(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

celeste
my mil brought her to raffles med yesterday. Hubby decided that since she's already 2 yrs, can just go to the GPs...

mil got lotsa complains when she came back..cos the GP questioned her way of cooking food for my gal, asked her steamed fish at what degrees and even recommend her to see the Raffles Med Child Specialist...alamak..

anyway, think the medicine prescribed was very strong, cos gal slept for full 4hrs plus yesterday afternoon.....just hoping that she's ok with the medicine and can stay well for at least the next 2 mths...

steffi,
personally i still dun dare to bring boy to GP cos realise that the medicine that they prescribe for children are usually quite strong. so still prefer to go PD at least the med are more suitable for the youngs.

Good Morning Mummies!

Paula, Happymum,
Thanks for all the books suggestions.

My ger loves topsy and tim and will even look for them whenever we go borders.

Pawprint,
Yah...i know that pek chek feeling. I also notice she's not the excited sort like the other kids. Sometimes I wish she were. Her teachers say she behaves like a 'xiao xiao da ren' (small small adult)...all cool and calm and would take her time do things slowly and cautiously. Even that day during the cc bday celebration, she would eat her cake slowly while all other kids really chiong and gobbled up. Is you ger's personality also like that?

Aishite,
Welcome back! WOw! Looks lots fun at perth. Haha...any work opportunities forme there for a year or two perhaps?

Celeste,
My ger's runny nose also came back this morning. Suspect 3 things:
1. Change of weather yesterday...suddenly turn colder.
2. Haven't been giving her delrosa for 3 days cos this mother very kan cheong with getting into the morning work routine and forgot.

3. A few of her cc kids are down under medication.

Supposed to bring whole family go EYS for tiao yang this june but as usual, play seems more attractive. Heard the one at chinatown's polular though.

Actually, I rarely bring my ger see doc.In fact whole two years only 3 times...once was bad skin allergy and twice high fever. I either let her stay completely in, sleep and drink lots milk/water or self medication, dunno good or not in the long run though.

Give the following to my ger:
Runny NOse- Zyrtec (from guardian pharmacy)
Cough - EYS (either mild hot/cold cough, depending)
Cough plus Runny nose - EYS Bao Ying Dan
Mild Fever - Panadol infant + kodomo cooling patch

AM not sure about cordyceps but my dad swears by them. He has been taking the powdered kind. As for birds nest, i personally feel it's just loads of protein only, plus i've been on them every fornight since i got married and don't see any of it's supposed good effects on my complexion. But my MIL insists we eat...so sweet so sick!

celeste
hey, i read previously from other threads that cordyceps is good for the kids but when i consulted my ger's TCM doc, she told me not to give her cos my ger is v heaty...says cordyceps will only make it worse leh. Anyone else heard sthg like this or cordyceps worked well for all of ur tots? She oso advised that whenever we wanna give tots TCM, should always consult the TCM doc esp the first time so they can check out their body constitution. Hou ning oso din seem to work well on my ger...after i gave her twice, her cough became worse then so i immed stopped.

korean ginseng oso must take wif caution...koreans love taking them almost daily but their weather/climate is so diff from ours...my hb tried cos strongly recommended by his Korean frens...took a few times and all his ulcers popped out...

MT, I got the books from popular, fairy tales, series of 6 titles, it uses very little words which I find suitable for our todds so I bought. Will post picturs soon.

Paula, glad that Kell done well for her MI project.

Peng, you making me drool!! 4 Coach bags, so envious.

Pawprint, tat is a nice picture of Irvin doing the handstand. Cute!

Aishite, welcome back. Nice photos of Shannon in Perth, looks like a really fun trip.

Calliope, nice cupcakes..the Barney birthday cake is quite popular with Jun todds.

spicegal
haha.. yeah rec 4 coach bags yest.. gosh it's really so cheap in US.. but sob sob.. i m ganna conned by my bro.. the last time he helped me to buy a coach bag, it was so ex.. close to S$500.. but this time round, my mom bought it at only US$90.. ouch..

Cheri
I agree with u that TCM is not meant to be the same for all pple.. must check with TCM... i know for me i will be very heaty if i take too much chinese herbs.. that's y i m scared to introduce it to my kids..

Calliope,
your gal really looks so happy..

Calliope,
Hee hee ... we also got this barney cake for Fiona
Steffi also got this for her girl. Basically i think most kids this age love Barney!

Ashite,
Perth looks so fun! I wish i could go on a holiday too.

wanted to get barney cupcake for gal's actual day tmr....was told need to order 2 days in advance.....i thot they had the cupcake ready, just need to stick the barney pix on :p

Wow so many birthday pics & holidays pics !!

Aishite,
Seem like S enjoyed herself thoroughly, I love the pics in the farm. So nice ")

1500107.jpg

I bought Barney Cupcake for Ahboy's BD too, off-the-shelf, only 2 cupcakes can liao. Really dun need Patissier to make them happy, haha. Not sure abt taste, I didn't try at all- every crumb finished by them, and they kept the plastic decor too!

Calliope,
no lah, my gal eat CAKE will be very fast hand fast leg. :p

peng
yes, TCM for adults is very diff for kids...too bad my ger doesn't like to take TCM med so we stopped her prescribed TCM med in the end anyway..so far the singulair that she was on seemed to hv helped...plus i give her DHA cod oil & vit c now...keeping my fingers crossed too cos she'll b starting cc soon.

Hi all..

