(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

mum2b,

hmm I got the memory magic. Its not bad but i think its quite interactive and meant for kids at least 3 years old. Not so much for our babies at this stage. There is a flashcard session but that is really limited number of flashcard. I got it 2nd hand so its much cheaper... that's why I bought and keep so that when my boy older, he can play. So far Samuel had not even started playing with it...

good to hear that your bb attending SM too... hey our thread alone have so many babies attending SM liao .. maybe we can form our own parental support group liao hehee. if only we all can attend the same class.

I got the 2nd hand monkey bar from Louis in sgparenting. Hmm its not bad... i think it was sold by genius explorer previously... then when I wanted to buy, the geniusexplorer told me they dun sell anymore. So I was quite happy to see it being resell... anyway its a fixed height monkey bar with balancing beam at the side. Its not GD specification. A GD spec one would cost at least $2k. I had wanna get a GD spec one but feel it will be just an overkill with too much money spent plus it will take up such a huge space. This one is just nice because its abt 1.5m high and thus even if bb fall also wont be serious injury plus of course we will be there for them, and they can use till they are much older ... old enough to play at the playground safely. Most important is the price is ok at $400 and the footprint it takes up is relatively small... and another plus is... the 5 metal pieces can be disassembled if i need the space.

poohy - i will also be going to TPY for SM in future. but i am looking at sat pm class instead.

u confirm J's class for next sesmeter already? t
for SM - any preferences on teachers?

Poohy,

I had been letting Gabby listen to SanZijing. Just wondering how to show her in cards? Do you do by sentence of 3 words, or each word one card?

mtdt,

I place J on waitlist for saturday 10:45am which is Samuel's current timing. but I may bring her to 9am or the class right after 10:45am. At least I dun have to travel so many times.

I dun have any preference for teachers... it really depends on the kids. Like my boy seems to like his current teacher a fair bit.

wen,

I show S & J san zi jing in word by word. 1 work each card. following the usual GD method... each set is 12 words. Then when they had seen the 12 words, the next set onwards, will start with these last 12 words in 3-word phrase card.... then follow by the next 12 words.

great to let the kids listen to the san zi jing cd hor... I dun really play the cd that regular but the few times I play, my boy can recite some of the szj together with the cd. I mainly want them to learn more words... and also because this san zi jing is a good basis for future story telling. Each 2 phrase is a story.

Poohy,

Exactly my feeling about Sanzijing. Gabby would clap if I put it on. She enjoys it the same way as other music/song cds..haha. And yeap, good basis for story telling and foundation for chinese.

poohy - ooh.. then we cant meet again.
we wanted to meet for swim class, then for bjg then SM. but all can match the timing. :p

I was wondering for SM Class - the new students will not be mixed with the old students rite? as the pace will be different? any idea??

i'm in trouble at office.being victimized,scapegoat etc..no time to read thread. its war zone here....

Fi, aiyo! what happened!! haiz... i hate office politics... sometimes v scary
**sayang**

Hi, got bored and a new nick
. 8mth old Irv & 2.5yr old A are my kids ;) .

poohy,
wow very impressed by your research into the different classes. You even got a monkey bar!
Yah, really have to coordinate both kids' classes or too much of weekend spent running all over the island, LOL.

Fi - oh, hope u r ok... it's TGIF. relax.

Pawprint - welcome.
u also another mummy tat juggle with lots of class? share with us.

pawprint,

no lah i din really research a lot.. those are the more well known classes ... ya u r rite.. when u have one child, in terms of finances or time, its not as taxing. When you have 2 kids, if each attend 2 classes on weekends, you already go to 4 classes liao! Imagine the tiredness and the time taken to travel here and there. Plus its double the cost. Thus class selection is somehting we consider very seriously each term. Next time if I have no.3, I hope by then Samuel will be able to go classes on his own liao... else I think I will faint accompanying the kids to 3x2 classes each weekend. In any case, my utimate aim is for each kid to go to 2 classes... SM + JG.

