(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

medusa, tinklebell

me have some prob...gal doesnt really feed well when latched. She will pull herself off after some time then in a few minutes, start crying for milk again.

However when i express out, milk is sufficient, abt 180 ml from both breasts.

So i also dun know if there is some latching prob. BTW, how often do we need to burp a breastfed baby?

Stephanie,

I got the same problem here. My baby like your gal when latching. He will latch for at most 5 mins then will pull out. After that he will get very frustrated and dun wan to latch already. Worry dun noe if he can get sufficient milk or not.

But like you I do think got sufficient milk leh.

BTW, I do burp my baby even when breastfeed.

stephanie,
according to books, few possible scenarios:
- letdown too slow. Solution: Pump first to stimulate letdown, then latch.
- milkflow too slow. Solution: Massage/ hand-express while latched.
- milkflow too fast. Solution: Lie on ur back with bb lying on top of u sucking against gravity.
- latch problem, unable to "get" the milk. Solution: See LC.

HTHS
. Ur pump yield is so much higher than mine! I just missed 1 feed session just now to introduce bottle... so made up with 1 pump session. Only pumped 100ml and worse, can feel stubborn "lumps", breasts not drained effectively. Now waiting for bb to wake up to latch and drain more effectively.

Anyone having problems bottlefeeding? I just intro-ed... can drink but dribble alot of milk from sides of his mouth. Fed 160ml at one go, but not sure how much really entered his tummy!

medusa
i think i am going to go back to latching again.
i dont like my maid to feed my girl but i donno how to put it to her bec she thinks her duty is to take care of my girl. she's done a great job but I prefer to feed her myself... but she always so "on" and feed her even before i know it. i guess i'll freeze whatever excess i have expressed and keep a min supply of EBM in the fridge.
Hiaz! i think i am going to go mad looking after my 2 kids! Not enuf sleep and my boy keeps waking her sister up

Medusa,
Tks for the info. Now I know to solve it! My milkflow is too fast when it comes and my bb always get choked!
I'm using NUK nipples, so far its ok. When I tried to use other nipples such as avent or pigeon brand, he gets pretty frustrated!

Do ya sterilise the pump each time u use or just wash?

ipanda,
I cant remember exactly what is my package & how many sessions as i signed up few months ago. Well, for mine case i can use as pre or post natal massage. Also, can be used as normal massage if i am not mistaken. I paid abt $1.26k for >15 session inclusive of facial sessions etc.

Tinklebell,

I am a S'pore citizen, is juz that is my hubby's family business, presently facing manpower shortage, hence have to return to work in advance.

Here are some photos of Keon

Juz had his haircut by his daddy:

465567.jpg

465568.jpg

Li May,
Keon is so adorable... does he looks like daddy or mummy ?? Some ppl said normally ger will looks like daddy while boi will looks like mummy

hazel, okipoki,

that one at hospital. still very good. sleep quietly n soundly. now at home different oredy. can scream n wail so loudly i sometimes feel paiseh with the neighbours.

now face oso different. it seems that his looks changes with each day to resemble different pple in the family. think he hasn't found a face he likes yet. hee

li may,

keon's so cute and round. esp with new haircut. how ever did your hubby manage to cut his hair? he didn't move n squirm?

li may - keon so cute!
ur hubby dare to shave his hair?

i dun even dare to bring my boy to barber.
think will shave him ard 3rd mth. when the head is more stable. :p

Miz_hopeful, my gal olso wailed very loudly at night .. especially at around 11pm ... was worried that her wailing will disturb my neighbor too ... sigh.

BTW, does anyone having prob bottlefeeding your baby? These days, my gal refuse to me let elevate her head while feeding ... she prefers her head to be laid on my thighs during feeding, ... is tis common?

paula,

like your gal, my gal used to take a long time to finish her bottle and fights alot in the process. could it be your gal don't like the bottle teat? a couple of weeks back, i tried out the peristaltic nipple from pigeon and my baby seems to like it. now she can finish her feed in 15 mins and at one go. but she is not particular with feeding positions, she is happy as long as milk is delivered to her mouth.. kekeke..

Cookiemz,
Thanks for the advice. Will try to change the teat ... sigh. BTW, how do you clean your baby's tongue? I used a wet cotton wool to clean her tongue but could only clean the most front part cos' my finger could not reach the inner part. Is this good enough?

I recalled reading a post from one of the mummies saying that her baby has phelgm ... eh, I believe my gal got phelgm too ... any remedy? Should I bring my baby to the PD or it will go away?

paula,

i use a small piece of soft cloth dipped in warm water to clean her gums and tongue, but also cannot reach in very far. my confinement nanny ever told me that i can buy something to clean off the white residue on my baby's tongue, but i forgot the name of the product.

okipoki,

your CL still around right? can check with her if she knows what we can use to clean our baby's tongue more effectively?

li may,

how did your hubby manage to cut Keon's hair until so nice? my baby's skull still very soft, i don't dare to shave her hair yet.

i'm going back to work next week.. so sian.. my clothes can't fit, heels also don't fit! can't believe that my feet also increased in size after pregnancy

allo tinklebell

re: vaccination by GP
I hv asked my GP to do the vaccination. He told me to bring my bb when she is abt 2.5mth. Is that the norm? Does the 6-in-1 include the oral rotavirus vaccine not?

kk
u wan to go adelaide huh? It's a very nice place.. I love it there cos I studied ther for 1.5yrs. Go Kangeroo Island for farm stay, German Village, Barrossa Valley for winery, the port on Sunday for fresh oyster at super cheap px, Mt Lofty, Glenge Beach... I really miss those days...wahaha...
Me n hubby intend to go back nxt yr when my ger is bigger...keke

Paula
Let us noe how is the sling, ok ;)

Re: Neipa S Size Diaper

Actualli I bought quite a few packets of S size but it still too big for my ger. Anyone wan to try.. PM me okie. Sellin @ $14 per pack... same px as I bought from the supplier. Me stay at Upp thomson area.

