Name: Ashton Chew
Weight: 4.4 kg
DOB: 29 July 06
Mode: Natural with Epidural
Love nest: Jurong West

484334.gif
for updating!

Haven't logged in since I delivered. Have been busy pumping, feeding, changing diapers, etc... No life of my own liaoz... I guess everyone here has delivered already. Are u gals still interested in hearing my birth story?

I'm also TBF my baby. My baby is currently taking about 70 ml per feed. Actually how do we know how much to feed the baby? Is there a chart to indicate? Do we go by the baby's age or his body weight?

Hi ally mummy/geberra, Mine too. Nearly wanted to bring him see PD. Like got flu or something stuck on his nose..

Hi lala/shining, I tried nursing top once when I bring baby to see the PD (first follow-up visit) and feed him in a room. Okie lar. The nursing top bought from MIM.

Hi Shining, I tired to nurse topless a few times also until I was "caught" by my mum. She say cannot let shoulder bare else will have alot of problems of rheumatism later. So now I just unbutton my shirt lor.

Must be wondering why I still online at such wee hours right. Just expressed out milk and managerd to get 100ml (both breast using Avent Manual, use hand to push side of breast also). Decided to use express milk at night else direct latch is really very tiring. Day time than direct. Now baby taking abouy 90ml. I find that late hours express can get more output cos' during day time, output only 40-60ml. Eventually when I get back to work will see how it goes. I'm not going to let myself stress out cos' not enough BM. Hubby kept wanting to buy a PIS adv (everyday ask me want to buy pump or not..) but I really hesitant as I really dun know how long will I be breastfeeding. Sticking with the Manual pump now.

Hi millie, I read that output will build up as time goes by.

Btw, for those who want BM, the doctor always say maintain positive attitude - dun think that BM not enough. BM will have alot.. ha ha.

Actually my main hesitant of not getting a electric pump is I not sure if i can spare the time to express milk in office. hmmm..

Hi all, Actually my baby sound more than snorking sound. When I breastfeed him (or after), he will made this snorking sound as though got something stuck on his nose. CL say he caught a cold.. but I not sure leh - need to see PD or not?

sunshine
i updated ur info liao..and wow...ur bb oso hit more than 4kg..hehehee....same same.....but urs full term lah..mine only at 37 weeks....if full term...think hit more than 5kg liao..

lucida
if i pump out BM every 2-3hrs interval..breast milk low till very cham...if 6 hrs..still ok...i very worried leh...these 2 days milk supply like dropping liao...dun feel engorgement even after 6 hrs not pumping...just a bit hard but not painful leh...then pump and pump but not as much as used too...haiz....not even a mth yet leh...cham lah...how to tahan till 6 mths???

good morning mummies,

hi dsii: same predicament as you! Anyway, my last pump finished at 8pm last night and then did not pump again....wah, left breast engorged! Woke up at 4.30am to pump out, still not very comfortable...later will let my boy latch on else pumping is also not of much use.

For mummies who BF and use FM on your babies, do your babies pass motion frequently? I mean poo during feeding? My boy seems to poo very frequently during feeds. May I know what is the colour of the stools? Is it semi-watery mustard-yellow colour stools? Just want to check to make sure it is alright....

blessings
aiyo at least u feel engorged..me no feeling ah?? cham ah...how how???

my baby ian poos when feeding and also when he farts...hahaha..yes..most of the time mustard colour....at times watery at times just soft soft...but aome times quite greenish too...

dsii: wah, you are up so early....aiyo, I dun think you want engorged....so painful! Yah, poos and fart...that is right...hahaha

BTW, mummies, what brand of diapers are good for newborn? I am currently using Pampers but thought of switching to a more cheaper ones during the daytime and use Pampers for night time. Any recommendation?

blessings
ya loh...woke up 6 to feed bb ian..then pump milk...then prepared my elder boy to sch

im using drypers during daytime and mamypoko at nite...last nite hb bought petpet and we tried using it at nite..hmm..not bad leh...quite dry...after 5-6 hrs..hehehee

for warming up EBM...i will usually warm them b4 boy wants milk..so at times..i can hv the milk warm for abt an hr leh...issit ok??? heard that BM can be placed outside for 4 hrs rite???

hmmm....maybe i shld try drypers or pet pet in the daytime....more economical. Mamy Poko is comparable to Pampers right?

blessing,
my ger is bf daytime, fm at night.Drink bm,stool is soft mustard-yellow colour, drink fm, stool is semi-watery mustard-yellow colour. She poo almost after feeding.
Mammy Poko is good for newborn. My ger seems to poo after every feed,find is siong to use mammy poko whole day.
Daytime i use petpet, cheaper.

dsii: I dun think it is advisable to warm the milk for an hour leh....all the nutrients will go away. I also heard BM can stand in room temperature for 4 hours but is it Singapore room temperature? Here is so warm and humid.

hi garfield, i also think so....at first use Pampers but it is fast moving so I thought perhaps change to a more economical ones.

blessings

yes..more economical...petpet is ard $12.80 and drypers same same too...then mamypoko ..i bought S size...abt 16.80 at NTUC...
more cheaper than pampers loh

ya loh..pampers to high end liao...cos hor..when i clean him after pee or poo..then changed to new one...at times he can immediately poo again or fart but got poo come out loh..pengz...see liao very heartpain...haha..then will grumble..y like that...hehehe..he dun understand me too lah

blessing,
Newborn change diaper quite frenqently, better get cheaper diaper for day use. Wait till bb dun poo so frequent den switch back to better quanlity diaper.

dsii,
don think ebm can be warm for so long, like blessing said nutrients will go away.