btw, any one going to babycare festival? I may go during lunch later.

fi,

hope things are not too serious at your office... office politics? I dun get myself involved in those... normally I just keep quiet and stay one corner kind of person. Its just a job to me...

poohy,
i'm also quiet mind my own business kind.but someone who's climbing up the ladder too fast drag me and blame me for work performance and because i defend, she scared trouble from me so wants to get rid of me by throwing me into another team.and of course boss side her and never clarify things with me

i'm only trying to balance between having more time for jz and a job.cause i pass on a deadline for a colleague to finish up when i had to take leave cause mil not free to take care of Jz.and this senior say no problem can pass to someone to finish and even gave me her material for the deadline very late. now she turn around and ask why i didnt finish a task given. from the front she smile and say no problem no problem take leave, baby important....

fi,

hm that's bad... dun get too stressed over it... hope things will come to a good resolution eventually...

me too, take leave quite a number of time to take care of my children due to sickness and happenings at home (in fact I was just on urgent leave last week and yesterday)
cant be helped I guess... I am resigned to being blacklisted kind liao.

she say since i took time off, now she wants to know reason for poor performance. i argue saying she was the one who says its ok to pass on to someone else to do and she's the one who gave me materials late and now she's questionning me? i was so mad and yet she stood at my desk and kept questioning till i cried!! and she was still standing there questionning me, so i ran to the toilet and cried!! and she went to the toilet and said she didnt meant it blah blah.. i said leave me alone. then the next day, my boss said i might be changed to another team liao!!!! just like that.............

that same afternoon yesterday, i discovered the office fridge was switched off so my 3 days EBM all melted and i had to throw them away. some more my ms low already so 3 days i only have 3 very precious packets. i just couldnt help feeling like it was a sabotage job. even though in spore context it is a rare evil thing. so i just left office early and cried all the way home....

Fi - aiyoh... sounds bad.

sure feels bad to be "wrong" ur boss din check with u at all.
but will it be a blessing in disguise? will it be better at the other team?

huh? why ur 3days EBM still in office. wasted! can feel ur pain. *sayang*

poohy,
yah
. I agonise over the selection of classes too- currently my A takes 4 classes (drama, music, eng pg, swim), my Irv only 1 class. Throughout the wk, not all on wkend, but very tiring (for me). A is very receptive to classes- she tends to enjoy literally everything, and at the age to bug me if I stop any. Also, classes I'm eyeing for Irv, clash with A's. I'd be doing a "re-org", LOL, when her current terms end.

fi - sayang sayang...

poohy - i am thinking of wait listing for playclub for bb jake. which branch is better - read that evans rd is good. haven't been there myself. what is your opinion?

i am also looking at playgroups - considering MMI - but not sure whether the one at west coast is good. any idea?

re AD - vivi - tmr our slot is 9.30 am.

re CB spree - check the bp - leng leng started one already.

poohy,
thanks on the memorymagic. not sure if the package is only cd or with flash cards also. how much did u get it 2nd hand?
i was wondering if monkey bar for adult in HDB flats outdoor "gym" can be used for babies? hehe..
good if there's parental support group for SM, count me in

fi,
aiyo.. poor thing, i hate office politics. yeah maybe like what MTDT said, a blessing in disguise that u r transferred to other team?
i always admire u all working moms who can juggle b/w work and baby, i think if i'm working, i'll have to rely alot on maid. u r doing great fi
can call me if u need to vent out.
btw in my previous office, my boss n one coleague also likes to say one thing on my face then another thing behind my backs. very frustrating, i know that feeling.

thanks all for support.i'm thinking of resigning.my hb very nice woh say ok even though he dont earn a lot.JZ already 9 months, my popularity ranking sliding and part time weekend mom, so figure i'll stay at home for next 6 months, if dont work out send JZ to nursery then i look for another job. at least he'll be in spore and i get to see him.

