(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

kite,
I am toying with the idea of gradually stoppping BF now already. Haha, been thinking of applying cold cabbage leaves every nite before sleeping. Then I tink gradually will stop? But might take some time bah....prob might stretch up to 2 weeks or 1 mth before ur milk totally stops?
I also feel like BF is a "tortuse"...haha, really wanna give up liowz....mentally n physically jin tired oledi. *sigh*

Celesteblur:
HIFI!!!

Me too i thinking of weaning BF soon but slowly so that Dec wil stop hehe. but i cant seems to stop milk flow. maybe pump shorter n lesser in amount?
Cabbage wont stop milk flow at all. Mrs wong told me just pump lesser n shorter in time.

me too Torture leh esp since i started work. so tiring. I want to hv more time to spend w my ger instead of Bfing! Last long wkend, really happy to spend so much time w her

celestblur,
ya that's the disadvantage of hiring nannies.come back still must do all yourself.actually my mil do a lot for us - laundry,home cook dinner and when evening still keep an on my boy if we need to shower or go downstairs to buy things/quick pak thor

spicegal,
ya my boy very fair.now baby fair cute,when grow up if still fair will be 'pek cham ke' white chicken so he'll have to go suntan.

peng,
i think there's another mummy going to japan.maybe on tour?

kite,
ya my boy will cry if take away something that he wants to eat, so have to distract him with something else.

Fi,
Really gotta try to arrange something that you and your MIL will be happy with...

For me, it's my mum helping me... She will go back to JB on Friday nite and back on Monday morning..

Yalor... If think on the bright side, you will feel happier. Your PIL dotes on your son
and he has two more people to care for him eagerly...

kite,
My boy also likes to go out. And he wanna look at things and people...
hee... yesterday went out for dinner with my parents and my MIL... hahaha... me and my hubby can eat togather. Cos the 3 grandparents take turns to carry him to walk around the food court...

I am now thinking of how to wean off breastfeeding cos I might leave baby and go to UK in Dec for a week... a bit "bu she de"...
I was thinking slowly wean off from latching, then introduce bottle with breastmilk.. then introduce mixture of FM and breastmilk... then more and more FM till total FM... Then for the breasts, pump less and less often... I think let it engorge a bit everyday, the supply will go down...

Any of you interested to let our babies meet up?? I imagine it will be very interesting...

Fi,
Which area in JB do your MIL stay in JB? My parents are staying in a condo near Perling.. If near, we can meet up in JB with our boys.. If you bring your boy swimming, you can come and swim too.. kekeke... So far, I havent got a chance to bring my boy for a swim in JB.. cos everytime it rained when we were back...

kite,
cabbage wont stop MS but will gradually reduce MS one. And at the same time lengthen the pumping time interval and take less fluid, then will gradually stop the MS liwoz

Fi,
wow...ur mil is really good. Me do hsework n handle bb + work really taking a toll on my health

Shell,

Haha, lets see if they grow bigger whether they still resemble each other or not.

Kite,
I joined MTDT for the babies & cream class.... met up with Dor too

Fi,
There are 2 Chloe here... Kekeke..

wow... everyone tried from TBF...
actually me too.

esp after the block duct last week, ss drop by half. think take this chance slowly wean my bb too.

i just started introducing FM to bb... only for nite feed. hope tat he will sleep longer hrs. but still the same leh! haha.. :p

RE: Japan Tour

Joined Chan Bros 7 days Central Japan Tour for 24 Dec.
ANA charges $490 for my boy. Only need to pay air ticket. Infants No need to pay for Tax. Not sure how true it is.

vivi,
On SQ and Thai airways, infants need to pay taxes... but the airticket price is only 10%
But the tax is not 10%...

It will be winter in Japan in Dec rite? Where did you get the winter clothings from?

Lyn:
yes they are bcoming more curious abt their surroundings liao when outside. hehe so cute hor. Last wkend n yest, Hb n i brought our ger to vivocity, jurong point n suntec city. when we eat, i wil put my ger on my lap n eat my meals n she wil see passerby walk pass n enjoy her scenary again lol.

Wow u gg UK for a week for ur course? 1 week away fr baby is not easy wor. Not even say 1 day, i cant bear plus Bfing make it not easy too. So u intend to pump at Uk or? When u starting to wean? i planning maybe start next mth onwards when she turns 5th mth or even now, do it slowly. Cos sometimes i feel like i too concentrate on Bfing until not much time for her.

