re: maths flashcards
hunnypoo, i dun really follow strictly to glenn doman's book on maths because as a working mum, its difficult to follow that tight schedule
What I do for Joelle in maths is, I flashed 10 maths dots cards a day. Starting with 1-10 etc. I flash the cards 1-3 times (depending on how free and how happy she is) each day. When its the 15th time she see the card, I retire the entire set and flash 11-20 and so forth. Once she is done with 1-20 dots, I start equations with her. So each day, u will still have the 10 dots cards for quantity recognition. Follow by Addition (then subtraction, multiplication and division). I show 9 addition equation to her daily. Sometimes more if i have time. Once I complete 14 days of 9 addition equation, I move to subtraction. Joelle has just started subtraction few days ago. The same follow for the multiplication and division. But each time, u have more cards to use after introducing bigger quantity as the days goes by with the quantity recognition dots cards flashing. Once she finish division, I will move to 2 part equation and so forth. I do not intend to incorporate problem solving yet ...the first 1 year will concentrate on inputs mainly.
This is the GD style of maths flashing. If u like to follow vvvv strictly to GD style of cards retirement, then u need to read the book its more precise in explanation.
Shichida has a 65 days maths program. That is even better for us working mummies.... but so far I dun do that yet. I plan to complete one cycle with joelle with GD and see how..before seeing if i should do the 65days maths program. Basically instant calculation is a premise of the right brain. Thus the 65 days maths program flash every single cards once only each cycle ... aiming to train and invoke the instant calculation ability of the right brain and not to really teach maths per se.
depends on wat u like to achieve with your child..
Right now I am more into teaching the maths concept.... but maybe i should try the shichida one on joelle hehee... but if i have time ... cos too busy liao... following GD hor... for 2 children somemore.. vv busy leh... imagine each day i need to sort out 18 equations.. (9 for joelle, 9 for samuel) ... just sort the cards also take out so much time.
peng,
u can either buy the chinese flashcards or write/print yourself. I bought my main set of chinese flashcards 2nd hand... they are from gdbaby. Anyway, if u wanna print or write yourself... the size of the words should be big... but really it depends on the eye sight of your chid. 3-4inch height for chinese character is a good size lah i think. The bigger of course is better than small. The instructor at BJG yesterday uses at least 4 inch i think... but well u gotta consider the distance and number of babies she need to flash to.... for us at home, considering the distance between us and our bb, i think 3-3.5" would be good. The words will get smaller and smaller as times goes by with their eyesight getting better
I do san zi jing by printing myself... i think someone sold the san zi jing she print herself previously in the market place but i din buy cos v easy to print myself plus.... its insufficient and i dun like the font used. To me, the font used in the chinese character is also very important... remember babies look at the words as a single image and dun dissect the strokes. Plus anyway we will need the couplets card so might as well print ourselves.