(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

hi augbaby,
ya lor. very ugly hor. din buy them but rather the tube bras instead. only bought 2 now but guess after hearing what kelly said, will buy a few more.

hi peddie,
have emailed u. pls check.

hi pupsandcups,
it's fine to have baby showers. some of my friends also have them. now getting more popular.

Hi Wanli & chrys,

Hows your check-up after last sat? I took a stronger anti-biotic and had some side effects. Then dr wong change to a milder one. I am bck to work, but still feel those cramps.

Hi jfong,
Has your baby engaged? Did you took the steriod jab when u were hospitalised the previous time?

Hey erin,
so where did u buy yr tube bra ah..? so the tube bra can be used as a nursing bra? U juz have to pull it down to BF??

Hi mummies/mummies-to-be,

I'm from the Sept thread, but thought I'd ask here too. I'm starting a bulk purchase for the Ameda Lactaline Breast Pump and am wondering if anyone here is interested? Details below...

I'm starting a Bulk Purchase for the Ameda Lactaline Breast Pump and am looking for people to join in for a little discount from Euramedics. Here're the details.

Ameda Lactaline
Set includes:
- Dual Pump
- Motor
- Adaptor
- 3 Valves
- 2 Bellows
- 2 Funnels
- 2 Bottles (4 oz)
- 2 Feeding Cups
- 2 Caps & tubings

Usual Cost : $300
Bulk Purchase : $285 (self-collect) $290 (with delivery)

The warranty starts when your delivery is made, so don't worry about "warranty wastage" due to a later EDD. The accompanying bag can also be purchased for $80.

449447.jpg

If you're interested, please email/PM me your details.([email protected]) I'll need the following details.

1. Name
2. Email
3. What you want (pump? bag? quantity?)
IF NOT SELF-COLLECTING,
4. When you want the pump delivered (pls give a window of 5 days)
5. Address

THANX

sorry for the long post!

went to OG Chinatown yesterday and found that Beauty nursing bras are going for 2 pcs $17.40. Quite reasonable. Normal price is $10/pc.

They are placed in a wagon under the SALE area. Worth checking it out although limited sizes -34onwards are available....colours-normal beige, white, light pink...

Hi Kelly,

i jus came back fr dr ang's clinic! i gana bleeding again last nite and this morning. Tot becos my cervix dilate, thinking die lah this time mayb baby want to come out oredi. But luckily, cervix never dilate further after he did a VE, put on CTG, bb's okay.

Actually i nt sure how accurate the scan is wrt the bb's weight cos' my fren jus delivered last Thurs, bb was 2.98 kg when the last scan showed 3.2kg. So think must discount a bit hor?

Keep us updated after ur appt this wed okay?

Btw, where is Dr Terence Tan's Kinderclinic located? Wat r ur comments on him?

Dino,

My bb head down since 32wks, but not engaged yet cos' my gynae said usu bb dun engage so early for 2nd pregnancy, usu when nearer to labour time.

Yes, had two steroid jabs to strengthen bb's lungs during my hospital stay. Now still on Salbutamol and Nifidepine to prevent contractions and bleeding.

Hi Dino, wanli
Did my checkup last Sat, bb weighs 2.2kg at 34wks 4 days. He only gains 200g from last visit 2 wks ago but i gained 2kg! sigh..

I did the v-swab and the result will be out today or tomorrow. Never realise it's so fast and not painful.

My bb's head hasn't engaged yet, so unlikely tat he'll come out soon. And my hb has flied to China for biz trip for 3 days, we talked to bb, asked him not to come out yet, wait for papa to come back.

Dr wong din tell me about blood cord thingy, guess she's very busy on Sat, tat's y i arranged my next checkup on a friday, 2 weeks later, hopefully she's got more time with me. She said after next wk, will be weekly visit.

