(2006/07) JULY 2006 MTB

Share my labour story with u all...

16th July 2006

9.30 - arrive at TMC, do admission and went to d room b4 d birth room to change n pass motion, nurse inserted something into um my anus for me to pass all my bowels...

about 10plus or 11 - gynae came to check for dilation as I gotta induce...

about 11 - put on drip for induce... den gynae burst water bag

12 plus - begin to feel contractions

1 plus - more intense contractions

2pm - gynae came to check for dilation, very painful... cannot tahan liao, ask for epidural

2plus - got epidural but did not work as i have tattoo at my lower back so d doc did it slightly higher...

3pm - epidural doc came back, aiyo, poke my back 2nd time as 1st time did not work... within 5 mins, lower body all numb liao...

4plus - gynae came in and check, dilate onli 4cm, den he say if by 6pm still neba dilate 10cm den must C-section...

5.15 pm - felt like pushing... below extremely painful... nurse say i can give birth liao... gynae oso just arrive... den push, push push until cry... hubby say gynae did epsitomy for me, couldn't feel bcoz numb by epidural oso...

5sumthing - Baby Xaria out to see this world... (sorry, i pan tang to say exact time)

Yeah.. happy to hear that dsii and BB Ian are doing well.. Rc'd sms from her that she's going to discharge today..

dsii,
Do update us your birth story and BB Ian's photo once u settled down.. do take some good rest ya!

brambles,
i dun latch baby on bcos i cannot see how much he drinks. i express and sup with fm. my ss has not increase, vry depressing. been to tmc twice for massage, but situation not turning better. someimes when he cries a lot, i latch him to suckle, but i doubt there is much milk.

jp,
u mind telling me how much ur ss is? i am into day 15, but still pathetic. 30ml for a 45-60min express. at least i should hav 90ml ba??my expextations r not high am i??

so feel like giving up sometimes

Hmmm...was wondering how come the rest of your ss is so low. My wife can easily pump 180-210ml every 3hrs. Did you gals have a cup of hot drink everytime you pump?? And try to shorten the timing you pump to maybe 2 hours, see if can increase the milk ss or not.

jp & decimal point... thanks. i'm currently still latching my girl on. only supplement with 1 FM at night. i also can't gauge how much she's drinking but Mrs Wong did assure me that it's alrite as i'm still feeding on demand. guess i'll continue to monitor and see how it goes.

re expressing... yes, liverpool is right... do some massage and have a cup of hot hot drink before expressing, it helps!

liverpool... can share how ur wife can pump out so much easily? are u all using manual hand express or electric pump?

for baby skin peeling... was told by nurses from TMC that you can add one or two drops of johnsons bb oil to the water that you bathe them in... helps to moisturise the skin

dsii, joan and mich... congrats!

noif and jp... can share ur massage lady contacts with me? thanks!

brambles,
I do shower after the massage.. did u inform ur masseuse that u r on breastfeeding? My masseuse never apply oil and massage my chest/breast area cos i told her that i need to express milk. Think it is still ok to start massage after 1-mth cos it helps to tone up your body curve and extract the water out from ur body if there's any..

Sandy,
Thanks for sharing ur birth story.. u same as me lor.. bb's head high and midwives got to press hard on our tummy to force bb out.. I can still remember the pain that i had.. surely I will remember the incident for the whole life..

JP/Sandy,
So envy that you gals can let bb latch on directly.. BB Alfred was a pre-term BB and had sucking problem since birth.. I did ask help from Mrs Wong and after some observation she advised me to feed BB with ebm for the 1st 2 weeks and try to latch bb on after that.. now oredi 3rd wk and i did try to let bb latch on a few times but he rejected my breast.. think mine is gone case liao.. luckily BB Alfred prefer to drink ebm compared to formula so I just keep myself busy to pump milk every 2~4 hourly..

Sandy,
I do face the similar problem at the beginning stage.. my MIL always like to give very warm milk to BB but when i give ebm i only heat up to body temperature so that it won't kill the antibody.. but my MIL always complain that the milk i gave to bb is cold and nag nag nag.. there was a time i was very down with her comments and broke down.. but recently when she noticed that my bb take more ebm milk than formula then she got no choice but to let me feed bb with ebm.. she even help to heat up the ebm to the temp that i want and feed to bb..

So don't be disheartened by your MIL and SIL.. relax and stay happy so that you can have more milk to come in.. then you can prove them that they are wrong..

Congrats Joan and welcome BB Julian to this wonderful world!

edksd,
epidural is a pain reliever.. dun think it helps to speed up the dilation.. U'll be given the drips for that purpose..
Also, it might not be a good thing to ask for epi during early contraction.. for my case, i asked for epi right from the beginning but it could not last until I give birth as i have long labour lasted for 14 hours..I used up the epi supply about 2 hours before BB alfred is out..

liverpool,
I got take hot drinks and apply hot compress and massage before express milk.. but still i can only pump out the most 135ml at day 21.. I took hot red dates tea normally before i pump milk.. what kind of drinks does ur DW take??

joline... envy u
can shower after ur massage. i've not confirmed any masseuse yet cuz if need to shower, i can only start my massage 1 mth later after my confinement...

