(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

I have received the raspberry tealeaf from MIM a few days ago already, I haven't started drinking. I am now wk 33+. When do u all think i can start drinking??

hi chrys

yep carrefour at suntec. it's not tasty, so i add a bit of honey and its not too bad. it soothes my crampy tummy,maybe cos i have it warm. started drinking about let me see ... 2-3 weeks ago? ive been having 1 tea bag per day.

how often u gals drink coconut huh? this week i drank twice, but actually i feel like having it everyday cos i feel so warm! but not sure if thats a good idea.
i always drink it at people's park food centre, they have msian one, not too sweet v nice. $2.

Dear Butter,
No worries about the $ lah..when meet up then get from u lor..
Waiting for MIM to get back to me lor...if eno, i help u get the 2 packs u wan, if not 1 pack as u mention lor..
keep u informed again

hi pupsandcups,

Yes yes, i had the big coconut drink at people's park food centre too last week!
A lot of water, but not sweet.. $2. the flesh also very thin.. Thailand ones smaller, but sweeter i think.

I like the Changi Village one, but already made into drinks with added sugar lah.. however the flesh thick thick ones.. very yummy..

hi honeyhaven, we can start drinking the raspberry tea @ week 32 onward..

hi chrys, think we can only drink the big coconut, once a week. but if u like to drink it more than once a week, then just hv the juice, dun take the flesh. $2 quite exp hor, i bought mine for only $1.30 at the shops nearby.. thin flesh means the coconut is young, not those very old ones! and if the flesh is too old or stiff, then better dun take..

i started my coconut juice intake since week 29 or 30.. tats when the bb's skull is develop, coconut juice can help to strengthen. so i will stop taking coconut at week 36, and prepare for labour anytime..

Long time no chat! Have been busy! Anyone of you suffer from itching tummies? I keep scractching non stop leh!

When do we start taking the coconut juice? I am into my 32 week today.. does it really strengthen the baby? The coconut are the small ones right? not the big ones?

Hi Augbaby,
I was about to ask you about the tea leaves. Pls dun get for me paiseh! Cos my friend just gave me 1 spare box so think I will drink that for now...

Hi rain,
so far those other massages I did, they do massage till delivery leh

Hi Piyo,
Okie..no prob...wont help u get then..

me confuse...so shld we be taking the small coconut or big coconut???n like wat piyo mention, when shld we start taking n when shld we stop taking...pls help...

hey butter, leobbsmum, jasmine,
confirm the raspberry tea liao..got stocks..but hor buy 8packs no discount one leh..
so me 2, jas 2, butter 2 and leobbsmum 2 as well..hubby be going down to get 8packs at around 3pm...will arrange how to pick up wif u all again ya...:p

hi honeyhaven
im week 32 now...

from wat i read, suppose to avoid Thai coconut, the msian ones r less sweet and better. i read it is good for baby's skin and skull. not sure how much of it to drink either.

piyo, read somewhere can drink more and more raspberry leaf tea as your due date approaches

this is what i read:
"
Teabags - having 1 cup of raspberry leaf tea per day during the first 12 weeks and increasing to 2 cups a day from 12 to 28 weeks and up to 3 to 5 cups a day from 28 weeks to the birth, freely during labour and after the birth as desired. Or just starting with 1 to 2 cups a day from 12 or 28 weeks and increasing to 3 to 5 a day after 28 weeks or the last month of pregnancy.

http://www.birth.com.au/class.asp?class=67&page=25

there is more useful info on that page FYI

augbaby, drink big coconut, small ones not gd for us...

piyo, i din add anything leh....sweet enuff for me. aiya, we cant take too much sugar or salt also lah...kekeke!! =P

i drink 2-3times week now, depends on my mood! haha.. one bag will last me from lunch to off-work. =P

hi pups and cups,
drink 3-5cups a day after 28 weeks is a lot leh!
Malaysian coconuts are small or big ones?

Hi Leobbsmum,
I read in some other threads some time ago that it's small coconuts... no i confused liao :p

Hi chrys,
Yes, I did the V-test. Don't know got infected or not, she said result should be out around friday. Congrat, u clear all yr test
. Now just wait for baby coming...

