(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

peng

haiz...my hubby always say 'go away' to celest..end up now she also follow whenever she angry or dun wan us near her..faint...must really tink b4 u talk..so hard to change her now. worse, my mil go n teach her those bangala 'abunei', she remember it straight away..so piss off man...now all these words are spouting from her m outh..

aishite

so fast u baCk liao... envy...post some pics ok...go catch some rest 1st

angeline
yeah our tots r very cute now.. they really parrot what u say.. even my 13mth son also parrots us speaking haha.. make us even more conscious of what we speak..

Paula
Ethan also starts to ask me why n how now.. sometimes it can be so hysterical.. it's like i was asking him why he has changed his shirt when we have to go out.. he said no change, how??? i don't know whether to laugh or cry..

Aishite
wow.. welcome back.. must show us photos.
my mom also juz comes back from US this am.. she called me to tell me that she bought 4 coach bags for me.. haha.. now i can't wait to go home to c tonite.. haha..

Did any1 watch yest channel 8 10.30pm documentary on super kids??
i realized that it's more of inherent interest that makes a kid to excel in his field, rather than push by parents.. it's like better to join them in their interests than beat them..

hmm.. ethan really loves to cook and do domestic work (e.g. sweeping n ironing), very much like daddy.. hmmm.. maybe i should encourage him rather than stopping him cos it makes him sissy haha..

Has any1 tried cooking with kids? perhaps this wkend will try to cook some simple food with ethan.. any suggestion of what kind of food can our tots cook now? tks!

hihi ladies

Do u all have any recommendations for those tuina for the back? my hubby's right side of the back pain. but the former 1 he goes to is no longer working. so got to look for new 'master'

Re: chinese medicine
I did not give xin en any Chinese med. Now giving her vit c on regular basis. Is cordyceps dong chong cao? If so, heard it’s good though dunno how to use them though. When pregnant, my mum used to cook it together with pork for me, then I drink it like soup. Abt bird nest, I rem my anenatal course instructor saying that it should not be given to children who are too young or prone to asthma/cough. Cos now the birdnest is not very pure, a lot of small feathers still there, so may cause asthma in young kids.

Poohy,
Speech is just one form of communication. Even without speech, there are other ways to communicate, gestures, signs, writing, body language, etc. More important is whether there is any intent to communicate or interact. I’m not an expert, but from what you mention, I do think there is a cause for concern, so it’s good that you get an appt fast. I may not check this thread regularly, so if you want any info or any contacts for therapist, feel free to PM me. You take good care of yourself.

Peng,
Me want to try baking with Xin En, but I dont' have the necessary accessories, and feel stupid buying them cos moving to UK in a few months' time, now should be throwing things instead of buying things. But really feel like baking cupcakes or cookies with her. Think most mummies try baking with kids first, cos no fire/danger to worry. You can try that.

These 2 days, Irv suddenly went "NO BIB!". He went through this phase of REJECTING bibs, then was ok with bibs awhile, and now again! I just bought bibs (not arrived yet), arghhh!

Peng,
wow FOUR coach bags!!! My HB went US din come back with even one, boohoo! :p

Repetition-
Ahgirl does that, it bothered me when other people commented. So I read on it, and "model" S-L-O-W speech pattern in response to her. Actually, I'm very excitable :p , and stammer when I'm really excited.

Irv's vocab not that advanced to stammer yet, but I suspect he will... like someone mentioned, it's common and MOST kids outgrow. It's falling into the small % who don't outgrow, that worries me...

Celeste,
so which are u starting Chelsia on- Houning, or the cordyceps? If u start both, might be contraindication or overpotent and u might not be able to determine which works?

Irv doing handstand practice (learnt from Ahgirl's gym):
1496703.jpg

Supposed to work towards both legs close together, straight, and as high up as possible.

