(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

thks jasmine!

sorry but what is PIS?

about weight gain, i have a friend only put on SEVEN kg for whole pregnancy but baby was a healthy 2.9kg, he is 2 yrs old now n v good size. so i guess it depends on your body type too.

im relatively petite i think haha 45kg to 50kg now

Hi Erin,

Tks for e concern. I not working liao lo.. finish my contract.. so at home! At home make mi feel more sick... that y all sorts of probs come to mi now.. haiz..

Dun have time to read the posts today.. but i saw someone mention varicose veins, Dino? May i know what's that?
I will have medical leave tomorrow, so no need to come to work.. yipeee.. bcos i am going for my 28 week checkup!
So worried gynae will comment on my weight gain again.. sigh.. (try not to eat too much tonight.. haha.. lin shi bao fo jiao..) Wil update u all when i come back from checkup. Cheers!

p/s: Augbaby, how's the booking with Mdm Inah going on?

hi erin, thanks for the advice
hehe I am on the heavy side thus maybe my gynae think it's normal for me... but will try curb my eating habits...

Anyone can recommend what kind of breast pump to buy? manual or automatic? how much is the average price? and also i scare i buy liao, then wat if I dun have milk? then will I waste money? Who wil teach me how to pump milk?..

pls advise a silly me hehee

Hi jasmine,
thanks for informing me abt the sale. will go tmr afternoon. M interested in the lollipop bedding set too. wah! usually, it costs $59.90. now $39.90. will buy and leave in mum's place.
thought maclaren has reversible handles. oh no! guess I made a mistake. luckily haven't buy yet. almost thinking of buying it yesterday at kkh cos on sale. phew! hb likes combi baby carrier. perhaps get everything combi.

hi zshih,
welcome back. wah, ur bb has hiccups liao ah. my bb very shy. yesterday, use his hands to cover his face. can't see the face so doc showed me his fingers and hands lor. I still can't feel much movements yet. only feel some fluttering. gynae says it will be more noticeable from wk 28 to 32.

Hi Mrs Chng,
depending on ur needs. If u intend to breastfeed for quite some time, getting an automatic one would be better. r u going for antenatal class? if u r, the lactation consultant will be teaching us abt breastfeeding, massage and pumping milk. if not, I think u can ask around or surf the net for information. sure can find.

Hi Chrys,
Varicose veins are large and thick veins. They often look like cords and appear twisted and bulging. They are swollen and raised above the surface of the skin. During pregnancy, varicose veins can be found in the vagina,around the anus or the legs.

hi all , anyone experience terrible backache ?? i just have it last nite , and cant sleep at all , have to sit up straight , once lie in bed , the pain come back again , anyone know what should i do =(

*a quick post b4 i run out*

piyo,
how abt trying 2 eat more 'liao' & a variety (protein, carbo, fats, etc) so tat ur bb gets more nutrients? if u scared of putting on more weight, avoid eating more carbo.

i hv no special technique/eating habits but i tik tis bb tends 2 absorb more beef as compared 2 my 1st boy. 1st boy gained weight fast due 2 durians. in fact, i was very worried abt my bb's size cos since i'm back as a SAHM, my meals are not even nutritious as compared 2 when i'm working. my lunch can b 1 bowl of oatmeal or 1 packet of fish ball mee pok or 1 packet of chicken rice or 3-4slices of bread+nutella. 2 me, tis kinda variety isnt healthy lor.

Hi White_lady,

Welcome to our thread!
Regards to backache though its v common but is driving us crazy.. Try lie on ur side instead of back. If not u can try apply some Yoko Yoko. My gynae mention to mi some of that is ok to relieve back pain. N get ur hb to massage gently for u.

Recently 1 of my colleague was telling me not to eat too much durians coz durians r heaty n baby born may have sensitive skin like prone to heatiness or have pimples.

Dun know how true leh......

Hi Kelly,
Thanks for your feedback! Me also eat oatmeal in the morning everyday, supposed to be nutritious leh! What other foods did you eat when you are working?

Hi Ningyo,
I think everything in moderation? anything too excessive is no good I guess?

Dino,

Ya me too, when i try to walk after sitting for a long time, damn painful... I called my gynae he say it's ok, never say want to give any medication. he say try to wear more support underwear. Then i kiasu ask the parentcraft instructor, she say try to put body weight on the other side instead.

u mention abt the bb head hitting the veins, so scary leh! I guess u must hv been worried too when ur gynae told u that, rite?