HI Dino,
Yah, I also did the dilation test but no dilation yet
. Baby also not engaged, Dr said baby should not engaged until 36 wks.

but because I still have quite frequent tightening tummy, so she said is not normal but since I already reach 35wks then she will not give me any medicine to stop the contraction. She said most probably my contraction is braxton hick because most of the time my tightening not together with crampy feeling. So, eventually this braxton hick may become real contraction then will let the baby out. because of this she think I may still deliver early, may be 38wks.

So did u do any dilation checking?

Hi chrys & DIno,
ahh...forgot to share this, I did asked Dr wong when is the best time to take epidural. I think I will confirm take it. She said if the time you come into labor ward already can not tahan the pain then can tell the nurse u want epidural, if not then can wait until she come in and check for us first. She told me epidural will cost around $500, then it can last for about 8 hrs. If we finish the epidural then can refill it with additional around $100+.

me also blur too..hahaha..n i dun noe if i shld drink from 32wks onwards..coz some pp say too early drink wait coz early labour..but some older pp did tell me that we shld start taking cooling water coz if not bb be too heaty when bb n not good n chance of getting jaundice is higher...is it true..anyone knows?

Yogi Tea description FYI

Yogi Tea Organic Woman's Raspberry Leaf is a gentle and organic way to support the special needs of a woman's reproductive system. Since ancient times Organic Raspberry Leaf has been a favorite of midwives for easing common female complaints, and Western herbalists have long used this herb to reduce the pain of menstruation, and to strengthen and tone the uterus. The polyphenols (tannins and flavonoids) in Raspberry Leaf are astringent, tightening and toning to the tissues, especially the walls of the uterus, which also help ease menstrual difficulties. British Herbal Pharmacopoeia and Bartram's Encyclopedia of Herbal Medicine have called Raspberry Leaf an aid for maintaining gastrointestinal, respiratory tract and cardiovascular health and a useful antispasmodic (relieving cramps). According to the yogic tradition, the three things a woman must do every day are "Meditate, sweat and laugh!" It is also important for a woman to relax since tension can accumulate in the reproductive organs. Enjoy the full-bodied flavor of Woman's Raspberry Leaf tea and give yourself the healing support every woman needs.

piyo

the msian ones are the big ones. i love coconut in this warm weather! think after hearing a million old wives tales, just take everything in moderation, and as long as it keeps you happy. i'm gonnna stick to 2-3 coconuts a week, and 1 teabag of raspberry leaf tea daily.

hey gals,
hubby bought the raspberry tea already..so u all can pick them up from me anytime from tom...but pls let me know who be coming to raffles place to pick them up so i know how many packs to bring n leave them in my office..me working at hitachi towers and staying in tamp...

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

thanks noe,
the lana shorts look quite nice, altho i was looking for even shorter heeheehee.<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

Heh heh pupsandcups,
It was quite short on me leh.
I have bigger hips I guess so I really utilise the material.

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

Hi Noelle,
thx for the info on Dr Terence Tan, can u share wz me wat kind of charges to expect at his clinic? My elder daugter's PD is at Bt Timah and its so incovenient for me to travel fr Sembawang to his clinic. He oso quite ex.<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

Hi jfong,
His charges for per consultation is $50.
My recent bill came up to $97.65 (Consulation $50, Medication $43 &amp; GST $4.65).

There were times whereby he wanted me down just to check on my #2 in between his patients.
Those times, he didn't even charge me for consultation at all.

Sometimes he prefers us to call him if a follow-up is necessary so that he will advise us if it warrants a visit to his clinic. That's really thoughtful &amp; helpful especially for WOHM as we do not have many child care leaves to spare.
That's why I quit to take care of my boys myself.

butter,
me meeting jas tom at city hall mrt during lunchtime to pass her the tea...do u wan to meet us that time too?? then i can pass u the tea n u both dun need to come out of mrt if u dun wan..i shld be in city hall...if not then can meet u at raffles place mrt also can..juz let me know okie..

For those of you who are visiting MIM &amp; intending to breastfeed. I personally find MotherMates Hydrogel Disc &amp; Lansinoh useful.
http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/mothermates.html
http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/lansinohcream.html
kao_smile2.gif
It provided me with great relief especially during the initial stage of breastfeeding.