PP
*Clap, clap*. Wonderful display for physical ability!
Still haven't get G to gym despite wanting to do so for ages! Now, she gets bored with playground....

angeline
my ILs also taught my gal 'abuneh'..worse still, they always threaten her that the abuneh will come and get her etc whenever she's naughter..so now whenever she sees an indian, she will stay very very still ...really dun know what will happen next mth, cos she's supposed to start CC and the teacher in charge is an indian lady

MT, paiseh spelt ur Ahboy's name wrong in my blog... amended!!! :p Forgot to thank you again... for making us adults "work out", LOL! HB and I spent 3hrs at the "gym", siah...

pawprint,
I read from Shichida's book that it's a stage. I just gotta be patient and never tell him that that is stammering. Cannot emphasize on it.

Indeed very xin ku to learn with the toddlers hor? Now I gotta learn about Thomas and his friends... so many... hahaha... salty, gordon, spencer, james, percy, bertie, etc etc.

spicegal,
Jerica is so pretty and sweet...

Paula,
What about blending the solid food for Kell? Her body may be telling her that she needs lots of nutrients, but the body got not enough energy to digest them.
Hope Kelly recover soon...
Not that I am trying to sell to you, I will recommend you to try Vitality plus for Kelly... A has been taking it since birth. Many kids taking it seldom fall sick. Even fall sick, will not be very sick and feel very uncomfy kind. My cousins' kids and BIL's nieces used fall sick monthly and need to see doc monthly. Now, not so frequent already. Recently, my sis's friend's boy fell sick with fever and cough, cannot recover for a week. He took vitality plus and recovered. Aiya... too many cases around me to talk about already. Let me know if you wanna let Kelly try.
If wanna see results faster, I will recommend Indinine.

I got a small present for Kelly, but havent got chance to give her

poohy,
Last nite, I was reading Shichida's book again. For speech development, creeping and love is very very important for speech development. It is recommended in the book to encourage crawling and give lots of love for 3 months to see improvement.

calliope,
I know gotta be patient, but other pple not le
My maid copy him ah ah ah ah ah.. My sis complains he stammer and tells him off.

poohy,
Cordyceps very expensive and got fake ones. Gotta buy from reliable sources. I am hearing too many stories about cordyceps. Even if we have cordyceps, if it's real, if bring to medical hall to grind to powder, may also get cheated. My sis has a box of cordyceps from China. She went to a medical hall and that boss keep asking her to trade her cordyceps with bird nest. Then tell her cordyceps no good, etc. hahaha... thinking she's a fool... If no good, why keep pestering her to trade.
Heard from my cousin that best cordyceps is from Tibet. And not easy to find.

peng,
I dunno if it's true that second one will be faster.
My two gals are already coo-ing and trying to communicate with sound. When we talk to them, they will respond! A was not like that last time. Another thing is when pregnant with A, I got nobody to talk to, only MSN whole day on laptop. But pregnant with the gals, I talk and talk.

joyfulmum,
A's words also getting blur. He used to pronounce very accurately. But when he's parroting, it's very accurate still. hahaha... "my little parrot"... He copies the foreign languages CDs too!
From yesterday, I am starting to wonder whether he's speaking in a foreign language that I dun even understand! hahaha... For example, he knows "scared" when he's scared. But yesterday, he told me something that sounds like "sorty". *scratch* *scratch* Today he told me soup as "soup-er". I know soup in German is "suppe", pronounced as "soup-er".

Paula,
What about trying to speak and shaking head?
A will shake his head when he's stuttering.

Lyn,
talking abt learning... that day a fren's boy was pointing to a "machine", asking what it is. My fren couldn't find the word for it at that moment, and I answered, "Cherry-picker!". LOL!
I've been learning Construction Vehicles! :p

Abt not emphasizing "stammer"... haiz, MIL always scold Ahgirl, "why you always repeat urself?! THINK before u speak! Dun repeat yourself!".

It takes alot of restraint for me to keep my mouth shut. I tell MIL's son liao, but even the son thinks the mum will not "get it".

Lyn, hmm, ur sis any kids? My sis no kids... from Day 1 she tells me, "how come I dun understand a word your kid says? How come not clear ah? How come not speaking in sentences yet?".

pawprint,
How did you get Irv to do the handstand? I also wanna teach A to do hand stand...

happymum,
I just baked cookies for A two days ago
He helped me with the mixing of flour and the dry ingredients. And also eat the uncooked cookie. hahaha... I gonna bake banana cake these few days
wanna come my place?

peng,
A enjoys it when I let him stand on a chair to see me cook. I showed him the ingredients n if he wanna taste, just let him taste n smell too. When he's bored, "ransacking" of kitchen top starts. hahaha...

aishite,
Welcome back to sunny Singapotr! hhahaha... so bored without you leh...

