(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Hi White lady,

Yah BB now very strong hor...my tummy always go out of shape when I lie on my back hahaha...sometimes can see her hand or foot pushed against the wall of my uterus while she stretches or got wave like pattern when she turns, very cute but can be painful also, but I dun mind, glad to know BB is active

hi jasmine,
just check wif u. wen u did the red dot maths card, did u stick the dots according to any template or randomnly. cos i bought the dots n pp fr a mummy & she did provide a template. but wld be q tedious to follow.

peddie,
i dunno wat is the best advice for u but watever it is, pls be strong. dun tik u r alone. we r still here giving u moral support. wen u tik strong u can overcome a lot of things.
well... some ppl dun do confinement- like the westerners...of course if hav someone to look after u wld be best.
did u approach the counselling helpines jasmine provided? i tik it's a gd idea.

hi fiona ,

ya , can be very painful at times ! But me n Hubby very happy n surprise to see the BB so powerful ! haahaa , sometime even felt that the stomach going to burst like that ! haahaa

Hi, Jasmine

These r all the Outlets for Perfect Mum. Hope it helps!

So when will u be due? I will be due in 18th August but bcos I am opting for elective c-section, so will be 2 weeks before, most probably in the 1st or 2 weeks of August...

International Plaza
10 Anson Road #02-81/81A (above Tanjong Pagar MRT)
Tel: 6226 2030

Tanjong Pagar Plaza
Blk 1 Tanjong Pagar Road
#02-17
Tel:6224 1370

Heartland Mall
Blk 205 Hougang Street 21
#02-32 (Above Kovan MRT)
Tel: 6282 8678

Suntec City Mall
No 3 Temasek Boulevard
#03-019 (tower 2)
Tel 6238 6869

Hi nurbates,
A warm welcome to u.

hi whitelady,
my bb doesn't kick or punch so much but more of wriggling or moving around. When he kicks or punches, I'm quite happy n more reassured. think i'm a sadist liao. lol

hi peddie,
I've read that it's normal to have bleeding gums during pregnancy so don't worry. I'm also feeling hungry very often and have been stuffing myself.

Why don't u talk to a social worker as Jasmine advise? Perhaps she can guide u in reaching out to ur bf and also the parents. Am not so sure abt the conversion thingy but i recalled that my friend has to go for religious lessons first.

Peddie,
You are you why must you convert to be with him? he cannot accept what your race is?
I think he is finding excuses. Its ok since he is trying to be hard on you, I suggest you let your own parents know instead.

Btw,
Confinment are very important is to clear those remainding blood or toxic left over in your tummy, Esp food we eat got to be very careful as our womb are consider wounds. So we got to eat the right food to avoid infections and to build back stronger wombs.

And if you want to breastfeed certain food got to be avoid as well cos baby is taking your milk.

Hi nurbates,
A warm welcome to u.

hi whitelady,
my bb doesn't kick or punch so much but more of wriggling or moving around. When he kicks or punches, I'm quite happy n more reassured. think i'm a sadist liao. lol

hi peddie,
I've read that it's normal to have bleeding gums during pregnancy so don't worry. I'm also feeling hungry very often and have been stuffing myself.

Why don't u talk to a social worker as Jasmine advise? Perhaps she can guide u in reaching out to ur bf and also the parents. Am not so sure abt the conversion thingy but i recalled that my friend has to go for religious lessons first.

hi!
sorry for the double posting. connection a bit slow just now so i pressed "refresh" and hence posting it twice without my notice.

CJ,

the red dots, no need to follow the template (i have an e-copy also, which i never use)... i stick randomly.. the GD program says to stick randomly lah....

peddie,
while it is good to get your BF's support, ultimately, we women must do what we believe in and plan towards it.. if inspite of all the negative factors, you still want to keep your baby... go ahead and brave through the hurdles ahead.. call the numbers i provide to get a start.. this way, you get support rightaway even, if your family eventually throw their support behind you...

You are a brave woman.. don't give up!

