(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

my bb woke up due to wet nappy... fed him for abt 20mins then fall asleep again.

later when he is awake, will try the sole mtd.

the sky still so gloomy!!!!
I wan SUN tomolo morning!!!! :p

burping:
u all using upward or downward stroke for burping? my mum using downward while hubby using upward stroke. both methods able to burp my bb. ya i also notice sometimes after feeding, she dun want to slp, meaning she stil want me to burp else she wil leak milk within 10mins. really freak me out.

kk/okasan:
within 5 days (based on last wk last visit), she gained 140g, little? Dr. Ong said normal but i find little so tis wk i keep latching her even though she is stil slping on every 3hrs interval.

Btw i dun intend to go back to Dr. Ong liao. Intend go polyclinic. So when is e time to go, only at 2nd jab Hep B?

lyn:
y u oni hold buffet on 22 July, way after 6 july? stil in e chinese 6th mth? so holding buffet is a form of celebrating full mth? but difficult to tell frens, colleagues n relatives not celebrating full mth cos they give us alot of gifts n presents. hmmm. so not celebrating meaning cant give any form of cards in voucher (bengawa solo) n etc? i stil hv no plan yet but hubby intend to hold buffet leh. see how.

Sad to say i hv not showered, not to say my smelly hair. for body, i just use cloth wipe wipe. so hows ur wound? today went gynae visit, she pasted a piece of silicon for me to prevent keloids.

if u latch ur bb, how u know he is drinking 60ml? i let her latch til she fell aslp n monitor her poo n pee.

6 in 1 jab:
wat is e diff. between 5 n 6 in 1 jab? also when is e time to go for this jab? cos i just blindly follow the healthbook accordingly.

c-sect:
mum said for 1st 2 wk, i cant eat eggs n chicken afraid wound got hv infection. today went gynae visit, saying my titches wil disappear by itself. when u all start to eat egg n chicken?

Hep B:
btw my gynae advises me to go for hep b jab together w baby.

Nurse told me bb under phototherapy for jaundice wil feel drowsy n slpy. my bb was like tat after discharged for 1 to 2 days. after tat, okie liao.

Paula:
me also intend to celebrate (if any) on 1 july 06, ya hv to be early than delay. so u stil go ahead n celebrate full mth ah?

kite,

Chicken and eggs... 3rd week after delivery if i didn't remember wrongly. So difficult to survive without eggs heee.. but then when my mil made 2 half boiled eggs for me every morning.. i really almost screamed!

Hep B.. i didn't take any jab as gynae never say so.

Polyclinic.. u can go there for ur bb 2nd Hep B Jab and from then onwards

My bb gained 200 g on her first visit to Dr Ong. I think 140 g is ok lah

I noticed for my bb.. no matter whether i burp or dun burp her, she will regurgitate milk. Just that burping makes her more comfortable cos less wind in tummy

Hmmm, i read somewhere have to use upward burp.. i use upward burp but sometimes mil use downward burp.. bb feel comfy with both

I'm back from hospital.

Irvin's 3.82kg, 49cm length, 36cm head circumference, via elective c-section on 17-06-06, 3 days after EDD.
C-section recovery faster but just as painful, jaundice detected early.
Doublelight treatment on 2nd day (unknown jaundice reading, just from visual and sibling history- my #1 gal had early jaundice too).
Single light treatment on 3rd day (9.2 jaundice reading but they screwed up- misconveyed to my PD as 5.2, lucky my PD kiasu due to our pressure).
Discharge on 3rd day, ie today (5.0 jaundice reading where 1.5 is no jaundice, 10 warrants doublelight treatment). To sun morning, evening, visually monitor and see PD on Fri.

Sat 4am admission. 7:30am elective c-section. 12nn see bb for 1st time. Latched 2x entire day, glucose cupfeed rest of time cos drowsy from painkiller (nurse afraid I'd drop bb) and to delay uterus contraction pains when nursing.

