(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

hi wanli

i didnt get to speak to my gynea , the nurse just say that is normal , and my baby movement is much more active than normal ...

hi chrys

maybe i will wait for 1 more day see how lor , anyway today is holiday , i thinking , maybe i sprain my waist ... not sure also ...

hi Cj

i got no fever , just pain on the back , and the pain is like cramps lor ...

white,
take care and do c a doctor if pain persists.

rain,
hey, did u go for the thurs class on nutrition? which one was you? i was with my hb n wearing pink long pants.

thanks chrys for the advice and also info on the JL sale thingy. presume it applies to robinson card holders too? I just went to robinson's today to buy more stuff. since they are not really starting their sale yet I thought I would wait to buy the bigger stuff like car seat, play pen etc. but bought the smaller things like wipes, cotton balls detergent etc. Will definitely wait for the JL sale to get the maxi cosi car seat then. which model was it? i saw the cabrio (the red one) which looked quite good but it is over $300 at normal price.

had a look at the range of bathtubs and playpens/travel cots too - not that great. even at mothercare there was only one. anyway, mothercare seems pretty expensive.

btw, is anyone buying a changing table? is it necessary? seems to be popular in the UK but my friend here said no need. just get one of those changing mat things and put on the bed or cot to change.

zshih,
u mentioned u were out of town? welcome back! u were away for work or personal reasons?

i swear by my changing table. it was recommended by my mum's frien n we bought one fr Ikea tat doubles up as a wardrobe for my son's clothing. it serves its purpose until my son's abt 1yr old when he dun fancy lying on e changing table anymore n i also dun feel safe 4 him 2 lie on it cos he knows how 2 turn/flip n sit up. very dangerous for him 2 fall fr tis height.

a changing table is ideal cos i dun hv 2 bend my back during diaper changing. if i put him in e cot/any bed 2 change, i hv 2 bend my back n it can be very strenous due 2 e fact tat an infant changes diapers abt 6-8x in a day for e 1st 2-3mths in his life.

i've also come across 'changing tray' attached 2 playpen but e height still not ideal. i not very tall (1.58m) n even the playpen height is still low for me.

husband & i insisted on a changing table bcos i dun want to have prolonged backaches (i hv friens telling me how i must really take care of my body during confinement 2 avoid future/permanent problems).

there's often a misconception tat pp who use epidural kenna backaches but it's not true. it's all abt posture n care of ur back. i used epidural but didnt hv any backache problems. e only time i suffer fr backache for a short period of time was due 2 me not sitting well when i breastfed my boy. i quickly corrected my posture n my backache went off.

Hi Chrys,
I could no longer hand wash clothes. I asked my hubby or my mum to wash for me, and some clothes throw into the washing machine. Now, even if I bend a bit to sweep the floor, I feel the strain on my back. Probably due to the relaxed muscles.
Abt the varicose veins, I feel that my V opening is very tight and dry for a couple of wks, and sometimes very painful. Nxt, i could feel some lumpy stuff near the area. I got worried and fix an appt with Dr wong. She checked and told me those were varicose veins. It's a torture to have those ugly and painful veins. I asked Mdm Wong today regarding those veins today, she told me nothing can we do, the most is to wear support panties.
I know some pple will go thru the glucose test at wk 28, it differs frm different gynae. When I ask Dr wong abt it, she say she will only request patients with family history of dibeties or our normal glucose test shows positive. So she told me it is not neccessary to do it.

Thanks for the welcome back kelly! I was away on holiday. Was super busy at work before that so also no time to read and post. Went to the UK - they have quite a nice range of baby stuff there too but too difficult to carry back! Anyway, about the same price here.

Thanks for your comments re the changing table. I am also contemplating because I'm quite tall and sure kena backache one. Maybe I should just borrow one or buy a cheaper one if it can only be used for a short time. Am starting to feel backache too.

