(2006/07) JULY 2006 MTB

re massage... do we hv to shower after the massage? are the oils used ok for breastfeeding mums? is it too late (not as effective) if i start the massage after my 1-mth confinement?

YB, do you add baby oil to her bath water normally?

I heard Sebamed very good for baby's skin, but its ex, never tried before myself though...

Congrats, Sandy!!
Rest well and hear from you soon.

Hi edksd, Thanks for the info.. That means I probably have to wait till next week.. I think if next week still not ready then I really tempted to ask for induction.

YB,
Peeling - My boy also has it but not all over the body. I believe is the outer layer when they are in our tummy so now expose to environment and started to peel. Like renewal of skin?

U can try cetaphil which is no soup no smell kind.

Cradle cap - can apply olive oil on her head. Ur girl drink alot. My boy only drinks 60-90ml depend what time he wakes up.

That day i use pigeon wide teat and he doesnt drink well, change to NUK teat and he is taking ok.

BTW, is Maltose not Holick lah.

hey hey....

here my delivery story,

17 July

1200am - 0600 slight contraction, not close so HB ask me to sleep as much as i can just in case i really go into delivery the very next morning

0900 Wake up go toilet; felt water gushing down but not much.. checked saw pink discharge.

1000 Contraction again, HB and I took breakfast & quickly go see gynea. Gynea just do scanning after the nurse inform him that she can feel contraction and is close. He adviced me to be admited after 1200 ( save $$ )
1200-1300 Reach home , ask HB quickly put my document file into my hospital bag. ( He still not Kang Cheong , can open labtop and play while seeing me in pain. ) and he never thought of admiting me yet cos he listened to my idiot SIL say i won' give birth so soon go hospital also wait. He left for his appointment at 1300.

1300 - 1400 Pain really unbearable.. Mother quickly ask my Daddy to drive me to hospital. Guess what.. my HB forget to put the document file into the bag !!! No time to reverse home already so just go straight to hospital first.
1430 I was put into the delivery ward, 5 cm dilated already. Nurse help clear bowel & shaved.

1600 Pain really dammed unbearable even with the gas so ask for injection ( not epidural ) it will make u feel sleepy..

1630 My gynea finally came.. 8 cm dilated but waterbag still not yet burst, so he burst it. My HB also rush down just in time.

1630-1819 BB head still high.. doc ask for drip to faster contraction and hope BB head can come down. I already very blur liao... only remember i got no strenght to push... two nurse helped push my tummy while my HB support my back.
Many push later than BB come out..

BB is 3.75kg @ birth
Big size for me.. cos i small build. I got alot of stitches and now is still dammed painful

Sandy,
u have hard nipple? Can baby latch on? If yes, best cos direct latching can clear ur breast.

Ur baby is big. Must *kok* ur hubby head still can do for his appointment. Lcukily ur parents are ard.

Sandy - Congrats!!! Thanks for sharing with us your birth story! Haiz, your DH har....!!!! Glad to hear that mommie and bb are both OK. Can't wait to see the pixs! For me, the first week was pretty hard when it comes to BF. My milk production was pretty low and DS gets very frustrated when there's no milk left. That's why I had to sup with FM. It gets better in the 2nd week. Stay strong and Good luck!!!

Hong - Oh, so it does hurt. I am trying so hard to ensure that DS latches properly. Yup, beside applying the BM on my nipples, I also apply the cream for sore nipples. Same here with regards to teats, my DS also prefers NUK teats!

