(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Hi Wanli,
I heard from the nurse if touchwood our baby needs the cord blood, he/she can't use his own as well as his own can't prevent him from getting into the illness/deficiency and he may need to look for other matching blood & only Singapore cord blood centre can help do the matching. But if other siblings need the blood, they can check if our baby's lood has been used, if it is still there, they will still give it back to us to use as to them, it's more of a saving life issue...

piyo,
wat the cord donation about? do u have to pay for donating? me b delivering in TMC..so u wan 2 packs of the tea? wich ones ah? i be helping leobbsom buy as well...but either tom or next wk then hubby can buy leh..ok wif u?

For mummies interested in Stemcord , they will be having a road show at suntec from 21st - 23rd July . And think they having this promotion which is $550 + 5% GST for the first time payment =)

HI Piyo,
It is depend on what kind of illness. Some illness can only cure by the baby own cord blood, which is more matching. I think during the talk they got explain all this.

For donation, you will not have the rights to control where and when they going to use yr baby cord blood. It just like donating blood.

Hi augbaby,
I will get more infor on this donating cord blood after I meet the coordinator next week. Hope my baby cord blood can help people who needed
, since I'm not going to store it, hope by donating it then someone can benefit from it.

hi augbb,
think it's a local website. no need to pay for shipping. u can go down to katong mall (think there is 1 more shop) to try and buy. I haven't go yet. think will go down one of the weekends with my hubby. jockey can be found at metro paragon.

hi wanli,
pls share with us after your meet-up with the coordinator. i'm interested too.

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

Noe,
Impression does come in sizes. I bought my size at 85C.<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

Thanks Kelly!
I shall arrange to drop by Seiyu @ Bishan then.
kao_smile2.gif

Piyo,
I paid $1 for the postage. I bought a pack of tea for 2 and the postpartum soothing soak.

For the cord blood, i would like to donate to the public bank. Will ask my doctor this evening when i see him bcos not sure if delivering in mt A what kinda arrangement can be made.

I tried massaging my breasts last night and guess what? I do have slight near-transparent oily discharge leh! think it's the colostrum you ladies mentioned yesterday :) But when I massage, a bit pain :-( Do we need to massage daily?<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

kao_smile2.gif
Hi Piyo,
Our breasts are tender to touch during pregnancy so massage gently k.
My lactation consultant recommends massaging our breasts daily during our showers.

As for the whitish oily stuff you all found on the nipple, I've been having it since 2 mths back leh...and happily squeezing it out during shower bcos i dun want it to block my ducts mah... Until I went for the prenatal massage, the lady told me to stop doing that bcos I may triggle off contraction, and she said she'll show me how to remove the block ducts using a syringe to draw them out when i'm in my 35th week.
We can massage our breasts with circular motion around it but avoid touching the nipples.<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

Hi Fiona,
{That's lovely name.)

Ouch! Using a syringe? Was it painful?
Yeah, their concerns are stimulating the nipples will trigger the uterus to contract.

nipple discharge-
all along i have discharge from my nipples even before preg. but the amt is v little, just stuck onto the nipple tip and i try to clear after bath. but till now i dun hav colostrum yet. How abt u ladies previously?<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

Hi CJ,
If it's clear golden yellow &amp; a tad oily, it's colostrum liao.

Hi all ,

i have a question here , for normal deilvery with Epidural n c section with epidural , for the insert of epidural for this 2 ways of giving birth , is it the same ? Both ways also insert thru the spine ?

cj,
regarding cord blood. if u donate to public bank, u do not need to pay for storage ( but not sure abt the procedure fee ). and it can be used for any matches found without your approval. For private banking, only u can use it. to date, there may be certain generic defects that cannot be cured even if u have the bb cord blood. however, this is not confirmed as some defects are not hereditary. but the advantage if bb has a sibling is that their cord blood cells may not be similar components and in the event u need to use, the compatibility is far better than obtaining cord blood matched from unrelated sources. the rate of rejection is also lower.
Over time, with scientific advancement, the applications of cord blood cells will be wider.