MTDT:
yaloh so tired already. I rather use the time to spend n play more w my ger.

hi mummies... had a long break over the weekend.
yesterday brought bb jake to vivo city, poor bb... din want to drink from the bottle. only drank 30 ml in 18 hours. i had to BF him in a toilet in crystal jade.

think his two teeth coming out on top. now he has 4 in total...
maybe that's why he din really wanna drink much.

okipoki, your botak patch v cute. bb jake's patch bigger le. will take pic tonite and upload.. ha ha...

lyn, jake prefers his jumperoo than his exesaucer. maybe cos the seat is more comfy and the spring more elastic.. ha ha...

re: flashcards - i have yet to show jake the 1000 pcs flashcards. think the color not as outstanding as those you buy in the shops.

hey amy, wow ur son's teeth coming out liao ah. how to see or tell is he teething b4 teeth comes out, whitish on the gums?

cos i can see abit whitish on my ger's gums n during latching, can feel alittle pain sometimes. wow if teeths come out liao, even more painful during latching?

generally, when will their teeths come out, 6 mths onwards? or even earlier?

Hey anyone immune to pumping? nowadays dunno y i cant pump, i hv to latch on or use hand expression. so tiring. I already standby 1 tin of FM liao. hehe.

lyn,

oic..Ya dun think the tax is 10%.

ya winter time. haven buy any winter clothes for him yet. just stock up those hot packs where u rub , and the whole packet becum warms.

will start buyin in dec cos dun know how his growth will be in dec.

lyn,
my in law place is at Pelangi.how far is that from perling? till now i still blur about the orientation in jb..aloysius can swim already? the nearest my boy got to swimming is kicking his legs in his bathtub leh..

celestblur,
next time when my boy go childcare also will be tiring.have to pack baby and deliver there before and after work. think once give birth, the tiring never stop..

kite and okipoki,
i keep flipping back and forth between the 2 pic of chloe and was convince they look the same that's why confused.

kite,
wah..1 weekend can go so many place? you've car? we've to take cab everywhere with bb so probably go one place one time only.eh, i also feel that sometimes i concentrate too much on BF than playing with him, so i'll try to spend more time. but my kind of spending time is quiet cuddly while my hubby is rough playing so whenever my boy see hubby he want to play.nowadays when i eat something with bb on my lap, he reach out and want to eat my food too.the other day he want to eat McChicken.

Amy,
poor thing, BF in toilet. have to sit on the cover? there's nursing room at vivocity. in fact i found a list of all nursing rooms in shopping centre before. i'll try look for it again.

kite,
pump in office require a lot of brain power.i notice MS flow better cause i miss my boy as he'll be away for 3 days. i've also tried close eyes and do deep breathing to encourage let down.

anyone planning to BF beyond Dec?

Fi, i think i may cont beyond Dec. Seeing how close my girl is to me, i think i can overcome all the difficulties. M/o, my grandma had breast cancer... that increases my risk of that! i read that bf'g can reduce the chances of getting breast cancer!
And recently, my hubby commented that my milk has developed into my girl's cells and that makes me v proud to bf

think will cont for a while until the well dries up loh.

lyn, good idea to let the bbs meet
can forsee it can be quite fun! i am on leave next mon and tues.... donno if anyone free also?

Hi ladies sorry MIA awhile been busy! Just sold our home, haven't found a new place yet so searching, if timing doesnt coincide, will move to my mum's for time being

Kite, Ahblur,
I'm starting to wean bfg too! Increased the proportion of FM (Irvin used to reject pure FM) til now he will take pure FM. Stopped latching every feed, stopped supplements, just pump when engorgement- I still latch once daily to clear painful lumps (I can't clear through pumping even tho using PIS).

Kite,
we just went Vivocity yest! Yah, crowded... gosh the toilet queues! And I cldnt find nursing/ babyroom??? I changed diapers on the pram.

Dunking during swimming,
pls be cautious cos my swim instructor says babies who can't control their head well yet, shld not be subjected to difficult dunks. If u really want, short and VERY quick dunk.

Solids-
Just started my 4mth old, 7.6kg Irvin on rice cereal the other day!

Fi, yes, there are nursing rooms in Vivo. But it's connecting to the toilet, and it smells. In crystal jade, the toilet is cleaner, since I am dining there, makes more sense to BF there.

kite - yes.. whitish substance on bottom gum, you can actually feel when bb latch on. initially, it hurts cos bb jake not used to his teeth. now, it's much better with BF.
when teething, bb jake kept drooling, and pooooooed 3 times a day, the poo is yellowish grainy in color...