Hi Ningyo,

Its true durians are veri heaty and not advise to take too much. As for regards on pimple n senstive skin i not sure abt this..

Hi jfong,
Yes, i am worried and upset too. Cos one of the varicose veins happen to be at the v opening too. I am afraid it will grow more or bigger, and we have to go thru the pain throughout the whole pregnancy. Thanks for sharing the info too.

Dino,

guess nothing much we can do now, except pray hard that the condition doesn't worsen lor. btw, whats the medication that you are taking and what craem u mention u use. Does it help?

I realise for me if i dun walk too much and just lie down, the veins doesn't bulge but if i start walking, the veins will appear again.

hi all , not only is backache , is like a sharp pain at the kidney area , and i will pain till vomit ... wonder is it normal ?? =(

Hi white lady,
For backache, what CT said is correct. When sleeping, try sleep on yr left instead of back, so that it can reduce the pressure to the back. The incorrect standing and walking postures may cause backache too.

I have the pulling sharp pain on right abdominal area as well but don't know is that same as u. But it will happend when i walk too fast or my sitting posture not correct, then rest for a while the pain will gone. If u pain still vomit should consult yr gynea because it sound serious lei...

hi wanli , i call my gynea , but he say is normal , and ask me to go n see a GP instead ! i am now so afraid that its kidney stones =(

hmm... seems like we all encounter the same problem
i also have sharp pain at my abdominal area.. left and right also pain
when sitting walking and sleeping.. but after awhile its gone and come back again.. think i will consult my doctor on monday.. will let you all know.

as for backache.. try not to walk for long hours try to sit or lied down more...
when i start going shopping and you know shopping could be hours. the moment i start walking for 30 mins i will feel my backaching... leg swollen.. so i will try not to walk to long..maybe in between rest for 5-10mins..
btw also cannot sit for too long hours your back must have support if the chair is without support u will also get backaches..

Hi White Lady,
Do u feel the urge to go pee very often? Maybe it may due to the normal backache, or Uriniary Tract Infection?coz u mention u wan to vomit? Please consult ur doc asap.

Hi Jfong,
I couldnt check the name of the cream now, but the tablets is called Daflon. I don't see much of the effect yet as I just started. I notice that those veins are getting bigger on my inner thighs. As for me, after getting out of bed, the first few steps is painful too.

Hi Catherine & White lady,
If yr gynea said is normal then don't worry too much

Actually I did ask my gynea about the pain at abdominal area, she said as long as it is not contraction pain then it is ok. Contraction pain is where the pain will not go away, the pain will be there in specific time interval, eg: every 10 mins the pain will come back again. As long as the pain will go away after we rest then she said it is normal.

Can i check if all of u have bought yr bb cot or playpen yet? There are so many sales going on and so many brands of bb cot and all seems similiar to me and price also almost the same..reali confused as to which one shld i be getting..For those who have bought their cots, can pls let me know which brands did u get..thanks...
Btw JL and OG is selling bb cot at cheap price..JL selling bb cot n maxi cosi car seats at member prices as well..

Hi ladies...

This morning my colleagues told me that my legs become bigger liao.. I so sad.. wondering is it water retention or just my fats...

But does water retention comes so fast??

I think we are reaching the stage when we are all feeling very whale-like already lor since we are coming into 3rd tri soon. sigh.
also very confused about suitability of play pens and brands. any recc?
i just started purchasing things like baby bottle, pigeon wipes etc today.

Wah.. so many posts to read.. i am back from 28 week checkup! My appt at 9am, but the malay lady who measure blood pressure+ weight din come, so Dr Wong did it herself.. I told her tis is the most scary part.. luckily i just gained ard 2kg (tis is considered good as compared to last month of 4kg!!)
My baby was sleeping when did the scan (forgot to wake him up by patting my tummy - technique taught by Mdm wong!) He's now around 1kg+ only, doctor said size ok.

Hi chrys,
You already in 28 wk? I will only in 28 wk next tuesday. Good good, 2kg consider normal weight gain in 2nd trim
, I really hope my weight gained will not more than 2 kg this time. Did u do the Group B test? Next appt is in 1 mth time or 2 weeks apart?

Hi Dino, wanli
Dr Wong gave me Fetal movement chart to monitor my baby movement, suppose to monitor from 32w onwards, but she gave me now earlier, but also told me dun scare myself out of it. Basically to tick whenever we feel baby movement from 9am-6pm, 10 counts a day.

