(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Michele,
Just got a call from your fren. Just want to thank you for helping! But timing not right so I had to pass lor. Think I will get bb something 2mr at Orchard. Cheers!

wen: mustela...over the counter remedy but i havent tried... my friend uses it for rash. u're most welcome! u dun have msn do u?

hi FJ,
instead of plain porridge, perhaps you/ ur mum can try adding abit of fish/ vege/ carrot, etc so that the porridge is not so blend.
i fed my boy porridge w fish last wk, added some fish (which i hv seasoned with alittle little salt) and add to cooked porridge... i used the slow cooker to cook.. so porridge is smooth and fine.

on btw any mummie brought yr bb to BKK before? hmm my hb & i hv booked tix to BKK in jan and we are planning to bring bb along. only fear is dunno whether he can take plane?! cos so far we only brought him out to m'sia (KL, desaru only).

can share your experience and any tips when bringing bb overseas?

duffy, wow ..porridge withfish. Can u share how to do it step by step? Me an idiot at cooking. Oh, I brought my son to Phuket in Oct. What do want to know abt bringing bb overseas? I will be most willing to help if I can

Me selling my original sets of Glenn Doman English and Chinese reading Kits. @ $220 per set . Interested pls PM me. Thanks

Wen,
Re: Sippy cup
U mean Gabby can drink direct from cup now? Then r u planning on letting her drink milk direct from the cup as well??
I'm also confused abt tis sippy cup thingy. Dunno whether to intro to bb or not. Seems like dun really teach bb how to drink fm a real cup, in terms of the drinking technique and not cup holding. M i missing out on smthg here?

Any other mummy can advice on tis?

hi missk,
for fish porridge, my mum bot the fish so i din really ask her what fish. anyway we clean the fish & slightly seasoned w a little salt. meanwhile, boil rice using slow cooker. at least 1-2 hrs is required so to have smooth and fine texture. when u see porrigde is done, add in the fish but remember to wash the fish again so that it won't be too salty. and make sure no bone.

after u place the fish in (fish shld be cut into small pcs). after a while, check if fish is cook. if so, using a spoon to 'smash' the fish so that it's even smaller pcs.

then cook for a while more then it's done. in fact i din really take not of time it take to cook.
heehee

oh talking abt bringing overseas.. how do u sterilise the bottles? during my last trip to KLm we stayed in svs apt so we hv big pot that we cld use for sterilising. i used the sterilise tablet.
but if we go bkk, we'll be staying in hotel so how?

mich,

Ya, I understand that eventually your boy will have to drop 1 citizenship. But hving dual citizenship when he's young save you the concern over when he shld study.

Like is my boy gets pr, he will most prob study in aust already. Since I dun think he will be able to study in sch (example pri sch for 6 yrs) and to fulfil his requirement of the pr (stay in aust 2 out of 5 yrs).

And I guess all my other kids will be born in aust. At least then with the dual citizenship, they can choose to study in aust or singapore.

But of cos hving both sg anf tw citizenship is not really that fantastic since he have to go thru army twice. I dunno whether the holes in his heart will exempt him from army. Since by the time he's adult, the holes would have already close up and he's definitely as healthy as anyone else.

I went vivocity zara to take a look at the winter wear for kids. I saw some reasonable price jacket (abt 50 - 60 plus) and they are soooo nice. Thinking to tahan until the year end sales before I go grab it.

re: sippy cup
now i know wat i m missing...
http://jada.ada.org/cgi/content/full/135/3/387?ck=nck

"The best training cup for your child is one with no valve. Stores offer a large and often confusing variety of training cups (also called "sippy cups" or "tippy cups"). Many if not most of these are "no-spill" cupsnothing more than baby bottles in disguise. "No-spill" cups include a valve beneath the spout, which does stop spills. However, cups with valves do not allow your child to sip. The only way your child can get liquid from a cup with a valve is by sucking (as from a baby bottle). This defeats the purpose, as it prevents your child from learning to sip.

When shopping for a training cup, avoid those that have no-spill valves. A useful training cup will have a snap-on or screw-on lid with a spout. If you can find a cup with two handles, that may be best. A useful cup also may be self-righting, with a weighted base that pulls the cup upright when it tips, keeping spills to a minimum."

As for why I like perth, I think it really depends on individual. I had a fren who nearly died of boredom in pukhet since all she saw were sea n sand. She was soooo glad to be back in bkk. For me and hb, we stayed in tasmania for quite a period n I believe no where else is as boring as taz. Perth is not as bad as taz but also not as busy as the big cities. My hb said if we wanted busy cities, might as well just stayed in sg.

