(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

missk, haha... u will have to work til u r 90! but if yr kid can get in, then it could be a worthwhile investment! cos if your child gets in, it means your grandchild will also get piority and your future generations will thank u for that! hee hee hee ... happens to my dad when his granddad paid a donation to get him to acs... then my bro got piority in admission and his kids too! my bro always jokingly thank our late great grandpa that he doesnt have to q for his kids' admission to acs next time

serene, before your menses come do u feel a crampy feeling at the abdominal area? i keep getting this crampy feeling... donno is it the uterus contracting or is meneses coming.
TQ for your compliments
miss them v much now leh
i will cut her hair soon cos i think it is irritating her! And she keeps pulling her hair!

tinklebell,

i dun have that crampy feeling. Everything is as per normal

But i got worried this time as my menses here for 8 days still got red spotting. Luckily today 9th day almost over liao. No more red. Keep fingers crossed. maybe i am too paranoid liao :p

missk,

Hmmm, actually my school hor, not really in sengkang lah.. it is NEAR sengkang.. and also NEAR hougang.. somewhere in between... along upper serangoon road haha!

Hmmm, half a year more before i complete my 3 yrs bond with MOE... will still continue then.. else dunno what i can do liao.. have already resigned from engineering and IT line to join teaching.. so may be for life liao lor :p

Ok lah.. the satisfaction is there.. of course heartache, anger, frustration, stress is there as well. But seeing kids grow up, graduate is a great achievement lor

Lyn,

WAHAHA! Ur statement real funny!! Ya, my school nothing much to do already.. even teachers got to bring students out to ECP to clear rubbish WAHAHA!

sunflower: true! I am also confused!

Tinklebell, hows the programme at ACS? Are your nephews enjoying it? I hear some students from ACS are rather spoilt. Is it true?

kk, ok ...issit Holy Innocents High? hahahah ... or Serangoon Sec Sch? Hey, what subject do u teach? Maths? hahah ..yah ..true ..there'a a lot of heartache etc and true, the satisfaction is there! U stay near Hougang? I am a Hougang ger. lol. Stay there prob all my life! Or rather know the area rather well.

missk,

BINGO!! One of ur guesses is correct!! Haha..

Oh, i teach lower sec science and upper sec physics
Day in day out teach the same thing until i can memorise the chapters liao. But dunno why my students still cannot remember the things they are supposed to know. They keep writing "density = mass x volume" and "speed of sound = speed of light" AAARRGGHH!!

I stay in sengkang, near rivervale mall.

Talking abt menses, I'm still having lochia leh! I'm wearing pads everyday!!

Re: Schools
My Pri and Sec schools both closed down already! Not sure am I a jinx, everywhere I go or work..high chance it'll closed down!

My FIL and hubby studied in St Andrews. Before I deliver my son, I did ask him if he will want his son to go St Andrews, he was very certain that son will not go St Andrew and going to the neighbouring sch which just in front of our block instead. Coz he said his sch is a boy school, seeing boys and going to the same place till teenage years, scared he might become sissy coz some of his ex-classmate turns out that way.
Yesterday I asked him that question again, he couldn't answer!

kk,
Being a teacher, during school holidays, do you still need to work? A stupid question hor?

MissK,
Which part of hougang u stay? Used to stay at inlaw's place at hougang for a couple of years before moving to our own house! They stayed near to Kovan heartland mall. I quite like the surrounding but I don't like his house... coz full of birds! I called his house Hougang Bird Park! haha

msnanas,

Ur lochia how long le?? Seems very long hor?

Hey, msnanas, come to my school to teach, then my school may close down HAHA!

Hmmm, most of the time march and september one week holiday definitely burn. Leaving only 1 day to rest at most. I was occupied all the way during sept holidays. On courses and work commitments.

June wise.. We enjoy at most a week free. December will be the one we target haha.. most teachers will go overseas in december for a break. At least 2 weeks holiday. But got to start working around christmas season liao.

kk,
Having the lochia for 4 mths + already! Everyday wear pad until sianz! Wanted to see my gynae but lately busy with my son's hands problem, sick lar, etc.

Hahaha! Dun think going in that direction to teaching! So sorry, can't make your wish come true! hahaha
Being a teacher cannot really take urgent leave, mc etc rite?

msnanas

wah! 4 mths plus a bit long leh......mine was abt 1.5 mths, even then i was complaining too long liao.

btw are u still bfeeding? according to my CL, if we are bfeeding, will have on-off lochia lor.

kk, hahaha ..ok. Is your school a gangster school? That will help me to arrive at the answer. This is what we call method of elimination. Very useful for teaching mcq. Haiz ...pupils sometimes just dun get the idea that we are trying to teach.

