(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

peng,

same here, so far only my mum & hubby cook for me. My MIL bo leh.. I think we are still our mummy's bao bei !!

tinklebell,
think some people drink martell during confinement too...my mum got ask me to buy for confinement if I wanna, but I prefer DOM and also the traditional chinese rice wine

wow peng/ okipoki, your hubbies can cook? envy!

okasan, martell? i heard abt it before... XO also ... but what is the diff? talking abt alcohol, i have completely no knowledge of it...how much r they selling it? chinese rice wine is it "hua diao jiu"?

hi okipoki

i didnt take 2-bedder cos i scare later nobody gives birth on the same day as me.. then i will b left alone in the ward and hubby cant stay overnite. Well dun worry, sharon will guide you along when it's time for you to book ur ward.

allo josephine
$8.90 for 58pcs... which brand are you referring too? Pampers premium. Actualli wat is the diff for cotton care n the dry & fit.. anyone noes?

okipoki, err.. i mean, my MIl and husband cook soups for me.. haha. my mom din cos she is very busy.. but she buys the bb clothes n bird nest for me...

hmm. yeah. i noe can drink some alcohol. but i think i am like tinklebell, allegic to alcohol, so think even if i put alcohol, i will put very little, so dun think will need to buy too much..

tinklebell,

no lah, he only knows how to "tun" the birdnest nia. My mum is then "tun" the birdnesst & black chicken soup.

Dor,

Ic but I thot alone will be better cos can rest w/o being disturbed. Anyway, I am quite timid too but guess I will be too tired to think of anything liao. Hehe !! Probably, my next appt Sharon might ask me to choose liao..

Gina,
Today KKH just called to confirm I got Diabetes. Got to go KKH at 8.45am this friday for talks/take blood test etc. Nobody can follow and they keep you till 6pm. And they say I can use medisave to pay. Not sure how much it is going ot cost. Anybody gone thru this?

Poohmum

peng,

so nice of ur MIL to cook those bu pin for you. Think my MIL might be too lazy & she didnt do anything for BB & myself (oopss better dont let hubby saw this.. Haha). Both my mum & hubby also bought the birdnest. My mum even help me to get those things like handkie as bibs, yu yi oil, baby powder, towels etc

Okipoki - i did my GD test at 24w but it varies from 20-26w i think. Some gynae may not even ask you to do it if your baby is not too big. Size of the baby is one of the signs of GD. It's 3 blood tests at 3 hrly intervals after drinking glucose water.

tinklebell/joy,

thanks. i did a blood test in my 1st tri but my gynae didnt mention anything.
my last appt with gynae he did mention if my family got any past history of diabetes & he didnt mention on doing any test in my next visit which is my week 28.

joy,

not too sure of my bb size cos my gynae didnt weight for me on my last visit. i heard alot of ppl doing this test & wonder is it a requirement or not.

Hi Tinklebell,

I have finished my bird nest liao, won't be taking anymore

Wow, ur mum real scared of bird flu haha..

For ladies who wanna take longan red date tea, can buy the brand Allswell from supermarkets. Taste good!! But of course, sweeter compared to what we boil ourselves as we can control the sugar level we want.

Hi Celeste Blur,

No sesame oil? Oops, i love that heeee.. not taking in large amount, but will take that with some favourite food like chicken rice lor.

Can take longan red dates drink anytime. I think it is a very healthy drink

Hi Okasan,

Same here.. after we set up the playpen then realise it is not small. Cannot imagine having a cot.. it will fill up the whole bedroom! Haha!

Hi Peng,

Hmm, this is what i gathered from a taiwan health program. If we remove the seeds from the red dates, they will not be heaty liao
This is a practice in taiwan. But not a common practice in singapore and hong kong. But red dates, if cause heatiness, is not as bad as other tonics.