For traditional confinement food, chinese believe that we will retain lots of wind in our tummies & water retention is common also.. so, our diet for that one month is full of nutritious food e.g. fish, lean meat, food with natural iron (to replenish blood loss e.g. liver), often with lots of vinegar, ginger, cooking wine to get rid of the "wind" in our system..but, if you want to breastfeed, make sure don't over consume too much ginger & wine before you feed the baby.. you can eat ginger & consume wine, after breastfeeding baby and with a gap of ~2 hrs before next feeding! otherwise, you will have a colicky & "ma bo" baby!!

No cold drinks as this promote water retention and old wives' tales say it will contribute to weak bones/ artiritis/ reumathism etc..

Buy standby red dates & dried longan from chinese medical halls --> this is to be boiled together and drank in place of plain water during the 1st month.

Traditionally, no showering also.. keke.. but now, since many breastfeed babies.. think is better to be hygenic! Bath only with hot boiled water (hot tap water is also not recommended)... and with addition of herbs, which you can buy from traditional medical halls (called da feng cao, i think.. got lemongrass & other spicy herbs inside).

Also, drink more soupy stuff to encourage milk flow .e.g. boil green papaya with fish.. supposed to be good for breastmilk stimulation..

You need help during confinement, to bath baby etc.. as you will still be tired & weak after delivery.. and old wives' tales say to avoid touching water as much as possible (so how to bath baby yourself??)

You will need:
1) a place to stay
2) 6 to 12 sets of baby tops in NB/ 0-3 months/ 0-6 months size (for times when baby vomit/burp/ regurgitate milk/ wet their bottoms etc) --> note that no need to spend much on bottoms as 1st month, should air the umbilical cord area of baby & baby likely to be wrapped up or in diapers..
3) cloth diapers (can wash & reuse & save money but spend more time & energy & water!!)
4) Small square towels - as wash cloth during bath time and can double as bibs over shoulder
5) bath tub with nonslip bottom
6) bathing items
7) disposable diapers (convenient/ expensive!) try to obtain samples to try them out!
8) a receiving blanket to wrap up baby & provide a sense of security initially
9) mittens/ booties x 3 sets min. to avoid them scratching themselves
10) milk bottles & teats x 4 of 240ml size and 2 of 120ml size..
11) miscelleaneous stuff like baby wipes, cotton wool, cotton bud, baby powder, diaper rash cream, Ru yi oil (for soothing colicky babies..), gripe water.., cabbage leaves on stand

oops!

too long my posting..

Peddie,
i was saying, cabbage leaves keep on standby to sooth engorged breasts!

anyway, there is alot to prepare.. so, you must get your ass moving! get help where possible from close ones (own family, frenz, boyfriend's family, forum etc). Try all avenues.. when these are exhausted, then think think think of alternatives!! help yourself & your baby!

Can you approach your BF's parents yourself?? Maybe will be good to go down with someone else to provide emotional support..this is the time when calling these helplines & having access to a social worker will be extremely helpful....
PLEASE TRY IT! OK?

peddie,

i finally found the article for you to read..

http://www.veritas.org.sg/FLS/n_c_news/jan252003_unwedmoms.html

Please take a look. It has the 3 shelters' contact to provide for young,unwed single mummies who need time to sort out their lives..

I will post the contact numbers here too... juz in case.. take care!!
WHO TO CALL
Andrew and Grace Home - Tel: 6348-5674

Rose Villa - Tel: 6253-6556

Pertapis Centre for Women and Girls - Tel: 6284-4707

augbaby,
hello, did get ur contact no. can i walk down sometime today to collect from you? i will try to PM u after this with my contact

Erm someone mentioned about MIM I surfed the online stuff - like pretty good.. is there some open house or roadshow upcoming? anyone know where is that?

pupsncups,
i take honey drink with fresh lemon...u have to take more fruit juices since u have runny nose..

whitelady,
now my bb mostly wriggling about... but yes there is an occasional major 'eruption' that shocks me hehehehe

hey butter,
sure..today any time is fine wif me..i wait for yr PM then...
oh, i am the one who mentioned abt MIM n that they r having a open house thing at their showroom..where we can go try their bras..not bad hor the bras..nicer than the normal ugly ones...n price is still reasonable..their open house is i think 7 july n 22 july..u can maybe call them to double check lor..