Hidora: they have zara kids in s'pore... my fren told me they don't have... :_( should have walked into teh zara at vivo. we went to the one at taka... SIGH!!

the hole closed up liao (surgery) BUT still can get away with tw's military. tw's military is kinda laid back.

tazzy boring BUT i like the seafood there... i'll go visit u in perth...

mich,

Good that your boy can siam tw's army. I think it's supposed to be more siong than sg's one?

Taka one dun hv kids' range? Luckily you tell me, else I may hv gone there during the sales.

Heh, yup, the seafood is gd in taz. You ate at Mures? I'll let you know when I finally arrive in perth then. ;p

duffybuff

me too.jus fed my ger 'ngoh he' today..shes ok wif it.i am so scare to feed her the fish coz scare i didn remove the fishbone properly.hehe..i got phobia of eating fish coz seen my mum choke on it b4 when i was young..the porridge smell nice..but the fish abit hard coz i add too early liao..

duffy, thanks for the recipe.

Re:eek:verseas
Yah. I think you still can bring a pot there to sterilise. I bf so it's not so bad lor. I think there should be some space to sterilise in the hotel room. Btw, where are you staying?

hidora,
I prefer to stay in a city :p So decided to stay in Singapore... ;) When I was in the UK, I travel to London almost every 2 weeks.

dal,
Thanks for the information. It sounds logical though. hmm... think I better change Aloysiu's sippy cup already.

Wen,
I am trying to wean Aloysius off the breasts too
If you have any ideas or tips, do share with me ok?? Thank you
I have tried to pump, and I felt engorged and have leaking breasts
I think I am not going to pump anymore. It gives me lumps too. I just bought a can of FM yesterday. Yesterday, fed Aloysius with EBM in a sippy cup, and he cried so hard with tears. I think he felt cheated
He cried so hard till I latch him on. Whenever the sippy cup touched his lips, he wailed...
Have you tried feeding Gabby EBM??

michele,
hmm... thank you for the recommendation. I am lazy to organise BP. I also dun really like to join BP :p. I bought polo tee, and it's taking so long to come
. For other BP, I gotta arrange to go and pick up, and I find it so troublesome. So if I can get something from some shopping centers, I rather buy from shopping centers.

angeline,
Have you thought of weaning your gal off the breasts?? Any tips to share on how to do that??

missk,
Oh... Thank you for the recommendations. Aiya... If I read your post this morning, I would have got some. I saw some Earth Bests brand jar food at Cold Storage at Holland V
They are high up the shelf, so did not bother to take and see...

vivi,
You thought of migrating to Canada ah... Which part?? Last time, I thought of migrating too. But after going to the UK for a few years, I prefer Singapore

mum2B,
Aloysius drinks water from sippy cup. I think babies need to suck quite hard. I tried before... :p
Some NTUC has sea salt. I think I paid around $3.50 for a small pack.
Tasted but not eat means just give him a big piece of the fruit and he only suck and taste with his tongue. I will give brown rice cereal. But I have not started on cereals. Now only mashed pumpkin, sweet potato, avocado, potato...

Wen,
hmm... No need paiseh la... I got health challenges before, so I tend to be more KS when it comes to health
Nowadays, not many people will really or have the desire to take good care of health, unless those who met health challenges... Mostly only say say, but no actions kind. I think you are very good already

hmm... I had fibroids and endo before, so my gynae adviced not to take evening primrose oil...
How many times do you need to feed Gabby at night?? Will you be changing the sippy cup to those simple spout?? I have a Avent non-spill, and thinking of changing that.

lyn,
U r welcome. :) Me too, bought the spout for Jez's bottle and tried it myself - does require some effort in sucking. I may skip the sippy cup stage and teach Jez how to use a cup directly, but probably later when he's 7-8mths old.

lyn, oh cold storageat HV sells issit. Duffy, did u hear that? U can buy the jars there!

