(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

lyn, good idea. when should we have our first get together? this weekend? ha ha....

i dun mind doing nursery rhymes... i can sing few songs, and mummies can sing along too.
maybe we also need to bring our own yoga mat, as the floor in the function room might be dirty. and we can do swimming before that. how adventurous.

i will check out gymboree and will get back to you all. re julia gabriel, i heard of the school. but i tot it's for older bbs.

re: julia gabriel

its a playgroup! I love it... My boy attended a few trials there... Its a 2 hourly playgroup. Each week 3 session for their playnest which is from 6m to 18m. Its more speech and drama... dramatic story telling, circle time to play toys, craft time, motor skill development etc. Basically its very good for social development leh.. I love it vvvv much... hehee i think my boy loves it too.. i would have enroll him for the weekday 3 times class if I am a sahm... unfortunately i gotta work cant bring him 3 times a week. But I already enrol my boy to their weekend billigual playclub... that one has a LONG waiting list.... minimum 3-6mths leh ... so sad... I am now eagerly waiting for my boy's turn to come to be able to attend...

btw its equivalent to GUG but I love Julia Gabriel much much better !!!
hehee... really love it... u can read more about what they do inside in my blog... i wrote about it the 2 times my boy went. Its one of the few classes that I truly like and truly complement what I do at home... they dun do flashcard those stuff hor.. which is what i like abt....
anyway think i myself looks forward to going to the class more than my boy... simply loves their singing portion...

lyn,

I've yet to bring my bb down for his 1st swim.
wanted to go, then the haze come. so hb say to wait.

let him 'swim' in tub last sat. he curled his legs up when i let him float. is this normal? does this means he's scared? later then he kicked his legs. the last time he 'swam' in the tub, he never curled his legs le.

Hi missk,

No lah me not IT savvy.

Btw i didnt use Gerber bag for medela pump. Usually i wil pour into the bag.

sunflower..

ya JG is exp. Its much expensive than GUG. Hmm for the 3 times a week class its about 1k+ a term of 2.5mths? I just roughly remember each class is about $35-$42 (see how wide the range is ... My failing memory is evident)...

but its worth it to me... I think I shd apply to be their ambassador... I love the playgroup! Anyway maybe the weekend class will be different... when its finally my boy's turn on the wait list, I tell all of u about the lesson

i just bring joelle for her 2nd swim on saturday, very fun... she seems to take the submersion quite well still... the moment she touches the water, she kick so rigorously! My cousins thought she was shaking from cold... but actually she is kicking till her whole body like shaking like dat hehee

btw is it becos the tub too small for your boy?

Okasan:
May i know where u bought the healthy times brown rice cereal? is organic cereal rite, just add 4 to 5 tablespoons of BM?

Btw if u mix e cereal w BM in milk bottle, wat kind of teat r u using?

re: teething

when bb is teething, does bb have more frequent poo poo? td bb jake pooed pooed 3 times, and the 3rd time, it's like yellowish grains. mum and maid said teething. when i checked his gums, i really saw a white spot sprouting out. that explained why he has a blister on his finger - due to excessive sucking. when i saw the doc this am, doc said quite unusual if bb has no teeth...

I so agree with poohy abt instilling the love for reading! Not just love for reading ...love for nature, aesthetics, sports and most importantly love for life!

Btw, mummies, have you guys thought which school u are going to send your child to? Is it too early to think about thaT? hahah ...are the mothers here thinking that I am super kiasu? lol .. I just like to daydream!

Wei kite .... someone is organising HT BP. U wanna join? Let me know yah. SEe u on msn tom lah? Haven't talked to u for a while!

I also wanna try healthy times product, although my ger dun seem to like anything i bought outside. Just trying my luck haha.. so where to get HT products?

we went home with a heavy heart yesterday... Dr terence tan could not find a cause to her sudden onset of tilt. She can turn her head full range and is still happy (not pain) thus its not torticollis and its also not a sprain/twist. He asked us to monitor to see if it improve the next few days and have given us referal to a paedetric neurologist. He was also trying to decide whether to refer to nerologist or orthopaedic.... but there is no obvious signs of abnormality in the bone... so neurologist first lor. I feel very sad and heartpain for my girl... the only thing I can do is to pray now..

missk,

btw me too very kiasu. When my son was just 4 months old, I already wrote to the principal of the pri school i wanna send him for volunteer work
Already made plans on how to get him into the school of our choice liao...

