(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

i am so sad that my MS also went down although still enough..i think due to tired and reducing of pumping..

so sian not enough slp for last few days..i myself got to rush my elder gal to kkh A&E last friday evening due to high fever and worst she dosen't want daddy to carry her so i have to carry her all the way till rch hme...and now my discharge change from dark brown colour to red color and got clots also..don no what is goin on???

Any idea how to stop MIL from helping?
I have a confinement lady now, my MIL wants to help out in the 2nd mth after the confinement lady goes off. I would rather depend on myself than having my MIL to help. She is slow and clumsy, always knock on things or drop things etc. Even making a turn, her backside will bump onto things. I worried that I'll have more serious postnatal when she comes and help out... imagine if she carries the bb and she trips...!

To increase MS:
Tips from My CL.
After breastfeeding, have a hot drink.
Let bb latch on to get more milk supply. Pumping will not increase the MS.
Eat more fish and papaya.
Rest more. So far, my bb is on bottlefeed once a day at nite so that I can sleep longer.

You Long Zi:
I've got a contact here. $100. He uses Ba Zi and Pie Hua which I heard from my colleague that doing both is better.
Another one I got which he uses only Ba Zi, he charges $18 only.
Let me know if u want the contact.

kk..
U got the pink bouncer right? did u let bb sleep alot on it? my gal love sleeping on that cos cooling i think.. so every morning she will sleep on that from 8am till nite about 9pm.. almost more than 12 hrs on it.. do u think is not good for the posture cos no solid base to support her body?

Hi KK

yah..like you..i also worry if next time my son will be close to my MIL and dont wan mummy (i even cried when thinking abt this)..coz last time i used to be a "weekend kid". My parents fetch me home from my grandmother during weekends...i rem at that time its always ah ma 1st and not mummy...and i am indeed closer to my granny then. This is also why i refuse be a "weekend" mom...all from personal experience.
I am thinking of alternating btw mil and my mom to take care of my son when he is bigger..like that he wont be so attached to 1 single person...

Hee..my husband also console the same thing ..he says mummy will always be mummy...maybe quite true in some sense..me quite close to my mom now..hehe

Hi Kite

my son PD says sunlight no use wor..oni provide vit d..ask us no need to sun...so we never lor..but u know la..elder pple will insist on sunlight..my mil has been wanting to sun him..but hehe..everytime she wanna sun him it rains...kakaka

re: taking care of baby at night

for my case, I take care of the baby 24 x 7 hrs coz no CL...MIL staying with me, but I prefer to do the night feed myself...anyway, I'm always the first one to wake up when baby made some little noise

kk,
I also thought of baby closer to caretaker than myself once I go back to work...the thought of this tempt me to quit my current job...

amy,
u mean your baby still do blood test for jaundice now?

my baby had very serious jaundice, even worst than yours....but after phototherapy, drop to half the level...had 1 follow-up with PD after discharge...PD say baby still has jaundice but she said once baby is more than 10 days old, liver mature, so jaundice is not so worrying anymore....

after that, no more follow-up with PD liao...although baby still has slight jaundice now....

Hi gals, thanks for your well wishes..

Re:Breastfeeding
During my stay at TMC, have tried to latch my gal on from day 2 onwards, but my nipples are very short, so purchased the avent nipple protector to start with...however my gal is very impatient and stops sucking after less than 5 mins crying for milk, cos i do not have any supply at all..after that i could not get her to latch on cos she will reject my nipples and refuses to suck..upon discharge from hospital, i tried to EBM using medala mini pump...after pumping 15mins on each side...i only get a miserable 10ml per session...so far i pumped diligently every 3 hours but still get 10ml each time...until my last pump this afternoon...1 of the nipple start to bleed...thats when i stopped pumping...now really at a loss...what should i do about the bleeding nipple...i dare not pump anymore..

