(2006/07) JULY 2006 MTB

Hmmm... mummies so we going to who place to make oneh oneh and cake? Must check if Klcc have oven but eeyore and PM wanted to know how to bake using Microwave oven leh.

I dun have microwave oven at home leh. I dun know how to bake using that.

hong
tot we cfm le going to klcc's place? cos her kitchen open concept one...and to bake must ask ep along...hahaha..she bakes mah...

dsii,
must know if klcc have oven or not lor. Yah going to her place to make oneh oneh.

zita,
I also cannot make it on 22 Nov.

i got working microwave and a faulty oven(belongs to my ex-owner, tried once & it trip my power, bleh)..if EP oven working well..might as well we go to her hse to bake & make oneh oneh then??

oh ok...my kitchen also not big hor..but hall quite ok lah..so with the walless kitchen should be ok ba..tentatively we set 30 Nov 08, ok??

Oneh Oneh Making Session
Date : 30 Nov 08
Time : TBC
Shi Fu : Hong
Disciple : klcc, dsii, zita, who else coming??

Hong, I got a turbo broiler(xue di zi) which i think can bake cake also if you wanna demo baking..ha..
and hor, my hse dun have hole for u to hide leh..unless u wanna bury yrselfin my bathtub..ha...

i am gonna attempt to bake josh's birthday cake!!! dunno how it will look like.. hahha.. will post u the pics when ready!!..

klcc , see my superman...

1875460.jpg

I need to vent. Please allow me to do so else I will explode.

I have a very bad experience with Shichida!

R recently started his class with SH after being in JG for 3 terms. He is an active boy and cannot sit still. He likes to move around especially dancing and also loves music. Shichida being a very structured type of program did not interested in the SH lessons at all. Now it has reached a stage where he does not even want to step into the classroom and wants to get out of the centre everytime we are there. Every weekend, he will cry no matter how much I persuaded him to attend the lesson.

As such, I seek the help of the staff there. The very 1st time, I call the staff, she told me that I can defer and ask me to call the person in charge of my son. I spoke to him twice in a week and he asked me to try out again last week but my son did not want to attend the class at all. I am supposed to see him but I am being pass to the reception who did not provide any help but ask me to write an email to "CUSTOMER SERVICE". I was very mad because I felt I am being push from pillar to pillar and requested to speak to the management and she asked me to call the manager. As usual, the manager did not call back after I left a message. Two days later, I called for the person in charge, he said he will speak to the management and a few days later, told me that they cannot defer and that there is no such policy! The principal wanted us to try for the whole term and that if next term is still the same, then they will consider to defer it for me. To me, it did not sound reasonable. As a mother, I understand my son's temperament and what he likes and dislikes. True enough that Shichida is a "proven method" but every child is unique in his/her own ways and learning pace is also different. Why do I have to make my son so unhappy every weekend just because he probably dislike it and he is at an age where reasoning does not seem logical yet?

Which parents do not want to give their children a headstart in life? If in the first place, I do not know that there is Shichida, probably my son will be much happier! His unwillingness to attend does not mean anything, just pure unhappy of not liking the lessons. I questioned back the person in charge on why he is so much happier in JG but dislike so much in SH, and the teacher is also not helping at all when she sees him showing no interest?

My point is very simple is that I will like to give my son another chance when he is older, to try out SH again but here I am being force to try it out this term again and then try my luck again the next term to see if my son has improve? I felt that I have not just wasted the money which I can be used for other enrichment classes but also the time and effort to be able to make my son happier.

Sometimes, I wonder whether what SH advocates is being put into practice that LOVE to the children is everything to them. If that is so, then I think they need to take into consideration that every child is different and special and not forcing the children to so something that they do not want to!

blessings
of cos u can vent here...we will lend a listening'eyes' hehehe...i cant comment cos i didnt send ian to any enrichment classes...haiz...one thing for sure...ian will not like structured type of program....cos he simply got needles on his butt....

dsii,
Then the N1 class tat Ian is going to attend next yr leh? Not structured prog meh?