why i decided to chose cord life over stemcord include the following reasons -
1. Cordlife is accredited agency that follows v strict guidelines in terms of the procedure of collection of the cb and in terms of building &amp; maintaining their storage facilities.
2.no hidden charges by Cordlife. the yearly fees will remain fixed at $250p.a. up till bb 21 years old. When the child 21 yrs old, he is considered an adult &amp; will hav to sign a new agreement under his own name. For Stemcord, as stated in the contract the hav a right to revise the fees every 5th year, pegged at 10% fee increment. and also in the event u need to use the cb, they will charge u $1000 ( need to double check this fig ), whereas Cordlife is free.
3. Even if the cb is divided into 4 portions of storage as claimed by Stem Cord, doctors performing the operation will use the entire quantity as the amt of cells required are a lot. unless in future they can replicate the cb cells. For Cordlife, their sterile holder pack also allow for tearing away a sample without affecting the rest of the cb.

maybe some more points but above r the important points i considered. ladies, if u do not wish to store, it is good to donate to the public bank as it may help save someone's life in future. there is only 1 chance to collect the cb, and that is during the bb's birth.

sori i m so long winded but please read through all terms n conditions of both companies and ask questions before u decide which one is best if u decide to store.

wanli,
yes i tik i will get a rebate for referring new customers. i can enquire more about it and split the savings if any of u decide to sign with Cordlife. however, feel free to explore all options first. cost should not the main deciding factor bah.

Hi Noe,
(Thks...)
I haven't try the syringe yet, but it kinda works like a breast pump, only thing this is targeted at each tiny ducts to draw out the whitish stuff. But it shouldn't hurt...

I'll leave it till at least the 35th week then try the method.

Hi all ,

i have a question here , for normal deilvery with Epidural n c section with epidural , for the insert of epidural for this 2 ways of giving birth , is it the same ? Both ways also insert thru the spine ?<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Hi White Lady,
I had normal delivery with epidural for my first 2 deliveries. The tubes were inserted through the spine. Methods of insertion depend on the anaesthetists. Some prefer us lying down, some prefer us sit crouching up in a C-shape. A good anaesthetist takes only a few minutes for the procedure. They will visit you the next day for follow up.

As for C-section with epidural, perhaps other mothers can who have been through can share?

I visited my gynae yesterday.
DS weighs about 1.4kg at 30th week.
Gynae charted the graph &amp; he's in the 50th percentile.

Never really take note of this for my first two.
Does that consider heavy?

hi noe n jasmine...
i guess if dr say baby is fine n in normal range should be good ya!

now i think i know why my dr ask me to take blood test for diabetes and blood sugar content... she dun wan to alarm me, but i guess she thot my baby is fat for his growth rate :p
at week 30 - 1.7kg...
nurse explained that if i have too much sugar in blood, n baby is absorbing it is no good...
but lucky after test, dr say nothing wrong..
(so maybe maybe is just fat :p) hehehe he must be drawing all my nuitrition away...

augbaby,
i got some bra at the maternity shop at raffle place mrt - u seen before? they have some tube bra too...

if u dun mind, for the raspberry tea, can i join in? i can take 2 packets? thx

worried...went to visit Dr wong on monday, took V swabs for checks on infections. was informed by her yesterday that i have Group B Step. Have to take antibiotics. * hope this doesnt cause any harm to baby...

at 33weeks , baby is 2.2kg with his head very low and causing some ache and plenty of back pain...
dr wong also mentioned that i will be due early and definately wont pass my EDD

this 3rd trimester is getting really very tiring....went thru 1st &amp; 2nd trimester smoothly with nio MS or problems..now, suddenly so much problems ...quite worrying...

Hi babyboy,
Which Dr Wong are you with? No worry, heard Grp B strep not difficult to cure.

Hi Noe,
My baby is 1.8kg in 32wks. Doctor said is medium size.

Hi noe,
Ur baby's weight looks fine.As long as the gynae didnt say anything abt baby being too heavy or what, shd be ok.

Mine at 30wks was 1.7kg+ n my gynae say its fine weight.

Hi butter,
ur baby n mine same weight at 30wks but my gynae never draw my blood for tests etc leh.

I went for scan yest and baby was 2.2kg at 32wks

Hi erin,
I actually called the lady up and thou it is local, however need to pay for delivery charges..As for the bras, she mention that there is no place for us to try and hence we need to ensure we measure correctly as there will not be any exchange if it dun fit..the shop are katong mall do not carry the bras so we cant try..think they carry maternity clothes only...sigh..so i might not get from them afterall coz i dun feel secure abt not trying the bras b4 buying..