Re:Jaundice
My gal has jaundice level 11.2 during our discharged and will be bringing her back for review on Wed..besides sunbathing her every morning..my mum will bath her with herbs daily.

soh,

yes, there was once when i wanted my bb to be weekend kid haha. because i can be quite a workaholic. Now after bb borned, i become so possessive and definitely will fetch her home everyday after work and spend quality time over the weekends with her

celeste,

Haha, my girl can't sleep long on the rocker. It is cooling but dunno why she dun like. Maybe everytime she sleep halfway, she slouch. She loves more upright position with more security. So she love the car seat so much haha! Car seat got lots of cushioning mah. I never see her fall asleep on that rocker before. It is only my temporary "dumping" ground for her so that she won't make noise for a while :p

Hmmmm, regarding posture.. i somehow worry too. But aren't sarong designed that way too? Actually i prefer her to sleep on the bed lah, rather than the rocker :p

msnanas,

Get ur hubby to talk to ur mil that she need not be there. Probably ur mil want to see the grandchild everyday so "volunteer" to help out in 2nd mth. My hubby talked to my mil so she never popped by liao. Else i guess she will still be here everyday! Scary

MOAP,

I believe clots are still normal, as long as it is not often. Ur body is still trying to dispel all "dirty" blood out.

Amy,

Yah lor, see bb smile very happy hor? Heee.. but i somehow realise my bb not an angel on sunday because daddy around. She wants attention from daddy because daddy very nice, always carry her around.. unlike mummy.. find "dumping" grounds for her like rocker, car seat, etc haha!

Jaundice:
For those mummies whose bb got jaundice, its ok to continue BF rite? Even though today i pumped 100ml in the noon n just now in e evening pump 80ml, total 180ml today, i threw away e BM cos no point keeping as bb admitted plus yest i ate e confinement food which contained DOM so from today onwards, dare not take alcohol or alot of ginger liao. Dunno y i cant help blaming myself that its my BM which causes my bb to have jaundice

kk:
wow how did u manage to lose 12kg after 1-2 wks of delivery? jiat liat me oni lost 4kg, wanting to lose faster leh. wow so ur MIL never come to ur hse help liao, u managing everything alone?

msnanas:
sorry to say something. i Cant help laughing when u typed ur MIL very clusmy n backside wil bump onto things. Alamak. my c-sect abit pain when i luff.
So u use You Long Zi for ur bb's name? i dunno which shifu to choose leh. so confusing. Heard You Long Zi is gd but too commercialised that he use computer to generate? not sure how true?

okasan:
may i know wat is ur bb's jaundice level which u say worst? did he stay at hospital? my bb also admitted for jaundice today, so heartpain. do u stil BF?

kite,

my baby was also admitted for jaundice, but since discharged. I also asked my PD whether is it becos of the food i ate? She said no leh. Why u throw away your precious BM? U can bring it to hospital for the nurse to feed your baby when u visit your baby. That's what i did...hahaa even when mine BM is so miserable
438999.gif

hv u heard of a traditional way to treat bb's jaundice? not sure how true. Got it from another forum.

There's an traditional method to treat Jaundice.
Put 7 pcs pf red dates and double boiled with about 1/2 cup water for abt 30 mins. Feed bb drink, bb will recover in no time.

i_panda:
sad to say my bb's level seems quite high. Past few days, been eating confinement w ginger n DOM n today to ease my mind, i dispose my BM. Tmr, then i wil pump again n store it inside fridge n bring it down for baby.

kk:
Last week she drops by almost everyday and my hubby gotta send her back everytime after work.
Its very tiring for him. My hubby told her no need to come everyday, she got angry but in the end, next day she still come. Sigh!
I'm getting postnatal if she comes everyday... She plays christian songs for my bb to hear instead of nursary rhymes! My bb finished shitting and the CL is cleaning up for him, my MIL still continue making the "mmmm" "mmmm" sound asking him to shit again!

kite:
Ya lor...It looks amusing but tinking her helping out it is really scary and a headache!! today I was breastfeeding my bb on my bed, she wanted to see me BF and she can bump onto the bed where the area is big enuf!
I went to this You Long Zi given by my sis. Just got the chinese characters today. It looks like computer generated.