Sharing piccies of the Perth trip. We didn't do the usual touristy stuff this time round but just spent lots of time picniking at parks, and also do things the locals with kids will normally do, to have a sense of what's day-to-day life is like.

Ikea at Perth: child-friendly, with play stations for tots strewn through-out the store

1497044.jpg

1497045.jpg

Indoor gym: only 4.80 per tot for unlimited time, and the equipments are the best I have seen compared with the ones here. Parents get to climb too, v fun. S accidentally slide down the slide at the last piccie, and my heart nearly dropped out of my mouth.

1497046.jpg

1497047.jpg

1497048.jpg

1497049.jpg

1497050.jpg

1497051.jpg

Various parks and picnics

1497052.jpg

1497053.jpg

1497054.jpg

1497055.jpg

1497056.jpg

1497057.jpg

1497058.jpg

1497059.jpg

1497060.jpg

Visit to a farm

1497061.jpg

1497062.jpg

1497063.jpg

1497064.jpg

1497065.jpg

1497066.jpg

A suburb library: here they have toys for children, and also a corner where children write and publish their own books .. .awesome

1497067.jpg

Miscellaneous

1497068.jpg

1497069.jpg

pawprint,
you know wat... when i do flashcards for A, eg. different species of flowers. I only know the words and such names exist. A knows the pictures and names of the flowers. I dunno! hahaha... next time he sees the flowers and tell me, I will go blur, unless I buck up. But their speed of learning is so fast...

lyn,

ya I was telling my hb yesterday that GD would definitely recommend crawling/creeping to correct speech problem. But at their age, how to make them crawl liao. I am thinking abt ways to do it

poohy

crawling: I recall going for a course years back where they made us crawl through a cloth tunnel, it was super fun, prob is I dont know where to get a such a cloth tunnel. But if u do get it, perhaps u can make it like a fun game for J and the whole family.

Another crawling is at those indoor gym or Frisk & Romp equivalent (ex Big Splash), maybe can check out the ones u know that have large crawling tunnels. I crawled like mad at the indoor gym with S in Perth.

poohy,
What does J likes? A still crawl and creep on and off now. He loves train. So I taught him how to play with his train on the floor. kekeke...
I have another idea which I haven't try. Use the GD cards, put on the floor, and creep to the cards.

<font face="tahoma"> PP,
opppss... ah boy now says NO BIBS HUH?! WOW... how did you encourage him to do the hand stand?

lyn,
jshoppers loots arrived! will meet my frd to get it tomorrow evening, pass to you another day.

re: crawling
Wes will crawl out of the blue.. then tell me "doggy... crawl. wow wow".

aishite,
WOW... great pics! i wanna go perth too!!!!! weather seems so cooling and nice! </font>

Creeping tunnel
Try those sold in Ikea? G's sunday school also allocate around 15 min of physical activities for
"tumble time". One of the equipment is those tunnel. Something like this.

http://www.ikea.com/ca/en/catalog/products/70078849

G always have fun. Last time at Childbrain website, think the moderator was still encouraging his son to creep regularly to improve speech around 3 year old. Worth a try.

lyn, wen,

ya we are going to get some creeping tunnel to encourage her to crawl. Maybe will get her to do brachiation also.

Aishite,
Hehe...The tots at Sunday school love them too. Also, they encourages jumping coz got connection with brain development too. Put a few hullalops on the floor and ask them to hop around. Plus a few more other games that train hand-eye coordination.

The pix you have on Perth trip is really cool.

