(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Hi honeyhaven,

Rae has fully recovered but got to crack my brain now how to make her drink more plain water otherwise she will be very prone to infection or takes a longer time to recover when sick.

Mummies, any tips to share on getting baby to drink more water. So far, what I gathered are as follows :

Getting the naughty ones to drink more water/fluid.
1. Dilute the milk (suggested by my FIL)
2. Instead of plain water, let them drink barley, diluted fruit juice etc. (This does not really solve the problem)
3. Let them eat some baby biscuit first then follow by water
4. Add stuff like glucose and Delrose to plain water. (Not very comfortable with this)
5. Let them try to drink water from all types of containers like bottles, straw mug, cup mug, spoon feed. (Don't work for me.)
6. Syringe the water in. (Using this now but don't want it to become a habit)

amy,
my elder boy gabe hated water. didnt even touch until he was 9mths old when he had bronchitis. imagine e amt of nagging i received in his initial 9mths fr both sets of grandparents on how impt water is blah blah blah (gabe was TBF mah)

so when he was 9mths old, i introduced water in a straw cup. he suckled a lil, as usual didnt want it. i kept offering it 2 him, until he gets e message tat *he* has 2 drink water. n i also kept telling him abt it. slowly he accepted n drank water readily.

i never consider options 2 n 4 cos wat happens if he prefers such drinks n wont even taste water which is so plain? lagi worse rt?

now gabe drinks water wif ease. again, same nagging i received 4 edward but i not worried anymore cos i know edward'll drink one day.

i got info from my elders that note to give too much barley as barley is too cooling babies might not able to take it. But instead of barley, use cane(Tek Jiak). Barley can drink but not too offen.

HI cocomo,reina,BBzorian and Crisann,
RE: BJG CLASSES
Cocomo and I are looking at possibilities of us all atending 1 class... I just called BJG on next term classes. If the 4-5 of us can cfm a common day and time for the class, then we can speak to BJG. We are looking at either sat late afternoon/evening class like 4pm/5pm or maybe sunday morning class like 10/11am? are you all ok with it? let me know?

Kelly

So, it will be patience + perseverance + nagging to them + mummy's love = solve the water drinking problem.

Amy,
Thanks! maybe I should post some "tomboy" looks of her then not so graceful liao! She just woke up not long so look a bit blur blur:p

We wanna megan to grow her side hair longer so that can tuck behind the ear or tie etc.. now like bu4 san1 bu4 si4 the fringe think must cut till tu tu liao...hopefully by her birthday can tie 2 broomsticks at the side haha!

Augbb,
I may wanna consider the ferrari seats. When you going?

crisann,
what teething gel can I use?

honeyhaven,
dun gif too much grapes, it will create phlegm...

Hi Piyo

BJG Classes
I okie with the sat class. The brand i brought think is Dentonix is from Pharmacy. Saw Pharmacy only have this brand.

Hi Amy,
i dun think is good ideas to let our baby drink diluted milk..as the milk is e main source of food they need...
and as kelly mention..if u let them drink wif some sweeties water..he will refuse to drink plain water in future..

1)u can try to let yr baby drink water whenever they wake up..
2) let them drink from different type, suck, straw, cups, juices or juicy fruits..

now Dickson drink water at least 3 bottle(150ml per bottle) each day on top of his usual FM x 4 bottle(240ml/bottle) and 2 meal (porridge x 4 scopes each feed)
Guess need time and patience and continuous process to get them used to the schedule..

with all tis practice, he can poo smoothly every 1 or 23 days..

Ferrari carseat in S'pore so ex ar..in France it was sold for Euro99. I bought mine for Euro59 but nt Ferrari lah but still very good. If i hv known u mummies earlier, mebe can help u all buy back .

butter8 - u wan to meet me for lunch on thurs ?

Hi Piyo..

I bought the Udon from Cold Storage.. but sold even at NTUC.. cant remember the brand but choose the one with least sodium...

For BJG, prefer Sat.. overall morning not too good cos Zorian sometimes zzz till pretty late..

Hi Amy.

Agreed with SuperDad.. not good to let babies drink diluted milk.. now i let Zorian drink through straw, via spoon.. he simply dun drink water through his milk bottles...