Kite,

Haha, u smaller size so lose less weight.. me heavier so much lose more lah :p Dun worry lah, u will soon get sick of confinement food, eat less so will slim down fast :p

Yah lor, managing alone. Today is another day... actually once u get the hang of it, can be pretty lonely.. lonely in the sense that being trapped at home the whole day. I still dun dare to bring bb out to the public because can be pretty troublesome :p Tomorrow may be going shopping, so will put bb at mil place. Kind of rest and relax for myself

Errr, the method for curing jaundice, is it from me?? But i dun remember typing that sentence heeee... anyway i also used that method. Taught by my neighbour whose son had bad jaundice when borned 7 yrs back. The red dates got to remove the seeds. Then put maybe one cup of water, boil until water becomes thick and looks like red date syrup. Feed bb with spoon or bottle. Hmmm, i dunno whether it really works but at least my bb jaundice under control.

For Zhuo Ju Shi, i dun think the names are computer generated because he handwritten all by himself and he spelt out all the bi hua etc.

msnanas,

Haha, i can understand.. my mil same thing.. mmmm mmmm many many times haha.. for me, i will just leave bb alone for some time while i busy myself with other things. By the time i am back, bb finish poopoo liao.

Re: Baby name
I wont be going to You Long Zhi, think he is too commercialised & I hv friends whose son are of the same name (except diff surname). So more or less, the list is quite standard lor.

okipoki,
How much does You Long Zhi charge? We went to Jin Zhi Long, his price is $88. He gave quite alot of choices to choose from, can make up to 100 names to select.

kk,
The last time when you mentioned u pump out yr milk is whenever u feel engorged rite? For my case, my engorgement is not so serious/obvious. But yet, i still pump out 3 times a day yesterday. Quite diff, i took almost an hour to pump 90ml and maybe about 1/2 hr to pump 50ml. So this means the milk flow is still little and slow rite?

okipoki,
hiaz... u still ard ar... meee too.
But Yeah! today is my last day at work!
will start my leave tomorrow.
Simply too tired to continue.
This morning my leg swelling didnt even subside. woke up at ard 4plus and felt painful

Tinkle,
Yah lor... hv a feel that I might deliver before EDD. Anyway, are u really going to induce this Thur/Fri ?? I think is better for u to rest at home since the swelling caused so much pain to you. Rest more & prepare for ur big day

I might be taking half day later to go home & rest.

okipoki,
ya... most likely will ask gynae if u can induce me on Thurs cos my hub will be on leave on these 2 days. Thurs will be better cos the labour probably wont stretch til sat. hub has to work on sat since he already got quite a lot of appointments to see him
bo bian ... these pp can only see him on sat.

msnanas,
hehe my MIL same. Clumsy type (poor motor skills- unfortunately my HB also like that!) and "wrong wavelength" (can't read the bb's needs). Until now... and my gal's already 1.5yr+! My gal when sleepy, will get woken up by her efforts to LULL, can u imagine?

But relations are strained (she said alot of mean things abt me behind my back) so now I just tell her off if she steps on my toes.

serene,

heeee at my peak, i could pump out 110 ml before 30 min is up :p

I would feel highly engorged. Ur engorgement phase over? Can u still feel engorged at times?

I only pumped when i felt engorged.. hmmm, around 2-3 hours interval too.

kk, wow 110ml before 30mins up quite alot yah. My mum told me last time, she has alot of milk, when engorged, the milk will just drip and if she squeeze it, can get a bowl easily! These few days i dun feel the high peak of engorgement. I still let my baby letch on, but he usually doze off after 1 side...so i think he hasn't had enough and will look for milk an hr later. So i think better to express out so that i can make sure he drink enough milk. Hoping to pump more but i dun have so much now...always took long time to pump 40ml....my baby needs at least 40ml each feed. Due to breastmilk, he gets hungry easily and faster than formula esp at nite when he's more active. Today, he drank formula 40ml at 6am, and just now about 9.10am, i let him letch on, only for 15mins, one side only and he doze off, sleep until now.

tinkle,
then u hv to prepare everything liao. moreover, u need someone to take care of ur son as well right ?? anyway, keep ur finger x

serene,

Yah lor, my colleague told me she no need to massage. Suddenly she just feel a gush of milk coming out and all holes opened! Her bb 4 mths can't feed as much as before but yet her milk maintained. She has a lot to store! Her BB on TBF, never feed FM.