I've packed my hospital bag, finally.
Do u still remember what are the things that will be provided by TMC and hence no need to bring? Is it stated somewhere? i cant seem to find it in the letter sent by TMC.

augbaby,
the tubebra is not for nursing...

i went to see thyme ones, pretty ex about $55 and only if you buy 2 the 2nd one comes with 30% off now.

they are all not padded.. some with wire some w/o.
there is this other shop called Cloud9, if u want padded nursing bra, they carry the Pigeon brand ones. at least not so ugly lar... hehehehe

the one in raffles place mrt, has some typical china made ones, i think about $19 and the ex type about $30+++...

i really dunno how to buy cuz when try on some if fitting ( around body) the the nipple area a bit lose lose - i guess must put padding there..

a bit xianz the design, but i thot i better get as i dun think my hubby will know how to buy when i am on confinement..i will check out suntec another time...

Hi Dino,
I will only see Dr Wong tomorrow. Will update u then. What side effect you have after the antibiotic? Are you still continue the medicine to stop contraction?

Hi chrys,
Wah, u still gained another 2kg? I thot Dr Wong said in 3rd trim weight will not gain too much? I'm also worry I gained too much. So, 2.2kg for baby is consider small size right?

I only remember no need bring anything for baby.

Now I already started working from home
so happy. because I really feel so tired travelling by bus and MRT everyday.

Regarding the nursing bra, can check out Perfect Mum's. Forgot what price but its not cheap, could be $50+ for 1 bra.
Its strapless, non-padded, with underwire and comes in black n beidge color. Pretty comfortable.

Its recommended to me by my sis-in-law. She tried those triumph bras but find that Perfect Mum's is better.

Hi wanli,
I also dunno why i gained another 2kg. Don't remember i ate anything special.. hmm..
Dr. din say small, she said size is ok, as she worried i'll have a big size bb at first.

So good.. can work from home..

wondering if u gals have seen maternity shorts? i have 3/4 pants but really looking for shorts to like wear to the beach .. plus feel so warm these days, apparently normal in 3rd tri right?

been looking high and low, but its like impossible to find shorts!

the nursing bra by mothercare is comfortable and hv good support. a bit expensive but worth the investment i think. i bought mine 3 years ago when i was breastfeeding my son for 8 months and still in good condition, so going to re-use them for this pregnancy

erin00

heehee ok, i hv no shorts, v frustrating, like sometimes just going to ntuc quickly i also have to find a dress or 3/4 pants to wear. also go for late evening walks with my dogs, would be nice if i had shorts ... SIGH. my hubbies shorts quite unsightly ... :p

Hi jfong,
Do take care and rest well.

Hi Wanli,
I was given EES anti biotic. I could hear my heart pumping very fast, and feel very dizzy and whole body very stiff. I told the nurses, and even write to dr wong. So she change the anti biotic, and reduce the contaction pills to 1tab, 3times per day. Now, i still feel the short cramps. I feel I couldn't sit, stand or walk too long. I feel very uncomfortable. So I will probably take alt days' leave and rest at home.

Hi Chrys,
I gain very little weight. But for you its ok, since bb is also putting on weight. I remember those shower cream, shampoo, Kotex loops are provided, and all the baby wears.

hi pupsandcups,

I bought 2 maternity shorts from Spring Maternity. They are really very short..haha...very cooling. Not expensive also. You can take a look at suntec spring maternity.

Btw for those who are living in north area and looking for the big green coconuts.....I found one stall that sell at upper thomson road, Sembawang hill food centre. next to spc petrol station. The sugarcane drink stall sells the big green coconuts.

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

Noe..
Well.. My parents dont really allow me to have any bf.. I always cant do anything they want.. =|

Ok.. so hes at a loss.. I do care for my baby.. I really want the best for him.. I want to give him my attention that Ive always wanted from my parents.. but how can I persuade him to tell them? How to explain to him? Wat should I say?

I really appreciate what u all are doing.. I really do.. u r nt being harsh.. its Catherine..<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

kao_smile2.gif
Chill Peddie,
Catherine is just being objective.
You seriously do need to think further then how should you or your BF tell your parents.

Your parents have your welfare at heart. Perhaps they are just pulling the strings a little too tightly. Most typical Asian parents do. You will experience this for yourself one day as I have learnt.

Frankly, given the situation that you are in &amp; will be in, you will not be able to give your boy the attention that you always yearn from your parents.
kao_sad2.gif
That's the reality. It's not that you do not want to but you are unable to.

