(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

thread slow today, everyone busy?
i read this book about stages of motherhood according to child's age. seems that the pull to be SAHM will be there constantly till teen years.there's a case where it talked about preteen yrs 10-12 yr old when the mother asked how's school but will only get one word answer each time. 'fine' or 'ok' hence the pressure to spend more time with them to juggle being a pal, when to set boundaries, etc..

so today i saw a group of 9-11yr old boys who ran into the food outlet, drenched from the rain in their PE wear then tucked into their sumptious western food lunch, looked like they had an adventure of some sort.it makes me think of my boy and if he would share with me stories about how his day went when he grow up....

Hi Fi
i am full time student with scholarship. Reason i fly so often is my hubby and i used to fly very often on company business trip so we accumulate a lof of miles points...every time we go back. just redeem and pay the airport tax. So far..i travel with SQ only..

For air asia..i m not sure ler, for SQ, they provide me u an extra belt for baby and u have to fasten baby with u..the crew will help u, so dun worry. Once the flight fly they will give u an bassinet and u can put ur baby in the bassinet..the flight from sg to penang is abt 1 hr ++ so i seldom but her in the bassinet ..i carry her all the way aswhenever there is any air turbulance, the basineet is quite shakey...look unsafe to me..

i think u gotto inform the airline that u are tarvelling with baby so that they will reserved the first row for u..hope thsi help..

Fi: Michele, 1 L...
yes i'm a sahm... not hard to guess rite.. so free write recipe, organie sprees & all... heehee!!
starting from now even make purees for other babies.. yah lor... that free!! Hub nag, say we buy all the organic fruits/veg, so ex... must make them pay... heehee!!
hmmm... here very diff environment cos the tw here very kpo & always give me their opinions BUT i jus brush them aside saying i'm "wai guo ren" (foreigner), we bring our son up the western way? we don't bundle the baby up like dumpling for sure when we take him out unless it's freezing cold... still not like dumpling.

Shell: those on sale no size... SIGH!! me also no income woh...

Cookiemz: GRrrrr... cold!! these couple of days.. freezing cold, like 9 degrees cos got "han liu"...

tinklebell,

i bought a tube of Medela PureLan, only use twice. No need to clean off when bfg. Dun think i will need it anymore since Joshua is now on 100%EBM. Do u want it?

Wen/lyn,

Joshua also refuses the bottle initially. But I have no choice since he is going to infantcare and I won't be around to nurse him.

Just to share what we did with him:
Firstly, for the initial period, u should try to get someone else to feed.

Secondly, make sure the bb is in a comfortable position. I read somewhere you may want to lift the bb higher. My hubby did a lousy job intially and joshua fusses a lot cos he keeps slipping down. My mum-in-law managed to hold him firmly in place and he was much more cooperative. Btw, i read from the NUK website that sippy cups are meant for sips not milk drinking hence the flow is not continuous (may frustrate your babies even more).

Thirdly, check the bottle teat. Sometimes if it's too soft or milk flow is too slow, bbs get impatient. Joshua used to take only NUK latex teats but it's difficult to drink as he gets older and tends to bite and pull. Now i switched him to the silicon ones.

Lastly, mummy must be resolute about bottlefeeding. I used to give in when he cries. Then 2 weeks before he starts "school", i simply refused. In fact, i gave him the bottle (with my mum-in-law nearby to take over in case). He stared wide-eyed at me, but still drinks in the end.

I made sweet potato & rice puree today!!!

Sticky Sweet Potato

1) 1 tablespoon rice
2) 1 sweet potato
3) 30ml milk
4) 30ml water

Blend them all together.
618602.jpg

Voila!!! there u have it... Sticky Sweet Potato..

618603.jpg

Bon Appetit!!

shell,
thanks for travel tip.

michelle,
dumpling?yr expression very funny.who u make purees for? for sale?that's another good venture, never heard of that. what kind of rice u use to blend. cook already or powdered blended earlier? normal rice that we eat? sweet potato have to boil first? how the end product taste, u try?

so envious u've the opportunity to try such experiments. who takes care of brendan while u do all these in the kitchen?