oic thanks augbaby

anyone here baby still have hiccups?

today i feel a regular thump thump near my abdomen, its been going on for about 5 mins already...

is this normal?

also, i notice this more when i where my pants or jeans... is it bad to wear the maternity jeans with the thick band around low waist?
i wondering if it is restricting?

but i wear below my belly leh....

hi butter, my bb still hv hiccups, even now when i'm typing! =P i hv asked gynae abt it, and she said these are not hiccups actually.

is bcoz our babies are very smart, they are trying to learn how to breathe!! hehehe....cute hor! =P

as my bb has turned head-down very long ago, i hv tried not to wear those pants with thick waistband. i'm afraid tat the band will press against her head and affect her growth and breathing. but i also feel uncomfy myself la, coz i'm used to loose clothing liao.

btw, just to share, pls do not sleep on our back for too long, tats wat i did the nite before last nite. the moment i opened my eyes in the morning, i got giddy spells and almost blacked out. cold sweat broke out, and i was so scared! i went to my gynae, and she said it's due to long time lying on my back, no oxygen n blood flow. hence the blackout n cold sweat, my BP suddenly dropped ma..

i explained tat i slept better on my back coz bb wont kick me so much. then she sternly asked if i wan to deprive my bb from oxygen n blood just coz of my need of sleep! hahaha... i forgot i'm a mummy now, i shld not be selfish hor! =P

so i slept with a pillow under my tummy while sleeping on my sides, and another pillow behind my back to prevent me from turning and sleeping on my back unwittingly.

Hi Butter,

my BB still having hiccups pretty often...it's totally normal hee

whatever we wear externally won't cause any restriction to the BB inside since it's surrounded by water, which practically takes up any shape according to your womb, as long as it's not too tight should be fine. The only problem I face is the part below my belly in contact with the band always itch like crazy whenever I perspire...haiz

Peddie,
think it's more advisable to let his parents know 1st, it'll be a double whammy for them when both mommy and BB suddenly appear. It's only fair to get them more mentally prepared before your delivery, and also increase the likelihood of you moving in with them while being taken care of during your most needy period. Your bf must be terrified of telling them the truth, but still he can't wait till the end of the road then decide what to do...Well, at the end of the day he still got to take up the responsibilities like a real man!

Actually I have a friend who's due around the same time as us, her HB's also in scdf serving NS. When they found out she's pregnant, he did not hesitate at all, insisted the BB to be borned and told his parents about it. Now they are married and waiting for the birth of their BB. Do not misunderstood, I'm not trying to compare but I think this should be the way to handle such situation. (BTW, my friend isn't working too, so they receive lots of help from the family).

Hi MTMes,

I am new here. My BB will be due on 21 Aug (going for Elect C section becos of my gest diabetes) and will be at Mt A.

I am very confused and worried as my blood glucose reading is getting higher and higher despite of the insulin injection. any advise to share? thanks in adv....

Nursing bra - I saw it at OG (orchard) cost $17.90 for 2 (cannot remember the brand). W/o underwire and quite comfi but the design is just so... so....

Me also experience bb hiccups too sometimes...
I guess it is hiccups because there is light regular thump like wat butter mention straight for a while..so cute..

Butter it was nice meeting u earlier..u r a hip mummy and wow yr face is still rather slim ah... :p hope u enjoy the tea like i did as well.. :p

When our bb is born, think maybe we can have a gathering wif all the mummies here..hee hee..

peddie,

first you let your parents know, and your parents can speak to his parents about this matter. At least more people his parents cannot pretend nothing happen.

If you meet his parents alone i bet his parents would try to avoid it as well.

I know you might be afraid to face your parents, but no matter how you need to face them. They will forgive you cos you are their flesh blood daughter. If your parent's don't love you your dad won't sent you to poly, They might be strict to you but they are actually protecting you.