Hi Okipoki,

I didn't take the GD test at all, till now in my 33rd week. Same as u, took the blood test in 15th week. The report perfectly alright for sugar level, haemoglobin, etc. The test was taken together with triple test by the way, all at one go with three tubes of blood.

kk, my mother is like that one, always paranoid over this kind of things... even apple skin she also doesnt eat bec she says got lots of pesticides...i told her why dont u open your own organic farm??? then u know what u r eating. kekeke.

Re: GD Test
So far my gynae neber told me to take any GD test. I think I also never taken any blood test yet....hmmzz

kk,
okies pokies....will start making some longan red dates tea to drink now

Hi Josephine & Gillan,
Is the Mrs Wong's antenatal class the one consisting of 6 lessons - both about delivery and baby care?
I happen to only be interested in the baby care section, but I don't suppose they do just those only? Any idea?

Hi Hi ...

kite, how long does Nepia take to deliver? I was thinking of ordering only after wk34 (so worried I will pop early!) cos the cosy corner allocated for bb stuffs are piling up like a hill! Scared will collect dust!

Update:
Today when to NTUC. They are selling Tollyjoy's Baby Bath (750ml w pump + 750ml refill) at only $10! Limited offer!

Cooler Bag:
Hi, josephine_tan, saw you started a cooler bag thread. Me aspiring to express BM in office too. My office has got a fridge, but don't think it's appropriate to store my EBM inside ... haha ...

Pig Trotters w Vinegar:
I was told by a colleague today that if one had Csection, she cannot take "pig trotters w vinegar & ginger". Anyone of you can verify this for me?

tinklebell,
not very sure abt alcohol too....but I always love rice wine coz my mum will occasionally cook dishes with the wine...it's not the hua diao jiu...it's rice wine with chinese herbs....my mum called it hong jiu but not sure what's the exact chinese name for the wine....suppose to be very good for confinement because of the herbs used to make the wine

re: GD test
no, never heard of the test from gynae...so far, only did one blood test and every visit take urine tests only.....

hi fondue,
u can actually select to go to some of the 6 classes....u can go to tmc website to check the fees....

for mrs wong, she's currently taking wed and sat classes...so if u choose other days, will be taught by someone else

carebear,
my colleague told me if c-section, got to avoid a lot of food for the first few weeks, such as egg...not sure abt pig trotters w vinegar & ginger though....

Carebear - Nepia only need 2 days notice to deliver but bear in mind that their promotion price of $14 per pack is gd till end Apr only. After which it will increase to $16 I think.

Poohmum,
don't worry. my ex colleague diagnosed with gestational diabetes too. she only gained 5kg thru'out ther pregnancy. yet she had a swift and smooth birth. was up and about the next day as her wounds healed pretty fast. her bb is very healthy and v v cute, and she can breastfeed successfully too. she 's the frd who is going to pass me her medela Traveller set. so just go for whatever KKH advises you, but i guess u have to watch your diet carefully from now on. hmm... no idea why have to attend talk and all that for the whole of Friday, maybe that's the procedure for new GD patients?? btw how long KKH takes to inform u of the results? my gynae says when i take the test on Tuesday, i will be able to know when i go for my routine check up on Wednesday the next day.

i slipped and fell in school today cos floor v slippery from the downpour and my shoes are those non-friction type-totally flat and smooth sole. the whole thing happened in a matter of seconds- i was walking towards the canteen, then felt myself slipping backwards, then slided on my right, supported myself on the right with both arms while carrying a bag on my right hand and another bag on my left shoulder, fell on my bum, sat down on the wet floor in a shock. all in like a few seconds. the only thing in my mind is - hope bb is alright. didn't hit my tummy at all, but then today feel that bb isn't v active (can feel him move when i go about my lessons though) evening time when going back in my colleague's car, felt a bit of pain in my lower belly, and aches over my arms and legs... started to panic. now after dinner, and usually bb wud be moving about actively, but bb now seems quiet and i can't feel him at all. bb loves it when i am at the laptop and wud move a lot but now, no movement, as if in deep sleep. i think i will have to go for a scan 2mr. they may not give me a last minute appt at the pte suite, so i may go to A&E. hope wun be attended to by trainee doctors...