If u going to TBF, got to work harder! Heee.. if not if bb growth spurt, then u can't support totally with BM liao. My bb long time ago already started drinking 150 ml. By then my MS drop liao.. and moreover the peak is only 110 ml. Can't possibly support her with total BM.

kk, serene

I was told that if we wan to boost up our milk supply in time for baby's growth spurts, got to express at 7am, 10.30am and 10 pm in the early days even when baby doesnt need the supply. This is so as to maintain the constant supply and when growth spurts come, we can just reduce the amt expressed, without affecting the amt needed by baby. Not sure whether true or not though

check with you all..when u login to the net..do u surf in the same room as yr baby? I am thinking of bringing my thinkpad to the room so i can keep my baby company and at the same time entertain myself with the Internet..but worry if might have any effects on the baby from the thinkpad?

soh,
doubt so will affect them. anyway, i will be bringing my laptop around the house too. moeover, we are already surrounded by all sort of frequencies liao.

Spicegal,
I happen to log on after many days of 'missing in action'. Saw your problem. I suggest you apply the nipple soothing cream and air your nipple to allow faster healing. I'm not sure if you should still continue to pump but dun be too stress out.

When I first started pumping, I'm even happy that my nipples become wet at all after pumping for 30mins. Then during the next pump, the milk only managed to cover the bottom of the bottle. It will become easier after one or two more days. You may want to try putting hot towel and massage your breast before pumping. It works for me. Now I can pump 150ml each time liao. So hang in there and dun give up! *HUGZ*

kk,
I've just managed to pump 150ml, wow not easy! But at least today compared to yesterday 100ml in the morning, it has improved. I'm so happy. I hope it continues to improve to better.

stephenie,
really? i know that usually when i woke up in the morning after a long rest, my milk will have more... night time quite hard, maybe becos during the day, i had also let baby letch on, so when i try to express once in the afternoon and once at nite, it takes long time for me to express 60ml each time...i'm going to express some more later, hope today's result is better than yesterday.

serene,

Try to catch more naps. U realise if u have more naps and u express after the naps, u get more MS
That's partly why morning MS is always more :p

u gals let ur bb latch on and pump as well? i only do pumping as my bb refuses to latch on at all.. he is so used to bottle feed liao.. Sigh...

u gals at least keen to look after ur bb?? I dun noe y.. i actually quite bochap of my bb.. only make sure that he is fed.. the rest of the bb things are taken care by my 2 moms.. i am juz thinking of my 2nd and 3rd mth, how i am going to handle??

KK, u did everything alone on 2nd mth... wow.. so capable ah.. i haven't even changed my bb's diapers b4.. very jialek mom..

peng,

I also seldom change bb diapers during confinement heee.. i too weak liao, can't do anything during that 1 mth. Didn't even bathe for her. Bottle feeding also seldom. After confinement, die die must do.. luckily not so difficult afterall :p