Hi Butter,
Think hubby can only get the raspberry leaf next week..coz they only open from Mon to Thur till 4pm...Hubby might not be able to make it today...So i keep u, piyo and leosbbmum updated when he goes down..btw how many packs do u want to buy? I be getting 2 packs for myself, leosbbmum be getting 4packs...

Hi Wanli,
Thanks for the help...pls do keep me informed..i would also like to donate bb cord blood if possible n can help others...

Hi Noe,
Thanks for the links..will go check them out..:p

Hi Butter,
Any idea where is the shop in raffles place that u bought yr bra and got tube bras? I dun shop much in raffles pl too..hee hee... N sure u can join for the tea leaf...i keep u updated...

hi augbb,
thanks for checking it out. Guess I will not be getting from them then.

Hi butter,
I'm interested in the name of the shop too. how much does the bra cost? perhaps i will go down during the weekends then.

Hi Wanli &amp; Chrys,
Dr Wong called me yesterday. She told me that for the V test, it also test for Group B strep n other infections. And I have group B strep infection. So she asked me to pick up the anti botics today. She told me I dun need to do the test again at wk 36 which most pple do. Maybe you request do this test during your next visit.

I've went for my gynae appt last nite..
BB now weighs 1.7kg @ week 31. In normal range too
kao_smile2.gif

The only problem is i've got really bad yeast infection...sian
kao_sad2.gif
so now no choice have to take medicaton, which i've been trying to avoid thru pregnancy...and was also told to avoid sweet stuff (yeast thrives on sugar in our body). So sad can't eat many nice food liao...

Hi Wanli,
Same doc as you, Chrys &amp; dino..Dr Joycelyn Wong...

Dino,
also have to pick up the antibiotics today or tmrw...

Hi Dino,

Oh.. probably it's the Group B strep bacteria tat causes ur contraction.. but dun worry, it can be cured easilly by taking the antibiotic.

Actually i was almost given this antibiotic when i was still in my 1st trimester, the reason was the white blood cells found in my urine sample test exceeded normal range, which signaled tat could be vaginal bacterial infection. But Dr Wong said it's not advisable to take antibiotic in 1st tri, so i kept the antibiotic but didn't eat.

During 2nd tri, i did a urine culture test in Malaysia and result showed no bacteria was cultured - either the amount of bacteria is too low to be cultured or my body immune system is good enough to get rid of the bacteria naturally. So, again, i still kept the antibiotic.

Now, it's time to test for the last time for the existence of Group B strep bacteria - just in case i really got it previously or got it in later part of my pregnancy. Normally there isn't prominent symptoms so we dun even realise we got infected. It may cause dizziness, contractions, yellow discharge, but not everyone will have these, so we won't know unless we do vaginal swab - to get sample for test. But to play safe, I will opt to do the test on tis sat, as i dun wan my bb to get infected bcos of my ignorance..

Hi Dino, babyboy &amp; chrys,
Just want to know anything different with the discharge if get infection? Do you feel itchy?

Hi Wanli,
My discharge is white &amp; thick after I took the medicine last wk, so I told Dr wong abt it. And she decide to do the test. I dun feel itch or burning sensation at all. So I was surprise that i was infected with the gp B strep. Dr wong mention to me that evryone will have bateria, but in a matter of more or less.

Hi wanli,
I actually told Dr Wong tat i have yellow discharge, she asked me is the discharge alot.. i also dunno how much is considered alot.. i just feel tat i have more discharge after pregnant, it sounds quite common rite.. She asked me to monitor if it turns greenish or the discharge increase alot suddenly and have foul smell. I dun feel itchy.

Hi Dino &amp; chrys,
ya exactly, I feel i getting more discharge in 3rd trim, but i also don't know how much is consider alot. I think I better ask her to check for me next week. Must kill the bacteria before baby pop.

Hi Dino,
Have u collect yr antibiotic? You getting more and more pill to eat then....

Hi Wanli,

Yes, I have been popping lots of pills, never in my life that i took so much. I will drop by before 5pm today to collect the antibotics. Dr wong told me if my contractions gets lesser, I can reduce the contraction pills back to 1pill, 3x daily.

Wanli,
Ya.. i think better to check..