Ya Gina hope you and bb are alright. keep us posted.

There was once i had acute pain throughout the day on left side under breast (prob heart burm/gastric/indigestion), and bb also never move the whole day.. at night i tried coaxing him, play with him... finally around midnight, he gave us a slight kick and everything was alright...

do you all feel like your tummy is gonna burst? i only gained 7kg so far, but at the belly button area, it feels like bursting. Nowadays cannot sit straight at my desk have to lean back with a pillow and move my key board close to me... sigh very uncomfortable pain that comes on usually after lunch, and lasts thru the night! and persistently on the right corner of the belly button... my theory is that now our tummy expanding at even greater speed due to 3rd trimester, and not enough skin to stretch, so after lunch, it is maxed out and remain stretched, until the next morning, when your body already adjusted to the "stretch" so no pain in the morning. By Lunch, your skin is stretching again, and the pain comes on... any comments/advise how to tackle the pain?

hi carebear! ya i'm thinking of buying a cooler bag and continue to bf when back in office. is it too early to buy? what if i don have milk can't bf anyways... quite ex, it's about $55 each bag

390389.gif
Swollen Feet
390391.gif

Anyone got swollen feet? These few days, then both feet swollen...like pig's leg...hahaaa. Hubby said i eat too salty. Me gain 10 kg liao...now 54kg.
390390.png

celeste/tinklebell:
yup 1.5litre, vtec engine using 95/98 petrol. varies fr 15 to 16km/litre. mine also crazy abt car accessories, always add tis n that. For external, he went put toughseal to make whole car shiny. also add spolier, bodykit, visors, stickers, gauges, all 4 windows 75% tinted (somemore non-compliance - all dark dark one like so mysterious). Though e rule must be 2 front window 25% tinted. V-cool really ex, not worth the price. we did it some other place n much more cheaper. then inside bonnet, add tis n that, like cold-air intake, n etc, aiya really endless.

tinklebell:
so far ur existing graco hardy rite, stable? mine seems to be very stable n sturdy leh. but afterall its a playpen, wont be as stable as bbcot.

lyn:
ya the graco playpen is stable unless those playpen i saw at bb kingdom/hypermart like abit shaky. the bbsafe 1 inch mattress is gonna to put over e base on the bassinet, not on the playpen itself. when i lower down n remove e bassinet, wil then buy a mattress n add the 1 inch bbsafe mattress on the playpen. like tat, shld be fine hor.

Poohmum:
i got the Graco playpen from Aprisin at $270. Usual price is $339 if i remember. she gave us 20% discount. I bot the bbsafe mattress for my playpen from Bbcare festival at expo last 2 sats. Usual price costs $80+, paid only $65.

Mother of princess:
heard red dates drink very gd. i got 1 fren drink red date wkly n her bb boy really got rosy cheeks. not bad i m too lazy to prepare my own.

kk:
really? cordyceps helps to prevent jaundice? since i drink wkly starting fr 5th mth, now 6th mth liao. when i was a bb, i got jaundice leh. therefore scare bb has. touch wood. but then my fren told me 8 out of 10 babies sure hv jaundice depending mild or serious.

i intend to buy beansprouts pillow for bb. dun intend to put so many pillow n blosters, scare bb suffocate. think just place a nappy cloth under her head n then e beansprout pillow over her chest wil do. plus a blanket to keep her warm. thats all. how long u intend to let ur bb slp in the playpen?
u taking how many bed ward? decide liao?

