(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

mum2b: yah, me too, no signs of any contractions ?!!! Do u think raspberry tea will help??

actually, i feel very very warm in the afternoons, but in the mornings, i feel like i have the cold ... so strange right ? so i dunno if i sld take "liang" or "heaty" food ??

okipoki,
hmmm....really? anyway, dont worry abt it now... just hope we have smooth delivery on our labor day!

mspiggy,
dont know how true but i will just leave it to her when she wants to come out lor.... definitely hope she is healthy & we hv a smooth delivery.

K_Ong,
20th June is a nice date...haha...if my bb wants to pop exactly at 40 wks then it will be tat day

okipoki,
ya, tats wat my mom said....she told me lunar 6th mth for this yr no gd....*sigh*...so ma-fan rite?

Stephanie,
i think sometimes we juz have to ignore this kind of dates thingy...cos its not like we can choose one mah

serene,
ya lor, he hopes to have no 3 cos my mil keep telling her children to have big big families. **FAINT** think so easy to cope ar.
hee hee yesterday just had MIL bak chang... all 4 of her children's families were there to help...quite fun lah... that's the interesting bit abt big families... provided all siblings get along well.

okipoki,
wow! u were a lucky bb... my mum actually took some medication to stop her MS. But my grandma BF my mum til she was 2! But then she said my mum bit her N and then she cannot cont. kekeke!

Actually, my EDD was 20 June which i thought was correct bec i monitor my menstrual calendar v closely. But after the OSCAR, they revised it to 16 June... which i thought was not correct...puzzling... i really wonder how they derive the EDD.

okipoki,
that's very true!

tinklebell,
maybe your baby really decided to come out on his own on 20 Jun then you dont have to induce already. btw, you bought your Ameda breastpump?

celesteblur,
i would definitely want something good for my gal, but if she choose to come out on that mth then probably the name will help her lor
i know is troublesome as u said not by choice lor

tinkle,
keke yeah right so i seldom fall sick when i was young.. my mum said i was force to kick the breastfeed.. she fed me with chilli. hahahaha... else i would hv continue..

ms piggy,
My whole body aching and in pain fr head to toe
i cant tahan til 20 June liao!
I got my B-pump from my fren's SIL who happened to have a new spare set. Havent opened it to try yet. u got yours already? i saw someone in the one of the threads saying if they could get 10, then the price will be lower.

mspiggy,okipoki,
oh i c so cannot take chicken essense already now ah.. but heard somebody packed chicken essense in her delivery bag to be drunk b4 labor so as to boost energy for pushing lei..
maybe i'll also checked w/ my gynae on this.

k_ong,
i've just started drinking raspberry tea yesterday only.. hehe coz previously scared if it's indeed can induce labor then will be too early for me. btw i only drink 1 cup a day, u?
btw gynae told me if i want to give birth early then try to stimulate nipple or do BD. maybe u can try?

re:b/f
my mum also never b/f me n my 2 brothers. n my immunity has been v low all of my life! dunno if it's due to non b/f or not.. but that's why now i really want to b/f my bb if possible

re: lunar june
yeah. can't be helped if bb wants to come out at lunar june. but secretly i hope i can give birth earlier on 20 june coz nice date mah.. hehe by then i'll be 39wks+ so just nice **wishful thinking** lol

mum2b,
i duno now can or not but i know before heading to hospital must drink 1 bottle then after delivery also must drink everyday. but advisable to check with gynae

okipoki,
so u got ask those master to choose name for ur bb?

Mum2B,
i heard a lot of ppl say take a bottle of chicken essence b4 delivery, but so far i never tasted chicken essence b4 cos black color one donno will taste farnie boh? Still tinking if i shld take b4 delivery...haha

mummies: i just realised our Mat Leav is 89 days (regardless of weekend) ...
so if i am on leave from tomorrow onwards or wed, i still start work on 11 Sept.
ehehee, so i sld take tomorrow off ...

mum2be,

i took 1 bottle of essence before going induce. My mum said the chinese medicine hall pple told her it can boost energy. My friend also took 2 bottles before she delivered and said it gave her lots of energy to push.

But there are others who believe that essence can cause excessive bleeding so they did not take. I think it is up to individuals

Ya, must take chicken essence after delivery, during confinement. Supposed to be very "bu"
I was taking essence everyday, even till now! Essence is my love

Me back!

Still trying to cope with motherhood..find it pretty overwhelming!