Dino,
Oh dear.. popping pills is terrible.. Btw, how much did u pay for the vaginal test for bacteria infection? sigh.. have to spend again..

augbaby &amp; erin
the maternity shop is the one with many pretty dresses in the Raffles Xchange? its near the 7-eleven... think there is only one shop in the mrt shopping area.
i cant remember the cost, cuz i bought quite long ago, but i know its not expensive, less then $20.

oh i know the maternity shop u mention..but there they sell nursing bra is it and the tube bra u mention? Din realise that they sell nursing bra too leh..

Thank you for your assurance.

Yeah, my gynae took my blood for a diabetic test too. That's because my grandmother has diabetic.
Thank God it's all clear.

Hi Noe,
the insert of epidural thru the spine , is it painful? what is the feeling like?<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

Hi White Lady,
Before the anaesthetist inserts the tube, he/she will wipe our backs with alcohol/spirit.
Upon the insertion of tube, it feels like an injection.
As the tube travels up our spines, you will experience a very very aching feeling.
The insertion of tube will take less than a minute. Tahan through that &amp; it will give us hours of relief during the second stage of labour.

Oh before all that, we have to sign on the dotted lines. Ke ke ke ...

On top of these, side effects vary from individual to individual as well as labour to labour. I experienced chills for my 1st &amp; itchiness around my abdomen for my 2nd. Some mummies experienced headaches or felt nauseated.
kao_dizzy.gif

HI WANLI,
for my case, i have yeast infection as well. so double the problem. i had some itch but it didnt feel itchy all the time... my discharge is white with clumps, so that was when Dr Wong immediately said she will do a V swab and send it for testing..

Chrys, the swab test costs $43.

Hi Peddie,
This may sound like a cliche however it is true that you can't keep your pregnancy from them forever.
Have you decided to keep the baby after delivery?

I have my own fair share of mistakes too and none that I am proud of. However the experiences had made me wiser. I didn't have great relationship with my parents but then either. Praise God things have changed. We ourselves have to make that effort.

Will your parents be able to help you? Your BF parents?
Nothing comes close home support.

Heh heh ... I am 28 this year.
What you are going through now ain't ancient to me just yet.

Our folks will definitely not be happy but we have to resolve things together somehow.
kao_smile2.gif

Chrys,
The vaginal swab will be able to detect both kind of infection, it's known as a HVS swab. To check for strep B, swab is usually done near the last month of pregnancy, if there's any yeast(candida bacteria) involved, it'll show on the result.

Hi peddie,

Juz a suggestion, thought it may help if ur bf is with u when u inform your mum abt ur pregnancy.With ur bf's presence, it can boost ur courage. And when ur mum accepts the fact, she can then inform ur dad.

Think the impact of the shock will be lesser if u tell them b4 the baby is out in the world.And its also to ur advantage coz if they accepts, u'll have more support and help. Not only that, u can gladly move back to home sweet home.

Normally humans's reactions are different when they encounter real situations.Eg,in this case, ur parents may be strict to u but when faced with the fact that u're pregnant with their grandchild, its easier for them to accept it then to be angry with u. Probably intially they'll be angry but after they cool down, i'm sure they'll share the joy with u coz not every parents get to live to c their grandchild.

As for ur bf's parents, ur bf juz gotta master up his courage n do what a man gotta do->be responsible n accountable for his actions! If he's unable to do such a simple task, how can he be a strong father to look after u and ur baby?

Btw, u mention that ur bf's sister is pregnant too. By telling ur bf's parents, u'll get to save $ by using ur her hand-me-downs, eg baby's clothes,bed,milk bottles etc.

Not only that, probably ur bf's mum can do confinement for u too.

Confinement is the 30-40days that mothers took to recuperate our bodies after delivering babies. Chinese believe that after delivering babies, our bodies become weak n our internal yin-yang is out of balance.Therefore, to balance up, mothers need to avoid cooling food n cold drinks as well as to expel the 'wind' in our bodies. Chinese believe that if mothers do not have proper confinement, problems in health will arise in old age.

peddie,
Hav u discussed with your BF whether to keep the bb? u will need all the family support u can get. maybe u choose to inform first which set of parents that u feel will be able to better accept the news. Having ur BF by ur side is important.

So ur EDD 8 August means ur BF sister gonna deliver around same time as u?

As this is my 1st child, i dun hav much bb things to pass to u. but do u need maternity clothes? wat size r u? maybe i can pass u a few items. Pls PM me so we can arrange.