BTW, are all the movts of baby consistent from day to day? Some days my baby girl kicks all the time, other days she is very quiet and I only feel very light occasional movts. Can be very worrying on those days. Sigh.

Hi White lady - hope so. Just can be worrying on the quiet days. Keep having to look out for the movement signs. Have you gone more than 24 hours with no movement before?

wah kaoz.... so many postings!!

Chrys,
Medela PIS advanced in stores cost 799 SGD before any discounts usually...

Erin,
Forgot to tell you they had only 1 lollipop design on sale.. It happened to be the one my hubby likes, so we got that..

me not JL member leh.. how much is the baby cot after discount? is it lucky baby brand? Can convert to toddler bed boh?

The playpen @ OG selling at 49.90SGD is smaller then usual size. Brand is baby max.. comes with FOC mosquito netting & i think baby bassinet..

The OG's cot promotion is cheap @ 199 SGD, with FOC musical mobile, mosquito netting, & mattress. BUT, it doesn't come with FOC bedding.. that is why they had that particular lollipop design sale...This particular cot's finish has 2 adjustable levels, if you placed it at the higher level, you can store things below it.. It can also become a rocker bed (side to side rocking). Size is 28" x 52", & can convert to toddler bed. Two things to note: NO teething rails & finish is rather rough... but the saleslady said that usage over time will smoothen out the wood...

I still got it in the end lah..

zshih ,

24 hours ah , think have not really try before , even my baby is quiet , few hours , will move a little bit lor , or maybe becos , when no movement , i will tap my tummy ! ha ha ha ...
you dont worry lor ... u how many week liao ?

hi jasmine,
I've been eyeing the bedding with bears (dunno whether you have seen it or not)for some time. but quite ex for 3 piece bedding. If I add in the rest, it will be almost $100 liao. really waiting for great singapore sale now.

might be getting combi after all. seems like lucky baby and combi have reversible handles. tried pushing maclaren xt. A bit heavy and bulky for me but looks good and durable.

white lady,
r u feeling better? is the pain subsiding?

white lady and zshih,
i din really monitor yet cos my bb's movements still not very obvious. can feel the flutters stronger now but not as in kicks and punches yet. sometimes a lot of movements especially at night but very quiet during the day. Guess i will have a problem if he turns out to be a night owl when he is born.

Hi white lady and zshih,
My baby movements are like erin's very mild more of fluttering than kicks and punches.... maybe cos of the no of weeks we are in? how many weeks are you all in now? Mine always happens at night when I am lying down, only at time during the mid afternoon when I am working and very infrequently in the morning...

roughly when do we get stronger movements from baby?

haha my baby kick very offen at night for the pass few weeks. recently it kicks more offen day and night. And especially when i watching tv or listening to music...even i was lying side ways it also kicks..

should be around week 25 or 26 you will feel more movement ba..........

that reminds me, my baby occasionally will move when I play Mozart music. Sometimes when she moves, I will tap my tummy and she will react! very cute! I hope I can feel more movements from her soon... this week going into 25 weeks liao

my baby kicks are very obvious.. my tummy will move one..

Hubby super amused.. she has been this active since week 20...& she really kicks...

Tonight will be my gynae visit for 24th week.... can't wait to see my baby on "TV"

my baby kicks are very obvious.. my tummy will move one..

Hubby super amused.. she has been this active since week 20...& she really kicks...

Tonight will be my gynae visit for 24th week.... can't wait to see my baby on "TV"

good morning all!

Jasmine, my bb gal also been actively moving within me since week 20.

some days, she might move slowly, so slow tat i can watch my tummy been lifted up and down. it was just so amazing tat i hv her inside me leh.. :"( so touched for this gift from God!

all the mommies here already hv our bb(s) inside for more than 20weeks now, the kind of bonding we hv with our little one(s) is undescribable, rite!

i cant wait to see and hold her in my arms, my love for her has increased by the day... =)

i'm sure i'm gonna miss her so much when i hv to come back to work after the maternity leave...