Was initally expressing breastmilk at every 3 hour interval until i cannot take it...had sore and cracked nipples..one even bleed..to make matter worse...fell sick with fever and flu on the 2nd day of discharge...so cannot get near to my son (T.T) Now i reduce the expressing frequency to about 4-5 times a day. Wanna spend more time with my son.

Had been feeling depressed ever since discharged...not too sure why also..i can just look at my husband and cry in front of him...and i get this feeling of insecurity when he is not around me....

Anyone get this feeling of depression whenever its near to the time of you pumping your breastmilk?

Lucky got this thread to keep my sanity..else i think will go crazy esp with the confinement food and "regulations"

438504.jpg

soh,

It is really strange.. i think it is the hormones in action. I shared before.. whenever i feel down suddenly, i knew that engorgement is near.. and true enough, milk will start leaking out. I can even feel this after confinement.

Hi tinklebell,
hope you feel better today *sayang*

i have not bought the pump, will use the manual one first. yeah i saw the thread on Ameda selling @ $280. But not sure why when I called the other time, he told me more than 10 orders selling @ $290. *angry*

Hi Mum2B,
I heard abt the chicken essence too but then my mum told me not to take tonic at this stage. Not sure who's right and who's wrong.

tinkle,
So u finally eaten the home made bak chang! Great!

soh,
I'm stressed too when expressing my milk last nite! I think my milk still not alot yet, so i took long time to express 60ml. My son required at least 60ml each feed and breast milk digest faster and he got hungry faster too! My supply not in time for his need so very stressed. Moreover, when i express so long so hard, only see so little, very stressed and sad...and nipple painful too! Ooch!!! My massage lady ask me to massage to increase the milk flow...i'm trying hard...

kk,
Today is already 10th day after my delivery, how come my milk flow still so little? I heard from my mum, last time, she dun massage or do anything, when engorgement comes, it's very painful and the milk start dripping, like tap...alot, she told me dun even require to express, just press it, can get a bowl of milk!

soh,
I agreed that the confinement regulations is stressful. My gynae advise me not to follow with all the regulations and upset myself... In fact, i've been bathing everyday now with da feng chao...i dun care about whether i will get aching when i get old.

As for confinement food, i eat what i can. Frankly, i dun feel hungry during this confinement, whenever i see meal ready, i feel so sianz...

soh,
dun let confinement bother u...I dun follow the rules coz I rather be happy than to follow the rules and end up getting depression....

Hi Serene

my milk supply started to decrease also coz i reduce my frequency of expressing. Which pump u using? Me using avent manual pump..i found it quite useful as compared to the electric pump i borrowed from the hospital.
What i used to do in the beginning is i just pump and pump and pump to increase the milk supply...but the end result is very very sore nipples

Now i wish i hired CL to do confinement instead of asking my MIL...at least CL u can just bor chap all those regulations..but MIL...abit diff manz..
I envy u ler..can bathe everyday...so far i oni bathe twice...now i trying to increase to 2 to 3 times a week (going to "bargain" with MIL...lucky i can wipe myself daily...better than nothing

Yah..i also dont feel hungry during confinement..my mil keep telling me during confinement must eat..cannot go hungry one..but i really cannot stomach the food ler...i think after confinement..i will stay totally off pig kidney, liver, pork...the mere mention of their names make me feel sick also...

Hi KK

yah..whenever i realise i started to get depress..its abt time of pumping...wondering if you and i are the oni ones that feel this way...

soh,
wow, your mil so strict abt the confinement....lucky my mum says it's ok to bath everyday...just use the herb water when bathing...it's terible not able to bath loh....esp when u breastfeeding....

Regarding confinement rules, i thought i could diligently follow, but ended up breaking alot of such rules haha!

My mum say cannot bathe at nite, can only bathe in the afternoon. But i really cannot tahan. Sweat after BF, after meals, and weather so hot. Felt so sticky by evening, how to not bathe? So i always took another herbal bath at 7-8 pm. I never told my mum about it, and bluffed my mil say i wiped body only heeeeee... i felt so much comfortable after tat and can sleep well at nite.

They say cannot drink plain water during confinement. At times i also got drink, especially when i felt very thirsty after drinking longan red date drink. I never drink cold drinks already very good!!

serene,

My colleague's bb now going 4 mths. And she say she dun need to massage at all. Suddenly she can feel all her breast holes open and the milk just come gushing out!! Envy her rite?? Her bb can't drink much now and she can pump as much as 1000 ml per day. She store so much in the fridge.