Fi, i plan to BF beyond Dec. i am now on partial BF. but intend to continue partial beyond Dec. Unless trying for second one, then no choice gotta stop.

Medusa,
u also planning to stop BF liowz? So ur boy now fully on FM + a bit of ur EBM? For lumps u really have to massage and squeeze it hard to clear it. My ger has stopped latching since she was 2 mths. I guess that is why i am more prone to engorgement/mastitis all these cos dont have bb to help me suck lor...*lol*
I also started my ger on the Heinz rice cereal last Friday. She was quite happy with it in the beginning but after a while she got tired of it and tend to spit out a little after i fed her for like 10mins. *sigh*

Fi,
I think it will be tiring as long as there's nobody arnd to help u
Previously my mom will help me occasionally and its not so tiring. But my mom was sick for bout 2 weeks and i have to handle everything myself for these 2 weeks then its really tiring

medusa,
okie .... anywhere interesting to go?
btw, which area r u staying in now? wh area u intending to stay in?
i also want to shift but we r too lazy to do anything.... gotta speed up on that soon

tinkle,
hahaha... juz some massaging !! well, chloe cries so she didnt get to enjoy much
the BJG seem fun but not sure she can "sit still" for an hour. Heheheh...

tinklebell,
our bbs still very young will feed often, I suggest a place where we can have meal/ tea/ access to gd nursing rm. At this age they anything also very fascinated hehe, dun need much special entertainment. eg. Taka or United Square?

ahblur,
oooww, cant imagine how painful for u! 1 day of lumps is already sooo painful, cant imagine 2 mths accumulated! Yahlor dunno why pump not efficient enough in clearing. My ss is enough for tbf... but I think I need some time to do other things so weaning. He seems to accept pure FM feeds *fingers crossed* and doesn't appear to have allergies, I think, so hopefully he'd be fine by the time I switch over to pure FM fulltime!
Go slow on rice cereal, according to my mum, our bbs maybe too young, cant tell whether they r full or not, so she reckons not more than 5 tiny spoonsful a day, as a start. In case the bb doesn't signal fullness, gets overstuffed, hard to digest?

oki,
haha! Chloe doesnt like yoga i suppose.
Must sit still during BJG class? aiyo ... dont think my girl can do that
she is always "standing" and ever so curious to find out what is the next thing she can play with.

Medusa,
I had engorgement 3x before liowz. Until now got sort of phobia for it.
. I tink pumps as not as gd as bb latching. I also feel like having more time for myself or rather spend the time resting/playing with bb instead of spending the time on pumping....*sigh*
And yes, i read on the rice cereal should not give them too much. Now I am giving her 2 teaspoons mixed with warm ebm a day. But i make it quite dilute cos i read the instructions must make it more dilute for young babies

kite,
Yalor... When I brought Aloysius out in the stroller, and while we eat, we let him sit in the stroller facing the passerby... Sometimes he will "shout" for the passerby.. very cute... kekeke...

I am still thinking whether to leave him behind
cos I gotta concentrate. With him around, I think I cannot concentrate
very "fan2" on this decision... make me very sad when I think of it...

amy,
Wah... Jake's development is so fast...

I also wonder is it becos the colors of the 1000 pieces of flashcards are not striking enough...
Jake also likes to jump now?? How long can he be entertained while in the jumperoo?? We just got a bouncing excersaucer for Aloysius. I hope he will stay in there to jump and enjoy on his own while I can do my work...
hmm... last time I also breastfeed in the toilet till many people told me not hygienic wor.. Then I think, I dun wanna eat in the toilet also.. So I stopped breastfeeding in the toilet. Usually, I will go to places with breastfeeding facilities. If not, will rush home and feed, or feed in the taxi or car... A few times, I breastfeed in restaurant with a sling to cover baby's head...

Fi,
Oh I see... Sometimes I do go to Pelangi area to shop at Pelangi Plaza...
NOwadays, I go to Jusco at Tebrau City...

Medusa,
United sq would be good since there r not so many pp
But i can only make it after 130pm since i have to wait for my son to finish his lessons.

Kite & Lyn...my ger also loves to go 'gai gai'..sometimes in the morning while preparing to bathe her, I will tell her we are going shopping...then after her bath when dressing her, she will be impatient and keep kicking her legs to tell us that she wanna go out quickly...normally after she is ready, my mum will carry her to sit on the sofa while I get dressed and prepare the nursing bag, she will start to make noise like chasing me to hurry up...lol...