Gd morning..sori haven call the massage lady yet..will call today..been sick on thur n when go bk to work on friday super busy wif work..
No time to rest n even pee..haha..went to JB on sat n bought quite a bit of bb stuffs already..think they are cheaper there..bought pigeon cloth diapers (think only abt RM24+ for a pack of 10pieces), pigeon bottle brush, some newborn pampers, changing mat, liners for nappy (RM 9.90 for 150 pieces), baby wash sebamed 1litre at rm 73..think that is super cheap, some baby clothes...milk bottles etc..hee hee..think it is cheaper than spore...

Went for my mthly checkup..bb now is abt 20+cm long n weigh abt 593gram...
Doc same normal weight but bb is rather small size n take after me..

Hey piyo,
our edd date is the same..my bb weigh abt 593g at wk 24..doc says bb is small size but it is ok n healthy..how much does yr bb weighs? shld be ok..dun worry..
Anyway i seen the link abt bb weigh at different wk that one of the gals here posted..at wk 24, average bb weigh shld be abt 600grams..so ours all at 500+grams, close to 600grams so it is still ok..

Hiya
Think my bb was relaxing the whole weekend - was quite inactive and I was starting to get worried but then last night she started rummaging around my tummy again when I was trying to get to sleep. Just like mummy - sleeping a lot of the weekend and not super responsive to tapping.
This morning she has been moving quite a bit.

Her movements have been quite distinct since week 20 as well but only visible from outside when it is particularly vigorous! Am now in my 25-26 weeks.
It's getting more fun as time passes right though I am terrified of labour!

hi piyo,
i'm going into wk 25 too. Are we having the same edd? can't remember liao.

hi augbb,
it's ok. can understand cos u not feeling well mah. seems like can get some cheap stuff from jb huh. jasmine also bought some stuff there too. hb die die also dun let me go. sigh... both of u getting sebamed. is it good? I was thinking of johnson baby or kodomo.

Morning MUMMIES!

I bought a playpen at Hypermart cos 89.90. V stable so maybe anyone who wanted to buy playpen can consider dropping by there

Finally this 2 weeks can feel bb kicking n moving more stronger.. Yesterday abt 8plusAM HB finally can feel bb kicking while he listening through my tummy.. n gave daddy a big box! HB was grinning n smiling all e day n even mention he wan to have MORE!!!! OMG!

Its e greatest joy as wat we are experiencing now BUT fear... like labour pain, hw bb look like, healthy, weight etc.. Jus hope all is smooth for all of us here yeah!

As for back pain, leg cramp n water rentention which is wat we can avoid so don worry if it happens to u. Do some stretching for ur leg during e day even if u r working cos no one can see. Try to drink water abt every 30min to 1hr. Don have to gulp alot. Some will do to satisfied you so water retention wont happen.

Any idea wher sell nice maternity dress n resonabe price? GG for a wedding dinner 3rd of JUne n realise even some of my stretchable dress cant WEAR! NITEMARE!

Still long way for mi to see my gal.. next thurs.. bt i will wait patiently.

erin00 ,

thank , my backache is better i think , i think i have sprain my back that day , so that explain y i m in pain the whole day ! ha ha

ya , i agree that JB stuff are much more cheaper than spore , for some stuff , their price is the same as spore , but theirs is in Ringat ! so is worth it ! maybe when u guys are free , can go in shop shop ... their Jusco there is big ! ha ha

Hi Augbaby,
Ya we have the same EDD!
I was on my week 23 when I went to see my gynae. He mentioned my baby was 500plus gms then and I told slighter below average lor
but he did mention baby is growing normally so just eat more can liao haiz

Hi Zshih,
My baby was also relaxing over this weekend not much movement till last night got me worried initially. Gosh! must go thru this baby movement agony till pop leh!

