(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

tinklebell, it's good that you are already thinking of primary school choices for your boy. me too, even bb not out yet, have already made some plans, to shift house in 4 yrs' time, so that bb can get into a good school. what schools are you looking at for your boy?

Good afternoon ladies..

Wow so much to catch up on !!

Tinklebell,
U are really fast to plan for your son so early. So good !!!

hiaz celeste... actually i love my place for its quietness ...would hate to shift house
my sil just told me she thought the add change should be half a year before registration... if that is the case, better for me... no need to kang jeong ... i better go and check properly first... parents are parents lah... we just want to do the best for our kids lor...dont think they will appreciate until they become parents themselves... just now my boss was complaining that his teenage daughter feels malu having them fetch her fr her activities with her friends...hmmm....

tinklebell, i have two colleagues who did the same for their kids, shift house before registration, but they did that 2 yrs prior. you will need to check that carefully.
alternatively, can rent a place lo... no need to buy, so you can still keep your current place mah.

Amy, we planning to shift to bishan. got many pri, good sec schools nearby... got a good jc also (that's provided son can go there next time). F/m, it's an area i'm familiar with cos i used to live near there for many years. also, i dont really want him to wake up so early just to catch school bus to school... can be very tiring.

okipoki, when it's your turn, i think u'll also be planning for that
i didnt plan for it last time cos i thought still early mah... then recently i counted the timeline... seems like i dont have much time to think abt it liao!

amy, yes, renting is an alternative too....but eventually, i will let go of my place cos it's not so conveniently located... some schools asking for donations of $50k or more... crazy... but some parents are willing to fork out that kind of mm just for their kids!

btw, where u planning to put your child next time?

hi Poohmum and Carebear29!

Carebear29,
thanks a million for your sharing! now have an idea of what it's like. think yours is 2 hr test right, cos from your account blood taken only twice. if 3 hrs, will have to draw blood 3 times... KKH offers 75g OGTT (oral glucose tolerance test ) which is a 2 hr test, whereas the traditional GTT is a 100g (means the drink will be much much sweeter than the 75g test) 3 hr test. am taking the test on a Tuesday, and the following day will be my 28th week+ appt, so according to doc results will be known when i come for my appt on Wed. guess over here at KKH results can be known just as soon as yours
anyway congrats for clearing the test!

hi Poohmum, here's wishing you 100% clearance with regard to your Glucose Tolerance Test 2mr morning. Do bring some snacks so that immediately afer the test you can eat, otherwise fasting from the previous night to after the 2 hr test next day, may feel really hungry... don't be afraid of the blood drawings, won't be more than a prick. just bear thru for the sake of bb, everything will be over v soon! would LOVE to hear your experience as we are both giving birth in KKH yeah? btw how do u find your gynae? mine is very gentle and sweet, and her voice/manner is very reassuring. i usually bring with me a whole lot of worries when i go and see her, but when me and hubby come out, we are always happy and contented with the way she explains and handles things.

actually when i think abt my doc's response with rgd to my inverted nipple problem, guess she is trying to reassure me that no matter what problem i have with my nipple, i will still be able to offer my bb breastmilk as she says nipples have got nothing to do with milk production/supply. feeding EBM is an alternative if all else fails. as long as bb takes mummy's natural breastmilk, he will be healthy, even if mummy has to pump day and night like a cow

all said, KKH still is alright. chose it over my initial favourite TMC cos of colleagues and friends' recommendations.

tinklebell,
Me shifting hse before i pop also....haha, the other hse finished renovating in Feb liowz but not moving in yet...will wait till i am going to deliver before i shift...cos its near to my parents place...but there no famous schools...haha, i guess i juz enrol my kids in neighbourhood schs will do...also dont wish them to wake up in the wee hrs to rush for sch bus...jin poor thing one