As for confinement food, Try to avoid chicken and seafood. Best are what jasmine had said. Fish, kidney,liver and pork. with ginger and wine.

augbaby, great suggestion there! we shld meet and hv a small gathering when we hv all delivered! =P

all mommies, maybe we can start planning now! any suggestion??

peddie,

i ain't catholic.. me buddhist..... but, these organisations, while catholic, helps people of all races..

Cecelia,
You still eat normally? need to cut down not just on processed sugary stuff.. also fruit juice and processed carbo like white rice.. yellow noodles... take half your usual portion.. eat only when hunger strikes.. and take more vegetables & natural fruits!

Your body can't cope with huge intake of food now.. so, take smaller, more frequent meals and try to take more of the following:

1) wholemeal/ high fibre food (wholemeal, low sugar breads, oatmeals, coarse rice powder)
2) Vegetables.. unlimited servings!
3) cheese & milk & leg ham is still quite ok.. but try to control salt intake...
4) If you take noodles, take kway teow.. avoid the yellow color noodles..

Aiyoh peddie,

u ask a question that i have been racking my head over the last week!!
I wanted to name my girl Jadienne.. (pronounce JAY-DI-ANNE) but people kept telling me it sounds like JAYDEN....now.. stillthinking about it.. my hubby & I like this name leh..

Peddie,
Honestly speaking, there's no absolute guarantee how they would react, but if you put yourself in their shoes, I'm sure you wouldn't want to be the last to know in situation like this, rite?

My friend's mum was ok, but not sure about her then bf's parents reaction leh... But I know he told them straight he's gonna get married lor. Think it's also beneficial if both of you have discussed and finally decide what you all want 1st, bcos it's ultimately yours and your bf's choice. By then they would have to accept your decision. Guys in NS age should be about the same lor...

Just wanna share with you gals,
I just bought some really nice BB clothings from a shop call "Okunishi". Have anyone heard of it before? Anyway, there's rompers selling @ $10/3pc. I've just bought a very cute sleepsuit @ $9.40, and 2 sets of sleepwear consisting a long sleeves tops & long pants @ only $3.90 each set leh...the material is very good quality not like some I've saw elsewhere...

leobb,
i tot your baby is adnormal to wt 230gm leh..

fiona,
i went b4 at oub center the clothes are cheap.. but some like very undersize haha i bought 3-6mths clothes for my girl cos i find that thier newborn clothes are really small.

Oops, I forgot to put down the shop locations hee... they have branches in China Square central level 1, OUB centre #03-12, Forum #02-15, 211 East Coast, Liang Court #01-18. Got them off the plastic bag

Like what Catherine mentioned, the clothes do look a little undersize, I prefer to buy bigger sizes too so can wear longer...

Happy Shopping!

yah, bigger size can wear longer. who knows baby will grow bigger after 1 mth. so might as well find bigger size one which can last at least for 3 mths.

leobbsmom...wah liao you scared me!!! I was thinking, how come so small 230grm only...heeee...heee...

Mine is 2.1kg, quite small compared to previous pregnancy but okaylah my obs said so long as baby is healthy. Of course I'm trying to fatten my baby up more but my appetite hasn't been good cos I've just recovered from asthma.

Peddie,
I don't mean "they have to accept it". Nobody in this world can be manipulated that way. What I'm trying to say is, maybe if both you & bf can decide exactly what is to be done the right way first, such as giving the parents the respect they deserve by informing them, they would find it easier to accept the fact that you are indeed pregnant and they are gonna have another grandchild soon.

Peddie

Wateva their reaction be, we can't promise you it will be a good one, or bad one, you just have to move on from there. i know right now, u're wondering what if this and what if that. our advice is to tell them sooner, and cross the bridge from there. your friends, we will stand by you wateva the consequence is.

are you a christian? if you are, pray for God to guide you, and provide you the strength you need through this time of trial.

about getting married after having baby, as long as you are comfortable with it, it doesnt matter what other people think of you. you have to have a conviction within yourself, about the plan you have for your future. once you have that, people will respect you for it.

augbaby,
great idea, let's all meet up after our confinements, it will be fun for the babies too.

am getting more and more excited as the days go by, can't wait to see my little boy

i think sooner is better than later, better to keep them in the dark for the shortest time.