Sun drip, catheter removed. Mobile. Latched 5x entire day, rest of time not allowed to dally with bb- bb sent for doublelight treatment for jaundice. Glucose cupfeeds cos the light treatment is dehydrating (and saves abit of time on bfg so bb can spend as much time as possible on light treatment). I started on MIM NURSING TEA, GNC FENUGREEK SUPPLEMENTS, USANA OMEGA CAPSULES (all these supposedly aid milk supply).

Mon Latched as much as I cld but colostrum seems lesser than when I had #1 gal. Shows that frequent latching is key- #1 was via c-section and I latched her right when I was conscious, every 3 hrs from day 1. I din take BFG supplements with #1 when in hospital! Bb #2 on single lightbed therapy. Topped up latching (20mins each side) with glucose cos colostrum din seem enough.

Tues discharged both me and bb. Gd thing is that with #2 bb, less uterus contraction pains and less nipple trauma, probably cos I'm less aggressive in latching. But downside is colostrum/ milk supply, lesser/ come in slower, despite bfg supplements so early on.

Hope above info useful for jaundice, milk supply issues. Jaundice itself makes bb lethargic, try to make bb feed more, drink more.

445699.jpg

445700.jpg

hi medusa,
congrats! ur bb looks so cute. Btw how did u capture so nice photo, u using flash? me stil dun dare to use flash when my bb opens her eyes.

medusa/kite,

Is the second photo taken by the photo company?

Kite, Me not using flash on bb anymore, after u mention the effect of flash. The pictures turn out fine. Surprisingly, the photos turn out better without flash. Haha, i silly, so long then realise how my camera can work best.

kite, kk,
photo taken by me w/o flash but with hospital room lights switched on.
photos w/o flash look better, esp for close-ups. Best to get close to windows for sufficient natural lighting
eyes open... must wait for opportunity, he was mostly asleep or hungry other times. I talked cheerfully to him at right moments and he paid attention by staring at me

I wanted to get pro photo svs at hospital leh, but they only contacted me 3rd day, and it's more expensive/ not the same company as I had for my #1 gal. So lucky I experimented on my own. But not gd enough

kk:
cos so far i find that not easy to catch hold of a photo of my bb opens her eyes cos usually she wil slp most of the time. hv to wait for opportunity.

kite,
when your baby is one mth old, it's time for the 2nd dose of hep B jab

think 140g weight gain is ok lah..afterall, too chubby baby also nt a healthy sign, so u dun force feed your baby too much...

kite,

Buffet just to treat people eat. Not distributing and having red eggs, nor ang ku kueh, nor cakes, so not really full month celebration. I got loads of gifts and hampers for baby and lots of red packets already. Paiseh if I dun distribute cakes (cos cannot due to "po yue"), so hold a buffet... My "shifu" calculate full month is 40 days, not 30 days. Last time my cousin's boy's full month also 40 days. I am going back "niang jia" on 17 July, on full month
and also "bai zhu sian".

My wound no more pain after the first week already
hee... I keep walking here and there till my mum nag and nag to ask me to lie down... lol... Only yesterday, when my gynae removed the stitches, the wound hurt for a while... I think I gonna shower again this Saturday
I am going out for a seminar this Saturday. hee... I quite "ai mei" one... when going out, I try to look presentable...

I latch and my hubby bottle feed EBM at nite, so I know how much he's drinking... My boy will latch and will spit out my nipple when he's full... You know, when my hubby bottle feed my boy, when he dun wanna drink, he will close his lips very tight... lol... looks very funny though...

I dare not eat chicken and eggs yet. I am scared my wound look ugly again... So now, I am very careful. No "sheng yu" too. Last time, I drank "sheng yu jin" and eat chicken and eggs...

MTDT,
If jaundice reach below the navel, it's very serious already. Immediate medical attention is needed. That's what I read...

Medusa,
Congratulations! Your boy is very chubby...
So good...

missk,
massage and pump, massage and pump... and also massage as I pump. It's very effective, I find.

My mum told me cant eat egg, chicken n sheng yu. Dont know y MIL keep asking me to eat n even prepare for me. Mum told me asked my hubby tell MIL not to prepare any egg, chicken n sheng yu for me cos scare wil irritate e wound. eating all these wil cause slower to cure?