YB - Glad to hear that!
As per the peeling of the skin, according to the Pedi, its normal. Once this layer of the skin comes off, our BB will have BB soft skin.

brambles - Not sure about others but for me, I will BF first till I have no more milk. If BB still crying due to hunger, I will sup with FM. It gets better on the 2nd weeks onwards when our milk production doubles. With regards to the massage, I guess different ML will have different rules. My ML has informed me that I will need to begin my massage 1 week after my delivery, hence, I have done my 1st session yesterday - It feels so good!!! The only oil which my ML uses are olive oil and lemon grass and its safe for BF.

hong
my BB cn latch on... but i got stress by my mother to pump it out after hearing fom that idiot SIL AGAIN.
This is my first BB... it takes time for me to have alot of milk production.. they dn't understand. Now they just feed BB with FM.. idiot

Hi Steph,
The pediatrician instruct me not to put anything inside the bath water..he said plain water will do. I'm using Dermaveen body lotion for bb. It's suitable for bb with eczema.

Congrats to all mummies who've delivered!
467799.png

Sandy, thanks for sharing your birth story, your bb sure is huge!

Me still haven't popped. Saw my gynae yesterday and she said that my cervix has started to efface and is 1.5 cm dilated. I found streaks of bloody mucuous discharge yesterday night and just now. Dunno is it is caused by the VE performed by gynae yesterday afternoon? Do you gals have any bloody mucus before labour begins?

sunshine,
if u have the bloody mucus then u are due for delivery any time , any where... pack your bag now.. if u feel contraction intense and close go hospital straight

Hi to all jul-Mums/MTBs,
sorry for this interruption. but i'm looking for good, trustworthy confinement lady who can help me in mid-jan 2007. Could any kind souls PM me if u know of any contacts? i stay in Bt Panjang. Thank you very much.

congrats sandy!

just went for gynae appt today. boy now 3.3kg at 38+weeks...big baby....haiz....my gynae didn't do VE for me leh...think she very pro natural...wait for things to happen kind. so i don't know what is going on with my cervix...praying for boy to come out asap.

jul04,
are u big size mummy if yes then ok.. if not by then full term your BB will be about same weight as mine.. u might have same delivery process as me.

sandy,
i'm not big size mummy...i scared need big cut...that's why i want him out liao...

lucida,
he's very healthy and comfy in there....haiz.

any tips on how i can speed up the process??

Me too want to get the baby out fast. Hopefully this weekend when everyone is free. hee hee..

Been walking alot. Now squatting in front of tv also :p Drinking raspberry tea occassionaly. What else can I do???

Sandy,
thanks for your tips. Despite the bloody mucus, my CTG yesterday showed no contractions at all. Feeling anxious and excited now! Can't wait to hold my BB in my arms like those of u who've popped!

Hi YB,
For showering my baby, I add few drops of non-rinse cleanser from Lactacyd into the water.

Hi Sandy,
If baby can latch on, it is the best, if not, have to pump then bottle-feed. Each time I will first try to put baby to latch, then supplement with expressed breastmilk.

ya, this was the advice the gynae gave my friend when she was overdue for 2 days. After doing it, she had contraction in the morning.

hi JP... thanks for sharing! when u supplement with FM, do u bottle feed? how many times do u bottle feed per day? n does ur bb reject latching on after u bottle feed?

sandy... u can try to latch on bb to stimulate ur breastmilk supply. that's wat i did too. milk supply will gradually increase, but of course, drink more soup to increase ur BM supply too.

brambles - For the 1st week, at least 2-3x per day. Now I am in my 2nd week...the FM feeding is getting lesser as my BM is getting more. Nope, DS does not have any prob latching on esp. when DS is hungry. I guess we just need to be patience lor...I know its hard esp. now with our hormones going amok...lol!!! Take care and all the best!!!

Hi Hong,
Do u know when will the skin peeling stop? I see there's cracked skin on my gal's hands & feets. Looks painful. Tat's y I apply moisturiser.

I bought NUK teats as well, but so far, my gal has no problem drinking from pigeon teats. So I dun intend to change. Mayb I'll sell the NUK teats to my friend.

Hi Sandy,
Wah, ur labour is long...3.75kg is very big size. I thought normally if bb exceed 3.5kg, then have to go for c-section?