Fi, michele not michelle!! for sale... pls.. for friends, if u're here, i'll make them for u too... for FREE!! tats why hub nag nag nag...

the rice that i eat.. steam sweet potato on top of the rice when u cooking rice... the end product, pretty yummy, not too sweet cos of the water added.

tomorrow i make bananas & apples puree...

Shell,
Are you from Penang?? I was born in Penang
I have relatives there, but haven't been back since gave birth to Aloysius. Enjoy your trip back to Penang.

Fi,
Oh.. you are from Penang too ah... Dun worry.. On the flight, the air stewardess will assist you regarding baby's seat belt. It's a safety regulation.
Oh... your sisters are biz builders with Nuskin ah... HOw long have they been withNuskin?? They have good skin care products...
hmm.. if want our kids to talk to us and share their day with us, gotta be rather close oo...

michele,
Wah.. you have very good heart... make puree for other babies as well...

Lok,
Oh... it gonna be a struggle initially ah... haiz... I still cannot bear to struggle with Aloysius
And nowadays, he cries very loud and got tears kind...

Michele,
Did you feed all the puree?? Looks a lot as compared to what I feed...

shell,
my parents stay at tanjung bungah.we hokkien lang, also pai thee kong..
you? or is it your hubby from penang? my hb from jb.

michele,
oopsss...sorry! must read properly...u'll make for me? yeah..so nice of you, i go find u in taiwan. ha ha...i'll like stock cubes, but must wait till weekend to try. but my brother in law and sister stays in taiwan though, so may visit some day

lyn,

yes it will be a struggle. In fact, we took abt a month. There was no hurry then and i think that's partially why it failed. Babies are smart. Then we decided to be hard-hearted and he just gave in.

lyn/Fi
yaa..hubby and i born and grow up in penang..but no the island- is mainland-tua sua ka...small town ar..

yaya..i cant wait until 28 Dec..flying back to pg to meet my family and frens. And also..celebrating my bday..ehhe..

Michele
Ha..u are always funny and happy. Happy go lucky..i know a fren in Pg, also like u..always happy and funny..whenever she go, ppl tot she is only 21-22..in fact her son is almost 3 yrs old liao...

Shell,
Ooo... "Tua sua ka" ah... secarly our parents know one another... lol... I was born in Penang, and raised up is "tua sua ka" till kindergarten.
I always go to "nan mei yuan" for breakfast... kekeke... Or "Bee garden" for dinner.
Happy Birthday to you...

geeezzz..i was born and stayed in B garden until 10 then move to nan mei yen until now...hehee..tau sua ka si not tua..very small..maybe my parent or my PIL know ur parent...

shell: what happened to ur picture?

fi: as u can see from teh pciture the 1st one.. was blending from the floor... hahah!! Bren was in his highchair looking at me...

chk with u all something..my ger for the past 1 week keep waking up n cry at night suddenly.her slight movement will cause her to wake up.when she cry,her eyes are closed n no matter how we call her name or watever,she wun open till awhile later.this can happen like 2x anite?now me panda eye liao..haiz..pat her oso no use..then i gota nurse her to sleep...like tt how to wean..headache..

lyn,

me just started trying to wean her off breast but will still continue to pump.anyway my suppl drop alot now..after 12hrs then will feel engorged so better to wean her 1st..but hor,vv difficult.at nite,most of the time,i usually give in in the end coz its getting late like ard 11pm+..etc..gota try harder...

mum2b

ur bb like carrot har?chk with u har,aft eating carrot,will ur bb want to poo n the poo can see those bits of carrot?thot my bb cant digest when saw those..