Btw, I went to chk out the Monte Kidz N1 at Hougang. Wah! They charged $1320/term (10wks) + $400 refundable deposit!! SO EX!! Then keep telling me dunno if Kay can adapt/catch up cos their class very structured. Keep insisting kay to go in their playgrp 1st.

When I brought Kay along to recee the plc, Kay immediately went into the class & played wif the toys. I was talking with the teacher when she suddenly asks Kay to keep the toys. I was shocked..cos it seems the teacher is relunctant to let Kay touch the stuff in the classroom.

Anyway, after talking to teacher & receeing the plc, I dun think I'll send Kay to their N1 prog. Most likely repeat her Talentplus playgroup until 2009 then go PAP N2.

blessings,

Shichida is really a very structured program, they are doing flash card right? Were you given a trial before signing up? I feel such program is good to start young especially at 1yo when flashing and saying out loudly really attract the kids.

I think end of the day they are just doing a biz. LOVE - unless the teachers are very passionate with kids and teaching.

YB,
N1 has structure and play but mostly learn thru play so Ian will love it. They will have some structured work but not as much as N2 - K2.

klcc,
oh... anything lor.

Dsii,
so good life, no need to bring kids. Not possible for me leh. Put the kids to play among themselves lor.

blessings - SM admin does sucks big time. :p I hardly deal with them but just to pay money. :p
who is your teacher? experience? maybe the teacher does plays an impt role. u think a changing of teacher helps? maybe ask ard which teacher is more experienced and "highly recommended" and transfer to her class n try?

but JG and SM really alot alot of diff. during SM, only during activities then my boy will guai guai sit down, in between activities, my boy will monkey like climb out of his chair or standup etc. music time even will stand on table to dance, flashcard time, only afew times will sit on the chair, but most of the time, wld be on my lap. most of the time, i let him be as long as he dun disturb other kids.

some parents even do the activities at the back of the class when the kid refuse to sit down. guess kids at this age, really need to move ard.

KLCC - The xue di zi's roast ckn is very nice right? Roasted.. the skin is crispy yet the flesh still remains the juice!

Oneh Oneh depends on date n time.. Sometimes need to work on Sat and Sun E has the Bishan class.

How's CHarlene flaring at Bishan? Notice E dont liek to concentrate and will fidget here and there... activities also wont liek to participate.

Blessings - How much have u paid so far? When wil the term end? If u just withdraw him, what's the losses like??

I have similar sentiments that SH is just out to make money..

PM, so far char is ok with the class, in fact she looks fwd to sat cos can see her teacher Genise cos she always give her stickers, ha ha ha..I think so far Char is still able to concentrate abt 90% of the class, she will do all her activities except for tracing on paper i.e maze etc..she will scribble all over..

My dear buddy blessings..... Ryan dun like Shicida? Perhaps he just dun like structured lessons which simply showing flash cards and showing them pictures like what did you see in the pic etc.. I attended once with my ang's niece, I was almost yawning away!! And I got a gf who just resigned from Shicida and telling me the management suxs big time!! All they think is $$$$$$$ becos they feel that their method of teaching is unique and good!

I guess each kid is different and our kids especially are the active ones who cannot sit still at all. Perhaps you want to check if you are able to get some $ back and withdrawn Ryan from the class? All parents are the same, they just want to see the kids happy.

Like me, never felt so much happier now that I have stopped K from JG. At first it was me, I cant stand the parents there.. ahhahahha!!! Damn one kind! And for K, seems like it's just a routine for him to go for classes! Now that I went back with Kindermusik, K really showed me that he prefers Kindermusik then JG just like the mummy!!! And I saw that he is much happier now in Kindermusik and for me, I'm happy myself to have been able to see the SMILES on his face, of cos enjoying every single bit of the lesson!

ya loh... everything boils down to their smiles now

it's just a enrichment... not as if it's a core subject tat everyone hv no choice. hahhaha

MT,
I find the teacher so so, not as good as the ones that R had when he was with JG. I am so sick of dealing with SM staff that I do not want to talk to them anymore...I simply just want to withdraw from the class after this term.