Physics is not an easy subject to teach leh! It's such a specialised area! I am glad u are having fun.

I hate the part that we have to work during the Christmas and New Year season. Sometimes, even on new year's eve got to work! Haiz! Really irritating.

msnanas: I stay near Hougang Green. Are your pil staying at the private houses behind the mrt station? Where do u stay now?

I heard so much abt St Andrew's. What your hubby said is quite valid. But their school building is quite awesome! R u staying near Potong Pasir now? Hahah ..can introduce u to a mother who is staying there. Kite, u know who I am talking abt rite? Lol

poohy, hope joelle gets better, take care.

sorry ladies been bz lately sprucing my place- paint pipes, contact mover to shift excess furn... we're contacting valuator then get flatviewers. Had some pizza/cookie/cupcake activities with my gal, making a present for her, made a card for her, got her cake, booked a table for her 2nd bday, need to collect some pics taken, need to book appt for my boy too haiz.

missk,

Hey, u mean u heard one of the two schools u mention is a gangster school?? Then u must pm me and tell me which one u heard is a gangster school liao haha..

Hey, dunno why.. students nowadays dunno how to use method of elimination to do MCQ leh.. maybe my students still not matured enough to use that method :p although i teach them that for science questions.

Physics very conceptual.. sometimes i blur too.. so have to get books with answers so that i can refer HAHA!

Hey, u teach too ah???

msnanas,

Haha, still not so bad lah.. we can take MC.. but if take too many, then will be graded badly in work performance lor.. so the most MC i take in a year is only 3 days :p And cannot consecutively leh.. else kena warning, especially true for beginning teachers.

For urgent leave.. there is UPA.. never take before (try not to touch it) so not too sure. For marriages, demise of close ones, etc. I only took 5 days last year as my dad passed away. I already foresee liao, for child matters, sure my hubby will have higher chance to take his childcare leave, not me. Poor thing hor?

And if go on leave or MC, very chiam one.. come back blur blur, dunno how to catch up with the syllabus.

4 mths????? That's very long!! U still take food cooked with alcohol? Dun touch pig trotter in vinegar leh. It can prolong lochia.

step,
ya lor! its not abit long.. its too long!! I'm still bfeeding but my lochia not on-off de.. its continuous.. never a day its "off"! haha

missk,
oic! No lar.. he stay in HDB flat, near the mcdonalds.

Ya, I gotta agree with u! its very big!! I'm staying at sengkang now, dun think moving to chiam see tong's area coz my mum staying at sengkang and she looks after my son. In near future, I don't think so too... coz the houses there abit old leh.. hee!

missk, no ...my nephews r not in ACS... my bro was. while he was there, he was practically busy with eca everyday!
If u want yr kids to excel in chinese, better dont send them there... my bro failed chinese so many times despite speaking it at home and only passed at last attempt for his A levels!
I personally feel that the school doesnt emphasize on it's second language so i dont think i want to send my son there lor. I still feel that a good Chinese foundation is impt these days. But on the other hand, i wont send him to a school that focuses too much on mandarin too cos it will be too stressful for him.
But if u r looking for a school with focus on good christian upbringing, then u can go for ACS. They have chapel every monday if i am not wrong... as well as many christian related eca groups.

kk, u teaching physics? my "favorite" subject... always catch no balls what my teacher was talking abt even though i studied that til A lvls.

msnanas, st andrews produce sissy boys? haha! never heard of it ! LOL!

Anyone fr Fairfield methodist? my hubby was fr that pri school. maybe we should just move to bouna vista. haha!

kk,
ya lor, poor thing.. got such benefits but quite restricted hor.
My side here, MC take or not, it won't affect the PB.. coz the PB quite standard unless going thru promotion then the PB will be high. i.e. work so hard also still get the same PB.. so y work so hard???!? hahaha

I din take anymore confinement food already leh. Pig trotter in vinegar will prolong? Anw, dunno to cook... so din touch that since confinement period ler.

Step,
I staying at fernvale. What abt u?

tinklebell,
Ya, thats wat i heard from my hubby! He said there's one time on papers that there a st andrew boy admit that he's gay!

Msnanas

Me stay at Rivervale. Oh, my bro staying at fernvale as well.......