I don't think explaining to your parents what had happened will help. They will most likely be in shock &amp; angry to react rationally given how you have described them.

You need more than just a listening ear, my dear.
The contacts that Jasmine has provided will be a good start.

jfong,
oh no...bleeding again! do take care! luckily u havent dilate.
i cant recall where KinderClinic is but if u specify tat u 1 Dr Terence Tan, he'll come by ur ward 2 talk 2 u abt ur bb. Handsome, gentle PD.
I find him gd cos he asks lotsa questions, knows how 2 handle bb. He's like just as gd as Dr Ong Eng Keow fr SBCC but Dr Ong dun go 2 MAH so hv 2 settle 4 Dr Terence Tan lor.

I hv a few GFs whose bbs were delivered by Dr Ang b4. They all told me tat we shld take +/- 10% of our bb's scanned weight. I.E. if bb is scanned at 3kg, give &amp; take bb is abt 2.7-3.3kg

Thx Dino!

Kelly,

I found out Kinder is at Mt A level 2. Handsome? That's a plus factor rite cos' bb see oredi not so scared! Hahaha!

Regarding the weight rite, i scared later i cut down on my carbo, scarly bb weigh less than the scan result than i diet for nothing leh. For my case mayb bb bigger safer hor?

jfong: pls take care!! hang in there!!

hi all...i just had my checkup today....likely will end up c-section end july instead...not much space for the little ones, and usually they deliver twins at around wk37..

the babies are now 1.5kg and 1.7kg at week 32+

i am alsolooking around for bras.. i havent changed yet, but getting uncomfortable .. i think i better get some w/o wires and bigger size :p I saw some at spring but haven't got time to go check it out.. some others at OUB raffles place, but quite expensive leh... about $60...hmmmmm

anyone can share ? :)
also, some nursin bra come without padding, we are supposed to wear the breast pads inside issit? i mean after we give birth lar hehehe<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

Hi Butter8,
Yeah, I am also on a look out for nursing bras now too. Really, though expensive, the good ones have lasted me for almost 4 years already.
I especially like the Microfibre type.
I bought those cotton (akin to Bravado series) &amp; they don't last long though they cost about $50 per piece.
For home, I will wear the cheaper cotton version. Those that has lint appearing on the fabric after some washes.

Still looking around ... Will let know when I found any.

Buying a bigger cup size is a good idea as our breasts will be rather engorged the first weeks. Plus, we will be inserting the breastpads inside so they do take up some space too (especially after they have absorbed our leaking milk).

Hi Kelly,
Me also going for Dr. Terence Tan, since i will be delivering @ MAH... Do we book him directly ourselves? or via our gynae??<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

Hi Kelly &amp; Jasmine,
I am with Dr Terence Tan too.

In fact, I brought my #2 to see him yesterday as he was having a high fever of 40.2 degrees.
Thank God he just came back from his mission trip so we were able to catch him.

Hi Jasmine,
My gynae Dr Tracey Lim works with him. Each gynae seems to have their own PD whom they work with at respective hospital.
We have made arrangements to have Dr Terence to be our PD once BB is delivered.
I delivered my first 2 at KKH where my gynae used to work before he (Dr CT Yeong) and his wife (DR Tracey Lim) went private.

In fact, when I spoke to him yesterday, he said all we need to do is to inform our gynae &amp; the staff at Mt A regarding this arrangement.

Btw, where is Dr Terence Tan's Kinderclinic located? Wat r ur comments on him? <!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

kao_smile2.gif
Hi jfong,
Yeah, it's at Mt Alvernia Med Centre Blk A #02-22.
The lift next to the cafe will take us to the door step.

I have seen a handful of PDs (Singapore Baby Child Clinic &amp; Kinder Clinic). Dr Tan 's a great PD to work with &amp; professional at what he does.
He doesn't require you to be down at his clinic unless necessary. If you have doubts &amp; couldn't reach him when you call him (as he may be seeing his patients), he will return call sometimes as late as 10pm.