I also like my current hse for the scenery and tranquility...at nite really great...can see the JB nite scene from my hse totally unblocked...but for convenience purpose i have to shift hse and will rent our my current flat *sigh*

wow mummies
u gals already thinking of bb's pri school ecucation?! ard my place only got neighbourhood schools, though i am teaching in a top Pri school, i dun think i wanna put my child there, quite pressurizing. my friend's gal is in a rather good neighbourhood school and she is doing quite well. if i move from my place, will be becos it's near MRT track and constantly noisy (tho i got used to the noise already). want my bb to learn piano so maybe have to move to a quiet neighbourhood in future.

gina,
I also agree with u
There are lotsa kids in neighbourhood schools doing well...
....but one gd thing bout these top schools are that they have more variety of CCA to join. I remember my neighbour's gal went to CHIJ Toapayoh gals primary sch, that one quite famous rite? But ended up she also did very badly and could not carry on with the education. My brother was in a neighbourhood sch too but he was the top in PSLE for the primary sch and could go RI also although my parents enrolled him in Victoria Sec instead cos walking distance...haha. So I think its more on the kid and also parents spending time on the kid educating them that is more impt
Top schools are gd as in they will stress and push the kid...but what if my kid is not those super "bright" ones, i tink they will be very pressurised

gina, so u r a pri school teacher... i'm choosing the school of my choice for my son bec i want him to be exposed to the religious faith and grow up in the right path... i am not sure if it's a top school or not... even pri schools have ranking these days is it? you'r right, the pressure can tremendous if it's a top school...i know what u mean bec i was in a top jc last time but i didnt do well bec sometimes the pressure overwhelms the willingness to learn.

tinklebell,
Haha i guess so.. but my current house got a few good schools ard too. Eg: Fairfield, Henry Park etc.. If I really want my kid to get to a good school then I should move back to my mum's place cos just a block away will be Rosyth Primary.

wow okipoki, you are lucky, u have the best of both worlds. we thought of Rosyth or henry park but decided to give it a miss bec it's gonna be very pressurising.
Actually i have priority under phase 2A for ACS but decided to give it a miss. my bro was fr there while i was fr a neighbourhood school and i really see the difference in our upbringing though we grew up tog in same household. (hee .... but i have nothing against the school lah.... apologies to those who r fr there or putting their kids there next time hor.... )

tinklebell,
is just co-incident. Anyway, I also wouldnt want to pressurise my kid cos my nephew is really struggling hard in Rosyth now.
really ?? is it becos he is from the single sex school and not a mix school ??

Okipoki, that bad ar? so stressful?
my bro... while he was young, always asking for expensive stuff
bec friends have mah, so must have lor.... now also like that.

tinklebell,
dont know leh cos i see having alot of tests, homeworks etc. but thats probably is that norm as compared to our generation.

quite true, normally those good schools will have alot of those well-to-do kids. well, so is better to place them at a "okay" school right ?

okipoki,
yes...tat is true....one of hb's nephew studied in ACS(Independent)....he was asking his dad how come all the other kids got parents coming to fetch them in big brand cars whereas his dad is driving a taxi.....really scary *faint*

talking abt schools so fast.. hee hee.. my hb n i have been talking abt it too.. err.. actually quite agree with tinkerbell abt ACS (sorry to those moms who want to send their sons there).. my bro was from there. i can c the difference too..

i am actually quite torn bet good n neighbourhood schools.. i come from neighbourhood pri sch, but think turn out ok.. but at the same time have heard from friends who come from good pri schools and envy them of their opportunites there.. but at the same scared too stressed for my children in future.. haha.. cos i think i will expect alot from them in terms of education..

so maybe choose to go to 2nd tiered school (still good but not neighbourhood sch) e.g. river valley or fairfield pri.. err.. btw juz in case i make a mistake, r these sch above average? but the prob is like tinklebell, i need to move to prime area... $$$$$$ again

peng,
actually if u realise ur kid got the potential and is very bright u can transfer them to the top primary schools. My auntie did this for her son. Her son was in a neighbourhood primary school during Pri 1 and 2, but for both yrs he got top 3 positions for the whole cohort...then my auntie decided to transfer him to a top school somewhere in bedok, i dont remember the name. And the top school actually dont require them to do donations or volunteer blah blah and juz took the kid in

