(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

hubby handling bb:
my hubby handles my ger alot better than me. Then yest went TMC for last gynae visit. even gynae said he handled my ger very well. Then when go shopping yest, some sales assistant also comment tat. in fact, i oni bath my ger once, e rest is either my mum or my hubby baths one.

gals

wld like your advice. is it too early to introduce dummies and cradle when the baby is just full mth? my confinement lady keep asking me to get these, otherwise she said we will not be able to tahan the night when she has gone back. my hubby and i had tried resisting these but it's getting more and more difficult. The gal kept screaming and crying ....and needs constant rocking and walking to sleep....wah pian, where got the strength and energy to rock her after all the pumping?

Volume of milk drink: 90 ml - 100 ml
feeding interval: Every 1.5 to 2 hours
Night feed: 12 am, 2.30am, 5am .
Poo: 3 times a day

kite

same as my case leh..think my gal prefers hubby to me...she stops crying when he feeds or carry her but continues to wail when i take over. only thing that i am superior is that i bath her whereas my hubby didnt dare to do so....sometimes really wonder if i have any maternal instinct...

kite..sure no problem.. ;p

btw..talking about slings...i bought the non-adjustable sling together with tinklebell...Paula also bought the sling...found that its quite easy to use...really no regrets buying it...my gal loves it...

wow..your hb so good at handling your gal..my hb very lousy..he only just learn to carry her and everytime she cries..he can't handle her...luckily my mum is staying with me temporary so she helps me to take care of her...otherwise i sure peng san..

Bb development
Volume of milk drink: 90ml
feeding interval: Every 2.5 to 3 hours
Night feed: 1.00am, 4.00am
Poo: Once every day

stephanie:
u r not alone. my ger can slp the whole day throughout the day n awake n cry the whole nite
both hubby n i already bcame panda.

spicegal:
regarding e sling, after feeding, need to take out bb from sling for burping, difficult to handle w e sling?

Bumwear:
where to get nice bumwear? how does bumwear works in fact?

how to make bb slp during nite soundly? some old wives tales said that let bb wear the clothes inside out so that they can adjust. hehe

kite..so far i have used the sling 3 times..1st time quite difficult to handle bb and sling yourself..need someone to help you..after a few times..i got the hang of using the sling..at least no rings to adjust..

spicegal:
oic. tks for e feedback. btw its nice that ur mum temp staying w u to help u out, til u go back to work? who is looking after ur bb when u start work? where does ur mum stay? nearby?

my mum also helped n stayed during confinement but
right now she oni come to my house on n off to cook for me, really cant handle w/o my mum at times. somemore she stays very far fr my hse.

soh1dful, i got my sling from babyhugz. check out this link. http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/BabyHugz-baby-toddler-REVERSIBLE-pouch-sling-carrier_W0QQitemZ220005021113QQihZ012QQcategoryZ3068QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

I bought the reversible non-adjustable sling. They having promotion buy 1 at $48 and get 2nd one at 50% discount. Postage will be $5. So total paid $77 for 2 slings, equivalent to $38.50 per sling.

Kite...my mum will help me take care of my bb when i return to work..she stays in clementi so quite near my place..i intend to bring her home everyday and take care of her at night..hehe..

spicegal:
u seems to know alot of nice bb stuffs fr online, like the Milky way website. hope to know more fr u.
btw there is tis bb roadshow at Frontier CC tis wkend, i wil drop by there to take alook at e sling.

as for taking care of my bb, my mum wil help me look after but she stays in north while me in west. i suggest her to stay at my house during wkdays but she dun want
so bo bian, i wil go her hse daily to see my ger.

Nepia:
i find nepia quality comparable to pampers, very good, somemore got urine indication. love nepia than pamper now.

kk:
since ur ger stil got reflux prob, u mean at times she wil stil vomit like merlion?

duffybuff:
regarding ur bb slping hours. Well, i read fr articles n internet that most newborns wil slp alot. the reason is when they sleep, their brain n body are developing so slp is quite important to them at this stage. how old is ur bb now? Is ur baby gaining weight n how heavy is ur bb now? if he/she is gaining a good weight, then no worries.

spicegal,
The sling is v easy to use. I didnt even read the instructions before using and I manage to use it straight away after collecting fr you. We went IMM to do some shopping and my gal was sleeping soundly.