Yes, do take hot fluid before u express or feed. It helps! I always felt engorged whenever i took hot soups during lunch and dinner.

Ya, confinement food.. see until sianzzz rite? I still remembered eating those pig kidney and liver.. aidoi, so sick of it!

celesteblur,
yeah will be getting the master to calculate the name then we will decide the name.

soh,
ur son is so cute & know how to look at the camera

soh,

haha, that's how i end up with post natal blues.. due to confinement food, hot herbal wipe, depression before engorgement, and also in laws!! Sometimes my mum also nag at me over the phone. Sick!

Now i really enjoy myself

stephanie,

Yah lor, me and bb at home enjoying each other's company haha..

meals wise.. i eat anything.. breakfast i can just have a simple cup of beverage + chicken essence + waist tonic. Lunch.. sometimes i skip.. sometimes i eat little.. like today i have red bean soup made by mum
Normally i dun eat lunch so it is ok
Can take the chance to slim down too :p

Dinner.. will bring bb over to mil place and eat lor..

kk

Wah, u eat so little? Thot must eat more than can have a good milk supply? :p

Me will also be alone with my baby in my second mth...let's hope MIL doesnt 'kachau' me then ...

sigh...prob is my mil and my mom all believe in good confinment "regulations"...heng the things they believe in more or less the same..else can u imagine if mil has 1 set of ideas and my mom has another...aiyoh..i will die!

My mil always say last time she never do confinement properly..now she suffer..so she dont want me to follow her footsteps...so bor bian lor..

But hehe..i got break rules ...i sleep with aircon on..i told her i will have running nose if i get too hot..wahaha...and i showered with hot water yesterday when the da feng cao water she brewed not enuff for me to shower shiok shiok (after that i feel damn shiok!)...i also drink plain water...surviving on red date & longan drink alone not enuff la..very thirsty manz...

Nowadays i see my husband eat icecream i so envy....

KK, think i am having post natal blues as well...same as u lor..confinement food, no shower but wipe...engorgement...sore nipples, confinement rules and regulations...crying bb...lack of sleep...all these really is physically and mentally draining...

Soh

Did ur mil and mum say you must wear long pants? my mil always nag that i shd wear long pants during my confinement, to 'keep' out the wind....sigh, think i will sweat like mad then....

Just wana know for those who has engaged a CL. Lets say u discharge this afternoon & I believed the CL will only come the next day. So, how are u gers going to settle ur dinner ??? Eat normal food ??

stephanie,

Heng ah.. after hubby tell mil she dun have to come over everyday after confinement, she never drop by liao.. and one way not to make her come is to bring bb back to dinner every nite :p i prefer this way heeee...

my mum also gave me pyjamas in the form of short sleeve shirt and long pants. but i never wear haha.. i wear pyjamas i bought from metro. But after tat find them very warm.. i switch to wearing sleeveless pyjamas which i have been wearing normally heeeeee... dun care liao.. so hot also cannot rest and sleep well.. what for.

soh,

I believe ur mum and mil also ask u to stay in bed and rest the WHOLE day?? My mum always nag me on this but i ignore :p So bored, how to stay in bed the WHOLE day for the WHOLE month??!! Sure die first haha.. then my mum keep saying the same thing lor.. "next time backache then u know" heeee...

kk

ya lor, the old folks always say during confinement, cannot walk abt too often, otherwise will kena here pain and there pain next time...dun know true or not.

think my mil and my mum will crash during my confinement. my mum is more of those modern kind, she believed in wearing sarong and shorts for convenience sake while my mil insist on long pants and no bath......sigh..think will just leave it to hubby to handle them....how nice it wld be if there is just my CL.....now i can foresee 3 ladies in my house during CL, all with differing views.

managed to read some prev post...so much to catch up. Just went to remove my stitch today. Doc said the wound is clean. Hv to go back 6 wks later for pap smear.

