(2006/07) JULY 2006 MTB

Good morning mummies,

When it comes to night time, my boy seems to fret alot...even after his milk, he will keeps looking for more. Like yesterday evening, he drank finished about 90ml, then one hour later, looking for more so I let him latch on for half and hour, then shortly after burping him, he cried again and got to make another 60ml for him but cannot finished....very stress for me and my hubby. What shall I do? Should continue to feed on his demand? I am afriad it will be lead to a habit leh.

BTW, I read about colicky babies...but it is a term which can means anything, not only the commonly understood "wind"...and it happens at certain time of the day. Anybody has any experience on this?

Hi NOIF, I wanted to just have buffet for relatives but my mum say must give cakes also. haiz.. Somemore for her colleagues that give gifts (combine to buy a shirt set which is not very exp) must each one give one cake - and cannot be the cheapest type.
I check with her again if relatives can dun give cake or not. Like what you say, buffet with red eggs etc.. can already. Then can save and have a better spread.

Seems that alot of mummies feed baby with EBM. I might consider doing that already cos' direct latch is really tiring..
At the moment I'm wavering between BM or FM. After 3 weeks of feeding, I really doubt I can carry on for more than 2 months - not to say when I go back to work..
What's your decison - are you going to continue BM when go back work or FM??

Morning mummies. I wish i'm still in bed, but well...Germayn is so awake now...

Hello Lucida, I guess I'm going to continue expressing BM when i go back to work cos my company has a nursing room. So it's quite convenient. But would have to inform my boss that I would hope to express 1 or 2 more times other than during lunch time. Hopefully she's agreeable. When i had the twins I expressed for 3 months at work, but only during lunch time.

Going to start planning for baby's full month. Abit lazy and tired. Haha. Should be doing the celebration in my dad's hse. Good good. Always like the feeling of going HOME. Haha!

My baby also fret a lot esp at night. She would suddenly scream in the middle of the night, at times carried her and gave pacifier also doesn't seem to help.

YB,
me also at my mum's place during the day when HB goes to work. At least get to zz awhile coz at night taking of baby very siong.

Blessings,
I have given my girl pacifier after 1st week of delivery. Find that she seems more at ease when sucking pacifier. When asleep, the pacifier will naturally drop out of her mouth. When she suckles it very hard, knows she is hungry. I try to give onlt when she is very grouchy coz afraid may cause wind too (cry too much also cause wind - haiz).

Lucida,
yep direct latching is very tiring. For me, I will latch my girl few times a day, while the rest of the day EBM.
Regarding your question - A very hard decision. I have been asking myself many times too. Though there is sufficient BM to feed her daily but the hours of pumping make me very tired. Not sure whether to give BM after going back to work. Will feel very guilty if don't give leh ... sigh Till then, will decide.

z-lia
at least u going to hv a full mth celebration...actually we intended to do it this weekend..but MIL in hosp since monday..haiz..so hb said must cancel loh...then i felt so bad..cos #1 got then #2 dun hv...but must still goes back to pray to ancestors lah...must buy ang ku kueh and luo mifan...and fruits..hehee..so i t hink i will buy a cake for bb too..then few of his cousins will be there ..a mini celebration loh..hehehe..better than nothing. btw, where's the AKK u all mentioned that time said nice one....how abt luo mi fan..anyone knows where sedap har???

aiyo.last nite bb ian dun want to sleep ...1030pm had milk then changed his diapers and clothings...then hb and #1 kept toking to him..been telling him dun tok to him at nite...he will be wide awake..dun beliff me..tok and tok..then ard 11plus put him to his cot...then he kept making noise and eyes big big...thks to hb and #1 loh...then the 2 of them slept till like pig...pengz...i had to attend to #2...till1 plus...almost cried manz.cos i really very very sleepy......btw the time he dozed off...abt 2 liao..then me koon too..but an hr later he woke up for milk...pengz!!!

lala
at least u got sufficient supply..so envy...i hor these 2 days pump and pump..but not much leh..i still thinking at least feed him BM(of cos supplement with FM) till he 6 mths old..but hor..worried havent full mth...no supply liao...cham ah...must go tmc buy papaya soup liao....

lala, is ur company near any shopping centres with nursing room? mabbe can express there...

dsii, actually, it's partly cos #1 got full mth celebration tt's why we're doing tt for Germayn. Ok la.. at least there would be a mini celebration for Ian. Then he can look at the photos when he grows up.

Though my office has a nursing room as well but dun know whether I have enough BM till then to pump it out...like what Z-lia said must also ask my boss if she is ok with the idea else she thought why I always MIA.