Do u have episiotomy or tear? I understand how painful the stitches are cos I'm still enduring the pain now. Get some painkillers & numbing cream from ur doc. It really helps. Or u can also buy air float to sit on.

I remember on the 5th day, I was still in very much pain from the stitches, but I still had to bring my gal back to hospital for her blood test. Really chiam.

Hi JP,
How much does ur ML charge & for how many sessions? I have eczema & very sensitive skin. Dunno will react to the olive oil & lemon grass or not. Wat does the package include?

YB,
shld stop within this month.
cracked skin - i dun know if baby can apply any kind of moisturers. Did u ask ur PD abt it?

Mine was the pigeon wide teat, i thot the whole too small, make it bigger and the flow too fast for him. I got a lot of NUK teat from TMC, so i tried one and he is taking well. Got to use NUK teat now.

JP,
look like ur supply is quite gd. Both my breast can only pump out 40ml. really little but i give wat i have.

lala,
how much did u paid for ur delivery this time?

YB - My ML charges $50 (COD) per session. As for how many sessions, its advisable at least min. 5 sessions. The pkg inclusive of the oils and the bengkung ( the cloth that's being used to wrap your waist). I also have skin problem - psoriasis and I am OK with her oils.

Hong - Same here, giving whatever I have lor. I hope that my MS will increase as the days passes by.

JP,

So how many sessions you had so far? is there any visible improvement so far? $50 per session is quite cheap compared to others.

JP,
The massage ah? I felt relax and much better after the sessions. At least i dont feel much wind inside my stomach and my stomach look more tone and flat now. But the massage lady ask me still need to put on tummy binder at least 2 months after the massage sessions!

Ur msg lady told u need to wait 1 week before she can start massaging ah? My massage lady told me as long as natural birth can start anytime after i discharge from hospital liao! But because she got busy schedule, i can only start on day 5. But the timing just nice to me cos my diarrehoe just recover before the massage start.

Sandy,
Wow! Ur baby is big size.

Dsiitan,
How come no news from u?

Hong,
My nipples not only sore but crack and bleed somemore. So really painful! Then me lazy pump out and still let baby latch on and gosh! Really hurt cos JJ like to bite me first before sucking! But now my nipples seasons liao, dont feel tat hurt even he bite me...haha!

Hi Hong,
No, I didn't ask PD abt it. But I guess applying moisturiser is dafe.

Hi JP,
How long do u leave the cloth on? Can I have the contact for the ML? thx.

Joan,
Ur Julian and my Julian is only 1 day apart!
What is ur boy surname? Got a chinese name?

YB,
At 1st i apply some GAIA moisturer at Ju feet but the peeling still there after bath. So i stop and he kicks none stop after bath. I dun want to struggle with him.

NOIF,
u so daring still latch JJ on!

JP,
ur massage lady quite ex to me but if gd then worth it.

edlsk & red hidden,
rate of 10 i give 6.5. i hold on tight to pillow each time contraction comes. already 5 cm dilated when warded & my gynea nt there. Epidural nt a choice. anyway u will still feel pain with epidural. My HB's sister use epidural so u actually escape early contraction pain. But when u fully dilated , they will wake u up and u will still feel pain. Waste of $$

hi, there's one thing i'd like to ask....

during early contraction, if we injected epidural, it'll help us relax more... and will this speeds up dilation or not?

coz w/o epidural, we'll be in pain and body tensed, will this slow down dilation?

i think my milk supply not enough. i let my BB suck my nipple until i feel so pain. Then he very impatient when he don't get milk flow. Unlike the first 2 day i am in hospital.
so have to give FM.. hiaz

edlksd,
if u already admited & u know u dilated less then 5 cm and u already cannot take it. it is best u take epidural. U will relax more & it speed up dilation

finally heard from dsii! Baby Ian was born on 19th July @ 4.815kg, natural with epidural and vacuum. Dsii sends her regards to all and she will come in to share her birth story as soon as she can.