I book hospital room with doctor today, she said just book 4 bedder first, can upgrade upon admission too.

i am 27wk 5d today, we r officially into 3rd tri starting 28wk. Next visit is 4wk from now, but after tat wil be 2wk once. But she's away for holiday 1-3 June..

Doctor will do a vaginal swap for me at wk32 or wk36 for existence of group B strepcocus infection. She also recommended few PDs for me to consider.

I had cramp last night, come and stop, then come again and stop, continually, told doctor tis morning, she asked if it's tightening, i said not likely leh.. just like menses cramp, she asked did it go off after lying down to rest, i said dunno, bcos i fell asleep aftertat.. haha.. But kind of worried too, i hope my baby will stay until full term, not to come out to early..

Hi chrys,
wah, this visit you seem discussed alot with doctor
. I will see her next Sat, dunno she got time to explain so much with me or not, weekend usually many people.

R u mean even we book 4 bedder can upgrade it at last min? How if 2 bedder fully book?

feel really exciting, it is like so fast we are going into 3rd Trim soon.

zshih,
For playpen, i think u shake it a bit see if it's steady, some playpen quite flimsy. Of course cot has better support for base. Nowadays most playpen selling at $99, like standard price, but i saw OG selling at ard half price, but not sure the quality.

Rain,
me too water retention, tat day found tat dunno since when my wedding band cannot be taken out, so scared. Legs too, there are marks made by the socks i wear at ankle area, previously no, i suspect my legs actually swell abit without me knowing it.

augbaby,
Just got the mailer too - JL is having member preview days on 9-11/5, the cot and maxi cosi car seat is selling cheap!!

White lady,
pain til vomit? if i were u, i already rush to my gynae liao!

ningyo,
My doctor also advise not to eat too much durian and coconut, as high cholesterol.

Mrs chng
U can either buy a low end cheaper set first or 2nd hand set or rent a set first then consider buying one. Can latch on directly first during ur maternity leave, when milk supply stable, then buy 1.

jasmine
any idea how much is Medela PIS?

CT,
at home so good..

Hi kelly,
how are u at home

wanli
As tis is the 1st time i went on a weekday, so i guess maybe she can spend more time wif me, so i wrote down the things i wan to ask her in a piece of paper (u know la, preggie short term memory mah..) but tis quite good, it helps to remind me the things to ask by refreshing it once in my brain, and i actually din refer to it at last. I also ask alot of other things, eg raspberry tea - can drink or cannot drink, thigh numbness when wake up..

Yalor, she said can upgrade on the day itself, today just book a palce at hospital first, quite surprise in fact when she asked if i wan to delivery at TMC, i thot is default.
But i think i'll reconfirm at later stage. how many bedder u looking at? Can claim $1.7k from medisave, so if 4bedder, we only need to fork out extra $500 cash, but if 1 bedder ($3k+), need more cash. of course single bed, DH can stay overnight comfortably lor.

Hi chrys and wanli, i will also deliver in TMC. and i hv been advised by my colleague to book for 4-bedder room. coz there is only ONE 4-bedder room in TMC. and it's usually full, and they will automatically upgrade us FOC to the 2-bedder room! isnt tat great news!?

Wanli, yes, u can either book the room now, or book it when i register for delivery. the reason they wan u to book now, it's to sort of "reserve" lah...but U can always change your option on the day U register.

Hi Chyrs,
Tks for sharing much info. Hmm, so fast discuss abt the 4 bedder room. I agree with leobbsmom, my collegue also told me that we will be upgraded to 2bedded if there is no more bed. I heard there is only 1 4bedded room in each level, frm level 3 to level 5. I am not sure yet. But we will know once we go for the hospital tour during one of one lessons.

I do have crampy feeling 2 days ago, n it is very hard. I was worried too. But after lying down for abt 10mins, it subsides. Is the vaginal swap test compulsory? do we have tp pay extra? Did she do the glucose test for your this visit?

leobbsmom,
Have u booked urs?