but hor my prorated annual leave all used up. if hand in letter also need to stay 1 more month.i scared they'll make trouble for me at the last month. the last month before my maternity leave, trouble was brewing too cause i was considered obsolete, dirty jobs all throw to me, that's why that time i took 2 weeks no pay leave to leave earlier before my maternity break.

hb say wait till issue cool down like 2 weeks later then only hand in letter. then i would need to stay 7 more weeks? but i black face in office everybody sure know why i'm leaving still cool down period meh?

mtdt,
i didnt bring ebm back from office every day cause bring cooler bag everyday very bulky and sometimes i dont go back home straight so not convenient to bring milk along.office fridge new, my floor not many pple so a lot of space and very clean to store my ebm. entire freezer just my ebm lying there.like today i'm going jb after work so today's ebm will be lying in frdge over weekend till next week.

Fi,
good thing your hub supports your decision.

if pp in the office r so horrible, then v difficult to work with them in the future.
But make your decision to quit when u cool down loh. maybe there r other considerations u have not taken into account?
Dont worry abt the additional week lah... once u r in ROD mood, everything else also heck care loh! :p

Fi:
Ya thats good that ur HB supports you. If u need someone to talk, u can also call or sms me okie. Cheer up, for e sake of JZ.

TGIF!
btw tis sunday wil be gg to babycare festival at suntec. after tat wil try to catch fireworks!!! since got my ger, cant set up tripod n etc to snap photos liao. lol.
Remember on 2nd day of CNY, went to catch fireworks, my ger was so engrossed at the fireworks leh, w my dog too...nowadays she very naughty, keep trying to grab n pull my dog's fur...

pawprint,

that's great that A is so receptive to classes.. nothing beats seeing them enjoying themselves in classes hor... The last we want is we sign them up for something and they dun like...

amy,

I only been to forums leh. So I dunno whether evans good or not leh... but i know got outdoor playground there but hygiene may be a considerations since the last few cases of HFMD happened there. Just 2 weeks ago, the teacher told us another case of HFMD was found there. HFMD is no joke ah... very painful and agonising. I will put Joelle on the waitlist for playclub under Adrian's class on Sunday morning. I heard a lot of good feedbacks abt him and I want J to be under him if possible. For S, I also place him on waitlist for Adrian's class but I think he is warming up to his current teacher, Teacher Dee. Thus maybe wont change afterall.

MMI in west coatast I am not so sure leh... JW dun seems to have much good playgroups... Samuel will be going to nursery soon.. I may send him to church kindy nearby or MMI in jurong.

mum2b,

the flashcard is electronic version in memorymagic.. flash on screen so of course its part of the cd
Think I got it at $20 2nd hand... but that was ages ago leh... i cant remember all the prices of most things anymore... I had been telling my hb i shd keep inventory list so that next time resale easier... but i lazy lah...

the monkeybar in the hdb flat outdoor gym hor... most of them like too high leh! I cant even lift my bb high enough to reach the bar! And I always worry abt the safety issue of the bb hanging so high... they are good when our children are much older.

re: babycare

btw, I just came back from the bbcare.. nothing much as usual. Hmm but I bought some babysafe pillow etc...

Poohy:
haha i always catch firworks one since fireworks festival in 2003. lol
this firworks is to celebrate CNY along with river angbao located at marina there.

The Singapore River Hongbao 2007 will be held from the 16 Feb to 4 March.
Below is the schedule of the firework displays for seven days:
>
> 16 Feb (Fri) - Opening Ceremony
> 9:15 to 9:30 p.m.
> Duration of Fireworks : 3 mins
>
> 17 Feb (Sat) Eve of CNY
> 9:00 p.m.
> Duration : 5- 8 mins
>
> 18 Feb (Sun) - 1st Day of CNY
> Time: 9:00 p.m.
> Duration: 5- 8 mins
>
> 19 Feb (Mon) - 2nd Day of CNY
> 9:00 p.m.
>
> 24 Feb (Sat)
>
> 25 Feb (Sun)
>
> 4 Mar (Sun) - 15th day of CNY

After tis round of fireworks, we hv to wait til fireworks festival to celebrate NDP liao.