poohy:

oh dear.. hope that joelle will be ok soon. if no sign of abnormality, maybe its short term and she'll straighten on her own. Are you going to the paedetric neurologist specialist for further check?

wow.. are you going to start volunteering work soon? i thought if volunteer, only need to start the year before enrolment? which school you sending your boy to? Mine also boy...only has a girls' primary school near my area.

lyn:
you bought GD flash cards direct from Lawrence rite. How much will the english set cost? If buy the set from them. can attend their class? is the class specific to the type of flash cards that we buy or its general on GD methods?

kk,

Yesterday, i've gone to a chinese medical hall and saw this ready packed of brown rice with shi sheng (mixed powder type). Did you actually buy that for yr daughter or you bought individual and mix separately?

kk,

I know that you're not bfeeding anymore like me. You stop since after the 1 mth confinement rite? Btw, after then, when did you start having yr menses back? For me, after the whole mth of menses during the confinement, the next one came 2 mths later in sep, then this mth, it's late! I used to have irregular period but i've heard many says that after giving birth, the cramp will be lesser and period more regulate? I'm so worried if I'll get pregnant again so easily as some says after the 1st delivery, is easier to get pregnant for the subsequent times....

Good Morning ladies!

missk,
haha... me also thinking wat school to send my girl to...
For my boy, he is coming to 4 years old now... he qualifies under phase 2B for one of the schools but still competition is tough so we hope to move next year to be within 1km of the school of our choice... super KS right?

poohy,
u need 40 hrs of volunteer work to qualify for phase 2B.... sian. luckily dont have to do that.
a lot of pp tell me phase 2B also not good enuf
must live within 1km of the school if u want a higher chance.

wow, looks like enrolling to a school is so stressful huh! I rem that time, my cousin told me she enrolled her daughter to the neigbouring sch near her place but is on balloting though she stayed within 1km, the nite b4 the result came out, she can't sleep the whole nite.....!

serene, ya lor... v stressful one... i rem my BIL also telling me he cant sleep the few days before balloting for his ger.
best is to put yr kids in your old school... no need to Q.... but my old school is really lousy... dont think i want to put my kids there

sunflower,

thanx... i just pray she will be fine.. will bring her to neuro review and 2nd opinions ...

re: enrol in school

In jurong west, one of the best pri school is Rulang... I wrote to the principal there... they told me can only start volunteer when my boy in K1 or K2. And that is only if they need the particular volunteer service. I heard from my frens that the Rulang changed principal and the standard drop fair bit.... So I will most likely enrol my son in Pei Hwa Presbyterian. Its an independent school ... my hb's entire family in the affliated church so most likely can get in.

tinklebell, I've not really thought about this question yet...those good/well known schools are all far away from our house except i know near our place in cck, Bt Panjang govt high is quite a good sec sch rite? Also, i've heard Delasalle pri sch in yew tee is popular also? My schools are not well known also...My hub's schools are all the good schools but far (ACS, RI, RJC)...

serene, har? ur hub is fr rjc? me too! same for my hub! do we know him?

me also going thru church affiliation..hoping to put my son is SJI Junior or Catholic high but most likely cat high cos the accommodation in novena area near sji is v expensive.

Delasalle is a bit far to qualify for phase 2c unless u r church member. church member will qualify for 2b.

Acs good wat! my bro is acs boy fr pri school to jc... but during his school life...everyday only interested in eca!

tinklebell, I dun think it's kiasu at all. Even the most nonchalant parent would sometimes fantasise which school to send their child to. I think it's perfectly normal. R u moving to Bishan? R u going to enrol in Ai tong? lol. Hey SJI has a junior section? I didn't know that. I like ACS Junior or Pri too. They focus quite a bit on sports which I like. Btw, I hate sports. I just think it would be good for children. So many things one can learn from sports!

Ok .. if u are interested in HT, let me know lor. Someone is ordering from the forum. But she's not advertising. Kk and kite, if u are interested. Let me know yah?

Actually we should ask kk about it since she's in the education force. Kk, any comments? lol ...btw, which school r u teaching in? U can pm me!