Dino,
Yes, it's compulsory to do the test at week36 normally. but if we have unusual discharge now then she'll perform the test for us now. If the result is negative, we need to do it again at week36, if possitive, we'll be treated now. Unlikely wil be infected again, of course we can ask to do it again in week36, it's a matter of money whether we willing to spend. It costs $40+.

wat glucose test? only did the usual urine stick test for glucose + protein lor.

btw, how did u know u have varicose vein leh? my tummy so big tat i can hardly see my legs :p then i asked doctor about it, she said i dun have. jialat, need pple to see for me..

btw, during tis pregnancy, i have grown some strange growth/ flesh at different parts of my body, eg neck, head behind ear, so sad.. dunno whether they'll turn bad. Doctor said it's bcos of hormonal changes, some pple remove it after pregnant, but grow back in subsequent pregnancy, so wasted!

chrys, i booked mine long ago, when i signed up my package with W K Tan when i started my 2nd trim. so when i received my reservation letter from TMC to inform tat my reservation has been made, I called them up to change my room to a 4-bedder. and it was done thru the phone, we dun hv to go to their counter for such amendment.

Hi chrys, leobbsmom & Dino,
Not default, because Dr Wong told me she can deliver at any hospital, it is up to us to decide one. Don't plan to choose 1 bedder, too expensive lei.....although it is really good because hubby can stay with us and another good thing is baby can also stay with us, which will help alot for breastfeeding.

Wah...if 4 bedder room can upgrade to 2 bedder then i think i will book 4 bedder also :p, hahah thks for infor.

Talking about the crampy feeling, mine one also very pain, can said is sharp pain, even can not move when it happen. but normally few mins it will go away. hmmmm, since so many mummies having the same experience, i think should be normal...

Think the vaginal swap is not compulsory but advice todo it. because if yr baby swallow the bacteria during delivery will have serious effect to the lungs .

hi chrys , i call my gynea , but he say is normal , and refuse to see me ... and ask me to go to my GP , and i went , the GP just say is normal , but my pain dont go off at all ... from early this morning till now , then sharp pain is there all along ! So i am very worried , dont know what shall i do ...

leobbsmom,
Since u had booked the room, did u receive a list of things to pack to hospital from TMc? I heard we'll get it once confirm booking..

Chrys, yes, there is a slip that says...

For maternity patients:
-personal nightgowns(front-open type for easier BF-ing)
-cardigan or dressing gown
-maternity brassieres(optional)
-bedroom slippers
-sanitary belt(optional)
-sanitary towels(optional)
polythene bags(for your soiled linen)

Note: It is advisable to have a bag ready with these necessary items packed 2-4weeks before the EDD.

Basic toiletries will be provided by TMC, but we can bring our personal clothing, cosmestics n toiletries for a more comfy stay..

Advised not to bring huge amt of money or valuables. if we hv them, we can arrange with the ward's Nursing Officer for proper safe-keeping.

Then comes with it is a TMC hospital guide, and some brochures for svc avail. at TMC.

Phew... =P

Hi white lady,
I feel yr gynea very bad lei, how come he refuse to see you??? Did u tell him the pain not going off for such a long time? I think u should go ahead and see him even he refuse to. Is the baby movement as per usual?

white lady,
Hmm.. i oso dunno wat to say.. we suppose to trust our gynae.. but if ur sharp pain persist for whole day.. i think u should be responsible of urself and ur baby too.. better be safe than sorry.. Can call ur gynae's emergency no.? If u just go to see him, i dun think he'll scold u lah.. anyway, u really in pain mah.. he should do somethin bout it rite..

leobbsmom,
thanks for sharing the list

Dino,
btw, do u still hand wash ur clothes? i remember u and me r the only 2 ladies hand washing in this age! I simply can't hand wash d, now throw everything in washing machine, but i soak first hee..

wanli,
JL - maxi cosi car seat at $249 (member's price), plus additional 5 or 10% rebate. This available on the 3 preview days oni.

just came back from buffet. so full now.
seems like quite a lot of u also have abdominal pain. gynae says it's normal as the ligaments are being stretched. However, if you have tightening and cramps, try to rest. gynae also says that it's not serious unless u have bleeding. Guess the main thing is not to over-exert ourselves.

I also have water retention too. started quite a couple of weeks ago. more serious at night. ring becomes very tight as hands became swollen. feet swollen too. very unsightly hor.

hi augbb,
have u called the massage lady or do we also have to call up ourselves to confirm? went to og just now but din get anything. not much offer leh except for playpen and cot.

hi jasmine,
will transfer the money over tmr. went to og but the $33.90 lollipop bedding set is not the one I want. sigh... was actually so excited earlier. guess will wait for great singapore sale then.

hi white lady,
aiyo, sounds terrible. why dun you go ask another gynae for second opinion? try to see one soon.
got any fever? if got fever means got infection.