Hi Erin,
our EDD very near I think 1 or 2 days different nia

time like flies super fast hor? like very soon, going to pop liao now the reality starts to set in haha!

piyo,

i also hv craving for dao huey often, but my mom said better eat those without the "hardening agent" = edible cement.

the hardening agent is not good for bb's growth...but dao huey itself is supposed to be good for bb's skin.

my mom bought me one tats without the hardening agent last wkend, the taste is abit different from the normal one we ate lor... but it's very soft, coz without the hardening agent.

so we hv to eat those really soft dao huey for our bb's sake lah..and try not to finish the sugar syrup if can, unless they use honey. =)

hello gals,

me back from trip...

I got terrible back ache cuz hotel bed is too soft... and plane ride does get uncomfy.. but overall, I enjoyed myself..

i ate a bit of tao huey :p and drank quite a bit of soyabean milk :p and lots of tou fu leh...

CT, I have a wedding this week
i got a dress from great world...and oso another wedding in june, if can i will try to fit into my baby doll dress from gg5...

wow u gals seem to have bought some good stuff, what sales have i missed this week? need to go buy the cot or pen and stroller...

hi leobbsmum & mummies,
Where did you eat the tao huey without the hardening content?

If eat 1 bowl of tao huey with the hardening content okie right?:p

Btw, did you all drink the tao huey zui from those hawker centre stores or those prepacked and sold in the supermarket kind?

hi piyo,

my mom juz bought it from the mkt at bedok reservoir, blk 631. she said it's a newly opened shop, $1 per bowl. more exp than the usual mkt rate hor!

think the softer the dao huey, the lesser hardening powder they put.. actually u can go find out from frenz or colleagues who had eaten very soft one.

i drink the lukewarm dao huey zui from mkt. without sugar lah, coz i like to pour my unsweetened dao huey zui into my dao huey and eat together! =P

actually hor, so long we take in moderation, everything shld be fine.

just take lamb for e.g., we chinese believe tat taking lamb during pregnancy will cause babies to hv fits when they are born.. but it doesnt prove to be right as other asian countries like Philippines and Vietnam and Thailand, mommies over there dont know abt these beliefs...

guess we hv to be discerning ourselves, we are supposed to enjoy the pregnancy process and not being too worrying abt things or food to stay away etc..

for me, i just try to ration my meat taking, coz with the supplements we are taking now, our bodies are heaty already. and meats usually take longer time to be digested n absorbed by our bodies. if i really take alot of meats during meals, then i'll just balance it with alot of water n fruits n veg...

does any mommies here still take royal jellies now??

Hi Leobbsmum,
whats' the purpose of royal jellies?

just curious, how often and how much bird nests are you all consuming now?

anyone going for kidzloft's warehouse sale this weekend? They have discount for housebrands (including lollipop). Yeah! hopefully can get the bedding that I want now.

i take bird's nest these days for the baby, about once every 2 weeks, but honestly i don't know how much it helps the baby, anyone knows what are some of the proven advantages of birds nest?

also, still eat dao huey as and when i feel like it .... didn't realise it was not good.

but sometimes i hear people tell me to eat this don't eat that until i don't know what to listen to anymore, guess bottomline is, everything in moderation...

piyo,
i don't think bird nest got help leh.. though i got take a few ready make bottles..

leobbsmom,

true my mum told me just take watever i like in moderate..
I never really listen to wat those old people say lar. this cannot take that cannot take..
my mum says when she pregnant with my bro.. she really never eat anything seafood and those food which are cooling. but my bro born also very naughty itchy hand and he got skin allergy.
whereas when she is pregnant with me she ate whatever crab prawn sotong watermelon. came out that i am healthy like normal babies...

piyo, royal jelly is a thick milky substance that is produced by young nurse bees from pollen and honey.

i take royal jellies for my own well-being. it gives me energy to last thru the day, so tat i dun look haggard at the end of my working hrs!

some female frenz i know look great for their age at late 30s. and they still glow and feel good for their age.