Lyn, I so excited. I bot carrots and squash. lol

hello mummies
Good morning
reading all the reply here... make my day

re: weaning
err...very "xing gu"..i m going thru the path right now. Stop pumping since last thursday and til today still pain, the pain was max on the 2nd and 3rd day..wah..sleeping also can feel the pain..burning..burning..burning. i put cold cabbage, forzen cabbage, warm towel..ice towel.....doesnt help much lor, tips from my mum, put "mo li hua" sometime also call "indian flower", better. I starts to use it since yesterday and today seem to be better. My mum said this will drag for 4-5 days...depands on individual..so good luck to those planning to weaning...

re: stopping bf/pumping

mommies, i need advise pls. been trying to reduce milk supply to stop bf for the past 2 weeks, but not successful yet. almost everyday got engorgement and blocked duct, sooo painful! in the other hand, if i pump till breast soft, i feel good, no engorgement, but supply up, so defeats the purpose. can anyobody advise the step by step to reduce supply till zero?

lyn,
so u give veggie w/ EBM only? i always mix w/ rice cereal, thinking that she needs carbo at this stage. my bb likes carrot a lot, now on pumpkin but only so-so
will try bean tomorrow.

wen,dal,
so what's the most suitable sippy cup then, if w/o valve? i use pigeon mag mag (from friend's gift), not exactly spill-free but the spout is so soft, i also feel it's like a teat in disguise. no use hor?
hmm.. maybe should just into normal cup?

morning mummies...
its monday cant get into the mood.woke up late so came in late some more...

michelle,
when need to do taiwan's ns? before 18 yrs old? my boy malaysian, didnt get spore pr for him cause one of the reason also i was afraid he had to do dual NS from both countries. and also heard that once do spore NS have to change to become sporean, still dont know how true that is. that's why i apply special extended permit for him, renewable every yr till 21 yrs old.

really thanks for the stock recipe.i'll pm u for more...
i was at wits end over the bovril episode. if i prepare frozen cube stocks will be better than bovril i think...

what shoes are u all ordering? my boy on walker a lot and usually he only wear those baby cloth type. what's good to promote walking?

wen,
i get my lifepak prenatal from US, my sister orders it in bulk for her other friends. i can get for u if u want, pm me
i also kiasu take additional DHA supplement..

duffbuff,
how old is your baby? thought fish is advance food, your baby ok with it? won't it still be a little coarse texture even though smash up?

dal,
thanks for sippy cup info.i bought avent cup and those non spill valve cost quite a bit compare to non-valve. looks like i'll try removing them. so far, he dont know how to use sippy cup too. i tried letting him drink from a cup but he'll grab the entire thing violently, i'm afrain i'll spill it into his nose or mouth

lyn,
how long have u tried pumping? cause i remembered when i transition to go back to work, hence start pumping, i took quite a while to get the hang of pumping too.it was difficult to get the milk out, it'll come in drops very taxing to pump, so do hang in there, it'll get better. even before i went full swing to pump at office, i would go out once in a while away from baby during feeding time (can get some free time myself too, was usually to spend time with hubby) so mil gives bottle and i pump before i go out of after. its easier to give him bottle when i wasnt at home that time.

Hi Good Morning!!!

Busy during weekend shopping for Christmas presents! So many pp at Toys r us!

So many mummies trying to wean liao... i donno when i will do that... prob in a few mths' time? Fiona has 2 teeth on her lower gums now and my Ns hurt cos she tends to bite them... further nursing really hurts a lot but i still cont to let her nurse cos she doesnt drink v much fr the bottle
Is there any cream anyone can recommend to apply to sooth the Ns?

tinklebell,
i've same problem as u.my boy also has 2 teeth and tends to bite. so once bite, i stop latch and assume he has finish and full that's why bite, and that can be very fast only 4-5 min each side. dont know if that's good cause he tend to drink less from bottle too. further nursing also sores the Ns but i thought its because i wasnt used to it after my 8 day break from latching during holiday.u mean its because of his teeth?

missk,
Lasinoh can be consumed by baby or not?how to apply?

duffbuff,
for my overseas trip, i brought along a hard casing cooler box. it can double up to contain water for sterilizing and bring back EBM if situation allows (in which case will need to bring along ice gel)and store my skin care/toilettries/make up which i find normally will leak out, so the hard casing help when packing.can also squeeze into my trolley luggage.

Morning Mommies...

have a couple of Qs. this morning...

fed Brendan bb rice yesterday. seems to like it... today continue with the bb rice... 2moro too.

1) babies only swallow like 1/4 of the rice?
2) my son cough n spit out after feeding, normal? how?

my hub suggested that i write my own recipes for Bren... so here i am conjuring uo my own recipes, if anyone is interested, i'll email u a copy... [email protected]

FI: was it u who email me? priscilla_lanny?? do NS at 18... ask them before u decide whether to give him dual citizenship or not... michele, 1 L..

michelle,
are you going to start your own receipe book/collection?
will be a good idea..no leh its not me, now then going to pm u for stock recipe.

how long can the self made stock cubes last in freezer? it'll be the same as baby eating overnight food isnt it? but to me, its either that or bovril cause dont want to burden mil with too many steps to prepare food either.

what's jack and lily like? saw those leathery type, the shape can contour and soft, looks comfortable, at Vivo city. what do you all think of that?