Usually i wil climb up the benjamin shearas bridge. however w my ger now, think wil hang around esplanade bah. Hey next time i see u at jurong pt, will say hello to you!

poohy:
no problem

Regarding bbcare festival, got any free goodies? hehe i m interested in buying e bbsafe pillow. Until now, my ger is not slping on any pillow. When is e best time for them to use it?

kite,
how you squeeze amongst the crowd with a baby? i used to catch them when me and hb just the 2 of us. the last one was when preggie,almost didnt go but for memory sake.manage to get seat at nicole bridge planter box.with a baby cannot imagine. then after that the jam to get home. this cny we watch fireworks at kulai, a village in johor where my hb grandparents stay. since in village, they just play firecrackers and fireworks, the sky lit up and very loud entire night.woke up my boy and we watch outside the house, he wince and close eyes when the fireworks lit up sky cause so near look like will fall down on us.when got too loud, pil carried him indoors, then i ran towards him excited with the camera and he shouted out ma ma!! like trying to ask me come quick to safety before fireworks get to me. that was the first time i knew then he knew what ma ma meant. all the time i wasnt sure..

i am back....

fair - really nothing much. esp for our kids age. :p came out empty handed... only a bag full or papers!! hahahah :p

kite,
I think this news is fake rite? I was so angry being cheated cos i brought my boy to marina near esplanade on eve on cny to standby at 9pm, nothing happened! i've received this news from a email chain, i was so pissed!

MTDT,
Re : suntac babyfair

What do they have at the fair? thought of going there tomorrow evening... joined the HSBC's baby competition but no news, guess not selected. Really nothing good to buy?

kite,

got a goody bag but nothing much wan lah... for the pillow... it really depends. My boy dun used to like to sleep on pillows.. I bought bbsafe newborn pillow... he slept on cos no choice at that time he cant flip yet... then the bbsafe infant pillow (those flat piece)... I always find his head some how fall outside the pillow... plus he sleep can turn 360degrees. Recently he likes to sleep on his pillow more thus I bought the kid's pillow to let him try. J dun sleep on pillow also.. I think I will let her try Samuel's infant pillow..
hope she will use and my money wont be wasted

Fi:
2nd day of cny, we watched e fireworks inside the car. Tis sunday wil bring chloe out cos gg to bbcare festival at suntec.

serene:
huh? e info is fake?? how can it be??did u try to reach b4 9pm? cos sometimes they wil shoot 5 mins earlier.

cannot concentrate at work after what happen. can't wait to go off.boss really dont clarify with his staff when dispute happen, he acts like a staff, not as a boss, happen many times. haven seen JZ for 5 days,have to see his pic in handphone instead.in jb he has to see our wedding picture in our bedroom instead.mil say mama, papa and he know its the wedding picture.

Fi:
JZ so cute. u must hv missed him alot alot.

Btw chloe fell off from the bed last nite. My fault as after i nursed her, she dun want to slp, want to play. Then dunno y i dozed off so easily (usually not e case), maybe too tired. Blame myself for not taking gd care of her

Btw she cried less than 30secs n stop immediately when i picked her up.

kite,
oh no..hope chloe is ok. ya have to put back to baby cot after latch on at night.so sleepy sometimes i can't remember myself if i wake up to latch.

in kl, i put him on spring mattress on floor for afternoon nap and i went downstairs. heard him crying by the time i race upstairs he was crawling towards the door. dont think he fell at the edge cause my sis next door (they though i was in the room so ignore his cries) says his cry was just consistent, not in pain. so i put him on bed again to see how he crawl out from the bed, this time he roll over the edge and knock the head! this bad mommy ask him to demo, so he cry pain pain...