I feel that if u realise ur kid has the potential then u shld go for the top school

hi celeste/tinkerbell/okipoki,
yeah top schools offer more than the neighbourhood ones in areas such as variety of programmes. their curriculums are also more innovative and the schools have more resources/autonomy to come out with all sorts of learning opportunities for kids. not to forget they also have the state of the art facilities. some come with long history so can bebefit from their alumni to get support for all sorts of enrichment activities... the list of benefits goes on...

however on a personal note, i feel we ought to have a clear idea of whether our child has the ability to survive well in such schools. if your kid is v bright, then by all means get him/her into a top notch school. if your kid is so-so, then i think he/she will be much happier in a less threatening learning environment. also depends on your kid's temperament. if he is easily stressed out, then adding more stress will not be good lor.
we still need to find out if a school has a warm and conducive environment when we source for pri school for our kids. i think if environment is good (minimal dilinquent track records), results not too bad, and school close to our place, we can consider it over any supposed top school. However u gals must know that nowadays there is this practice whereby top Sec schools give pupils from top pri schools priority for direct admission based on their PSLE prelim results (not PSLE, mind u) as well as their school track records like CCA and other achievements. It's gonna be a v v tough and competitive world out there for our babies in future.

celesteblur,

wow thats really scary leh cos these children are young & they tend to so alittle bit of comparision. I do agreed that if u feel that ur kids have potential on getting better grades, can alway transfer them to a better environment.

peng,
yup those schools are slightly above average... btw are u staying ard west area ?? fairfield is located just behind my house so it pretty convenient.

gina and okipoki,
yuppies.....haha....one of hb's nephew in nanyang primary now...currently P3. Was told by SIL that their their cca really got a broad variety
....but i can see that his character has changed. Before primary school he was very fun-loving and enjoyed playing and interacting with his fellow cousins. Nowadays he's like very reserved and sort of "selfish"
Cos when his cousins lend him things like hand-held games he will hang on to it and refuse to return even though his parents told him to do so...in short i feel that he has turned a bit "rebellious"
...but it might not be the sch environment that has changed him...might be other issues too. But even though his grades are not those top in classes but his grades are comparable to those top 10% kids grades in the neighbourhood primary sch that my SIL's is teaching.

gina,
i agree with u that we ought to be clear what kind of kid we have. But by K2, i am just wondering ...are we able to see their strengths and weaknesses clearly? til now, i dont seem to be able to figure out what he seems to be good at.... except that he can remember his tv shows very well. **haha**

Fairfield? is it fairfield methodist pri? hee my hubby ever been to that school before leh (not for a full 6 yrs though)... like that considered "alumni" or not?

tinkerbell,
can't help but smile when i read your postings...
yeah easier said than done. my hubby's 5 yr old nephew also seems to be good in remembering the timings and titles of his favourite cartoons. other than that, dunnowhat he is good at. he doesn't seem to be able to read or even talk well... maybe have to give him some tests when he is in K2, se whether he can read, write and count. nowadays, kids reaching P1 age must be equipped with skills considered v advanced in our times, not kidding. hanyu pinyin, phonics, smple additions/subtractions, all must know.plus must be able to express well verbally, otherwise teachers will think the kid has academic problems haha...
i also dunno what qualifies one to be alumni, maybe your hubby can check with the school. i think as long as study there b4 and got records with the school (maybe produce report books? hehe...), can be considered one lor.

hmm.... i will definitely not put my kid in rich-kid schools, what if he comes back comparing me with other tai tai mummies? *faint*

celeste
dunno if your hb's nephew turns out like this after attending the so called top school... maybe there is some links to it. so sad... haizz... we want the best for our kids but what if they can't compete with the rest? think my hope for my bb is he will turn out to be happy, well adjusted, healthy, kind hearted and bright in his own ways.

