(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Gina and Carebear - do be careful but glad to hear all is well. Am also guilty of taking out the seat belt once near the car park but lately have been wearing it until the car comes to a complete stop.

Me also going to order the nepia - the lady gave me wrong info and told me offer ends Apr. I think will get 2 boxes of NB and 2 small and then get 1 pack of Pampers NB from TMC. Feel so kiasu stocking up so early esp when baby only due in Jun :)

Anyone bought anything from the JL sale ?

The new Maclaren 2006 strollers are now at the Hyperstore if anyone is looking for that.

Joy,
But that time i was told that the new Maclaren 2006 strollers wont have any discount for the time being cos its new stock?

I only bought 1 pack of S size Drypers and 1 pack of S size Pampers...then when my mom saw it she said how come i wanna use disposable diapers for bb ah....then i said daytime use cloth nappies, nite time use disposable easier lor....she said cannot...must use cloth diapers as long as at home *faint*....i told her bo energy to keep changing cloth nappies at nite and she volunteered to help me do it! *hiak hiak*

Celeste - they quoted me a 10% discount for the stroller but am still thinking. Will prob wait for the model to arrive at JL and then buy it when it's on 20% off.

Think cloth diapers will be a very messy affair in the first month. My friends say the poo is green and they will poo alot initially. Cant imagine having to wash it. Better get a good barrier cream if you are using cloth to prevent nappy rash.

hey joy

wahhh.. u buying so many?? 4 boxes altogether. that is 16pkts lei. or u getting 4pkts only..hehe

joy,
the green poo is only the first few days...after which, not so messy liao..but if baby is on breastmilk, then baby will surely poo alot and quite watery...that's why need to use nappy liner if wanna use cloth nappies to reduce the poo on the cloth...

celeste,
good, if your mum volunteer, then can save $$$...haha....but hor, if night time also use cloth nappies, will have to wake up often to change, so tiring....

Joy,
Oic....so meaning new models got 10% discount
That time i bought the 2005 model was given 20% discount cos i guess maybe new model arriving liowz

hi gd morning all

celeste
test for GD is ordered by gynae for 2 reasons. 1 if your routine urine test shows abnormal results 2 if u have a family history of diabetes. for me it's reason no. 2 my dad is diabetic. however all my urine tests so far are fine so i hope i can pass GD test too. well, guess i will just leave it to nature

i am still thinking what to use-diapers or nappies. nappies shud be better for bb and save us the money too... but dunno can handle the washing or not, and whether it will be messy.. hmm maybe check with those experienced mummies in school b4 i decide. CL wash for 1st month but after that i will be the nappy washer for sure

Gina,
Glad that both bb & you are ok. Must be extra careful next time

Carebear,
Wow thats really scary.. i guess i should also practise to take off the seat belt only then hubby has park his car.

Diaper,
Seeing u gers are getting the diaper, quite tempted too. But is it really necessary or not har to get now?? Hee !!!

Morning Mummies
391134.gif

Yest morning, i got brown discharge twice and after tat no more discharge though followed by slight cramp at e lower abdomen. To play safe, I called up gynac regarding my brown discharge n gynac asked me to go down immediately for her to check.

I told gynac abt what happened and she used a disposable speculum to insert my down there and told me nothing wrong n there was no bleeding at all. everything is fine. Actually my discharge is not brown, its more towards yellow but to me its like brown stain. so gynac reassured me that everything seems good n fine. Abt the cramps, she told me its normal and also might be due to bb's frequent kickings cos wil feel slight cramps.

Then she procede to check my bb. She told me my bb is very active n doing well. And 2 wks ago (23wks), my bb was 530g. Yest at 25wks, my bb already 781g! wow within 2 wks, has grown by 250g. again during e scan, bb kept giving me alot of gongku kicks n felt it right away. Also we saw bb was "Keow Ka" n very siong leh. Gynac jokingly said my bb playing gymnastic, feet can bend til touch e head. lol.

Remember last wk i went to do CTG scan as i felt bb less active. Gynac told n show me from e screen y e reason is. She pointed at my placenta fr e screen n tat is e area where bb keeps kicking the placenta n since its quite thick so i didnt get to feel when bb's kicking that placenta area. but when she kicks other areas, i can feel it strongly
at least my gynac very caring, reassured me again n again n feel so relieved.

