(2006/07) JULY 2006 MTB

YB, yah I know.. I tend to be forgetful, buy liao put in fridge and forget about it... At home, I'm more of the person doing the things so hub will also not remind me one.. hahah

YB,
REally ah? engorgement is even worst than labour pain ah.

Dont know leh! My engorgement still bearable to me. Maybe because i dont have much milk. I felt that nipples sore more unbearable to me. haha!

NOIF - Wah, good leh. So, how's the outcome of the massage? According to my msg lady, I have to wait 1 week before she can start massaging. So, today I will start my 1st session.

Z-Lia - Pls monitor, ok? When your contractions starts, you will definately know. Good luck!

Steph - Yup, drink coconut water..it really works! My DS came out very clean too!!!

YB - You got see Mrs Wong? Maybe she can help and give you more tips leh!

Hi Step, you manage to have your lunch?? what did you eat in the end? I'm now reading Reader's digest in office.. ke ke..

Lucida,

I had Erin Cup-a-soup (which I brought from home), and bread...

Me now surfing for nursing tops and items for myself and baby.. hahah

Me no $ buy first hand so looking for 2nd hand stuffs..

YB,

Call TMC parentcraft 62514090, tell them u want to go down for treatment, ss low, milk cannot come out. i believe we have milk but just stuck. sometimes use hand express squeeze the right spot will have squirts, if not come out droplets by droplets. i express abt 45-60min can get 70-90ml. last time use manual pump 20 ml the same time. so i think got improve. but i dun think this can last baby once he gets into his 3rd week which is soon, that's y i kan cheong. so now supplement with fm.

steph,
i was surfing some of the local maternity sites like MIM and Moms R Us and they having sale. some tops ard $20. can go look see...

U have any websites?

And also I very big size so dunno they got sizes for me or not..

i havent bought any. dunno whether to buy or not since i will be home most of the time. and outside most places got nursing room nowadays...so will wait till later and see if really necc. then buy. finances tight cos i not working...cannot anyhow buy things liaoz.

Hi edksd,
Actually it doesn't matter lah..only that ur bb is cleaner & dun have so much red spots on the body..

Not everyone has long labor...my labor is only 5hrs from the time my contractions started from 5mins interval.

I thought of getting cause with 2 older kids, very difficult not to go out.. dad weekends will sure bring them out, then I paiseh see him old liao still bring the rascals out so will definately follow one...

That's why thought of getting at least a couple.. I have one front button shirt, should be able to wear that also for BF.

Hi Z-lia,
If this yahoo seller is selling at $25, then it's cheap. But gotta bid for the price, right?

If got pinkish streak in ur discharge, it might be a show. Think u should call ur gynae to check. Before my waterbag burst, I also got pinkish discharge. Then less than 5mins later, my waterbag burst.

seems like you will need them...can get a few then need more then buy again.

wonder how dsii is doing...she never sms me...

YB,
Personally i find avent pump very painful to my nipple. If hand espress is better than u just use that. Hot compress 1st then u try to hand express the milk out.

Rightfully the medicine shld be very effective leh.

NOIF,
engorgement is very painful. Sore nipple is also the same. If i have sore nipple i have to use hand express.

Hi NOIF,
Think cos my labour is short so I dun feel so much pain. But engorgement can lasts a few days, even weeks, so I felt it's worst than labour pain lor...I'm not BFing, so I dun have sore nipples...

Hi JP,
Huh? U mean go all the way to TMC to see Mrs Wong? Wat will she do?

Hi decimal point,
I'm not too concern about milk supply cos I'm not BFing at all...I just wanna stop the engorgement & hardness in my breasts. In fact, I'm taking doc's pills to stop milk supply.

YB,
if u going to mrs wong, she will help u to massage to soften the breast and i can tell u is very painful. I exprienced it when i was in the TMC. A senior nurse came and massage for me and i was crying for pain.

After massage may be u can use Mrs Wong medela pump to pump out the milk. Is a very high range pump.

Steph,
i am not latching my boy so still dun know if i need nursing wear.

Actually me and you got same problem.. but I found that using the Avent Nipplette actually manage to correct it. What u can do is either use Avent Nipplete to pull out nipple or pump first to draw nipple out and latch baby on.

Then as time goes by, inverted nipple problem will be fixed.

Hi Hong,
The engorgement is better, but still lumpy is some areas. Especially in the mornings. Even when I massage, the lumps will still come back. Very pek cek.
So u mean I should use hot compress 1st, then hand express. Then cold cabbage?

YB, I think if u want to stop bf totally, what u can do is just apply cold cabbage every 2 hours... if engorged already, use hot compress then pump to pump first to make it not so hard, then use cold cabbage every hour or so, so that it will slow down milk production... Dun wait till engorged or lumpy already then pek chek..