Poohy,
Whatever you are doing, I pray that the peace of the Lord is with you. The joy of the Lord be your strength!

someone (or many of you) mentioned baking !!

use the scones recipe from last week mind your body newspull out - very easy !
mix flour and butter, and milk and knead !
the kids will LOVE it !!!
i did it with my K and my 2 neices (5 yrs old and 2 1/2 yrs old)
turned out the scones were quite edible (although my dad wld beg to differ) :p

Nao !!! welcome backl ! missed u !!!
love Shann's LONG LONG hair !!!

Poohy,
lots of crawling at indoor gyms, eg. Explorer's. Maybe get S to crawl so J will emulate? I remember an article encouraging kids to crawl just before a class, at even Primary Sch level.

mispiggy,
yah lor! Dun care, will try to get him to wear even if it means I gotta draw Thomas on it or what.
I always wonder why dun have Thomas Bib?!

re: baking,

I've tried baking with my boy. He enjoyed the process, pour the flour, water, egg etc. Helping me mix, pour mixture into cake tin. he had fun, messy though haha cos he like to wipe his cake-mixture-covered hands on his shirt!

aishite,

welcome back to SIN!!

Great pics of Shannon, she's so happy, can see her enjoying the activities.

pawprint,

CLAP CLAP, great gym move by Irv

gd morning! oh ya, my boy's hvg chicken pox..yes got it fm his dad.. luckily he had his jab so he has less than 10 pox. the PD said that's about it.. only 10 pox cos he had the jab! no fever nothing.. he's stil as active as before. PD said he'll probably recover within 1 wk.
*phew.. thankfully!

hi ashite,
nice pictures! bet u had a wonderful trip!

oh ya, remember someone here sent yr child to Pat's Schoolhse.. who ah? i'm considering to send my boy for half day playgroup..but now they hv only PM session.. and whoa not cheap leh.. 1mth cost $900+..hmmm

Toad,
Nice pics of Shannon..

PP,
Irvin real solid in that pics...

Duff,
Hope your ah boy recover soon... Ur hubby now than get chicken pox ar...

<font color="ff0000">Cordyceps</font>
Where did u gals bought the cordyceps frm? My mum say mus buy frm trustable source else they will give u not so good one leh...

<font color="ff0000">EYS</font>
Which brand of EYS is good for assessing child? I think i need to bring chelsia to see chinese doc... Mum jus called say ytd nite suddenyly cough n bad running nose, whole nite never sleep..... she was well for the past 1 week after recovering frm her LONG LONG cough.. then now... come back... i really wan to faintz liao... and this morning till now.. she has been very cranky.. and stick to mum... she cant tahan.. think i have to take leave go home sppn liao..

celeste,
ya lor my hb so old liao then got chicken pox.. so many pox!!! haha.. rightfully my boy won't get it after the jab but bcos he refused to sleep in another room, wanted to sleep with dad every nite.. so finally kena pox oso! *sigh.. but luckily it's very mild for him...

hey oh ya, is it you who sent yr girl to Pat's Schoolhse?

Celeste, oh dear that sounds bad... i tot u bot Houning and Cordyceps already? BTW the whampoa guy must go after lunch- best timing. Morning not open, late afternn too crowded.

Duff...
No.. i did not send C to Pats... wrong number.. haha... i cant rmb who .. i know someone here did sent her kids to Pats..

PP..
Yah i got houning n some cordyceps.. but hor my mum dun allow Chel to take unless a TCM doc say OK... so now.. i mus find a good one to bring Chel..and mum insist on EYS... arghhhh.... Now dun know which branch is good... how how how??

celeste
my gal's cough and running nose also came back this week, after a clear period of abt a week...sian...got to tahan a cranky, sleepless gal

hi Celeste,
you can try these 2 EYS Clinic -
1) Eu Yan Sang Specialist TCM Centre @ Camden (but more costly cos it's a specialist clinic) my friend went there for acupuncture.. said it's good. BUT not sure if they are good for children's care though.. u can call if they hv children care service
2) EYS @ South Bridge road..
EYS list of clinics for your info http://www.ihealth.com.sg/clinics.php

Duff...

I have been goggling whole morning... on EYS...but nothing useful appear... I even search the motherhood site to see anyone got any comments on EYS clinic.. but nothing found.. sian liao lah..

Think I will jus go to the south bridge road branch lata... Thanks...