Hey poohy, pei hwa sounds really good!

missk,
ya ... definitely will move and most likely to bishan but we plan only to move next year. I'm not going to enrol my boy in AiTong... think he will have a cultural shock! his mandarin is v bad... and AT focuses a lot on mandarin.
St Michael changed name to SJI junior.

btw, what is HT?

serene, spore is v small :p
hey, i also just found out that my hub's good fren was my mum's sis next door neighbour 20 yrs ago!

missk:
yes i wish to order HT organic cereal. eh what ranges they hv? me busy, dun hv e time to go into website n browSE.

wah, the topic today is on pri schools. what schools are good? is there any website that lists pri schools? i dun think so hor?

for me, will shift within 1 km of the school. will the chances be high? is this phase 2b? what is phase 2a?

sunflower,
I think can just buy a mat and let your boy crawl

Amy,
This weekend I am occupied... I might be attending the advance workshop again this Saturday. Then dinner with my MIL to make up for Sunday's dinner. Cos this Sunday is the full day parenting seminar

Poohy,
Wah.. You sounds very excited when talking about Julia Gabriel.. kekeke... Must be very good...

Sunflower,
hmm... I brought Aloysius for a swim on Sunday morning
I feel that outdoor got haze, if we open windows and doors, indoor also will be the same.. so we went swimming lor.. :p My dad's theory is higher floors will be worse during haze, cos those ashes float in the air, so swimming pool surface is fine... lol...
Can your boy really float in the tub? Is it a big bath tub? Baby will need to get used to it. Even if baby is used to the bath tub, he will need to get used to it in the swimming pool.

Poohy,
How to be their ambassador? What are the benefits of being one?

Amy,
Wah.. so fast Jake is teething already...

missk,
I am not familiar with my area.. lol.. I only know the Pri school just downstairs... and the schools around Bukit Timah...

poohy,
Dun worry too much
Joelle will be fine
She will be a healthy and happy baby

Sunflower,
The English set is $480. Yes, you can attend the class if buy from them. You will need your receipt number for the class... Dun throw away hor... The class is general to GD methods

Ok, I got no time to read through all the posts already... I was telling my hubby to consider Pri school in JB for Aloysius a few days ago.. lol..

Lyn, i think you are talking abt Nan Hua? or is it Henry Park?

wow... you going for advance seminar this weekend? mine is in 2 wks' time, i think. Jake just started Maths yesterday 1-5, plus today 6 - 10, in total 10 cards.

re teething: really will poo poo grainy yellowish substance meh? jake poo poo again this am. checked his lower gum... one tooth on left side sprouting out.

tinklebell, re burping. now it's also very hard to burp jake. most of the time, i din burp him. just put him down to sleep. so far so good...

tinklebell, HT = Helathy Times. Have u tried it before? Oic...SJI Junior. Do they have a boarding school? Oh, your bb are soooo adorable!

I think my son is going to have a problem with Mandarin. Nobody speaks that at home. And I am not proud of that. I want him to be effectively billingual. As a Chinese, he must know his roots. And learning the language is a good way to understand the culture more. Haiz, maybe when he is 4 or 5, I will send him to Mandarin classes for exposure lah. Or I will start speaking to him in Mandarin soon.

Hey will I confuse the child if I speak two languages to him?

Kite, urm .. I am ordering cereals to stock for 6 mths. Here, prices are double that of Singapore. So I think I will order the different types of cereals. Haiz, u go and see the webby tonite lah!

I am eyeing on Henry Park. I hear that they offer very good CCAs. Hahah ..I want him to exposed to different types of activities. And for one day in the week, there will be no homework. That is for the child to spend family time. Isn't that cool?

Yes, you can go to www.moe.edu.sg to check for the pri schools. They should also indicate the core competencies of each school.

Hey lyn, where do u stay? What pri school is that? Good?

lyn,

no la, he can't float. I was supporting his head and neck plus a bit of his back. was trying to let him get use to float before hitting the pool.
mine not the big one, its smaller than usual.

poohy: actually got space for him to straighten his legs le.

will try again this sat. or if weather permits, then we will hit the pool straight!

Lyn: english set - how many cards are there in 1 set?
ya, most prob get him the mat and just let him crawl on it.

tinklebell,
Wah.. your gal is so chubby... looks very huggable..
I am too lazy to burp sometimes... :p ever since birth.. kekeke... :p cos Aloysius will sleep after feeding.

amy,
Nearer to you will be "Nan Hua" rite?
hee... I am KS.. This will be second time I am attending the advance workshop
I catch no ball at the last advance workshop cos I was late...
I am bringing Aloysius to meet Lawrence this Friday for the assessment
hee.. secarly, he teach me how to continue without going to the advance workshop. Then Saturday I will be free...
hmm... Saturday morning, I am free
The workshop will be at 3pm. Wanna organise swim swim sessions for our babies??

missk,
You eyeing at Henry Park ah.. I cannot afford to move to the houses around there.. :p So far, I only know Anderson Pri...
hmm... It's better to expose babies to languages as soon as possible from birth.

sunflower,
There are 882 cards consisting of single words, couplets, phrases, sentences, black words cards, blank cards, and a book for baby to read... The set will come with a book for you to read how to teach...