Yeh, rumours has it that all-boys/girls schools bred les and gay

morning mummies...

medusa: you selling your place? where are you shifting? nearer to your mum?

tinklebell: my hubby from Fairfield. but he said dun send bb there. is this a good school? it's quite near to my place, but not sure whether within 1 km.

mummies, what schools are good for boys? any recommendation? what about ACS baker? or how many ACS are there for pri sch boys?

wah, within 1 km is phase 2c, not 2 b ah? so no pt shifting there hor? how to increase chance of getting into a good school huh?

tinklebell: for acs, what denomination of christianity are they? also, if we are to donate, how much would be a sum that can get us into the school?

msnanas.. oh dear... ya now i recall this newspaper article i read. oops!

amy, i donno whether Fairfield is good or not... but it did bring my hub to ri eventually. if u r old boy/ girl, chances r u will get into the school without having to go to phase 2. To be in 2b, u need to be affiliated to the school such as thru church, associations or do 40 hrs of volunteer work.

tinklebell, my hubby is old boy. hee hee...
wow... your hubby so intelligent wa....

hmmm.... but we not methodist leh...

amy, donno if they still accept donation these days. haha! could be a great sum leh. cos i my ggpa had to donate a classroom previously
**faint***
BUT i heard fr friends that even if u r in phase 2B, no guarantee u will get into ACS cos they have lots of pp in that phase! Donations also get u to phase 2B.

tinklebell... aiyoyo... so tough hor? maybe volunteer some time better hor? donate a classroom then must be alot hor? i was discussing this with hubby just now, maybe $100K also not enough. also, i will not donate $100K.. so much leh... gotta take 10 part time jobs lor...

amy,
i donno how much u have to donate... my dad's case was like so many decades ago loh... i definitely wont donate $100k! aiyo!

step,
which block yr bro stay? I staying at 407b.

now still duno mix sch or boys sch is good. i worry that mix sch, he might turn out to be more chinese spoken...

donate $100k??? siao.. think these schools are happily "making money" out of P1 enrolment.
but then hor... secondary & JC also same thing la. as long you very good in sports or got money, can accept already.

sigh.... if send boy school, next one girl, have to volunteer again at another school!?aiyo...headache

kk, yah..I used to teach in Sg. Urm, actually, now I am also teaching lah. Yah, students are very anxious to get the answers. Some just want to finish the papers then sleep. Crazy rite?

Wei msnanas, ur hubby used to stay in blk 200 plus yah? lol .. I always go to that area! I used to attend a school there. We like to hang out at that Macs. Hougang Pri School is a good school I think. Got Nan Chiau Pri rite? Good wor!

tinklebell, yah .. I was from acjc. Hahah...the pple there pride themselves for not being able to speak Mandarin. Crazy! Yah .. I like Hwa Chong , Nanyang that sorta schools. The children are really effectively billingual. My fren, Chinese HOD, who was from Dunman is sooo effectively billingualy. Very impressive.

Hey, I thought Fairfield is a good school?

U mean the doantion practices still exist today? lol.

Btw, even if I stay within 1 km of Henry Park, it doesnt mean I will definitely get in rite? I mean .. If I do stay there. lol...like what tinklebell said, work till 90 yrs old. But I think even if I work till 90, I dun think I can afford wor!

wah.. all the talks about Pri schools... Next time my kids cham already... cos I come from ulu schools at the bottom of the ranking list...

missk, kk,
I dunno what is MCQ le.. :p BOth of you teach Physics??

kk,
Wah... to clock the hours gotta go ECP clear rubbish ah... Next time become good citizens...

sunflower,
You have mail

missk,
I come from ulu pri and sec school at the bottom in the ranking... I think it's different type of character building and different types of friends
Many of my Sec school friends either stop at 'O' levels or stop at diploma... Now many have kids going to school already... and me, only at first baby... :p My hubby came from good schools, and most of his friends are at least Uni level.. hahaha... and mostly same as us, first baby... It's a very different circle of friends..

missk,
Wah... pride at not being able to speak mandarin ah... lol... I also like the schools you mentioned... I want my kids to be bilingual at least...

Lyn, agree with you. i also came from ulu pri and sec school. dunno where are all these classmates and what they are doing now... lost touch lo. actually, i have never kept in touch with ex classmates...

MCQ - multiple choice questions

how do we get into Phase 2a? or is there 2a to start with?

anyone interested in gym trial session? just rang them. the cost is $34 for 45 mins. There is a class on this Sunday at 3 pm (0-6 months).
If you are keen, you then sign up - 4, 8, 12 sessions.
No discounts for groups.

Lyn, you interested? I have signed Jake for this Sunday's class.