Fi: what brand are those shoes u saw? www.jackandlily.com michele, one L!!! ;-)
my little booklet... nothing great!! last 2 weeks... no lah, not overnite food thingy... NO BOVRIL pls... too young for that, wanna eat bovril, might as well make ur own beef stock... now i conjuring that up too but i only intend to intro beef @ 8 mths.

morning!!

It's going to be xmas soon.. can't wait for the hoildays..

check with u gals whether u have started letting ur bb to watch educational vcd??? i haven't, but was thinking to let him watch at abt 9mths when he is starting to learn to talk, i hope.. any vcd to recommend?? Any idea whether vcd "bb can read" is good? any lobang to buy cheaper ones cos these vcd seems very ex.

Good Mrng...

mummies, can i know what u using the bb cleanse?..
i have been using organic bb wash for my boy when he is 1 to 3 mths then switch to mustela, and now the physiogel recommend by pd. say it help to get rid of rashes, now i wanna change cos it difficult to get it in the market.

can share what food is convenient to bring out as meal when going out? cause i saw when babies go out, they tend to eat outside adult food-noodle/rice/porridge. think its better to bring baby jar food rather then these adult food? but jar food cannot finish, so i finish up for them as my meal too? so end up i've to eat baby food...

Fi, i also dunno can be consumed by the baby or not. In the past, I applied straight after bfg.

WEn, no problem at all

Fi,
Yes i heard of nuskin products but did't know they have bb products too. however also quite difficult to get in the market. Is it good? R u a nuskin member cos got dis or points something like that.

dal,
This morning, I tried to remove the anti-spill piece of thing in the sippy cup, and tested it myself. It's easier to suck. I might try to remove that first...

missk,
Wah... you gonna steam and mash carrots and squash today?? kekeke.. very fun hor?? Enjoy...

Shell,
Have you been pumping all along?? If you wanna stop immediately, my mum said gotta boil lemongrass drink. It will stop within 2 days.

mum2B,
Maybe you can try lemongrass drink. Boil and drink. I never try though, but my mum's friend said it's effective to stop breastmilk production. I wanna wean off gradually, so will not be using this method...
I read that to reduce engorgement, just let baby suck for 15 seconds. Not more than 30 seconds.
I tried pumping and I got big lumps and engorgement
Now, I stopped pumping already. Last time, when I did not pump, even when I get engorgement, it's not so painful and will not get big lumps. Now is worse... and plus leaking breasts...
Which type of beans are you trying?? I dunno which type...

Fi,
I started to pump again last week. I think I will not pump already... I wanna wean off... Bought a tin of FM already
Gonna try FM to replace latching on.

tinklebell,
I think the best "cream" to sooth the Ns will be breastmilk...
I went to Toy'rus too.. Very crowded.
Aloysius started to bite me hard and pull again since Saturday

Michele,
Brendan is probably learning how to swallow now. It's normal.

Wen,
I have a feeling that Aloysius felt cheated when my hubby fed him EBM in his sippy cup. He cried so loud and with tears.
This morning, was so busy... So havent started making FM to feed.

Fi,
I also eat baby food.. lol... Cos I will finish the rest...

lyn,

lemongrass drink effective ah? my colleague ate alot of pig liver to reduce her milk production, also effective, but it's more gradual. i stopped latching on 2 months back and reduced my pumping sessions.. now only pump once in 2-3 days and hopefully next week no more production.

mich
haii...me no income...so cannot simply simply spent...i want fast fast graduate .....then earn my own $

lyn
me used to pump 3x at office..2 months ago cut to 2x and last month 1x..stil kena ergoge..

lemongrass?? maybe i shud try on next baby..hehe..today no more pain but the breast still hard like stone..hopefully will be back to normal by end of this week....flying back to penang next week..dont want to bring 2 stone back with me

shell,
may i know what u do, studying but can still fly around? my home town also penang.which airline u use. i always use air asia, will be bringing back baby first time for CNY next year.was wondering how do i carry baby on plane, strap seatbelt over him as well? or there's special baby carrier seat? sound like silly question...

lyn,
u're weaning off? one less comrade in BF game..

keline,
can get from their showcase at parkmall.my sisters are serious business builders while i'm more of a user, you can PM me for details