Mum2B,
I also hv the pigeon mag mag sippy cup. well, instead of letting it go to waste, i'll go get the straw lid and let my boy practice drinking using the straw! lol
i'll probably start him wif a cup directly too. :)

Fi,
Haha.. as for me, now i keep having my coffee in front of my boy coz he watches me like a hawk whenever I drink or eat! Hopefully this will help in training him to handle the cup properly. kekeke...

Lyn,
M using the B-free bottles and bought the plastic spouts for the bottles. Dun hv anti spill valve leh, so dat means money down the drain for me liao. :-(

Dal: then u must also use a sippy cup to drink ur kopi... he watching u like a hawk... he;ll learn from u!! cos today i fed my son sweet potato & i also had to do the chewing action and after awhile he did it too...

hi there girls. just when i decided to join the forum, all the work pile up on me! haven't been checking the posts for the past week or so! to all those who welcomed me, thanks thanks!

i've been trying to wean as well! but hor, i very fickle. when ss drop, i want it to go up, when it's up, i want it to go down..so ding dong here and there, i still exceeding dd everyday. sigh..i think i'm going to try pork liver. i had steamboat at my place once and everyone was dipping the liver into the soup to cook it. i didn't even eat the liver, just drink one small bowl of soup, the next day immediately drop by one third. maybe for those trying to wean, can try gorging yourself with pork liver. also, the aunties tell me that haw flakes work very well. think i going to try all these. if not, will just go ask my gynae for the magic pills!

by the way, do your babies sweat alot on the head ah? my boy's head always tam tam one! when feed him milk, after that pillow will be very wet wan. is it normal ah?

Michele,
Haha... nah, i use my usual cup coz he has this plastic single-handle cup given by a fren. Then i hold the cup wif 2 hands lor. keke..
Yeah, think i made a mistake by drinking soup directly from the bowl in front of my boy several times. Today when i fed him cereal, he kept wanting to put his mouth on the side of the bowl.
619052.gif

chrysalid,
Yep yep, my boy too! I asked my PD and he said some babies perspire more and others less. Now their body system not fully developed/ matured so only after 18mths then can tell. I asked coz i worried my boy may have sweaty palms. :)

lyn,

the avent magic cup, can remove the plastic valve. once removed, the water flow freely out of the sprout when turn upside down.

Took my boi for his last 6-in-1 jab on saturday. He developed a fever at 2am. From then till 4+am refused to sleep. alternating playing and sayanging him.

Introduced rice cereal to him on sunday. He took only a few spoonfuls, haha
most of it he pushed out of his mouth. Today tried again, wow
he finished all his rice cereal. My mum was helping me to prepare his 2nd meal today, when I carried him into the living room, he made noise. Once I stepped back into the kitchen, he kept quiet. I did that 3x, and the same thing happened!!
haha seems as if he knows his food is being prepared in the kitchen!!

chrysalid,
Yes... I read in a book on haw flakes (san za) can reduce milk supply

My boy also sweats quite a lot. He will sweat when it's hot...

Dal,
Wah.. your boy so smart...
I also have a straw type of sippy cup. But Aloysius dunno how to suck yet wor... so now still in the storeroom...
Oh.. You are using B-free bottles ah... I am using the Aprica Dr Brown ones. I cannot find the spout. Where do you get the spout for the bottles?? Do they have handles as well?? I prefer the tinted Dr. Brown bottles. It's a different type of plastic which is supposedly better. I tried using the Avent spout, but it leaks...

angeline,
We are facing the same challenge...
Aloysius will wake up a few times a nite. Gotta nurse him to sleep. Last nite, he woke up many many times to drink milk. Then, just now when I apply lotion on him, his thighs seems to have grown overnite...

sunflower,
I took out the valve also to try... I am wondering if the water flow is too fast...
Later gonna try making FM to replace one feed.
Your boy is so smart... knows that his food is prepared in the kitchen...

lyn,

ya, I also worried that he will choke as the water flow very fast. I took out the valve yesterday to let him try drink milk mixed with a little bit of rice cereal, so its very watery. not successful as he will try to bit the sprout instead. Guess he was very hungry at that time, after he finished eating, 180degree change! smiled so happily and played with his toys

sunflower,
You staying in the north side huh? West side also raining heavily. Last nite, when bringing my son home from my mum's place, it was raining so heavily! The rain never stop and my window seems to leak, the rain came in even i close it tight, maybe have to call up town council for a check!