Thanks mummies for your well wishes.

Medusa,
Congrats! Yr bb is so chubby!

Jaundice:
Heard from my CL, can rent from hospital the 'sunbath' machine. She said ard $100 for few days.

Egg and chicken:
Ya, first 12 days to avoid eating egg and chicken.

I got a question, anyone brings your bb to polyclinic instead of PD? Do they check the weight growth when bring them for jabs?

hey lyn

Sorry for being so long-winded. When you say massage and pump, do you mean massage then pump. How many times do you do that?

I notice that even if I don't pump for 6 hours, my MS is still very little. Also, after 5 mins on the machine, my MS stops. So, I stop pumping since there isn't any milk at all. Does that happen to you?

okasan:
if i bringing my bb to polyclinic for 2nd hep B jab, must i book appt w polyclinic in advance or just go down straight wil do?

kite,

My colleague booked appointment and no need to queue

Sheng yu soup can be prepared, but not NOW. i only drank that in around week 4. Supposed to help heal wound.

soh,

i ate a lot of cauliflower and broccoli during confinement

msnanas,

I heard from colleague that the polyclinic will also record down everything in health booket i.e. they conduct checkup too for bb. Checkup by doctor and jab by nurse.

kk:
oic then i better let my hubby know fast tonite n ask her tell MIL not to buy anymore! dunno MIL meant good for me. keep asking me can eat egg, chicken n sheng yu.

lyn:
u mentioned u undergo operation before rite? so when is e best time to eat egg, chicken n sheng yu? eating now wil make e wound ugly n heal slower?

I m pleased to annouce the arrival of Chole, Okipoki's ger this evenin at 6pm. Induced w epi...She weighs 3.08kg. Mother n daughter are doin well.

Congrats okipoki again

As for my update,
i think my milk supply had dropped quite alot. Those mummies, i think Mum2be has posted that not much milk supply.. well u hv tried ur best... dun stress over it.

I m givin my ger Friso Instant and also pump watever i can achieve. For the last 2 wks, i am so sad n keeps cryin that I dun hv much breastmilk and my engorement didnt even kicks in at all.

My hubby had been a good support, he said no breastmilk nvr mind.. bb still can drink FM. I hv to let go. Now I m happier and stress free.

Btw, now i weigh 50.6kg.. b4 delivery @ 58.2kg. So I hv 5kg more to go from my ideal wt..keke

Re : Avent Manual Pump
I think someone mentioned the pump does not hv suction... I think u hv put one of the small rubber the other way round... I tried for the whole of 1st wk, no suction, till i super stress n went to get mini medala pump.. but still my supply is still not as good. Kekeke

kite,

remember.. these 2 weeks cannot eat eggs, chicken, liver, peanuts, seafood. What else ahh.. i dunno what else i have left out. And no "liang" vegetables like white cabbage too. So that's why soh can eat broccoli and cauliflowers because these two veg safe to eat. Plus all leafy vegetables, except kangkong which is cooling. That means, all cooling food cannot eat
After confinement, u can eat all u want heee... but u eating confinement food for 30 or 40 days??

Dor,

My hubby also like ur hubby.. tell me the same thing.. no BM, then feed FM, never mind one heee.. so i never stress myself out :p I am already mentally prepared anyway :p Now i just pump out whatever i have for bb, be it 30 ml only :p Better than nothing :p

Wow.. u are lighter than me leh! I think i eat too much rubbish after confinement.. now weighs 54 kg liao
I guess it is a right decision to get new clothes for myself heee..

kk
haha.. my original wt is abt 44kg lei.. put on wt after marriage. when i m preggie, i m 47kg. gain abt 11kg. i tried my clothes.. wau pian the bottom cannot wear lei.. still wearin my maternity pants.

anyway, the GSS still hven finished. can go shop shop after my confinement ends at 4 july.. keke

Anyone give ang pow to CL when she starts works? The CL I engage states that she will want a 'kai gong' hong pow for a li shi.

Any idea what amt to give?