With regards to pacifier, I also dunno if I want to give my boy or not. I took the pacifier out already but hesitant to give it to him lor. I also dunno when shld I give it to him...cos I do not want him to use it as a habit...but every 2 to 2.5 hours, he will start opening his mouth, looking for milk lor. My CL said that the hour is short for him to take his milk but if dun give him, he will cry leh...so in the end, I surrender, give him his milk lor.

dsii: me too, not enough BM...actually told myself before delivery that I will do it for 6 months but now, dunno whether can do or not...like what u said, just keep on pumping lor and see how it goes. The papaya soup at TMC really helps? How many to take a day? Perhaps I shld get my hubby to buy for me.

I am not gng to do my 1st month celebration for my baby, just distribute cakes, eggs, AKK and glutinous rice. Too short a time for me to prepare and also I am very tired lor.

Mummies, can you babies sleep in totally dark room? I actually switch on the lamp for my baby's room. Dunno why leh, everytime, when the sky turns dark, he will starts to fret so I have a lamp for him lor.

dsii,
I find papaya fish soup really helps. My mum cooks the soup 3x for me during my 1st 2 weeks, that very night, the milk supply increases. Heard that the soup from TMC is even more powerful coz very creamy.

I am working in Raffles place. Nearest shopping centre should be City Hall. Have to take train leh. If wanna express after maternity, at least have to express 2-3x, maybe will do so in meeting room ... errr

lala, u have the recipe for the soup? hhahahaha. wanna increase my milk supply. ever since the fever, my supply has dropped... almost 30-40%...

Blessings,
My mum asked me to switch on a tiny lamp for my baby when zzing at night, thus have not tried to let her zz in total darkness.

Blessings,
I didn't buy from TMC, my mum cooks for me, should be the same. To me, it tastes quite ok. Some people say awful.

blessings
dunno if the papaya soup helps..but hor..shld be bah...cos some mummies drank liao said got improvement loh...no harm trying...hehe...Jul04 said recommended to drink 2x per day...but depends loh..cos she said 1 pack very big liao..1 big bowl..so u see how loh...hehhee

I'm from Dec MTB. Any1 interested in buying NUK Silicone pacifiers (0-6 mths)? It's brand new & still unopened. 2 pacifiers in 1 pack.

I bought the wrong one...I wanted Avent but got NUK instead. Exchange validity from the shop is over.

Willing to let go at $9/pack (negotiable). Pls email me to discuss - [email protected]

z-lia
i can email u the recipe...i hv too..but hor..too lazy to cook liao..hahahaha...lala u dun mind i email to z-lia ?? im a lazy mum so hor...will spend $$ to buy loh...more powerful?? hmm..then hor..hope my supply will be superd..

z-lia
aiyo..me oso scared Ian will waste nomatter EBM or Fm...hehehe...cos ebm very difficult to get that amt....Fm...waste$$$

any mummies know the famous ang ku kueh shop located at where?? and the luo mifan..where can i get good one? cos this sun going to MIL's place to pray to ancestors..MIL said must hv all these...

Dsiitan... can I also have the recipe?

Blessing... ermm dunno how to describe the smell but just smell different loh..

Jul04, I can send u Nepia.. 2 enough? but I don't think its good... It will leak for my son leh... initially use won't but these two days leak... sian...

dsiitan, noe the place at everton park is nice, hv tried before, Add is Blk 1 Everton Park #01-33 Tel 62231631, think u better call and order first. Not sure abt luo mifan, cannot help..

My baby coughing leh... sigh.. dunno GP qualified enough to see or not or have to bring him to KKH... he has very thick phlegm... will also choke when drinking milk...

Lucida, I'll definately be feeding bb wif FM when back o work.. unless i can pump 2X a day, just mornign and night.. if not will be all FM..

Actually pump also very tiring.. after feeding i must pump then less then 2 hrs later.. i must feed again.. then pump again.. i feel its just as bad...

I also hav a small lamp on for bb, dunno why like cannot let bb sleep in total darkness.. to me like very scary...:p

hi mummies who gave birth at Mt A :

The netted panties that was supplied as part of the stay in the hospital, is it available a the hospital pharmacy? How much is it? Anyone knows?

dsii,
sure, u send z-lia the receipe so that she can cook soon

misaryeo,
yep, pumping v tiring. Now i pump every 4-5hrly. Used to be 2-3hrly, then slowly stretch the intervals. what fm is your bb taking currently?

lala
hehe..i sent liao...aiyo...2-3 hrs?? my supply will be very low ah..cannot...so me will pump abr 5-6 hrs..

Hi Lala, i pumping every 3hrs interval.. will prob increase to every 4hrs cos will wanna stop after 3rd month... My bb taking Frisco 1 now.. as he was given take when he was in hospital.. so i just stick to it.. wat abt u?

dsiitan, isn;t more frequent pumping leads to more supply?

misaryeo,
My baby was taking Friso in hospital & during my confinement at night. But since last week, I put her on full BM. Expressing every 3 hrly can be quite siong, thus me stretch to 4-5 hrs interval. There was a time I stretched the pumping interval to 5-6hrs and after 2 days the supply dipped, thus switch back to 4-5hrly.

do you find it a pity to stop bm after 3 months? me still unsure... have to see whether can i cope with pumping & workload ... haiz
dsii,
u lazy to cook the soup, then buy from TMC bah, $6.50 for 1 big bowl...hassle free.