For a cheaper alternative, the enzymes in the cababge leaves help relieve engorgement &amp; pain. We can always buy that after our delivery.
(Rem to store in the fridge).

hi, aug mums
i've been reading this thread but never post so far. have got some really useful tips. remember that some of u bought the impressions nursing bras from seiyu at $9.90. can i check if they are padded? trying to find padded nursing bras. the ones i saw from triumph are all non-padded so i don't quite like them. thanks

augbaby,

hello ! sorry tomorro i have lunch appt at far east sq
can i meet u at raffles place mrt when its convienient for u? I can oso go hitachi towers (wow i used to work there!)

maybe u like to email me your contact? [email protected]

Thanks so much!

Amberlyn,

Impression bra/ eternity bras @ 9.90sgd (BTW, OG got 20% off this price, so 7.90 sgd only!!) no padding... we intend to wear mostly at home and/or with breastpads inserts lor..

34wks+ checkup
me went 4 my checkup yesterday, bb weighed 2.6kg (bb gained abt 200g) n i lost 1kg since my last checkup 2wks+ ago. gynae quite pleased tat i lost weight n i even more pleased cos no more GD for me.

did e blood sugar test n reading was 5 (benchmark was 7, i hit 10.3 2wks+ ago). gynae said i cleared of GD but still MUST continue 2 cut food intake &amp; cant consume sugary drinks/sweet stuff.

i spoke 2 gynae abt inducing edward n he advised me 2 do so after 37wks n he'll check me for cervix dilation - best 2 b at least 2-3cm dilated so induction process wont b tedious and/or long.

jfong,
i checked wif dr ang during e checkup. he uses dr terence tan as e PD for his patients' bbs. i very happy cos i'll b using dr terence tan too.

Hey butter,
sure..no worries..i brought the tea leaf to my office alr so anytime u r free, we can arrange to meet at raffles place..juz let me know..
will drop u an email shortly wif my contact number so we can sms each other..hee hee...

Peddie,
7.90 sgd from OG.. brand is eternity by impression. if you buy from other departmental stores e.g. robinsons, it will cost you 9.90sgd. i am actually wearing it now, size 75B for now.. i already buy 2 pcs of 85B for later on, when my breasts expands again.. very comfy leh..

If you want to breastfeed your baby (try try try!! cos it will save you $$ on formula milk!!), nursing bras are best.. and most don't come with strapless/ padding.. gotta wear with breast pads lor.. in case milk leaks out..
You have to wear tops that don't require strapless bras for quite a while..

Noe,

Thx for the info! Wud probably be using Dr T Tan for my ger as Kelly jus advised me that he is the "default" PD for my gynae.

Kelly,

Good for u! ur bb still big huh!
Actually Dr Terence Tan's charges quite okay as compared to my previous PD who charged $60 for consultation and so far away at Bt Timah.

Why do u want to induce? Actually, i hoping i will pop after 36 wks, my next appt is nx Sat, cos now got to take medication everyday, then so bored at home oso.

Amberlyn,

I got my padded nursing bra from Moms In Mind, quite comfy, no underwire. u might wan to chk it out.

jfong,
i wannna induce bcos
1) i very tired carrying #2, chasing after my 1st boy. i tik holding #2 til 38wks is enuff liao, considering my 1st boy popped at 35wks
2) i wanna avoid 7th lunar mth
3) i need 2 avoid any unpredictability. i cant afford my waterbag 2 burst anytime (esp in e middle of e nite) n if husband rush me 2 hospital, who's going 2 care 4 my 20mths boy? husband cant bring him into e delivery suite n i also cant find any1 2 bbsit in e middle of e nite.

husband also cant afford 2 take too many days of leave cos he just started a new job n still on probation. if husband cant take leave, i also need 2 make sure ILs are in town (they go 2 JB very often as my MIL is a malaysian) 2 bbsit my boy while i'm in e delivery suite or lie on e hospital bed.
if #2 really pops b4 i induce him, then bo pian...plan B needs 2 b executed.