celeste, haha.. i dun think my kid will be the super smart kid.. juz hope to be at least normal or above average..

okiopki, i am staying in the north now.. but think will shift to town area in a few yrs time so that nearer to my MIL.. may choose river valley cos my hb studies there, so hopefully considered as alumini.

gina, what? PLSE prelim oso can be considered liao?? wow.. stressed ah. think the last time when we were in pri 6, we still blur blur abt the importance of PLSE.. stressed ah

Hi Ladies!

Hope u all have a great day ahead today! Yippie! I am not going back to school today. Going to pray to my dad later as its his first death anniversary. After that going with hubby to settle our first instalment for the new car. Our car coming end march! Didn't expect to collect the car so soon

Hmmm, so my hubby reminded me that we have not bought any bb car seat yet. Have u all bought yet? Any recommendations?

Talking about schools... guess i will make do with the one nearest to my place - rivervale primary. Convenience is topmost importance to me, unless the school is really very bad. But this primary school seems to have a good reputation and organises lots of outdoor activities for students.

For secondary school.. not too sure.. i only tell hubby not to enrol in the school i am teaching now... because i have seen all the horrible things there haha!

morning ladies

gina,
i also not sure...but hb's other nephew whom is the younger brother of this P3 nephew juz started P1 in Nanyang Primary this yr. Hopefully he will still be the same.....*sigh*
For me, i also hope that as long as my kid is happie and leads a fulfilling life then irregardless of whether he/she does well academically or not will not be a big issue

peng,
same here...as long as average or slightly above average i will be contented
Juz hope that they will be happy...i see a lot of kids so young oledi stressed...jin sad
....sometimes i wonder do we bring the kids here to let them suffer? *sigh* But at times its not up to us parents to decide...its like everybody is doing this and if u dont do it its like u will worry if ur kid can keep up with the others...

kk,
going to collect ur car today ah...so nice
u buy 4D boh? Hehe, if u do buy one must buy hor...haha
...tat time my brother's car no. plate came out 1st prize just like 1-2 mths after he bought the car

Re: Baby shampoo, bath, detergent
Yesterday went NTUC....bought the kodomo bb bath at $6.50 (U.P $7.50), kodomo bb shampoo at $6.60 (U.P $7.60), kodomo bb detergent refill pack 1-litre each at 2pks for $13.25 (U.P $7.95 each). I think these are quite cheap compared to outside prices that I saw at Giant and Carrefour

gina, it's so competitive for the kids out there. my SIL was just telling us that a lot of her son's mothers left their high flying jobs and everyday their job is to fetch the kids to and fr school and to their tuition, enrichment classes, music lessons etc.... and it's not just one or two mums but a large handful! **scary**

peng, wow... RV is a good school but town area is soooo expensive..... but if old boy, they dont see the distance fr home, right (unless more pp than allocated amt)? only Phase 2B onwards then they see distance fr home ...correct me if i am wrong.

kk, wow, new car... what car did u buy? yes, buy 4-D...maybe who knows, you'll will have extra bb bonus

BTW, anyone having problem moving the bowel? i seem to have a lot of difficulty doing that for the past 2 weeks despite eating lots of fruits everyday! got once even kenna bleeding!

aiyooo.... i tried everything natural already .... inc prune/ prune juice/ yogurt drink but seems like no help leh
my hubby asked me to take some mild medicine for constipation but i v reluctant though i did take once and it helps a little bit

kk,

which car did u get ? I am not buying anymore carseat... I got a infant maxi cosi cabrio carseat that my boy used to sit in... its back facing suitable for below 1 year old i think. Its recommended that bb below 1 year old sit in back facing carseat like this type... and then i can also mount the carseat into my quinny zapp frame
I recently upgraded my boy to a maxi cosi priori xp... so both my babies got their own carseat liao hehee

tinklebell,

maybe u shd take the constipation medication lah... not good to bleed.... and u may kena haemorhoids which is very common for us at this stage of pregnancy....

tinklebell,
water and relaxation? I find I have timing- if missed timing, constipated whole day. :p

Sigh, anyone read papers abt the Expo baby death?
So tragic, must be so heartbreaking.