Me here trying to build up my milk supply too. Sometimes can pump out 40ml but sometimes only 20ml. But baby Josh now drink more than 80ml each feed, i will latch him on, each side 15-20min, then supplement EBM 60/80ml. Scared i cannot pump out enough to feed him....Mummies, any advice?

i've been very emotional these few days... like what allof you hv encountered.. the mil issue. as for me, i not only hv my mil to help in confinement but i'm staying with the whole family (including sil). sigh... cried so many times liao.. think i'm going crazy soon.

my mil has been helping to bathe my bb as i can bend or squat during confinement. so every morning, she will knock the door at 8+am to carry bb out for bath. a few times i told her bathe bb later cos i just fed him.. but she insisted as she said it's better to bath bb earlier in the morning.

and esp. like last thur and fri where i had my postnatal massage.. so i can't carry or feed bb as i hv massage on my body... so my mil fed bb for me. but in the nite when i hv cleaned myself and fed bb, they came and carried bb away and played with him. i was so upset that i complained to my hb and burst out crying.

sigh.. the thot of going thru all these is very upsetting. imagine i will go bk to work soon and the whole family (mil and sil) all snatching to carry my bb... it's driving me nuts! in fact before i hv bb, everything was so fine staying with them but now.....

Hi Duffybuff

Maybe they are just trying to relieve u of the stress and pressure. It may be kind-heartedness on their part? Carry out the baby so that you can haf a good rest?

what did your hubby say?

Celeste blur, dsiitan,
Ya... My boy got dimple

tinklebell,
Yalor, almost everyone commented that he looks like me, especially his side view... He inherited my curly hair too.. lol...
Your swollen legs sounds bad... Thursday is an auspicious day
I understand how you feel about inducing. It's a disappointment hor? You are better than me, still can go for natural. I wanted natural but gotta choose c-section. Dun be too upset about it ok?

Serene,
Wow.. You pumped so much... I pump 30ml each time yesterday. Today then pump 60ml each session. How long do you pump each session?? My baby's sucking is more painful than pumping... and he only likes to suck on one side, so I gotta pump the other side.

celeste,
hee... ya, he got dimple

It's very frustrating when you wanna feed baby, but cannot hor? Sometimes, I just give in. But I am firm when I am determined to feed

Angeline,
Gotta persevere
and bear with nipple pain leh... Last two days, I feed and pump till my nipples are very sore... but I just continued. Today my milk supply doubled already
My mum dun like the idea that I TBF, but I insisted in it...
Two days ago, I breast fed 2 hours continuosly but baby till hungry... till I cry the whole nite. But after insisting on BF and pumping every few hours, today is much better
Now my baby feed for 10 minutes on one side, then enough already.

Jia you, jia you...

kk,
u cannot eat so little leh! the MS will diminish v shortly. that was what happened to me last time. Drink more fluid if u can.

okipoki,
your CL is fr where? mine says to call her immediately after i deliver. And to call her when i am discharged. she will come to my place after i have been discharged. As for my previous CL, she stays in JB so she told me to call her once i know that i can be discharged fr hospital. She will make her way here immediately.

ipanda,
wow ur bb is quite big har?

soh,
u have a strict rules for your confinement hor..poor girl.

Re: GSS
Robinsons got sale! Got my BIL to get me a thermal airport (Zuji... brand) yesterday. 3.0L only $47+. Taka sells a similar one but it costs $59.90 though it is supposed to be on sale.

duffybuff,

Why need to bathe so early? SOmetimes i bathe my bb as late as 10 am! Heee.. i only bathe her after she has fully woken up.

I dun understand why in laws are all like tat. During confinement, my SIL hog on to bb as though bb is hers! Cannot tahan. I even cried because of tat. My hubby understood and would carry bb over to our bedroom for me to cuddle :p

Yes, everything was so nice until confinement ya? Now with bb, aiyoh, everything seems to have changed.

tinklebell,

I think my airpot similar to that.. very good!! Now i am still using it to store hot water for bb's feeds. But any unused water will cool down after 3rd day so have to change.

hi steffi,
i've been pyscho-ing myself that too.. that they are trying to help cos now i need more rest cos confinement mah.. but i just dunno why i kept hvg that negative thots... and that's the reason why i insist on breastfeeding instead of EBM cos that's the only time i can be alone with bb.

hi ipanda,
my milk oso not enough for bb.. was still quite alright last few days. but realise that today he kept getting hungry every 2 hours (shorter interval - usual 3 hrs interval). he was feeding on 60ml for the last 12 days..so my milk still enough but thk his appetite hv increased liao. anyway i supplemented with formula just now during his earlier feed cos i think i oso 'dried up'liao..haha

i_panda,
If you wanna increase milk supply, gotta stimulate as much as possible. pump and feed and gotta tolerate with the pain...

duffy,
My MIL also likes to carry and feed my baby... I just "ren" lor...