Dor,
The recommended is 1.5mth for the first 6-in-1 dose... but i notice that some docs n even PDs adjust the timings... not sure why too.

rotarix is a separate vaccine...and is to be orally taken... was told to space out the 2 vaccines instead of taking them on the same day.

hi paula,
i'm the one who mentioned that bb has phelgm. i brought him to see PD liao but PD said it's ok.. it's quite common for bb to hv phelgm. he said no need to take medication cos bb still small & will recover when bb grows bigger. so din hv to worry. i just feed my bb with more water lor (ard 120-150ml/day). now it's better. & oso i try to reduce FM and more BM instead.

cookiemz,
I hv checked with my CL, she said got one lotion meant for cleaning of mouth. The box is yellow in colour with a picture of a baby. So far, I didnt use that & normally after feed, we will feed bb with plain water to "clear" the milk in her mouth. Thus, her tongue is not that dirty. Alternatively, u may dip the cottonwool with water (not tap water) to clean it

Dor,
Do u hv difficulties to call up the PD clinic ? I called a couple of time nobody pick up & their mailbox always full. Stupid hor !! So when do u intend to send ur ger for injection ? I was thinking of getting the 5-in-1 rather than 6-in-1 leh due to the fever.

"Da Fong Cao"

any mummies here still need the da fong cao for bathing? I still have some left over, intend to sell. Any one interested?
466230.gif

cookiemz
BMSG(Breastfeeding mothers' support gp) advised that
1frozen EBM be placed in a bowl of ap water first b4 standing in Hot water to warm.
2If using the EBM the next day, can transfer to chiller to slowly thaw overnight.
3Swirl the bottle after thawing to blend any fat that has been separated.
how do u get bb to open mouth for u to clean tongue and gums?

duffybuff
my bb also seem to have phlegm cos i hear him clearing his thoat v frequently... :p he has yellowish mucous in his nostrils too., so your D says it's normal hah... actually wanna bring this to the PD's attention when i bring bb for his jaundice check this week. u feed your bb 120ml of water from bottle? i only feed mine droplets of water using a spoon...

okipoki
i also clean bb's mouth with cotton dipped in cool boiled water after every feed. how much water do u feed bb to clean his mouth?

my bb's rashes is better now... after i chage from JnJ top to toe wash to Lactacyd for his bath and applying baby powder every evening after changing him... the cream my CL applied smells and I dun like it... st6ains bb's clothes too... someone in this forum suggested Pigeon baby powder... think i am going to try that too.

sunflower,
maybe 1.5mth bb thighs no meat so more difficult to inject that's why they make it 2 mth or later...kekeke... guess my wild guess :p
i suppose it wont matter when the jab is taken.

tinklebell,
ya, guess the doctors should know.

quite puzzling though if take 5-in-1, Hep B 2nd jab must take 1 mth.
but 6-in-1, hep b 2nd jab inclusive, can drag Hep B jab till 2nd mth. will the Hep B jab still be effective.

sunflower,
haha! should be ok lor...anyway hep B jab immunity may not be lifelong wor ... i took mine just 3 yrs back... then i checked again last year... no more immunity... so fast gone ... now have to waste money to take again

dor,

my hubby say he sick of australia liao because we went there twice. So maybe we are going to korea as my hubby want to experience winter leh. U have experience with snowing winter?

My girl went for 5-in-1 3rd mth jab last nite. Everything fine.. mild fever this morning but down liao after taking one dose of medicine. No cranky at all

kk,
wow! going to korea during winter? nice leh... can go skiing... the other time i missed going skiing cos was pregnant... looks v fun!
but winter super cold! was freezing even though i went during end winter.
haha! your hub and mine have the same comment for australia... he went there many times but i only went there once. Everytime i tell him i want to go australia, he will say "Australia again? went there many times already".

sunflower,
all jabs will have fever. but according to my CL, she said 6-in-1 jabs fever are more jialat... duno how true leh.

okipoki,

thks, i will try giving my gal some water to clean up the residue.

gina,

my gal loves bathing time so when she opens her mouth to smile or yawn, i will put my finger in and swab her tongue and gums quickly with a wet cloth.

kk,

korea's winter is very cold! but the skiing and themeparks are very fun

Dor,
Finally managed to call up the clinic.. they charged consultation fee for every visit for the injection ranging from $50 to $70.

kk,
been to korea during winter... remember u shld go during end winter sometime end january. cos my gf went in dec was caught in a heavy snow storm.. was struck in a heavy traffic jam & all her trip schedule cant met.