wif a date 2 induce #2, i can make all e necessary arrangements. i actually pick somewhere in early jul...dr ang said too early cos i only 36-37wks. he prefers me 2 induce AFTER 37wks.

saw from Moms in Mind that they have rather nice nursing bra n tube bras, not too exp too..n they r having an open house on 7july n 22july so we can actually go down to their showhouse to try n purchase the bras..the lady told me not to buy the nursing bra too early till abt july..i told her i am due in late august...u all can go surf the web..i be going down either on 7 or 22july to try..coz i dun noe my size...btw..for raspberry tea leaf, we can start taking from 32 wks onwards rite? has anyone took it n got any side effects..juz worried i guess...but the leaf smells reali nice...

peddie... i actually also dunno leh.. hehe

now, i can wear the 75B size.. but not much room in case i increase girth to 85.. so i also standby 85B.. B cup cos, now, i still have some room left, in case my cup size expands again.. if still cannot.. buy another size again lor..

Hi jfong,
moms in mind have padded nursing bras?? will check it out in their online store... thanks!

Hi, Mummies

I am new here &amp; will be due in Auguust!

The nursing bras from Perfect Mum r good as they do have those with padding,with/without wiring &amp; u can choose between nude or black....

I bought 2 nursing bras at $69.90 &amp; the third one is free. So it $69.90 for 3 nursing bras.

Think they r having some sales nowsaday so can go down to check on it. Hope this will help!

Hi Wanli,
I have done 2times of dilation check so far. I have been taking 0.5day leave daily for this week to rest.Dr wong email me and told me she can try to give me hospitalisation leave if I still feel the cramps and contraction. I will be going to see her tomorrow.
When is your nxt appointment?

I've tried the tea from moms in mind...leafs smell really nice but when i drink...not so tasty lor. After that cup, tummy felt a little queasy, so i'm gonna slowly increase my intake. You may choose to sweeten the drink a little before consuming.

me also juz tried drinking the tea..so far so soon..kind of like the tea actually..smells nice like fiona mentioned but the tea itself not much taste but i still like it..hee hee..think we shld not drink tea on an empty stomach..coz might make our stomach queasy..

crap,
i caught a cold from my office, flu bug going around i think. does anyone know any natural remedies? cos im trying to avoid taking medication, we shdnt be taking medication un-necc right? nose been running the whole day ...

hi everyone. I am now 31 weeks preggy. due in 31 august. my gynae is Dr Joycelyn Wong from Thomson Medical. Very sweet and vogue doctor. glad to have her for my 2nd pregnancy. well i am planning to hv my induce on 26 august so that i can hv the same 26 date for myself and my 1st daughter. hehehehe but Dr Wong says in order to hv that day, i have to be less active since my last check up shows my girl has reach 2kg. oh dear.

i drank it juz now..

added juz a bit of sugar to it.. so it is ok.. but isn't really flavorful still..

Welcome Jesline,
Thanks for the lobang.. btw, where is perfect mum?

Voguemama,

my estimated EDD is 31st august also!! so qiao.. but me @ MAH.. keke

wow. all on 26th August?? cool!! it will be nice next time to celebrate all birthdays together!

Hi Dino,
I also done twice for dilation check. Yah, I think you better save up yr leave, since Dr WOng willing to give you MC. I believe we may need more annual leave after delivery. My appt will be next week
. Actually as long as my baby come out after 36 wks, I think should be ok. I feel quite tired and 3rd trim really not that easy......

HI Voguemama,
Welcome joining the thread, we have few mummies also with Dr Jocelyn Wong

Hi Kelly,
So have u fix the date for yr induce? Do we need to pay extra if we want to induce? Any risk?

Hi, Jasmine

The shop that I went to is at Raffles Place The Arcade 2nd floor.... think there r other outlets at International Plaza....

will send u the address once i find the namecard...

Just wanna share with mummies here ...

have any mummies experience " flying Kicks " from BB ? haahaa , i have experience super powerful kick from my BB , sooo painful ! haahaa ... and my stomache will go left n right =P is this normal ?

May I join you ladies? I'm from July MTB but my EDD is actually 6/8. The gals of July have popped and I seem to be the last few who hadn't.

Btw, my gal at 34 weeks is only 2.1 kg. How abt the rest of you?