Medusa, there is a nursing room at vivocity...its not connected to the toilet, but its next to the ladies toilet...can be quite stuffy inside there...its on the 2nd floor...we saw the direction on the pillar outside Hagaen Daaz shop...its nearby there...if you are not sure, can check with the information counter...

kite,
now tat my son is 5mth old, I intend to reduce the bf-ing over the 1 mth till he's 6mth old...want to stop by then, which is end nov....

for this 1 mth, will give my son formula milk for night feeds....slowly increase more forumla feeds...when he's 6mth old,will let him be on total forumla milk liao...

as for myself, I'll skip the pumping session in office...so I'll just pump once in the morning before I go to work and once at night after work....will pump shorter time to tell my body that the supply is more than demand......then once supply drops, I will only pump once and hopefully when baby is 6mth old, I don't need to pump anymore

Fi,
I wish to bf beyond Dec... but I want a 2007 baby... so gotta stop bf soon
I am hoping my menses will be back wor... then I no need to stop... but... still not here..

tinklebell,
What do you mean by "milk has developed into your gal's cells"?? How to see??

I can meet up with you on MOn or Tues. Lunch or high tea or dinner? Wonder if anybody else interested...

okipoki,
Oh I see... Baby yoga sounds interesting...

medusa, tinklebell,
Good nursing room ah... What about Paragon or Suntec? I like the nursing rooms in these places..
hee.. I usually go to these shopping malls to shop cos of the nursing rooms...

wow, so many of u also planning to stop bf....it can be quite tedious tp bf for working mums...

my friend who bf her kids till 1+ year old wun know how it's like coz she's a sahm, where got "obstacles" like rushing to pump during lunch or carrying heavy bag everyday just to express milk and transport milk back home.....

Lyn,
If bb grows, i suppose it's bec their cells multiply? ... since they take your BM, the BM must have gone into manufacturing of these new cells... LOL sorry ah... my science is not v good.

I'm fine with Paragon or suntec... no special preference... but is suntec crowded? i prefer not to go to somewhere crowded.

so long din come into the thread... busy as usual with work, and more trouble with car and etc...

peng, lyn

almost miss your query... hmm many parents experienced time when their child start to dislike looking at the flashcards especially words!
I guess children also can find it boring ?
When they do that, dun force them lor... if they like pic cards, let them see the picture cards .... its image training also
For Samuel, he used to only look at words cards cos I read from other mummies' experiences that if we intro pic cards early, v soon, they will wanna look at picture cards and not like the words cards anymore. In this way, samuel was only flashed english, chinese and maths dots cards daily till he was about 8-9 months before I started picture cards cos he started to look at every direction except the word cards hehee
In this way, I showed him picture cards which he likes till now and then quickly flash the words card in between
Retire the cards faster and introduce more new cards lor... cos I find that whenever I flash new word cards he will look at it more... if not, 2nd to 3rd time he see the same word cards he look elsewhere liao. haha ... when they are mobile, even more difficult to flash cards to them.

Right now, for samuel at 18month, I finally conceded liao... flash maths equations, words (chinese/english/szj) and BITS thru powerpoint LCD
He loves it!!!! I still flash pic cards to him physically though...

Joelle is 5months as of sunday. She has remembered to flip (phew) again after forgetting abt it when she stayed in hospital... now she is flipping like nobody's business! Because of a greater exposure to SM after Joelle was borned, I intro pic cards much earlier for her. And she has intensive flashcards session each morning before I leave for work...

Its 10 (or more) english words, 10 (or more) chinese words, 12 characters or 4 phrase from the san zi jing, 3 sets of GD BITS cards, 10 maths cards, 9 maths subtraction equation each morning. She still loves the cards very much ... at times she even smile when I flash the maths cards ... she just love maths dots..
She will listen together with Samuel on the addition and multiplication cd as well as the san zi jing recitation.

Especially on weekends or whenever I am not rushing to work, then I will flash a series of few hundred picture cards to her for image training.

I placed her on the exersaucer liao.. she had an incredible desire to be upright and wanna stand! Dun even wanna sit... so i placed her on the exersaucer liao.. bo bian... she loves it so far...

okasan,
but i also peifu SAHM. Becos it is so tiring to take care of bb! I took care of bb for past 3 days and i am sort of going "crazy" with all the work....hsework, handling bb etc! And worst is my bb doesnt nap a lot....*pengz*...and wants ppl to play with her *sigh*