PM,
The term will finish in end Dec, if I am not wrong, I have forked out about $1k? Cannot really remember, and hopefully, I can get back the priority deposit of $300 siah!

Fruitee,
Yeah, I was very upset and angry with SM. They make me feel that we as parents are in the wrong and should be persistence in correcting Ryan's behaviour. I do not feel that there is anything wrong with him in the very first place. The only worng is that I have chosen to enrol him in SM! That's about it! Sigh. I have also sign him up for kindermusik for next year class. Which session is K attending now?

Blessings
Sundays - 3pm. Together with Missmoon... come come!!! Let's have our sessions together and we can chat and screamed like mad mamas in class.. ahhahhaha

Blessings,

sorry to hear about your bad experience with SM. Hope you and Ryan find an enrichment class that both of you enjoy.

hey Fruitee, u are in Kindermusik too? I just started Arin on the Sunday noon class. She likes the teacher Yin Wei v much and her favourite time in class is getting the animal chops all over her hands and legs at the end of the class!

mad mamas!??! hahahah :p

heard tat shauna resigned liao right?

sunday 3pm - think jun thread also got a few in tat timeslot. :p is it teacher doreen?

CHM
Ya loh.. me itchy back side tot JG very good mah.. waitlist so long like so high class.. ahhaha.. cos I one kind also mah... cannot tahan the one kind parents there.. ahhahaha!! So now itchy butt again... I signed K back to Kindermusik loh. Ya manz, K was enjoying his first lesson back last week.. of cos enjoying all the animal chops on his hands and belly!! Proudly showing to my parents and siblings. Even when we wan to shower him, he ask us not to wash off the chops...

MT
I love teacher DOREEN loh... best of the best teacher..kekekeke.. lai liao loh.. advertisment time!! hahahah

YB
n1 is still honeymoon period bah...that time went recee with ian...he was so enthu digging out all the blocks n toys..i was so paiseh....kept asking/sscolding him to keep..but the teacher was the one...said is alrite..let himplay..he must get used to the environment...and ian even ventured into K1 classess..and dig their puzzles...pengz....and he really created a MESS in the classes...

wah lau..the animal chops donno what kind of ink they use...scrub for 2 days and they are still there....and yes, Arin also lifts up her shirt for the teacher to chop on her belly...so unladylike...sigh...

Personally, I feel that is good to intro them to some form of structured classes now cos some will be entering pre-school soon. In some pre school env, children will be required to be discipline. They may have a hard time trying to adapt at that stage.

CHM
My K dunnoe hor... tot only chop hands nia then suddenly Doreen lift up his Ts and chop his belly.. he lift up his Ts himself and let it dry and then wanna walk out with him lifting up the T... pengzz!!!

those ink from china or not hah?? My kids also got chop from their teachers..really need to scrub hard for few days bef it goes off :p

dsii : dun worry lah, Ian so street smart, sure can adapt one..

YB,

I think if you don't feel right about the place, better move on to somewhere else. Most importantly is that Kay enjoys learning in that environment

C is starting school in 2 mths time! They have moved her to the Bukit Timah branch as the sch at Holland Rd had got lease problem. We went to see the place and she seems to enjoy being there. Teachers allowed her to play at the playground & also touch their things & explore the place. N1 would be pretty structured for her. I asked the principal for her timetable hahaha so it is something like this

8:30-10:00am - Montessori session
10:00-10:30am - Outdoor play
10:30-11:00am - Tea Break
11:00-11:45am - Chinese/English Class
11:45-12:30pm - Art/Music & Movement

Every Friday they will slot in Bible Study to her timetable. so structured hor! But also gd for them lah.. get them ready to go primary school next time. I'm looking forward to my 4 hrs of free time!!!

I am back from Mt Alvernia and delivered little Janelle on 11 Nov (Now we have Jie jie and mei mei Janelle). She weighs 2.79kg and 48 cm long. Had induction and natural delivery with epidural

Amanda,
4D 1167 never strikes? Btw in the past, did you latch Gerrain or express exclusively?