Dor,

Sigh, i gained about 17 kg when pregnant. Now no chance to shed the weight, despite taking care of bb everyday, cos weekend will still sneak out with hubby to eat good food heeee.. i told him i eat good food to take revenge because confinement food really sucks! Heee...

kk
wah.. so shiok can sneak out.. me by nite time, we hv to take care of bb. cos my mom 'ba gong'after dinner liao. so no chance to go out at all lei...

Dor,

so have u decided which caterer to choose? So when r u holding your baby's 1st mth party?

Today is Day 16 & my BM supply is still low (i think). But i still latch on. Baby will wake up every 2 hrs. At night, my CL will bring baby to me, i will latch him, then supplement with Formula, if he is still hungry
445786.gif

Dor, okipoki has given birth finally? must really congratulate her... she has been waiting anxiously for the past few days!

Sunshine, i gave my CL a $38 ang pow - yishi yishi to start work. If she is good, u give her a bigger ang pow before she goes off.

kite, if u r going for hep B vaccination for bb, it means that u would be going for 6-in-1. 6-in-1 will include the hep B injection tog with the normal 5-in-1. The schedule is however different fr the one in the health booklet.

Dor,
i also gave up using my Avent manual... now during confinement need to rest more lah... so manual pump is tiring to use. I used Ameda dual pump instead. So far so good. Just need ard 10-15 mins to get the supply i want.

serene,
I checked the price of the 5-in-1 and 6-in-1 jab at kidslink liao...for 6-in-1, it's $110 per jab + $30 consultation fees amd for 5-in-1, it's $75+ per jab + $30 consultation fees....

i_panda
me intendin to do on 2july. lookin at neo garden now.. still hven firm up anything

my ger is now mostly on FM. BM only once a day lei. FM can last longer, she wakes up abt 4hrs. but at nite, she tends to drink more. somehow, i can detect her pattern liao. Her last feed is ard 12am plus, then hv to carry her awhile, then she will sleep till 6am for another feed... then day start again.
Ur boi drinkin how much now? mine abt 75ml per feed.
When did u gave birth? are our child hvin the same b'day. me on 4 jun

tinklebell
ya..she sms me at 7pm.. gave birth at 6pm. so much energy..keke. we hvin the same gynae mah..

i hate the avent pump.. so many things to wash. the mini medela only got 3 things to wash niah..hahaha.

missk

TMC parentcraft ctr---6251 4090..
they provide CL oso but subject to availability..me vv lucky can get 1 to help me for at least 2weeks+..can try calling..but hor,maybe got surcharge for last min booking leh..

Dor,

Haha, weekends if we wanna go out, will leave bb with in laws.. every thurs evenings will leave with her too, because we gotta go ntuc do some marketing. If we dun do it hor, i think i go siao liao, trapped at home with bb everyday :p

Wow, ur girl already go guaiguai when she is not even 1 mth old yet? My bb can wake up 3 times a nite in her 1st mth. She sleep only long hours starting week 6.

Dor,

ya..our babies have the same bday 4-June. Me also having the 1st mth party on 2-July.

wow..your girl so guai, can sleep thru'out the night. My boy cannot leh...I will latch him, let him suck suck, then he will fall asleep. If still cry, supplement will formula (abt 60ml).

dsiitan,

No lah, battery operated lah haha.. if not my hand pek-chak liao heee... very good i would say
Very useful for me.. without it, dunno how to survive through my engorgement during confinement :p

kk
hahaha..u dun tell me the pump shld be $179 ah??? u left out the 1 in front hor....hahahaha...if $79 and electric..wah...then i think must get liao...

kk
wah..really $179 ah??? tot 79...make me so happy...hahaha....issit better than avent manual? cos saw 1 at mothercare...after disc is $80..come with 2 milk bottles and 5 storage cups...

dsiitan,

Hee i never use avent before so i dunno lor.. i heard quite good comments on avent too. But some mummies face some problems with it too. Ya, manual cheaper than electric :p

Hmm, i think i saw that avent pump package before. It is sold everywhere rite? $80 cheap? I heard use manual very tiring leh, especially if u have lots of milk :p

U used any pumps for ur #1?