Peng:
ya drink cordyceps wkly which my mum boils for me.

okipoki,
wow ur hubby so sweet, stil tun bird nest for u. my hubby oni how to eat.

dor:
my hubby told me to take 1 bed ward but i very scare to be alone inside e room, like scareli he need to go out for awhile or watever, just feel uneasy. see how maybe i take 2 bedded ward or watever, cant decide leh.

carebear29/joy:
oh i didnt know after Apr, wil increase price to $16 but after all its stil very cheap as compare to other brands. after delivery, i wil make a order during the 1st few days cos i m not sure how much newborn diapers required since i already standby 1 pack liao.

Gina:
sorry to hear this. u must take gd care of urself. n Yes! pls. do go down quickly to ur gynac n check that ur bb is fine! so that u can hv a peace of mind like me last wk. Dun worry, ur bb wil be fine, maybe just a shock.

i_panda:
no swollen feet but can feel shoes abit tight. maybe its time to change my shoes.

BB shampoo/bath:
any recommendation which brand is gd?

Nursing bras:
Mrs wong told us no need buy nursing bras now. buy oni when gg to deliver as the breast size wil grown during 3rd tri. btw mine stop growing since 1st tri, 2nd tri no growth. wondering how far wil it grow during 3rd tri?

intercourse:
mrs wong also mentioned after intercourse if got blood or watever then shall stop. then hor she also say sometimes might affect e position of e placenta (true?). know wat, hubby hears liao told me he wil refrain fr it for e sake of bb since after e course. wondering how come he bcome so understand, cant believe his words lol.

390394.gif

gina,
take care...maybe baby had a shock so not active...heard one mummies mentioned before when she fell and baby not avtice the whole day..she went to scan and baby is fine...gynae told her baby will also get shocked so maybe inactive for a day

josephine,
have u bought any breast pump? if not, maybe u wanna buy the cooler bag together with the breast pump...medela and avent has breast pump models that comes with cooler bag, so u dun need to buy cooler bag separately....

Good Morning!!!

Gina, hope u are alright. U can call your gynae for an apptm to see if bb is alright. Dont have to go AnE right? Usually if it is something critical, gynae will see u. The wait at AnE is usually very long. I also almost fell 2 days ago (even though my shoe is supposed to be the non-slip type) but was lucky i just slided to one side and managed to maintain my bal.

ipanda, until now, i dont have swollen feet...i did have big swollen feet during my first pregnancy.... my shoe size increased from 5 to 7!!

Kite
re : BB shampoo/bath
We previously use JnJ for our son... the hospital we delivered in also used that. v mild. now, we will be using kodomo for our gal since my son is also using it...can share lor. no need to buy shampoo for the time being.

Yeh! counting down to this evening.... looking forward to my vacation...***finally***

390513.gif

okasan ... still working ....my flight is 11pm at nite...gotta be at airport at 9pm...not taking leave today.... save it for other purposes

tinklebell,
I see....11pm flight still ok, got enough time

ya, esp when preggy and with kids, leave is precious...last time, I just anyhow use my leave coz got nothing much to do and too many leave to clear...now I dun take leave for shopping, coz must save the leave for rainy days esp when baby coming

kite,

my new odyssey also applied toughseal few weeks ago. my hb said can protect the car coating ... so dun need to keep doing grooming. when we had our first car, we were crazy abt grooming... nowadays cant really be that bothered liao... our SE offered us window tint film too... but i opt not to have those dark ones... just 100% (or something like dat) ultraviolet block... and not sun block.. i am worried the car will look like night time even in day light. i always like the car to be bright
plus the car being longer, worried later looking at the rear windscreen during parking will be dim in dimly lit carpark...

tinklebell, have a nice trip

gina,

if u cant feel bb movement when u normally can, then drink some warm water or eat something and move around a little.. maybe bb will start moving more to let u know if he ok or not.

gina, hope u r alright!