Ha ha ... But the wait can be very long at his clinic though. I have waited for as long as 3 - 4 hours before.
kao_dizzy.gif

wondering if u gals have seen maternity shorts? i have 3/4 pants but really looking for shorts to like wear to the beach .. plus feel so warm these days, apparently normal in 3rd tri right?

been looking high and low, but its like impossible to find shorts!<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

Hi pupsandcups,
I am a SAHM so I am wearing shorts most of the time!
I bought my maternity shorts ($21 - $29 each) from MomsRUs @ United Square &amp; Flava Mama @ Suntec City.
I like to wear those underbelly type as the overbelly ones give me itch.
kao_sad2.gif

Ha ha ... And I purposely chose the ones that I can wear post-partum at home.

kao_smile2.gif
MomsRUs are having some promotion online &amp; at the retail store.

hi noe

thanks! will check it out, wat is MomsRUs website?
the 2 pants i have are overbelly ones, and they r definitely giving me an itch ...
other than that i always jus wear loose tube dresses .. but really would like some shorts

peddie,
i guess you misunderstoond, i might be abit harsh in words but i just want to help you, don't want to see you suffer after your baby is out. No matter how still got to let your parents know, let them scold or what but they can do nothing but just help you. Everyone will encounter similiar problems. I got Miscarriage and pregnant again b4 i got married. I let my parents know and they keep nagging until my hubby quarrel with them i also quarrel with them. Until my wedding day it suppose to be a happy wedding but end up i was crying cos my parents don't corperate.
But at least they know what situation i am in, they look down on my hubby nevermind. As long as i am happy with they cannot stop me. So now they learn to accept the true. No matter how i am still their daughter.

So no matter how your parents will forgive you they will help you solve the problems. At least you won't suffer alone, no matter how you are still their own daughter. parents will always heartache their own belove children. What if your bf don't admit you and your kid. at least you still have your parents behind to support you.

When you are married, you will felt that no matter how your own parents still love you more then anyone..

You keep avoiding to let your parents know, day by day, week by week soon your baby is coming to this world. Then it will be too late your parents will be at a lost and don't know what to do.. at least you let them know earlier they can be prepare for it.

I was like you avoiding to let my parents know my pregnancy. But i still let them know cos no matter how they still got to know what happen to me. Now at least i gain more kindership with my parents. Their care and concern are more for me now.And now they don't dare to look down on my hubby cos he is earning more then enough.
Suffer now then suffer later right?

Hi Sierra,

thx, will definitely try to hang in there! hv been talking to bb, hope she be kwai kwai dun so kancheong!

Hi Noelle,

thx for the info on Dr Terence Tan, can u share wz me wat kind of charges to expect at his clinic? My elder daugter's PD is at Bt Timah and its so incovenient for me to travel fr Sembawang to his clinic. He oso quite ex.

Some of my friends recommended a PD at Angeline's Baby &amp; Child Clinic at Woodlands St 31. Anyone has experience at this clinic? Can share wz me?

Hi Noe,
thanks! I will let my gynae's nurse know next visit to make the arrangements for me...

I went for prenatal massage @ my spa yesterday.. backache until buay tahan.. i can only do massage until my 8th month.. and there muz be a gap of 10 days in between ..

As my package was finishing (i can use it for pre/post natal massage with tummy wrapping, normal spa massage (chopsticks, sandstone, jamu etc) or slimming massage (with steam &amp; wrap..) and as they are having GSS promotion, i sign up 30 sessions @ 60 sgd each.. this should cover me for pre/post natal and slimming should i need it.. can also do facial also.. so, if after my post natal massage@ home for 7 sessions, still needs more work, will go back to my spa to do.. btw, its rustic nirvana.. i find the price per session quite ok &amp; comparable.. they typically do 1/1/2 hr for me min.. and up to 2 hrs if time permits &amp; not very rush..now pre natal, only do 1 hr only lah..