moap,
Yr bb 6.2kg? That is v big! No wonder the doc ask u to decrease the milk intake..haha! My son was 5.2kg when he was 1 mth and pp already commented that he was v big ...so i cant imagine how ur dd looks like... must be v cute and chubby

It seems like your bbs only poo once a day. How come mine can poo like 3-6x a day? can imagine how fast i use up the diapers

tinklebell

sometimes the poo comes in intervals...a single poo may take as long as 20 mins and 3 outputs. for such, i actually consider as 1 poo and not 3

tinklebell

sometimes the poo comes in intervals...a single poo may take as long as 20 mins and 3 outputs. for such, i actually consider as 1 poo and not 3

kite,

Not much merlion nowadays. In fact i think she is improving already. Yesterday in the day, 3 times feed, she never spit out any

nepia on offer at ntuc today!!! I am going to grab two M sized tonite. Also buy two M sized pampers too. Diapers running out liao... milk powder also running out.. sigh, tonite another shopping spree. Gotta spend $200 at least.

Oh by the way, i got this winnie the pooh toy from HK.. very good... can easily catch bb attention and she likes it
Even better if she can crawl next time. The series also sold in singapore, about $49.90 at all big stores. The pooh can talk, walk, etc. The design i bought not found in singapore so far and i bought it for $52 sing dollars.

I wonder whether i should get flash cards. My ger seems to like the black and white prints i printed out from website. She will stare for very long time. And i notice she loves books too! Keep staring at the books i am reading. Even little KFC brochures haha...

So when ur mum take care, u bringing ur ger home every nite?

MOAP/Tinklebell,

I think both ur bb very big!! haha.. my bb at first mth 4.4 kg. Recently 3rd mth 6.6 kg. Already considered growing very well. So urs really grow very much faster!!

kite...i know so many websites is becos during my confinement cannot go out so i rely on online shopping lor...keke

tinklebell...ya the sling very easy to use hor...my gal also sleeps soundly in it...

My gal has been very cranky these few nites...cry & cry till 2-3am then sleep...pat her also no use...very tired...panda eyes liao..

moap..haha...my gal also..sometimes wan to have milk every hour at night...i am bottle feeding..she will close her eyes when suckle the bottle teat...when milk finish...eyes open big big again...haiz

my bb
Volume of milk drink: 100 ml - 120 ml
feeding interval: Every 3.5 hours
Night feed: 1:30am, 6am
Poo: Once in 5-7 days

spicegal/MOAP,

sometimes my gal also wants to feed every 1-2 hourly in the night, so i practically latch her on the whole night, so tiring.. and her eyes are big big the whole night! and my hb juz sleeps thru the whole night :p

paula,

pigeon diaper is okay but not as good as pampers premium or mamypoko. it does have urine indicators though. i got it as a gift..
i remember some of the mummies here don't like mamypoko, but i think it works well for my gal, good for night use.

re: taimaobi
is the brush hair 100% made from your baby's hair? or is it mixed with other kinds of hair to make it stiffer? my hubby quite keen to order it for my gal, but my gal has got very little hair leh

cloud9mummy,

Ya, my baby also like yours. He will struggle alot and get so frustrated when trying to feed him, though he looks like he's very hungry. Sigh... really dun noe what to do, wondering is it because he's not comfy with the latching position.

tinklebell,
My baby at 4 weeks also seem to poo many times a day leh. About 5-6 times a day; mainly during feeding time and sometimes can be alot.

do u give ur CL additional angbao when she leaves ?? Also, the last day for the CL shld be on the 28th day or in the morning of 29th day ?

my bb
Volume of milk drink: 100 ml - 125 ml
feeding interval: Every 3 hours
Night feed: 1am, 4am
Poo: 1 big one in the morning and abit during the day.

RE: poo
ladies, are breastmilk babies' poo remain more watery or will it harden as they grow older?

RE: burping
ladies, will your baby wakes up in the middle of his sleep becoz he wanna choke or burp?

my boy often needs to burp again, even though he already burp after his feed. he will cry suddenly in the middle of his sleep and seems wanna choke. *heartache*

cookiemz,
so it will remain more watery as long as they are still on BM.

so far my baby's poo is watery, but this morning it's slightly harder though i didnt change his feeding (BM in the day and FM in the night)

Good afternoon mummies

Here is my son's info

Volume of milk drink: 80 ml - 120 ml
feeding interval: Every 2 hour
Night feed: 2am, 4am, 6am (how tiring!)
Poo: a few times per day (Is it normal?)

okipoki & cookiemz,

My CL comes on 24 Jun (Sat) but she requests to leave on tomorrow; Friday Afternoon. Actually I would thot it should be Sat Afternoon.