Crisann,
Great!! Where3 are you working or staying ah? so i know how i can pass u the pasta..

Piyo,
i shld be going down this friday to bring jay try the seat..coz the promo only start on 8 to 10June..n sat i got company family day at sentosa n afraid sun if i go down no more liao..haha..KS mummy...i can help u buy no prob if u wan coz i will use robinson card to sign..but do u need to bring megan down to try? I shld be bringing my parents for dinner at city hall there n then go robinson after that lor..
u let me know how whether u wan to meet us there wif megan or u wan me to juz help u buy...:p

Hi Amy,
my ger can drink thru bottle, but sometimes too lazy to prepare so i let my ger drink straight frm the cup..anyway she also start biting the teats.. all teats spoilt liao.. so i jus let her drink like tt lor.. of cos will be messy .. be prepared to get wet.. haha.. but at least she enjoy drinkin lor..

Hi Doris

My gal also enjoy drinking using cup but after drinking her shirt will be all wet. So only let her drink from cup once a while.

hi cocomo,reina,BBzorian and Crisann,

since most prefer sat, we fix it at 5pm Sat afternoon?

Hi augbb,
I will let you know after I speak to my hubby tonight

MH,

should be ok... when u get the list of contact no. can call/sms me to arrange?

Help,
my boy missed his afternoon nap today... only slept one time at 11am for 1.5 hr...
hope he wont get too cranky by bedtime.

Pasta for baby...

Cooked pasta + brocolli for my boy this evening. Half a bowl sprinkled with abt 1 heaped teaspoon of parmesan cheese... mixed them together.

Not too bad but need to boil the pasta longer for abt 1/2 hr or so. I cooked for 20min and still it's not soft enough (my boy no teeth) so end up hvg to mash them up before feeding.

Hope to start him on tomato and mince meat soon. Then I can cook them with pasta... maciam spaghetti bolognaise. Shiok! I love pasta! :D

PRIVATE SPREE for 1st Birthday Decor/Party Supplies

i've spoken 2 jokojoko n she's kindly started a private spree for aug06 mummies 2 buy party/decor supplies 4 our lil ones. piyo n i will b shopping in this website n purchase e party decor stuff. if there's anything interesting, we'll seek everyone's opinion but we'll hv 2 close tis spree by tis fri, 8Jun to ensure we get our stuff by 21Jul.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/828432.html?1181052923

other mummies who like 2 grab stuff 4 ur bbs' parties, pls post in tat thread. u can make payment 2 jokojoko n collect ur stuff on e bday bash tat day.

AUG06 BABIES BIRTHDAY BASH-COLLECTION OF FUNDS

We need to start collecting funds for the birthday party bash so that we can start our preps proper.

As discussed previously, We would collect the following from each family 1st. Tentatively, the total funds from each family would be:

<font color="ff0000">1. $10 per pax</font>, if bringing maid, must take her into account too
<font color="ff0000">2. $5 for decor per family</font>,
<font color="ff0000">3. $5 for cake per family</font>.

so for eg. for me, if I am bringing my maid, would be $30 + $5 + $5 = $40.

The decor and cake amounts allocated would be subject to change - i.e. we may spend lesser on decor and spend more on cake or other things and vice versa. Whatever the case, we would produce receipts and have it tabled to show everyone what we spend on to prevent any misunderstandings.

This is excluding gift exchange (if we are having it in the end)

As we wanna purchase some decor items from JokoJoko BP, can you all transfer the funds and post here the details and no of pple coming etc to inform when you haf done so?

Pls tt to Kelly's account <font color="ff0000">POSB savings a/c 107470123</font> when you are available. for mummies who dun frequent the thread and you are aware they are coming for the bash, can you help sms or inform them?

Pls email Kelly at [email protected] once the tt is done. Alternatively, those who haf her HP can sma her

many thanks!!!

baby food ,

My baby is eating porridge with fish / meat / carrot / potato only , and some baby biscult , n milk ....

Was thinking , can our baby eat other kind of food ? like what we eat outside ? can he eat french fries ? or what other interesting food can he eat ?