Normally how long did u warm for the chilled ebm?
My ger feeding interval hard to predict, sometime very accurate, sometime earlier or later by an hr.
By the time she cry for hunger den warm chilled ebm is too late.BF seems like unable to satisfy her, may wan to drink again an hr later.

M size ah, tats cheap. Where ur hb bot from? The cheapest i can find for M size is $13.50.
Ur bb can wear M size liao ah, my ger wear S size still a bit loose leh.

i bought at medical shop just opp my blk...west plaza at pasir ris..from other thread...mummies oso mentioned that this medical shop sells stuff cheaper than NTUC...hmm..like enfalac A+ they selling at 27.80..then nan1 Ha selling at 29...hmm..mamypoko s size at 15.80...then there is this shower thingy...lactacyd(dunno how to spell) selling at &..so most mummies all rush here to get stuff..hahaha...if u stay far then no point lah...somestaying nearby pasir ris loh...

didnt dare buy the S one..cos hor..that time hb bought drypers S..aiyo..like NB size...my boy wewar liao like so tight and difficult for us to wear for him too..cos he always struggled and kick here and there...so i told hb to buy M...

garfield, dsii, think fairprice now got promotion for petpet size M/L/XL. $36.95 for 3 packs.

dsii, think even though if u pump every 2-3 hrs and dont see much milk, if you cont to do that for mabbe 2 days, u should be able to see an increase in ms ba. that's from what i experience the last time.

garfield, i always let my gal cry or carry her while warming the chilled ebm.. no choice.. or sometimes my MIL will help carry her.

pasir ris too far liao, me staying bishan.
Find tat medical shop sell bb products quite cheap, the medical shop behind my pl oso selling quite cheap on pampers premium, drypers & formulas. Too bad they only sell these 2 types of diapers.

anyway, i nearly died ytd night. haha. only slpt for about 3 hours cos my gal refused to slp and was very grouchy. after pumping im going to concuss, cos she has concussed and the older kids have gone to childcare. hahahah

Z-lia,
Thanks for the info, dun noe wan to buy now or wait for next promotion, my ger wearing s size still abit loose.

My ms oso inaccurate. Morning abt tis time can pump 150ml, den next time pump onwards, only can pump 60ml the most, sometime even only reach 20ml. 3 hrs later breasts still quite soft, even 5 hrs later still soft. Drink so much oso no use, so afraid cannot tahan till 1 mth.

i let my baby ryan latched on this morning and felt so much better else my left breast is so engorged until can cry.

z-lia
if there is no milk how long do we need to pump leh?? normally if pump till no mkilk i will still pump for abt 10mins each breast...

garfield
hehe..ya loh..at times soft soft...haiz...

dsiitan, thanks!

steph, sometimes i can achieve 200ml from both sides, but sometimes only like 40ml...weird.

Baby's Poo:
My baby's poo is mustard yellow and occasional greenish yellow also but the thing i'm not so sure is the sticky, gooey consistency. Anyone experience this??? I wonder if there is a need to see the PD.

wah, poppy, at least u still have 200ml...I have attain that level yet....

dsii: u know why cos I havent pump for a long duration so that is why engorged lor...

poppy: i dun find my baby's poo sticky though, just watery, mustard colour...sometimes, at the end still poos out yellowish water....is it like that, mummies? so scared is "lao sai"

Wah... Poppy... ur MS so good... 200ml...

What's in ur diet har? share leh...

Ur babies only got phlegm... My baby got phlegm plus coughing when drinking milk.. will even choke at times.. sigh...

So poor thing.. 2 weeks old only like that

poppy
wah....xian mu shi wo liao...200ML??? me can hit 140 or 160 happy like siao liao..hahaha..
anyway..tomolo collecting papaya soup..hope it helps...

Steph, I don't always get that much, it ranges from 80ml - 200ml both sides together then sometimes also dunno why so little, my lowest was 30ml from both sides.

My diet nothing special leh. just normal confinement food like wine chicken, vinegar pig trotters, black beans soup, papaya fish soup, veggies like kai lan and chye sim....boring hor? remember not to take too much liver, will reduce milk supply.

blessings,
the poo is watery when it comes out the once the water gets absorbed by the diaper it's like sticky.... wonder if that's normal.

wah,... got vinegar pig trotters ah.. hehe me drooling... My food largi simple... sometimes steam fish, else sesame oil stir fry pork with ginger... plus veg...

Step, hehe...not to make you jealous... My mom made one pot of the vinegar pig trotters then my MIL made another one, I actually got some aunties to come to my place during the 1st mth celebration to help eat some. hehehe :p

now i finish confinement liao, so I eat anything except cooling stuff.

my food lagi boring.be it lunch or dinner...whole day same same...veggie..steam fish..then stir fry pork slices with black soy sauce..hahahaha

wah... *drooling* hahaha never invite me.. keke (thick skin)

I during confinement ate everything sia.. cooling one also eat, coke also drink.. bo pan lah.. can find what eat what loh.. My ML no longer around.. mum also won't do this for me..

My mom did confinement for me. She knows what I don't like so she avoided the pig kidneys and stomach. I gave her one of the menu from those confinement food caterer to copy. :p

Steph, I really thot of you!!! but how to?? You also cannot leave your house and I can't go to your house.... so near yet so far!

dsii, you doing your own confinement right? looks like I'm quite lucky compared to some of you....but I gave my mom like $1K purely to do marketing.