Hope it helps/.

YB,
wat Steph said was right.

Cold cabbage - to ease ur engorgment.
Hot compress - to soften ur lumpy breast, more like expand ur milk duct so u can express them out.

The is wat the nurse told me.
When u need to pump milk - use hot compress, massge the lumpy area then use the pump and pump out milk. U will pump to a stage that u cannot see any milk right. Apply hot compress again, massage and use hand express.

If ur nipples area very hard. U have used ur fingers to press down on the aerola area to get the milk out. Area like under the nipple is pretty hard right and also hard to massage. To soften that area, the best way is to use hand express, pump dun really help.

After finish pumping session, u apply cold cabbage for 2hrs. After than hot compress, massage and pump again.

Steph,
cannot leh. i think my nipple shape is very weird kind.

Steph, like wat YB is doing will she actually promoting more BM? I rbr last time i just let the engorgement be and after a few days my breast will turn soft and my supply will stop completely. Somemore i didnt take any medication.

Hong, what YB is doing is only partially right...
If engorge, cannot let it be lah.. if not will create lumps and that area will be super hot and painful at touch..

I would think to use hot compress to soften breast, then express a bit of milk out so won't engorge so easily then put cold cabbage..

If I never rem wrongly if engorge and put cold cabbage may not really help.. can't really exactly rem.. but for sure is cold cabbage must be applied every hour or two so that it can effectively stop BM

my friend went to kkh just now at 4pm. admitted. 3.5cm dilated. administered epidural straightaway. tot she might want to try w/o epidural. not sure when she's going to give birth. her gynae says next visit he'll burst the waterbag.

Went to Gynae today and he said baby not popping out yet
Monday he say should be this week. Today say most probably next week
When he check he commented how come still the same as Monday.. Baby head engaged. I think he did say 1cm dilated - do you all know how long more to go?? I scared I'm one of those with long labour record.. my cervix not opening very fast..

I really hope baby pop by this weekend.. if possible..

JP,
thanks.. is a very informative website.

YB, u better try the method. I am using hand express while typing this posting.

Hong - You are most welcome! May I ask if your nipple hurts at first when your BB latches on and sucks the first few sucks? Mine does and I am trying to perfect my latching on...haiz!!! Nipple sore a little...

Hi sandy,
congrats! Show us ur bb photo.

JP,
initally hurts and sore but will go away slowly.
If u have crack of sore little, u can apply ur own breastmilk at u areola and air it. No need to apply any cream.

Steph,
i tried latching on my boy with the nipple shield. Not very successful and he dun suck long. Fall asleep to easily.

YB,
I found this drink receipe when i flip thru one of my receipe book. It a tea that help to stop breastmilk.

(for women not breast-feeding their babies, this tea helps to relieve the discomfort of swelling breasts. It can be drunk as a daily beverage.)

Ingredients:
100g Maltose (Mai Ya Tang)
2 litre of water

Method:
Boil ingredients until Maltose dessolved.

my friend finally gave birth at 0002hrs today. not sure abt the details, visiting her later in the noon.

lucida,
my friend was 1cm dilated 1 wk ago (10 jul). then 1 wk later (17 jul), 2cm dilated. yday (19 jul) when she admitted to kkh, she was already 3.5cm dilated.

Hi Steph,
thx. I try to massage & hand pump during warm shower. Then I apply cold compress/cabbage. I'm now feeling better. I'm also taking pills to stop flow now & it seems to b workin.

Hi Steph/Hong/JP,
Thank you so much for ur advice on engorgement. I'm slowly becoming better & my breasts dun ache so much anymore.

Hi Hong,
Does Hollicks contains maltose? If yes, then can just buy the 3-in-1 pack to drink?

Hi Sandy,
Congrats!!So ur bb born on 20th Jul as u had wished?

Hi Hong,
My girl is sleeping well. She wakes up about every 3-4hrs for her milk. She's now taking 3oz everytime. Sometimes when she overslept, she'll take 5oz. I'm currently giving her Similac & her stools are normal.

Her skin is peeling really badly now. All over her body, hands, feet. And she also has some rashes on her forehead. Dunno if it's cradle cap or her room too hot. I've already shift her to a cooler room & start applying some moisturiser cream to her body & head. Doc says just bathe her with plain water.

Her nappy rash is also recovering after I applied Destitin cream. Doc says Drapolean not so effective.

Overall, she's quite easy to take care. I just have to make sure the CN use the correct method of cleaning her.

hi decimal pt, saw u mention that you're supplementing breast milk with FM. are u bottle feeding ur bb now? or still latching ur bb?

i'm also worried that breastmilk will not be enough for my girl and am thinking of supplementing with FM but i still wanna latch her on... so worried bout nipple confusion if i bottle feed her the FM. any advice from other mummies?