i invest in taking royal jellies coz i noe in long run, the results are sustainable and really obvious! average price for per capsule is S$0.50..

comes in 500mg and 1000mg. premium ones can cost abt S$1 per cap.

piyo,
i take the concentrated type, every now and then.

does anyone have very bad constipation? i sometimes do... sometimes must wait 2-3 days, if bad, 4 days - then i get very bloated and grouchy..

i try to take more vege, fruits, but jus me and hubby and i dun cook so sometime what we have in fridge is not much :p i have bought prunes to much every now and then... i am generally very easy to be heaty... to the multivits give me constipation + worse still taking more milk and cheese etc... any tips?

bird nests are good for bb's complexion. but too much of it also will hv reverse effects. e.g. bb's skin can be too sensitive. i got a fren whose mom took bird's nest every week when she was expecting her. aiyo...her skin...very sensitive. one mosquito bite on the arm will affect the whole arm to be reddish and hv rashes!

but cant deny tat her skin is very clear n nice lor...very supple! but once she perspires alot, and starts to itch...almost her whole body will be reddish!!

most imptly, i think it's all abt balancing lah.. my colleague tried this method and she taught me coz her bb who is abt 1-yr old now, never fallen sick once! not even flu or cough ok!

her method is, once a week, she will alternate btw tonic soup and bird's nests. i.e. this week drink bird's nest(be it bottled/self-brew) then next week drink tonic soup.

she started when bb was 5mths old till delivery. so she asked me to try...

i try to follow as closely as i can lor, sometimes forgot mah! =P

butter8
try to have a regular bowel remove. once you make it regular.. you don't find constipation at all..
my standard is every more 7 am. i cfm visit the toilet..

Most important drink more water, water is the best way to prevent constipation and prevent water retentions..

oh no , i have been eating bird nest like 3 times per weeks ! think i am eating too much liao , after seeing what MTB post ... like not too good to eat much

white_lady, aiyo! 3 times a week too much la... thou i heard tat we must take consecutively for 2 days for our bodies to absorb the nutrients. but if your portion is not alot, think shld be fine lor..

hehe...my little princess just kicked me when i was typing to u... =)

i'm diligently drinking raspberry tea now...

Red raspberry leaf tea has been used for thousands of years and has earned the reputation of being the "supreme" herb for pregnant women. It can relieve almost any discomfort of pregnancy from morning sickness to leg cramps. It has also been shown to strengthen & tone the uterine wall and help to make delivery easier and speedier by helping the uterus contract more efficiently and helps expel the placenta after.

Raspberry leaf has a rich concentration of vitamin C, E, A & the B complexes. It also contains calcium & iron in one of its most absorbable forms. These are all nutrients which are very important during pregnancy.

Historically women have taken raspberry leaf tea throughout their pregnancies up to and including childbirth.

During the first trimesters, drink 1 cup per day. During second trimester, drink 2 to 3 cups per day. In the final trimester, drink 4 to 5 cups per day. Using a teaball would be useful. You can also drink it HOT or chilled.

http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/rasptea.html

1 packet of Raspberry Leaf Tea is 50g.
I bought mine from Carrefour, $4.20 for 25bags. The brand is Dalcott, Gourmet Ceylon Tea, from Sri Lanka. It comes in wooden packaging.

hi ladies, i went to the antenatal class, and according to the nutritionist, bird's nest contain high amounts of calcium which is good for the skin. I've also heard that eating too much will cause phlegm... i guess everything in moderation, and it depends on individual bodies.

caterine,
guess my prob is oso lousy timing, i always dun go at the same time...
water wise if i go to work , i drink more, cuz i make sure i finish my 1.2l bottle...

leobbsmom,
is the tea nice? i love tea, maybe i drink this as substitute...

anyone know if we can drink brown rice tea?

do u find u oso take longer to heal? i get say insect bites that scar for very very long