Oh ya, she gave me 2 days mc to rest for my cramps and give me a medicine called "Salbutamol 2mg" just in case to prevent contractions. she said once no more cramps, can stop. i took oni twice then stop liao.
391135.gif

Dor - am getting 4 packs which is the minimum for home delivery. i read somewhere that ntuc offering 2 packs for 27.95 now but dont think they have new born size, only s-L.

Celeste - which mac model did you buy ? how do you find it ?

gina,
oic....understood...thanx
I don't think my family history got diabetic prob thats y my gynae didnt ask me to do the GD bah

As for cloth nappy washing, actually we soak for a few hrs then can throw into washing machine to wash rite?

kite,
wow...great to hear that ur bb is doing great..hehe...i wonder how big my bb will be during next thur appt
Hopefully she got at least 1kg or more than that...hehe...cos been feeling her kicks/movements a lot nowadays like she's almost active the whole day...*lol*...tink prob becos she has grown in size too

Joy,
I havent used the stroller, still in the box...haha...I bought the Techno XT, looks good and the salesguy demo to us everything...simple to use too and looks very stable
He mentioned to us the difference between 2005 and 2006 model is only the cloth design that is different so we thought its more worth it to get the 2005 model so we bought it 1mth+ ago...hehe :p

Dor,
I think u can get 1 or 2 packs as standby bah...cos if there's promo or offer now can get already..otherwise wait till u need then buy prob no promo during that time then wld have to buy at original price

Celeste - yah I also like the material of the 2005. Cos waterproof and feels less hot than the 06 model. But the 06 is slightly lighter. What colour did you get ? Do you mind me asking how much you paid for it ?

Joy,
I got the a bit purplish one...think its cornflower color? Cos more unique...hehe...outside a lot of red/black color...too common :p
06 is slightly lighter ah...hmmzz....i am okies with the 05 one cos i tried....still can...

I think i paid $305 for it...was supposed to be $319 after discount but we don't need delivery as we drove there so we brought back ourselves therefore can deduct another $14 which comes to $305 lor

Joy,
so when u buy remember if u can bring back the stroller urself...do w/o the delivery...definitely much more worth it to bring back urself when its cheaper by $14

Hi Gina,

KKH just called me again to confirm my appt tomorrow. they say I need to pay $287.05 for the talk. They will provide 3 meals + 2 snacks. They will teach me how to control my diet and take my blood test before and after food. Will share you with you my experience after tomorrow.

Poohmum

okipoki,
me also haven't buy any diapers yet...depend on you loh..it's not neccessary to buy now...if buy now during offer, can save money lah...but also need space to store loh...also maybe when may still have offer again? diapers offers are quite often....

also can ask friends to give diapers as gift for full month if they dun know what to buy...

MOAP/Poohy:
eh wat causes contractions? how does contractions feel like and usually occurs at which part of e tummy/abdomen? i took the salbutamol twice, so far okie, not much side effects except the head abit heavy n feel drowsy after tat.

Poohy:
ya i wil buy lactacyd for the initial stage as i heard its very gd for bb's skin. then slowly wil buy other brands. regarding newborn, no need any hair shampoo rite, use water to clean the head? just lactacyd to wash their body wil do?

Dor:
so far i oni buy 1 pack of pamper newborn. dont buy alot for newborns, they wil outgrown very fast.

Tinklebell:
enjoy ur holidays

Bed-ward:
Me too hubby said go for 1 bed but scare wait if c-sect or touchwood bb got jaundice hv to stay longer, then bills wil increase by many times n very ex. if smooth, then its okie. most likely wil go for 1 bed cos hubby can stay w me.

Nepia diapers/Gillan:
how come i call that number 62262650 before but it was diverted to HK office? anyone has any idea?

carebear29:
take gd care, ya its always to play safe to unbucket e car seat after e car stop completely. me too sometimes already take out once car reach car park b4 parking.

Gina:
glad to hear u n ur bb is doing well. I have been wearing Scholl sandals since 1st tri. maybe i suggest u buy this brand, really comfortable w good friction. i bought it fr Metro. ya wil try to avoid barley for e timebeing. cos sometimes during lunchtime, dunno wat to drink. either drink homemade barley or chrysanthemum. any suggestion? chrysanthemum also liang rite?

391257.jpg

kite,
actually can drink barley and chrysanthemum...coz we are rather heaty now so drinking liang drink actually balance out....beside, both drinks are mild, not very liang....I will drink one cup of barely/chrysanthemum everyday at least...my mum also ask me to drink, say good...coz too heaty, not good for baby also....