Just now went for prenatal massage during lunch, now feeling more refreshed. Haven't been sleeping well, everyday wakes up at 5am then have a hard time going back to sleep...think many of the mommies here also experiencing the same thing ar?
Oh yah, just to share, the massage lady mentioned to me that it is good if during postnatal massage, jamu is being applied to our forehead as well, which will take away the wind in our head and helps with any giddiness bcos we tend to lose quite a bit of blood during delivery

By the way, I got my maternity shorts from Spring maternity too, a pity if they are not selling anymore, it's really nice n trendy, suitable for after birth wear.

Noe,
thanks for the tips, i think i better get some cheap ones that are bigger...
I got one cheap one earlier in my pregancy and I think too small liao...
Have invested in one good one about $50++ after discount... but now worried if a bit small if I were to get bigger later on :p

pupsncups,
I oso saw at Spring. no more? hmmmm

celine,
I got a set, from thyme, comfy shorts and sleeveless top (new stock just came in), the set can be used when we are in confinement, very cooling cotton and can use for breastfeeding too. I am sure the shorts can use now first and even later on...

I oso wear hubby's beach shorts to go market near by and oso walk my dogs... :p

Fiona,
wow so nice, lunch time massage....

Jasmine,
my friend oso recommended me Rustic Nirvana, but I find a bit ex...
but heard the service is good...for me its a bit inconvinient to go... maybe i am just lazy

any other good place for slimming? hehehehe

peddie,
glad that u can still find us here as a listening ear.

btw, when u went for check up, did u ever do any scans?
next time u have appt u should write down a list of qns for the dr for eg i asked stuff like:
- how big is baby now?
- whats his position?
- is my weight gain too much or too little

and maybe u may want to ask:
- in case of suspected labour, whom do u call, what is the emergency no. to call
- where do u go to 'check-in' etc...

anything u may wish to know to help u prepare for the birth of your baby
the dr is there to help u through..

i always forget what to ask so sometimes i carry a pcs of paper with me n write down my question when i think of one..

like if i feel a cramp or pain, i record down n infor doc :p

if u have change in color or discharge etc oso let him know...

i do hope u can quickly fix a date to visit ur bf family... make sure u get bf to arrange soon

peddie,

could you go library to borrow some books on preganancy? u can read up on the signs of labour..

n since u are 34 weeks, then u may prepare some items for your hospital bag? so tat in case u need to rush in all the stuff is ready?

surf the website like: www.babycentre.com they have info on labor signs, what to pack etc

about sleeping, i wake up too about 5am..n have trouble going back to sleep...
it would be good if u could sleep on your left side.. ;)

peddie,
At least now i see you are trying rather then you keep thinking negative and it won't help. Now your bf helps also agrees to tell both parents at least you are one step to more relieve. And you feel more happy right?

Think positive you will feel that everything is actually not as bad as what you have thought.

HI all,
Just back from my 35wks check up. Baby gained 300+g in 2 weeks time and now is 2.389g. I gained another 1 kg :p.

Cord BLood
===========
Want to update on the donation of cord blood thingy. I have signed up the donation form and still can withdraw until the time i'm in labour ward. Basically during the talk she will explain to you all the procedure and understand yr family healthy history. She did said that if yr baby suffer from any blood disorder then can not used back the cord blood from yr baby because the blood itself already got problem. I'm not so sure what kind of blood disorder she referring to but because I'm not intend to store it so it is a waste to throw it away. After you have done the donation, they will call you after 6 mths to make sure yr baby is doing well. Then they will start doing matching of yr baby cord blood with their patient. They will not inform you if they use yr baby cord blood. Basically you got no right on the cord blood anymore. Here is the URL:www.scbb.com.sg

The coordinator advice those who are interested should call them asap if you already in 3rd trim. You can call 63945014 if you are interested.

Hi peddie,

am glad both u and ur BF hv taken the first step in making things right, guess u must be feeling better now rite? Btw, u r xpecting a boy right?

Find out more info on labour and delivery on the internet.

If u experience and bleeding or leakage of amniotic fluid (amniotic fluid shd be odourless), call the emergency no. that ur gynae hv advised u.

take care.

Hi Peddie ,

happy to know that ur bf is willing to tok to his parent , hope to hear ur good news soon ... better tok to his parent asap , cos u already in 34 weeks , no more time to waste ! =)

take care !