Amy,
Which school is it and where? This Sunday I am not free
Going for the parenting seminar.

I still know the whereabouts of my ex-classmates. We have gathering once a year...

poohy... you there? need to ask you a question re julia gabriel. is the evans road branch as good as the forum branch?
is bilingual playclub recommended over english playclub?

toking bout education for kids? I most prob will juz enrol my ger in a neighbourhood school also cos its within walking distance from my hse. If she really does excel in school then i will transfer her to a "better" school bah. This is wat my auntie did lor...her son got top 3 positions for the whole cohort and she got into a famous primary sch without having to volunterr donate $ or anything. I think if the kid is smart then let him/her go to a top primary school otherwise it will be too stressful for them also

Yah, true, i have frens from all walks of life too. Interesting lah. Not all my frens are graduates. Still they are doing well.

amy: what gym? Where is it? What's the purpose of the class?

MOAP: waht do u want to order? I havent placed order yet leh.

Celesteblur: true leh. Must choose a school suitable for your child. If the child is not so bright, very stressful in pri school. And kids are very merciless at teasing. I can't imagine my son spending his childhood in agony. Some neighbourhood schools are very good wor. They offer very good programmes. No school in Sg is a bad school lah. lol....spokesperson for MOE.

missk,
yuppies...as long as the sch is okies enuff can liowz....not as in really bad till a lot of ruffians there or wat lah...*lol*...but every sch definitely got some black sheeps inside also...hmmzz. Yuppies, my bro also from neighbourhood sch and infact the worst neighbourhood sch but he topped the PSLE in the sch and can qualify for RI also...so i still believe it depends on our kids whether they r bright enuff anot

And yeah, i see a lot of non-graduates actually doing quite well too. Because they dare to take risk and branch out as young entreprenuers, as since if they work for others their pay might not be as gd as graduates so they dare to take risks and some of them does succeed.

hmm... I am thinking, we havent talk about kindergarten already talk about Primary school... lol... Which kindergarten is good?
I read a report about the education levels of teachers affecting the quality of students they produce at kindergarten level...

missk,
i was fr a neighbourhood pri school in toa payoh... did pretty well in psle and went to MGS... but i find that i couldnt really cope with english cos we spoke mainly in mandarin all 6 yrs in pri school!
had a cultural shock wor! .... speaking in mandarin appeared to be unglamorous
.... hiaz... eventually i decided not to go to acjc cos i'll feel out of place again.
I like schools like chinese high and nanyang too

lyn,
wow u so on... see u always attend seminars. hiaz i got no time for left to do anything else... so tired after work

only look forward to weekends.
hey we r going to the zoo on sunday!

re: schools
i hope to start my boy in a good school but if he feels that he cant cope, i will be more than glad to pull him out. every child is different and all have their own strength. i dont believe in forcing them into an environment wh they r uncomfortable.

Missk,
Ya, he stayed there! We still go there once a bluemoon, bring son visit his grandparents. coz his house is dirty and dusty coz of the birds and MIL seldom does her duty of being housewife!
Next time if u happen to walk pass the blocks in the morning, you'll hear the birds chirpings! That's hougang bird park, my FIL's house. hahaha

Tinkerbell, I also think in that way. neighbourhood schools usually speak mandarin. Once, I was in the LRT. There were 2 groups of students from diff neighbouring schools. Both were exhanging sarcastic words in singlish and in dialects very loudly and as thou no one else in the train! Can't imagine if one of them is my boy!

hallo mummies,

i just got back from my holiday at siem riep.i expressed milk everywhere, temple ruins, airport, etc, very tiring. also very tired at office cause my boy who used to sleep throughout the night suddenly wake up at 2am then 5am this morning to feed. MIL took care of him when i was away, his habit must have changed when i was away. oh no...i was told he'll wake up 4-5am once to feed when i was away

last evening, a lot of my in-law's relative was at our house and my boy was sleeping.they were making so much noise so my boy woke up crying but my MIL just pick him up to play with other relatives. my boy just got this surprise look on his face and eyes still red cause he still want to sleep but suddenly so many relatives start talking to him. i really feel upset about that, how do you all tell your in laws somethings that you dont like about the way they handle your child.MIL also like to tell my boy that he fear the toy, the dark, the thunder etc...i really dont like it. telling a baby that he fear when he dont even know what it is yet.

mother of a princess,
i'm still on tbm. was thinking when to start cereal too, maybe when baby is 5 months? wether to start with brown rice mix with bm inside bottle or cereal mix with bm by spoon feeding.any ideas?