's bed. Hee... then gor gor would scream his head off, complaining that di di has messed up his bed.

Not sure if he would be able to fall asleep on his own bed, and wondered what will happened if there's no railing to stop him from wondering around...

Augustmum,
Ya I have consider getting confinement food.. but again don't know why I m always worrying.. like the food they cook. As I know from my mum no salt no msg no sugar no garlic ONLY soy sauce &amp; seseme oil for confinement. And I m super freaky like cant put too many ginger cos BF and cant take.. haiz.. think must knock my head. HB saying those menu seems not bad. I tell him I can jolly cook myself and spend between $50-100 a week for those confinement ingredients. Again he knock my head hahaha. BUT will take into consideration maybe decide 2weeks before due as my gynae mention I could due earlier than expected.. So no matter how still hope able to have my mum to cook for me lo

butter 8,

Yeap, my toddler bed already comes with a bed rail but a bit too low. I did consider changing to the type Kelly used for her boys but the Ikea mattress I used for the bed is very soft so dunno can secure the bed rail well or not.

I bought the bed from Ikea, it was quite cheap but its the mattress + mattress protector + bed sheet ++++ that makes the whole thing cost more. Its smaller than a single bed but bigger than a cot.

Cyn,
yes prayer is a powerful tool! my fren sent me an email me last week tat said,
“When man works, man works; but when man prays, GOD WORKS!”

“Prayer is releasing the energies of God.”

“On bended knees, a Christian is invincible.”

Bed Rail
they are really useful! and i started using it since Sherv was only a few mths old when she started flipping around at nite. must really say tat my mom is able to sleep beta since the bed rail is on her bed!

racoon,
i think a few preggie moms here also sleeps with their no. 1 until now... maybe they can share their "plans" with u.. my colleague said she will sleep in btw the 2 kids when no. 2 arrives... i was thinking, " u sure u can sleep meh???"