Jaundice in bbs- I'm expecting bb to get it. With #1, she had early jaundice, as early as 2nd day, very yellow, needed light therapy. PILs complained they din get to see bb much cos strict instructions to put her back in nursery for light therapy as soon as finish bfg. Considering bb bf very frequently (and I do it in pte, can't have my MIL gazing at me!), it's frequent shuttling for bb, btwn my bed and the light therapy bed. In the end I extended 1 day stay to accompany bb, and bb additionally stayed another day in hospital w/o me.
So this time round, I'm prepared to tell ILs they can pretty much forget abt seeing their new grandson for the 1st wk of his life. For the baby's sake mah. Rather than they go hospital, dun get to carry bb that much, oni can gaze thru glass windows during bb's light therapy... then complain abt me (and when I'm postnatal, sure hormonal response!). Still remember MIL muttered that seeing me in hospital is as difficult as seeing Empress Dowager... and that seeing the baby was even harder! Aiyah I'm still very sore over that incident, so this time round, am definitely going to emphasise BB'S AND MY wellbeing comes FIRST, to hell with everything else.

josephine,
I see...no wonder u need to buy separately...actually u can try to shop at those shops that sell sports stuff, or sports dept at taka, etc....most cooler bags can be use for storing bf after pumping in office....

Medusa,
your mil like that one...so bad....sometimes, no choice mah...beside, after that, she can get to see her liao...already waited 9mth, wait another 1 week also no diff...

then again, maybe coz that time, your dd was first grandchild? so anxious? hehe....

okasan,
she's the kind insist on visiting people, whereas I prefer no visitations. Yeah it SHOULD be easier this time round cos shall ask her to "tend to" #1- that should occupy her somewhat :p . But above all, wellbeing of baby and mum shld be 1st priority, rather than all these face-saving/ face-giving actions.

Morning Mummies!

tinklebell:
wow u gg on holidays this evening! where are u flying to? enjoy urself. As for bb bath, i heard Latacyl is very good for bb during initial stage as their skin very sensitive, then slowly switch to normal brand.

Poohy:
yup agree toughseal is gd, can protect e paint as well for at least 5 yrs, plus the coating wil be very shining. now hubby also no need to maintain, wash so much on the new car as compared to the old car. no need to wax too cos just use e toughseal lotion to wipe over it. gd enuff

Medusa:
dont bother too much abt her since most MIL are like tat, very insensitive one. so ur 1st bb is a boy/ger, 2nd one? until now alot of ppl dunno wat causes jaundice, lack of proof.

Brown discharge:
dunno y this morning i got brown discharge n alittle bit cramped. Maybe i drank too liang?? lunch (home made barley), dinner (luo han gou), supper (nutrisoy milk). Not sure shld i inform my gynac anot? could it be infection n non of the drinks i took yest?

390603.gif

Kite,

i think you should inform your gyna regarding the brown discharge.

Yesterday went to see my gyna and was put on bed rest for 1 week because i keep getting the contraction...So sad...

kite,

for the bb bath, lactacyd is recommended in tmc i think... i bought 2 bottles from them when i delivered my son. But another equally good brand is baby sebaMed. My boy uses sebaMed bubble bath after I am done with the lactacyd and their full range of products like shampoo, body lotion, nappy cream etc. At first newborn no need shampoo.. when they are older and more hair then use shampoo

kite,
think u should see gynae abt the brown discharge...

mother_of_a_princess,
take care...why contraction muz be put to bed rest?

Medusa,
ya, and in the first place, not able to see baby doesn't mean dun give them face mah....if a person go hospital, he should be prepared that he may or may not get to see the patient coz the patient may have some treatment at that time mah...

the promo on Nepia @ $14per pkt (min purchase of 4 pkts) via free delivery only valid till end Mar, not end April lei. So hurry if u wan to stock up cos only 1wk left.

ASk u all hor, how many NB pkts shld we buy? I scare later BB outgrown, how?

hi kite
for me, i booked 4-bedder 1st at MAH. I m not afraid to b alone in the day time.. but at nite...hahaha. Anyway, if i wan to change (depends on situation), we are still able to change at the last min. that's wat my nurse advise me.