reasons u can tell him
- after baby is born, there will be so much going on, there won't be much time to deal with both your parents
- tell them now and there is a possibility they can help with you financially from an early stage
- u've been brooding over this for so long, and it already sounds like it is taking its toll on you, get it over n done with.

hope this helps

peddie, i tink it's better to tell the parents now, than later.. i mean, u gotta be fair to the old folks, and due respect too. they will not like it when u tell them later, coz it's like u are leaving them with no choice and no face..

at least, if u consider to tell them now, they will be glad tat u respect them as the grandparents of the bb u r expecting.

if u really need a reason to convince your BF, tell him tat the old folks need time to accept and absorb the truth. so it's best u hv more leadtime for them, then to accept u and the bb at the same time.

pls rmb tat now u can now be considered their daughter-in-law, whether or not, they wanna accept it.

hi peddie ,

hope u n ur bf can have u good talk with the parents on 12 july ... but sorry to ask , y still have to wait like 2 weeks later ? u all really cant tell now ? cos by anither 2 weeks , u r into ur 35 weeks already rite ?
sorry to ask , but hope ur bf is not dragging the time , cos is so unfair to u ...

oic , then we will be waiting for ur good news ok ! =)

by the way , u need help in anything , feel free to ask ok !

enjoy ur weekend !

peddie,
sori but i tik from ur description, ur BF is jus giving a delay tactic. u hav been talking abt telling his parents for a while oredi.
i agree wif pupsand cups, get it done & over wif. if u need a good reason--- u are in advanced pregnancy and may pop anytime.
this is a serious matter, Imagine u r ur mother-in-law. whether ur son tell u this news on his birthday or not, will ur reaction be very different compare to other days. i tik if u gonna get angry, u will still get angry.

try not to wait day by day. or at the very least try telling ur parents first.

wow! so many posts for 1 day...i read until hei hei chuan!

wanli,
i've picked a few dates. once i confirmed wif gynae on e details of inducing, i'll announce e final date. shld b mid jul.

i not sure abt extra charges if u CHOOSE 2 induce. e risk i know abt inducing is tat ur cervix may not dilate, hence emergency c-sect (not advisable). tat's y my gynae said 2 do it after 37wks, he'll check my bb's condition n if i'm 2-3cm dilated - wif a lil dilation at my cervix, e induction process wont be so long.

u also tiking of inducing ur bb?

peddie,
i naming my son Edward.

cecelia, nurbates, voguemama,
welcome 2 our thread!

augbb,
ya, we shld organise a gathering 2 meet up once everyone pops. i joined another thread 4 my 1st son n a group of mummies 1st met up when my son was abt 2mths old. there were subsequent mtgs n it sure was lotsa fun seeing the bbs grow up.

i did suggest some time back 2 get e mummies here 2 send their details 2 PIYO so she can tabulate them into a table n email 2 all mummies in tis thread. i not sure if all mummies did so.

fiona,
i've heard of Okunishi. gd brand for bb clothing. i've come across a few mummies who buy such brands 4 their bbs.

cecelia,
since ur glucose reading keeps going up despite insulin injection, hv u considered giving up carbo, fruits n all other stuff tat can b possibly sweet/naturally sweet? wat did ur gynae advise u abt tis?

piyo, rain, chrys
where r all of u? lately never c u post...

Thank you..thank you..feel so welcomed...keee..keee...

This time round asked hubby to name our gal cos I had my share for first dd.

We are choosing Dina Qistina. Very longlah but nevermind...give hubby chancelah since he's soooo excited...heee...heee...

Kelly i am here..

wah.. u still awake at this hour ah..
I am still online, as my hb is watching soccer beside me.. hahaha..

I can't keep up with all the postings already..

Last night no matter how we tried to wake our bb up, he still not responding.. we so scared, i lied on bed, played music, talked to him, shake him, pat my tummy, still no voice no movement.. both of us said "how ar.." later on, he moved a bit (maybe changed posture) then slept again..

I realised he now changed his time table. He used to be active at night and sleep in the morning, but now opposite, day time very active.. at night sleep soundly.. good.. hope he can keep up this good habit..