White lady,
my ger eats french fries, KFC potato,Mac nuggets, buns, fishballs, cheecheonngfun(no sauce/oil), kwayteowsoup(no oil), shui kway,etc... all tried liao.. she enjoying alot alot..

piyo & Kelly,

i juz found out i will be away during the bash for work.. so i cannot attend liaoz.. gotta strike me out..

So sad leh.. enjoy yah!!

Leia,
hehe... is u enjoying the pasta or ur boy??.. haha.. i think is true.. if we mummies enjoying the meal, definitely the babies will love it too rite? haha

my pc kenna virus yest. pls do not respond if u receive prompts from me on msn messenger (my acc is [email protected]). i'll be changing my acc soon. will post up soon. so sorry for the inconvenience. thanks.

hi jasmine,
oh that means i won't be able to collect the desitin cream from u then. perhaps collect from u at another gathering ok? thanks.

just downloaded kayden's recent photos so put up a couple of his to share.

829482.jpg

kayden feeding himself.

829483.jpg

my sis bought the headband yesterday so took a snapshot of him.

Hi, Erin

Kayden is cute....
he still lie down on the net bouncer....

HI, mummies
which brand of diaper rash cream is very good???? been using JOhnson diaper cream.. so thinking if there is better one ....

any mummies with babies who want to be feed again after 1 hour??? Baby Jia Hui had been wanting her milk milk 1 hr after her previous milk.... so feed her when she want milk lor... suddenly an increase???

erin,
kayden is looking more handsome each day..he is so cute...i see that u r still using the bouncher ah...he will sit still inside quietly still?

hi jesline, honeyhaven and augbaby
thanks for ur compliments. he's getting naughtier each day. usually, he'll only lie on his bouncer to drink his milk. afterwards, he'll try to climb down.

Jesline,
i hav always been using only desitin cream for diaper cream since jay is born..:0 think i will meet u n crisann together sometime next wk to pick up from u the float thing ya..

Hi erin00

Yr son is so cute. At least he still want to lie at the bouncer for milk. Not for Crisann. Brought that she only used few times only.

Hi Jesline

I using the brand Dapolone. Can't remember the correct spelling. Brought fm Pharmacy. Is pink in colour. Find it quite gd. Think now Pharmacy is having promotion for that brand.

Hi augababy

Sure.

AUG06 BIRTHDAY BASH ON 22 JULY AT LEIA'S CONDO (HOUGANG)

1. Piyo, hubby, Megan and maid - <font color="ff0000">$40 PAID</font>
2. cocomo, hubby, Jayden and maid
<strike>3. jasmine, hubby, jadelle</strike>
4. Doris, hubby, Elysia
5. kelly, hubby, edward & gabriel
6. fiona, hubby, denise
7. Augbaby, hubby, jayden, maid
8. Kris, hubby, zorian
9. Babyboy, hubby, keiran
10. erin00, hubby and kayden
11. superdad, sophia and dickson
12. CrispyApple, hubby and Aden
13. cheers, hubby & gwen
14. Cecelia, hubby, raphael n rachelle
15.jesline81, hubby, Jia Hui
16. racoon, husband, justin, maid
17. augustmum, husband, noah, zac
18. butter8, husband, ryan
19. net, husband, evan
20. leia, hb, jadon
21. honeyhaven, kayden
22. jojos, (hb mayb working cannot confirm), lucas, maid
23. cj, husband, kaefer, maid
24. smlow, husband, Joshua & Louisa
25. vel, (hb yet to confirm), jovie,
26. jokojoko, hb, maid & Aidan
27. MH, hubby & Gen
28. Rachel, Ashley and Rachel's sis
29. Buffer (cynthia), husband & Natalie
30. Yoki03, hb & Ayden
31. catherine, charlotte & hubby (to be confirm on july again)
32. Rachelle, Hubby & Reina
33. Mrschng, hubby and Jordan
34. SL, hubby and Crisann
35. sharontay, hb & Kaeden
36. pupsandcups, hb & leon
37. sharon, hb & emma (to confirm in july again)

i'll do a daily update on those who has made payment. piyo n i wont b ordering any bday decor stuff until we received full payment cos we r paying jokojoko cash n we dun 1 2 pay upfront 4 any mummy, juz in case a few mummies cant make it last min.