Anyone phones their gynae to ask about tummy pains etc? I never had to consult my gynae for anything other than normal scheduled visits for #1... but for #2, my tummy pains at night when I cough really bothers me. Not sure what to do, cough's on the mend. Just the tummy pains. Bb's kicking fine it seems.

Hi tinklebell,
You can go to the pharmacy and get "senokot". It's safe for preggie. Take 2 tabs at nite before sleep. My gynae prescribed that for me, but I dun take :p. I have my own fibre drink...

poohy, if no choice, i'll take it... i was thinking to try out the natural way first. 2 weeks have passed... looks like it doesnt seem to help much. i already had haemorhoids since my first pregnancy (and it never recover subsequent to birth though it did get better)... now the old prob is coming back again.

Hi medusa/ lyn... okie thanks ... will try the alternative methods.

Medusa,
re: Expo BB death
what happened? didnt hear anything abt it.

tinklebell,

so sad rite.. me too kena haemorhoids after my first pregnancy... it did recover... but when in this pregnancy, somehow the tummy seems much more heavy weighing down on me... and i carried my boy often so it cause a relapse ... and this time it never really recover fully... no pains normally but it relapse easily whenever i am constipated. i feel so worried cos scared after delivery it will worsen.

lyn, if i recall correctly, senokot is like a big piece of fibre tablet is it? i may have taken it before previously... will try that

poohy, i used to take Daflone while not pregnant(sorry... my spelling may not be correct)... it helps but once i stop taking, it comes back again esp if i eat too much
surgery is the alternative option but i'm too scared to go for one.

tinklebell,

daflon cannot take during pregnancy ah ? I took it leh... it helps me a lot. is your haemorhoids big ? mine is just a small less than 1 cm lump at its worst...not sure whether that require surgery..

tinklebell,
It's not big tablet. Very small green tablet.

poohy,
wah... 1cm is big leh... I used to have haemorrhoids too, but not anymore... It got so bad that I will bleed everytime I go to the toilet even though I dun have constipation... And the toilet bowl will be red with blood like menses... The most important is to avoid constipation and clear colon...

poohy, not that cannot take but there is no empirical evidence that daflon will not cause problem in pregnancies. it is still not considered "safe" drug.
mine is also less than 1cm but sometimes it bleeds. Like what lyn has described ..."toilet bowl red with blood like menses".

lyn,

think its less than 1 cm... i also dunno how big hehee never see before... but i never bled before... its just a little painful when i walk when its at its worst. I applied anusol and it really helps me a lot. Hey how do u avoid haemorhoids and constipation now huh ? must learn from u so that i can be free from this pain in the long run...

tinklebell,

alamak i go and take liao sigh.... must go pray that bb will be ok liao *sob. my gynae did tell me its not proven to be safe or not safe... and asked me to take those suppositories but those dun help at all leh

poohy,
haemorrhoids so scary? I tend to have a bit of constipation once in a while, but nothing as serious as having to visit doctor n take medication...normally at most miss moving bowels for 1 day or wat...then will be okies liowz.

medusa,
read bout the expo bb death...bb was bout 1mth old only. Suddenly stoppped breathing when mom was at expo bb fair....then donno wat the carpark gantry doesnt open...and no security guard or wat came over to help? And when bb reached changi hospital was pronounced as dead
jin sad

poohy, should be ok lah... i heard just that while there is no studies to prove that it is safe, there is also no data to prove that it is unsafe. i suppose gynae knows best.