so long din come into the thread... busy as usual with work, and more trouble with car and etc...
peng, lyn
almost miss your query... hmm many parents experienced time when their child start to dislike looking at the flashcards especially words!
I guess children also can find it boring ?
When they do that, dun force them lor... if they like pic cards, let them see the picture cards .... its image training also
For Samuel, he used to only look at words cards cos I read from other mummies' experiences that if we intro pic cards early, v soon, they will wanna look at picture cards and not like the words cards anymore. In this way, samuel was only flashed english, chinese and maths dots cards daily till he was about 8-9 months before I started picture cards cos he started to look at every direction except the word cards hehee
In this way, I showed him picture cards which he likes till now and then quickly flash the words card in between
Retire the cards faster and introduce more new cards lor... cos I find that whenever I flash new word cards he will look at it more... if not, 2nd to 3rd time he see the same word cards he look elsewhere liao. haha ... when they are mobile, even more difficult to flash cards to them.
Right now, for samuel at 18month, I finally conceded liao... flash maths equations, words (chinese/english/szj) and BITS thru powerpoint LCD
He loves it!!!! I still flash pic cards to him physically though...
Joelle is 5months as of sunday. She has remembered to flip (phew) again after forgetting abt it when she stayed in hospital... now she is flipping like nobody's business! Because of a greater exposure to SM after Joelle was borned, I intro pic cards much earlier for her. And she has intensive flashcards session each morning before I leave for work...
Its 10 (or more) english words, 10 (or more) chinese words, 12 characters or 4 phrase from the san zi jing, 3 sets of GD BITS cards, 10 maths cards, 9 maths subtraction equation each morning. She still loves the cards very much ... at times she even smile when I flash the maths cards ... she just love maths dots..
She will listen together with Samuel on the addition and multiplication cd as well as the san zi jing recitation.
Especially on weekends or whenever I am not rushing to work, then I will flash a series of few hundred picture cards to her for image training.
I placed her on the exersaucer liao.. she had an incredible desire to be upright and wanna stand! Dun even wanna sit... so i placed her on the exersaucer liao.. bo bian... she loves it so far...