Ya. I will give my CL an angpow too. Previously, I had also given one to her on the day she comes. cookiemz, do you mind to tell us how much you angbao you give your CL?

kite,

u can find out more abt bumwear at www.bumwear.com
the diapers come in very nice colours ;)

sunshine,

CLs usually stay for 28 days, inclusive of the days they come and leave. i gave my CL $28 on her first day and $88 on her last day. as i extended her stay by 4 days, i gave her extra $250 for the add'l days.

mspiggy,

ya, poo shd be soft as long as baby is on BM, coz BM has high water content. i'm not sure abt the hardening of poo, but it may also be linked to mummies' diet, if we take alot of heaty stuff, baby will also feel the heatiness and poo may not be so soft.

Cloud9,
I do battle with my gal during feeding time esp. her feeding position I concluded that she might not be hungry during those occasions. These days, I will only start feeding her when I hear her wailing for milk and she will finish her milk in less than 15 mins when I do so

Kite,
I was thinking of purchasing that too but decided to check out the quality of the bag when Im in KKH next Monday before purchasing.

Re. Nepia, infact I felt that the quality is even much better than Pampers Premium! Im going to stick with Nepia for a long long time!

I brought many toys for my girl quite a few from the Kids Tools range (those black and white cubes; mobile; activity book for cot). My gal likes it and she like to ooh and uhh to the sunflower and zebra in the activity book during playtime.

Stephanie,
I brought a mobile sarong cradle for my gal when she was five weeks old and it does help to calm her down at times, traditional method work best. Instead of carrying her these days, I rock her to sleep. Furthermore, the sarong these days are more modern with pockets of holes hence, improve ventilation too. You could get one from Kiddy Palace.

Cookiemz,
Did your check with your gals PD if your gals poo routine is normal? Im worried as my gal is pooing once every alternate day. Im worried that her intestine might be blocked.

Re. taimaobi, yes, its 100% baby hair. Apparently they have 3 sizes depending on the amount of hair that your baby have. I ordered the M size.

Okipoki,
Yes, its a must to give the CL an exit red packet.

I'm thinking of buying a playpen for my gal to be placed in my inlaws place. Any recommendations? Since I already have a cot at home, I felt that it doesn't make sense to get another cot.

paula,
i see, my boy still using PP newborns and Dryper S size. wanted to get nepia but not sure if i shd go for S size.

paula,

we were quite worried initially coz my bb only poos after 5 days, despite all the ruyi oil, gripe water and even medicine from PD. so i brought my gal to KKH A&E when she didn't poo for 8 days. KKH PD said it was normal for babies not to poo every day when they are breastfed. in my gal's case, she's on total BM and when she does poo after many days, it's not alot and still soft. she also showed no signs of discomfort so PD concluded that she absorbs the nutrients very well coz she's still gaining weight (she's abt 5kg now minus the poo) so not to worry. her intestines are fine too, PD actually stuck a finger up her anus to check.

my worry is that she gets used to the routine of poo-ing once a week and when she starts on formula few months later, she will have constipation... the funny thing is, every morning we HMMMMMMMM to her to try and make her poo, she will without fail, PEE!!! haha..

Cookiemz,
Thanks for sharing. My gal is on FM now and I'm little worried as I thought regular pooing equates to healthy digestive system. I'll continue to monitor her situation ... if it doesn't get better, have to bring her to KKH for a check up...

Yea, instead of pooing when I hmm her every morning, she will smile at me! haha...

paula,
he's 4.9kg now. so i can actually get the S

btw, anyone used mommy poko? how's the feedback? i have 1 newborn and 1 S from friend

mspiggy,

nepia size S is slightly bigger than PP size S, the elastic gathers are not as tight too. my gal using PP size S juz nice, but nepia S size still abit loose around the thigh. if your son still can fit drypers size S, Nepia S size will be too big at the moment.

paula,

u can check out the playpens that The First Few Years carries at KKH. they have several nice ones from Graco which cost 169 onwards. i bought the MamaLove one for 99 and another colorful one (comes with mosquito netting) for 109 from that shop.