Stephanie,
my bb also got phlegm in her throat... i brought her to see PD last sat and said it's ok... but i still very worried loh... cos can hear the funny sound when she drinks milk and sometimes during her sleep... btw, i heard drinking of formular milk will cos bb to have phlegm. Is it true? I'm feeding my bb with Similac. You? Till now still can heard my bb's throat got phlegm but cant do anything to help her... so sad and worried...

dsiitan,
me many days never pump BM liao... cos very time i pump, only alittle came out... so i gave up le... haiz... useless mum....

Hi kin, I got the netted panties at TMC for $4 each. Actually bought 2 new pairs but I never use because I actually reuse (got to wash lar) the 2 pairs that TMC give me. Now use disposable already. Let me know if you want - can let go at a lower price. It's pretty light so can mail to you (postage cost exclude).

geberra
u ah...ya lah lazy...sleep less then pump loh..hehe...so u dun feed ur fionne BM liao ah??

misaryeo...iif i pump every 2 -3 hrs interval...BM supply cannot see one..abt 40ml-60ml...

lala
ya loh..thats y i ordering from tmc loh..hehehee...

lala, i find a pity to stop cos got supply, but i dun think i can pump when i start working.. cos i ffreelance and travel to different offices at times.. soabit hard.. some bosses might not like.. and freelancer dun hav welfare one.. so dun dare to ask if can use meeting room. hopefully can pump day and night only, just 2x a day.. then i won;t feel bad

Hi mummies, I agree that pumping BM is very tiring and stressful too. How long do you need to pump out the required amt? Sometimes I need 45 mins else really very little.

Hello mummy,

How is ur bf'ing? I'm oso given mostly EBM every 3 hrly. But thinking of next time going out will be abit problem as need to pump when outside too. Anyone try latch on with nursing top already?
When i latch my ger on i always topless (Hehehe) so never try to latch on with clothes yet lei... cos everytime when want to latch her on will hv to see whether her mouth is it open big enough etc...

re:bf/ebm. i now still expressing but still not enough. every 3 hrs, drink whatever soup also did not help, so i see how much i have i give. i think we must be able to not feel guilty abt not giving bm, of not very hard on ourselves. doesn't mean dun give then we are bad mothers. anyway, if we want to give bm, must make sue our diet is nutritious, so that baby can get the best milk. sometimes i wonder if fm is better than my bm. btw, my friend commented my ebm is very watery. what is the consistency of ebm supposed to be like? she said hers was very thick. mine was yellow initially, then turn to white subsequently.

Geb.. baby taking BM and Nan1....

I will be bringing him to doc tomorrow noon (my 2nd choice of foc cause 1st choice on holiday
)... see what doc says...

Hi Misaryeo,
I see, understand your position. In that case, express twice a day is better than not at all

shining,
I latch my girl on with nursing bra & normal t-shirt, not yet with nursing top.

dec pt,
When expressing, my 1st 3-4 mins of foremilk is watery, then hindmilk is white & thick. The milk was initially watery but over time, it gets quite thicker.

Hello mummies, long time no chat

dsiitan,
not sure if you're still updating the list... my ger's name is Kaedi Lim

Steph,
your 60-70ml is from both sides or just one??

Shinning,
i'm also must see baby's mouth and make sure i never block her nose with my huge breast! dunno how to feed when outside....

decimal pt,

think consistancy depends on your diet. at one pt i was eating so much fish that milk was very creamy one but also smell quite fishy. then now dun eat so much fish cos quite sian of it and milk more watery.

re: ebm

at least all of you can express milk. i think there is something wrong with me. when pumping using PIS both sides only 40ml. but when pump whilst latch on one side, can pump 80ml from 1 breast alone!!! anyone experience this???

anyway, can't afford to pump now cos bb feeds every 2-3 hrs. if i pump then when it's time for her feed won't be enough. will introduce fm in 3rd month cos at work must go to public toilet to express, not hygenic. will start bb on nan h.a as recommended by p.d.

btw, how much weight have your bb gained since birth? last visit to the p.d, my bb only gained 1kg at 5 weeks. p.d said acceptable but on the low side. wonder if it's bcos she is drinking too little due to low ms.

gebbera,

you aren't alone. My baby also got sound of phirlegm when we trying to burp her after her feed. But bought to family doctor, they said nothing to be concern and baby is well. Baby seem to be quite uncomfy... I was told by friend to feed her water so as to dilute the phirlegm.

Gebbera,
u got my mail on the menu?

Mommies, cant catch up. I went to give cakes to collicks today. Went to a few places so hubby got to go 3 offices.

Papaya soup - to get milky and thick soup. U need to pan fried the fish 1st then add papaya, ginger n cook.