I think maybe it's coz u drink luo han guo? I personally find luo han guo too liang....

maybe lunch time can also try to drink milo, horlicks...heard lemon juice is good for an ta also but only drink if u dun have gastric problems

okasan:
ya that day 1st time drank luo han guo during my pregnancy, its prepared by my PIL, no choice hv to drink, they meant good also. but next day out of e blue, got discharge. i told hubby next time tell PIL i cant drink luo han guo liao.

i find that my parents n PIL's knowledge/culture totally different (2 worlds). Like raw salmon, my MIL said can eat while my mum forbid me to eat. but of coz i trust my mum more as most of the time, she is correct. luckily she wil be doing confinement n taking care of my bb. else confinment/bb taken care by my MIL, i think jiat liat liao, cant imagine.

joy - thanks.

okasan - my sis also advise me not to get the diapers 1st. she mentioned that some diapers might not be suitable for certain baby's skin thus causes rashes. so probably, i will after baby is out.

kite,
it's best to read up on pregnancy books....coz our mothers' knowledge are also passed down by their mothers...many already out-dated or not valid anymore....

btw, just check my email and realise u pm me...I guess most of the questions u asked, I already post the answers here before..u need me to reply u again?

okipoki,
ya, also as a first time mum, we really dun know which brand is good and suitable....although we can gather feedback from experienced mummies here, but still, each baby is unique

so good to trial and error when baby is born, so u know exactly what is suitable...if buy too much now, will end up having to sell/give away next time if not suitable....end up waste more money than the savings :p

okipoki,
what is yang sheng cha? I know barley can drink coz all my pregnant friends also got drink...heard that if we mummies are too heaty, baby will have pimples as well coz we too heaty...so good to drink some barley to balance our body

okasan:
no need anymore, thanks hv gathered much info liao

me too wont be getting any diapers for e time being liao. wil order nepia after my bb is borned, just standby 1 pack of pamper newborn.

okipoki,
hmm just drink moderate. i think luo han guo really too liang cos previously i also drink barley n was fine. so suspect its luo han guo.

yang sheng cha is not wrong is the ginseng roots rite? yang sheng xu? tis one also abit liang, try not to drink alot.

okasan,
is something similar to ginseng but ginseng is much more expensive. i alway drink that whenever i am getting heaty.
it can be bought from any medical hall.

re: diaper

ladies, i remembered i read in some mails someone mentioned that if we buy pamper premium, we should be getting which colour har ?
green or red ??

okipoki,
get the green color one....the red color one is the cheaper one and i remembered reading that its somewhat got the plastic feel...no gd.

for pamper premium, so far i oni saw e green packaging, never see e red one before.

btw any recommendations on which nipple cream is effective n good?

celesteblur,
thanks for your reply... probably i will get the pamper premium (green) 1st for a start.
I hear sometime pamper do have some promotion.. shall wait till then

kite,
not too sure which nipple cream is good...but I know we should look out for those that contains 100% pure lanolin....if not 100%, can forget abt buying....

okipoki,
u deliver at TMC? heard tmc got promo in May...May is a better time to buy diapers since nearer to our due date liao....even now, tmc sell pampers premium (green) very cheap as promo now, so in May, should have such good offer again

kite,
I think the red one she mentioned is the pampers dry care or something like tat...i know pampers got 2 kinds of packaging one

As for nipple cream, i heard that ur own BM is actually gd for crack or dry nipples....so can apply ur own BM to the nipple
Therefore me not planning to buy any nipple cream.

okipoki,
yesterday i saw NTUC still got the promo $21.50 for the Pampers CottonCare S size. Not sure if today they still have it

celeste,
ya...I read that we can use our own breastmilk for crack/dry nipples too....more natural this way....avent nipple cream suppose to be use and no need to wipe away during bf, but hor, I find it too uncomfortable to let baby latch on with the cream still there...hehe....

okasan,
hehe...and moreover BM is free one! So I will use BM to apply on nipple first...unless it doesnt help then i will buy those nipple cream

MOAP,
me now only 27wks and 2 days oledi getting a bit tired...*lol*....i cant imagine later stage.

Ya lor...every thing seems so fast...Remember when we just started the thread that was last year aready.. and today is my gal first birthday and is the day i suffer at KKH delivery suit last year...

ya, me also getitng tired these days...today nearly dun wanna get out of bed to come to work...walk a bit, legs start to pain...dun know how to survive later when baby even bigger...*LOL*