Oh ya, i dun use cloth nappies for my bb. That one too chim, i dunno :p

<font size="+2"><center><font color="aa00aa">June 2006 Babies' Club</font></center></font>
<center><table border=1><tr><td>Mommies</TD><TD>DOB</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>Weight(kg)</TD><TD>Name</TD><TD>Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>kk</TD><TD>21/04/06</TD><TD>21/04/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>3.19</TD><TD>Yu Jun</TD><TD>TMC(C-sect) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pebbles</TD><TD>13/04/06</TD><TD>04/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>1.63</TD><TD>Chanz</TD><TD>MtA(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hazel</TD><TD>15/05/06</TD><TD>20/05/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2.91</TD><TD>Jared Hee</TD><TD>TMC(Natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>carebear29</TD><TD>19/05/06</TD><TD>10/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2.77</TD><TD>Mathius</TD><TD>TMC(C-sect) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Amy</TD><TD>22/05/06</TD><TD>04/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>3.24</TD><TD>Jake</TD><TD>Raffles(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Poohy</TD><TD>22/05/06</TD><TD>10/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>2.9</TD><TD>Yi En</TD><TD>TMC(Natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>MOAP</TD><TD>23/05/06</TD><TD>05/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>3.43</TD><TD>Ginelle Tok Jin Wen</TD><TD>TMC(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Celeste</TD><TD>23/05/06</TD><TD>06/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>2.69</TD><TD>Chelsia</TD><TD>GlenE(C-sect) </TD></TR><TR><TD>yve</TD><TD>23/05/06</TD><TD>08/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>3.3</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>ESH(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jeslynster</TD><TD>25/05/06</TD><TD>08/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2.78</TD><TD>Javen</TD><TD>TMC(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>AngelineGoh</TD><TD>26/05/06</TD><TD>16/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>2.695</TD><TD>Celeste</TD><TD>TMC(C-sect) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Peng</TD><TD>28/05/06</TD><TD>15/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2.91</TD><TD>Yi Kai</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>soh1dful</TD><TD>30/05/06</TD><TD>16/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2.641</TD><TD>Darrel Tok</TD><TD>GlenE(C-sect) </TD></TR><TR><TD>cookiemz</TD><TD>30/05/06</TD><TD>05/06/06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>3.32</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>KKH(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Starfish</TD><TD>31/05/06</TD><TD>15/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2.705</TD><TD>Tan Hong Yu Leroy</TD><TD>TMC(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>duffybuff</TD><TD>1/06/06</TD><TD>08/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>3.15</TD><TD>Jeriel</TD><TD>KKH(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Serene</TD><TD>2/06/06</TD><TD>12/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>3.135</TD><TD>Brayden Leong</TD><TD>TMC(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dor</TD><TD>04/06/06</TD><TD>02/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>2.92</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>MtA(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>i_panda</TD><TD>04/06/06</TD><TD> 10/06/06</TD><TD> Boy</TD><TD>3.55</TD><TD>Josh Ng</TD><TD>TMC(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Paula</TD><TD>05/06/06</TD><TD>05/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>Kelly</TD><TD>KKH(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>happysunflower</TD><TD>06/06/06</TD><TD>18/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2.92</TD><TD>Aloysius</TD><TD>GlenE(C-sect) </TD></TR><TR><TD>kite</TD><TD>06/06/06</TD><TD>01/07/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>2.52</TD><TD>Chloe</TD><TD>TMC(C-sect) </TD></TR><TR><TD>spicegal</TD><TD> 08/06/06</TD><TD> 19/06/06</TD><TD> Girl</TD><TD>2.725</TD><TD>Jerica Ong</TD><TD> TMC(C-Sect) </TD></TR><TR><TD>okasan</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>17/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>TMC</td></tr></table></center>

kk, i heard one of my girlfriends also told me take naps will help in more milk flow. Ok i will try it. Frankly, i've not been taking naps since i came back from hospital...dunno why, like so busy everyday, prepare to breastfeed, meal time, watch tv, online sometimes, go toilet, etc. Time just passes so fast. I've just finished my massage, think now it's best time i go n take nap. chat again later. ciao

lyn, congrats for your new born. Finally you can see your baby now! Excited???

red, Jin Zi Long will ask u for baby's ba zhi, then based on that to calculate, u can give him yr preferred name too, he can chk if it's suitable. He will prepare a small book, indicate with meanings and many choices of chinese characters for your chosing.

Jin Zi Long
64A Geylang Road, Lor 25A
Tel : 6741 7377
Mobile : 9743 9161

serene,

haha, lifestyle become very routine ya? For me, now is wake up, bathe bb, feed bb, sayang bb to sleep then LUNCH liao! After tat, feed bb, wipe bb, sayang bb to sleep, then perhaps a short nap for me. After tat, feed bb, wipe bb, bring over to mil place for dinner. Nite will repeat the whole cycle of feeding, wiping and sayang to sleep again.

Everyday like tat very chiam leh haha.. so tomorrow i am going shopping to take short break

Aiyo! having contractions again leh.... donno whether it is false one again or not???
no other signs leh
Donno whether to call gynae or not... scared later if it is not, then malu

tinklebell

are your contractions at the lower abdominal area or above? I always felt tightening and movements above the bellybottom...dun know if that are contractions.......

i am still reporting also...haha...still havent popped...*sigh*

tinklebell,
ur contractions regular boh? If regular better call adrian liowz.

Donno leh... trying to time but i lost count cos i also got stomachache! donno if it is stomachache or contractions that's causing the pain ... aiyo ... gone to toilet quite a few times today to bomb
*sigh*

** sian ** but i suspect may not be real contractions