We using the medela electric dual pump. Coz need that when she go back to work, plus we still thinking of #2 and #3 mah, so can still use then.

Hmmm...any hot drinks will do for her, hot red dates drink, hot milo, hot water. Plus on n off I will go buy papaya milk soup from TMC for her lor. 1 time buy will buy 3 pkt then let her drink.

Those that expressing little, don't give up, massage massage n massage, instead of 3 hrs maybe shorten to 2 hrs to stimulate more milk ss lor.

brambles,
wow.. u can really tahan not to shower for 1 month har.. during my stay in the hospital i oredi start taking shower liao.. but nvr dare to tell my parents and MIL.. if not sure kena scold one.. i just can't bear with my own body odour lor.. hubby oso cannot tahan my 'Bau' lor..

Lucida,
I bath with herbs.. those da feng ai that sold in pkts..

liverpool,
Oh.. no wonder.. that's the most powerful pump and highly recommended by Mrs Wong from TMC.. I use ameda dual pump.. how long is your wife pumping?? I normally pump for 20~30 minutes.. i need to check office email on and off so cannot keep the expressing time consistent at 2 hourly lor.. that's why i can see my MS up and down like share market.. keke.. but i do drink papaya fish soup continuously for 3 days every week so that my MS can retain..

Hi brambles,
I also start showering when I was in the hospital. I even washed my hair.

Now tat I started confinement at home, I'll bathe with herbal water then rinse off with water. Then at night before I sleep, I'll shower with hot water & wash my hair also. But will blow my hair dry before I sleep.

YB,
Wow, 3 hrs is fast. I've been having bloody mucus for 3 days already. Haiz, when will the day come?

eeyore,
Me, me! I'm still waiting to pop! How about u?

Wow Dsii BB is so huge.
I thought she was saying it only 3.7+++ how come so much difference man...

If she never induce early. won't it be 5kg plus at full-term??? what a record man!

Hi Joline,
my bb not pre-term yet not latching as well ... so, we are in the same 'pumping' boat

Hi Liverpool,
I am alos using PIS; expressing milk every 2-3 hrly for 30mins each time. Usually pump 80 to 150ml depending whether is day or night. Does your wife express milk even in the middle of the night? Usually if I overslept for 1 hr at night, say 4 hrs, my breasts will get very engorged and have to keep using hot towel. Does your wife face the same prob?

YB,
My doc says that I can pop anytime now 'cos my cervix has dilated to 1.5cm. I'm 4 days away from my EDD.

eeyore and red_ridden,
When are your EDDs?

Dsii's BB is really huge, did she have gestational diabetes?

Sunshine,

When did your gynae check your cervix?
im into my 39th week already but gynae never check if i hvae dilated or..?

Wow, you really anytime now man,, which hospital will you be admitting?

My actual EDD is 31 july..

NOIF,

So it seems like your ML not bad huh... how long is each session? 1hr?
'What is the difference between "Jambu wrap" and the wrap you were mentioning she did for you?

Liverpool,
Ur wife got very gd milk supply but that doesnt mean everyone is the same.

Joline,
i am also ameda dual pump. I realised we cant keep pumping for 15 min. I cannot stand my two nipples got squeeze at the same time.
So i switch the dual pump to single pump but closing one of the valve.

I pump one breast for 5 min and i switch to another for 5. then back to another breast again.
I see i can pump out more this way cos while one side is pumping, the other side take it time to let down.
Why dun u try resting ur breast after 5 min pumping then pump again.

Yes, u must drink alot of fluid to promote BM. I'm too my supply is abt 20ml each time, i need to pump 3 times to gather enough for 1 feed.

YB,
I used Mdm Zu before. She is gd.
The one i am using charges $35 per session.

NOIF,
how much is mdm zu charging now?

liverpool,
i really envy ur wife. i try to pump 3hrly but that is difficult. 1 hr pump, 1 hr feed baby, i hardly sleep. now trying 4 hr also hard, baby refuses to sleep in the day, feed 2hrs drink only 70ml. really having a hard time. even now, i am using internet as i pump away.i drink 1 pot of papaya soup everyday, hot drinktoo, warm compress, massage. i really have no idea what else i can do.

Decimal,
u seem so stress. Stress can affect milk supply too.

My boy doesnt drink much too. U are not alone.

agree with hong...
not every woman milk ss is the same. even if u do exactly the same thing.

dec pt - try not to be so stress. actually sleeping also helps to increase ss. (for me lah) whenever i wake up from nap, the ss increase. so relax and no stress is the key.
so go take a nap now.

motherhood is supposed to be such a wonderful experience, i dunno y i let myself be so affected by bm issue too.
maybe give myself until end of confinement, if spend so much time to yield so little returns, maybe i should change my mindset.

dec pt - cannot latch?

hmmm.. dun be so uptight. if need be, supp with FM. if u r so stress, bb can feel it and wont be happy too.

but at the mean time, dun give up.

hv a fren tat tells me...

between being a cow but no time to play with bb and supp FM but hv ample time to play with bb, she will choose the later one.

oh, one way is to let other pple feed bb? so u only need to pump, rest and play with bb.

anyone helping u?