Your boy so smart, knows where the food comes from.
Frankly, at beginning when he eats only a few spoonful or rather the food came out of his mouth, does not mean that he doesn't like it. it just the normal reaction he has for 1st time solid food, they call it the tongue reflect i think. the more you feed him, the more he used to it and eat nicely. Now my son, will chew and swallow and b4 we bring the spoon to him, he open his mouth wide waiting...so fast! so cute!

missk,

I'm leaving on 30 Dec. Now i'm abit worried of the wet weather... I pray up that this wet weather will not last too long, if not, worried the danger of driving up the hill....Now with my boy, there's lots of considerations, so became less adventours, no choice. Everything, think about him 1st.

shell and lyn,
ha..looks like yr parents might know each other.i grow up on the island. only came to spore when 21.

michelle,
my sis stays at tao yuan, with my 2 small niece.she married a taiwanese.which part of taiwan u stay? u're sporean? yr hubby? my bro in law studies at a uni in taipei, we might go visit him next yr for his graduation. is anyone helping u take care of brendan at home?

angeline,
there was a few times my boy wakes up suddenly and cry and cry real terrible. no matter how i soothe him, rock, latch etc didnt work for very long till i panic.in the end found out the tactic is to carry him upright and really wake him up by show him toy or other interesting thing and talk loudly and playfully like he's awake. then only he open eyes and realise he's awake. u can try that but all babies are different though, so its no fast rule.

dal,
my boy eyes me like a hawk too when i drink from my water bottle and he's quite amazed by my blue bottle.think i should drink from sippy cup to show him? now i've to act like baby?

chrysalid,
welcome..i must have missed yr joining us when i was away. yikes...did u say pork liver to wean? i've been having pork liver quite often, in fact last night just had it and i'm still TBF. i thought it was for opposite purpose..confuse..

sunflower,
i'm also amazed how much my boy has developed and know a lot of things. now i can't get away treating him like a baby, have to talk to him like he's real know it all kind of person.

lyn,
u sure? lotion makes thigh grow?
hee hee...
my blog is still in process. i saw how u wrote yrs last time so i'm determine to write something for remembrance too, but always no time at home.last night wanted to stay up to it but by the time my boy slept was very late. but will sure share with u all when i'm ready.

ya i've 3 sisters building the nuskin business. one has a 7 yr old girl and just became a blue diamond in 3 yrs and now is training beauticians, which makes her to possibly SAHM! the other is preggie and her income from there exceeds her previous job so she can be a SAHM too. another sister is still in uni, earning enough pocket money as beautician.they took yrs to convince one another.i'm also feeling the pressuring need to be SAHM cause mil's not getting younger,having joint problems and i feel my boy is growing up so fast i can hardly keep up. if any of u have similar pursuit, do pm me...

serene I understand. Yah, must be very very careful. Monitor the weather bah

Fi, wow ..building nuskin. What's that all about? Sounds interesting!

Fi: michele...
me in Taipei, my hub tw, me sg. we have 2 healpers that come to help out BUT basically jus to do housework & cook for me. taking care of Bren is my job... am sick these couple of days cos of the dreadful weather...

Dal: see... they learn from their mas....

chrysalid: my son sweats alot too!!

lyn
ur parent must be very young then..can go to jit sin high school..
my PIL never go to high school, so do my mum. My dad had his schooling in BKK but never finish his high school also. Came back to msia when he was 18 yrs old

Mich
here's the pic

Its me and my darling

619416.jpg

shell,
wow..correct me if i'm wrong but i think u're the 1st mummy to post yr own pic here
yr girl just look as beautiful as ever. what do you study?