Hi Peddie,
Glad to hear that both of you have decided to take the step to inform his parents about the pregnancy...

And dun worry too much about the size of your tummy, I have a friend who overall only gained 3-4kg so far (she's in her 31st wk), tummy not really obvious. However, her baby is growing well. Just remember to ask your doctor questions as mentioned by butter8 during your next visit. Writing it down whenever any queries came across your mind would be helpful, we tend to be more forgetful during this period of time...

Hi Wanli,
Did Dr wong check your dilation and contraction? Are you still on contraction pills? Did she mention she estimate when u will give birth?

Hi pupsandcups,
Here's the link to the Bottoms page -> http://moms-rus.com/estore/index.php?cPath=24

I bought Lana Lycra Shorts. Unlike the picture shown, it can be folded under our bellies and is comfortable to wear.
It definitely looks better on us then in the pictures. (I didn't think much of it when I saw it online till I tried it on myself).
So vain hor ...

I bought it at the Motherhood Fair so I got it cheaper. Hopefully they are still having promotion at their retail store as I would like to get some more.

thanks noe,
the lana shorts look quite nice, altho i was looking for even shorter heeheehee.

peddie,
i have an appt the same day at KK, clinic C too! would you like my company? PLEASE pm me, my appointment is at 430.
emergency number for KKH is 6293 4044, save it in your phone. or you can just report straight to the 24hr clinic on B1, under subsidy consultation will be about $30+.

Hi Peddie,
Glad to hear that u took some action...keep it up..dun worry, things will slowly fall into place..take care in the meantime n if u need any help, juz come into the forum..

Hey Butter, Piyo, leosbbmom,
my hubby be going down today to buy the raspberry tea leaf..me now waiting for the lady from MIM to tell me if they have so many packets for us..i be getting 2 packs, butter u wan 2 packs too rite, n leosbbmom u wan 4 packs and piyo u wan 2 packs rite..pls confirm wif me ya...shop will open at 11am..hopefully they have eno in stock today..

HI Peddie,

Delighted to hear u make a tough decision of ur life. Things will start gg smooth from now n future alot obstacles BT don let it makes u fall again okie! BE strong!

Anything u can jus come in here or if u wan can PM us or even call us. We do go on MSN to chat also.. so u wont feel so bored or think alot esp u not working or studying now. Keep ur mind occupied too!

Remain happy is v impt so bb boy happy too. V fast will carry him in ur arms tat is when u feel most awarded!

When u having labor pain, can jus walk in 24hr KKH. They will attend u straightaway. Don call ambulance cos... ambulance will jus sent u to near hospital not where u wanted to go to.

PLEASE take great care of urself now.. anything just buzz us okie

hi augbaby and other raspberry tea leaf lovers,

just to let you guys know im drinking the Yogi Tea Healing Formula Woman's Raspberry Leaf Tea (organic), bought at carrefour for around $8.50 fot 16 tea bags, been finding it rather good, soothes my tummy. won't say it taste v nice tho.

Hi pupsandcups,
I saw the Yogi organic raspberry leaf tea before but haven't bought, is it really nice drinking?
Which Carrefour is selling it? If Suntec has, will ask my hb to buy for me later. Think it's time for me to start drinking it..

augbaby,
oh thanks so much.. let me know if you can get, if not enough stock then 1 oso can :p u wan me tranfer $ to u or meet then pay?
thank ur hubby too...

peddie,
dun worry about small tummy - u mention u are pretty tall ya?
u see tall models like junita simon had small tummy, hardly look preggy

at ur next visit to KK u may wish to familiarize with the hospital.. where the E&amp;A is, labor ward and delivery ward etc.. I am not at KK so I am not sure, but prob the nurse can help ya?

here are some useful links I am surfing rite now:
Birth Plan: http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/labourandbirth/planningyourbabysbirth/writingbirthplan/

Breathing in labor: http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/labourandbirth/labour/breathingtechniques/

since u are online pretty much, internet has lots of info, dun have to waste $ buying books.

Hey gals,
if u wan chat on yahoo, my ID is [email protected]

take care everyone, its our last TRI!!!