Dec,
I agree with MTDT.
May be this is my 2nd child so i have being thru it.

U are already giving the best to ur baby now. 1ml of BM is still BM. If u say u are not giving ur best, how abt YB. She cant give her DD any at all. (YB, sorry to use u as example).

World Health Org has being stressing too much on BF that making mummies stress over not able to supply enough for their babies.

We are not cow, we dun eat grass and wait for pple to pump milk out from us. We are human, we need to take care of baby and many things.

Hi dec pt,
>>>>Hugs<<<<< to you. Don't be so stressed ok. sometimes, the more we worry, the worse it becomes. Our mind can affect our body tremendously.U really are not alone. On good days I pump from both sides 120ml. On lousy days, I can only pump 20m from both sides after 45mins. I want to say, don't give up ok. This is my second bb, I'm still equally worried that I'm not giving the best to my bb.
But we are all trying our best ok. My bb also ask for my breast every 1 hr or half hr. At night same thing too. You know what, I give up pumping for now. I just feed my bb direct.I don't want to see how little i can pump out. But I'm sure my bb can drink more than I can pump more.
I have to start my work next mth soon, so I'm also worried not enuf pump supplies. But at this point of time, I just let bb direct. Sometimes, i dunno why, I pressure myself so much that I give her formulae sometimes.

Hong,
Totally agree that everyone produce BM at different amount. I am just trying to share whatever experience that we know.

For the rest, do not feel stressful. Parenting should be an enjoyable journey.

My wife also actually only pump 1 side at a time, but I ask her to try pumping both at the same time, somehow the milk SS did increase slightly. My wife also mention that whenever she see baby, she will be able to express much better.

And I guess this is really what every parents are looking forward to:

468547.jpg

Hello Uncles and Aunties!!

red_ridden,
my gynae will check my cervix upon every visit from the 38th week onwards. She performed the VE during my last visit on the 39th week. But I understand that not all gynaes will perform VEs. So u'll have to monitor for any show, leaking liquor or painful contractions. I'll be delivering at NUH. How about u?

i see, tomorrow will be my 39th week check up, guess gynae might do the neccessary checking.

I will be delivering at Mt A...

is this your first child?

decimal point,

relax lah, dont stress yrself ,me the same, only manage to pump 40-60ml every 3hr. Need to pump twice before i able to feed my gal BM...so no choice..alternate feed FM loh...cant latch her cause not enough she will cry shortly oso...

Dont tired yrself up ...cheerio n enjoy motherhood... my gal at wk4 still drinking 60ml every 2hr...!

Hi Decimal point,
We are all in the phase of adjustment - many things like expressing milk, latching, etc + hormonal changes all add up to cause us so stressed ... however, things will definitely get better, so perserve on... there were many times I cried. Anyway, ater crying, life goes on ... come on, you are not alone. We are all July mummies, so continue to share so that we can help one another.

Though I have slightly more milk, but my baby is not latching. This makes me keep pumping and I really hate the feeling ... what bonding ??!!! with machine ??!!! Also, almost every 5 or 6+ am, I will be so engorged that I have to keep pumping + use hot towel - scalded myself this morning. I was also crying to my HB why am I doing this ?? Why not give baby full FM and be happy ... anyway, after all the cries and complaints, well, I am still expressing milk ... day in day out, I will try different method to help baby latch ... so tiring and I am still doing it ... see, all mummies are the same, want the best for our babies

Cheer up

Hi decimal point,
I didn't wake my gal up for her feed, cos sometimes they'll tend to sleep more, but will compensate by drinkin more afterwards. I think sleeping is also very impt for babies. I'll only feed my gal when she wakes/figet in her sleep.

Hi decimal point,
Dun be so stress...it takes A LOT of effort to BF, esp at the beginnings. Tat's y lots of mummies tend to get discourage easily &amp; switch back to FM. I really admire mummies who went thru so much just to provide the best nutrition for their bb. Too bad I can't BF. Jia You!! There's lots of experienced mummies here to help u. Hong is one of them &amp; she's been very helpful.

Hi Decimal Point,
Ya, I agree with Hong. At least u can give ur bb BM (however little u have at the moment), but I dun have tis luxury. It saddens me when I have go thru the whole process of engorgement but throw away all my EBM.

hong,
i teach music at home and next mth is exam mth..... sigh.....but i teach few hrs every day. so not so bad

Hi Sunshine, My edd quite near yours. I'm about 5 days away. Last check on Wednesday I dilated 1cm and gynae say most probably next week.

Been reading all the breastfeeding experiences from the mummies here. This is really a great place for new mums as there's lots of encouragement. Abit worried how will I be "performing" for the breastfeeding portion when the baby comes. Guess I will just have to press on and be positive and accept things as it comes naturally.