Which sets you thinking of getting? If you wanna do flashcards, it's better to start asap before baby can walk...

lyn, hmm... think i am nearer to Nan Hua. but we are happy to move anytime for bb jake.
anyway, i prefer staying in a condo leh... got so many facilities, and so many other kids in the vicinity. where i am... all alone...

Sat swimming? i am just thinking of bringing jake to my club, which happens to be near your place i think - CCK rite?

Aiyoh, what's the talk on education? haha.. me secondary school, so no idea about primary school. Hmmm, actually my idea is that i need not put my ger in good schools. As long as it is not termed as a "gangster" school can already. And mine is a neighbourhood school. I also see a lot of nice students who work very hard
Ultimately it depends in individuals. I wouldn't want my daughter to travel so far just to study in RGS for e.g. and as long as she dun end up in my school, can already WAHAHA!

missk,

I am in a school in sengkang haha.. u can guess :p

Serene,

What do u mean by menses for whole month during confinement? U are testing my memory hee.. my menses is back around week 8 i think. And surprisingly, last time i got delayed menses for like 1-2 weeks. But now hor, i have menses 3 times and all very 'punctual' leh!! Ya.. no cramps.. but dunno whether it is because i take chicken essence (addicted after confinement) everyday. Because last time when i take chicken essence day before menses, i will not have cramps. I still have heavy flows, especially on 2nd day of menses.

Hmmmm, if on contraception, guess won't get pregnant so fast ba.. dun worry!

serene,

Oh.. my mum told me she bought brown rice from ntuc, and bought si shen from bugis (cheaper). Then go to the chinese medicine hall near her place to mix and grind into powder form. Of course, service charge.

Oh by the way, i BF till end of 2nd mth after delivery.

Talking about volunteer work.. alamak, i was still thinking of wat to ask my class to do, for those short in CIP hours.. luckily my colleague saved me by suggesting letting them shift furniture for Sec 4/5 graduation day! WAHAHA!

amy,
I am also thinking of moving.. keke.. but my hubby said not likely...
I am in YCK.

kk,
hahaha.. Your school dun need volunteers liao... since even students also dun have enough to do.. lol...

amy, 1km and no affiliation is under phase 2c

lyn ...hiaz... looking at their photos, i miss them v much...cant wait to go back home

missk, i agree with u... to avoid repeating the same mistake, i am speaking 2 languages with my girl to give her more exposure.
Is HT cereal good? pardon me but i've never heard of it before. u all starting solid already?
Henry Park is a good school but i'll have to work like a horse all my life if i get a place within 1km fr there! kekeke!

lyn, of cos I can;t afford the houses at Holland Grove! So EX! hahhaha ...just dreaming! Most prob in some neighbourhood schools. In Hougang, there's a good pri school too. I think what's impt is the programmes the school offers. I would like a good mix of academic, sports, aethetics and moral.

tinklebell, hmm....i duuno much abt ht. i read it on e net. its organics. so i tot i would try. I will only start when Krist is 6 mths old. Here, bb food is ex. Gerber bottled puree costs sgd 4. That's ridiculous! Perhaps, I should start speaking Madarin to my son. Will he get confused if we speak three languages to him?

ok kk, let me try yah? Sengkang Sec, Compassvale, Punggol, Pei something (the new sch), Nan Chiau. Did I get any correct? Can't rem the schools there liao lah. What subject do u teach? How long have u been teaching? Do u like it so far?

lyn,
thinking of getting the english set.
but the cards set very big, is it? like A3 length?
saw it at my friend's place. is it difficult to flash? do they have a website for singapore?

languages:
read in a book that if split the type of languages that each person talks to the child, not very effective le.
is it better to assign 1 language to each caregiver? or can mix? but heard if mix, child will be confused! so now I'm the one confused!

tinklebell, your 2 kids are very cute and lovely. Actually your daughter's hair very nice i think, no wonder you can't bear to shave her head.