Brought chelsia to EYS this afternoon... after pulse reading... Doc He say she got weak lungs n golden nose = sensitive nose.. whenever the plc is dusty or watever,.. her nose will shows.. and I complaint that she always very phelgmy..every month sure ganna cough, flu etc.. and was told that its due to her weak lungs... thats why always ganna phelgm...

She prescribed powder form of medi for 3 days to be taken twice a day.. but am really have great difficulty getting the medi down her throat... If she kuai kuai eat it.. its suppose to help her built a better n stronger lungs n make her nose less sensitive... any sugg how to force it dwn her throat?

Cordyceps is confirmed good for tots.. when asked how can i improved her immune syst.. her reply "cordyceps".. once a week.. double boiled with lean meat and let her drink as soup once a week.. and it will helps built up immune syst... Went over to their EYS shop.. and the price of cordyceps can really kill me.. Ranging $800 to $2000. OMG!!

Mum says she will try make the soup for her see she wants if she likes it.. then i have to consider making the huge long term investment... arggghhhh....

No Barley for kids pls... cos phelgm... be it chinese oe ang mo barley...

Ok Thats what i gather today... jus wanna share... she may not be accurate though.. haha..

<font color="ff0000">MTDT</font>.. Sprinkle cordyceps on their porridge is a waste.. no effects at all... mus double boild.. thats what she told me...

Celeste - I never sprinkle cordyceps powder. I double boil then use the soup to cook the porridge last time as he was still young. Also only give once a week incase too heaty. Yes, My TCM doc also says no barley. (for a moment i read no barney! hahaha)

Last time Zav will guai guai eat the TCM medi... open mouth big big.... unfortunately now tat he is big... he reject them. i also dunno how to force... just try lah.

<font face="tahoma"> good morning ladies,

Celeste,
cordyceps prices really can kill! i used to take quite a bit of the soup during preg with Wes (prices were reasonable then) since last yr, prices shot sky up due to supply shortage! poor baby #2, i have yet to take any :p</font>

mspiggy,

cause phelgm as in what kind. haha sorry hor stupid question. :p
like not sick also have phelgm or flu/cough then phelgm alot kind?

Sunflower...
Phelgm as in phelgm lor.. hahaha.. I thin what the chinese doc meant is if drink too much barley... will be too liang for the tots body.. then they will suka suka start flu / coughing / and phelgmy lor... so for chelsia she always got phelgm one so a definite NO NO BARLEY for her...

<font face="tahoma"> sunflower,
you're very chim leh... phelgm got alot kind meh??

i know sometimes when Wes is not sick, but when he sleeps... you can hear very heavy breathing and some sound type. then my mum will say he has phelgm lor. i also dont know what type of phelgm is that! hehehe</font>

HI Aishite

welcome back. wonderful pictures.. me now at airport goin to BBK. me gonna start work nxt monday liao.. That's the end of my SAHM life.. hehehe

Oki

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO CHLOE... HAVE FUN !!!

Good morning ladies!

Wah the topic getting chim leh...

I've not check out the price of cordyceps. TCM only tell me to cook/boil cordyceps for my boy to help him to build up his immumity system. And mentioned that can only give it to him when he had fully recovered, cannot give when he is sick. I didn't ask why lah.

paiseh.. I really very suaku. but may I know how do u double boil? I wanna buy some cordycep for my kids leh.

btw any mummy hear of eating pearl powder? dunno good or not.

celeste,

what's the difference between the $800 and $2000 cordycep?

mummies, how much does the cordycep you buy generally cost? how should we choose? most expensive ah?

re: pearl powder.

Bought lots from taiwan.

only intro a bit when my boy was down with jaundice when hes a few days old.

Other than that never give liao.

But my nephew has been eating it.

poohy,

not too sure. Was in taiwan when preggy and went to their pearl making fty. Then the lady promotes alot then my MIL buy lots for me.

need to check with my SIL why she gave his son that.

She got lots of boxes from EYS

<font face="tahoma"> re: pearl powder

was told cant give boys too much pearl powder. it's very very liang!!!! not good for them.

the benefits seems like to clear our body system heatiness that's why those high fever or cases like jaundice they give pearl powder.

good for ladies complexion also. hahahaa</font>

celeste

no barley har...that means 'ju hua' ok rite...for celest,i always mix the tcm powder into watery form before puting it into her mouth.so far she like the taste so not too bad..

MTDT

me too lei..at 1st glance i oso read 'NO BARNEY' haha...i was still wondering y no barney till i read on...

mspiggy, celeste,

aiya, don't understand mah wahaha so ask lo... see mspiggy also don't know what sleep got sound means phelgm is what phelgm. :p

hey... sleeping time loud sound might not be phlegm...

got a jul kid - also always hv loud snoring sound. then finally it's becos abnormally large adenoids (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adenoid)

Means her breathing has become very heavy during your sleep, implying that she may not be getting enough oxygen whilst sleeping, which could lead to an undermining of the development of your brain.

She went for a "sleep test" and now monitoring hre kid.

so chiem huh!

Hi cutiezayn,
thanks. There one PrimaDeli near my office. Will rush there to buy it tonight.

Today is my boy actual birthday day. Although he had celebration in the weekend but still feel like giving him something on the acutal day.

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">Happy Birthday to the all tods that are born in June, especially those on 20.06.2006</font></font>

poohy,
most expensive cordyceps can be in thousands for one "liang3".

Pearl powder cannot take too much. My mum told me last time pple told her pearl powder good, and she overfed me. She got a shock when one day i urine very powdery. I also heard boys cannot take pearl powder. Dunno the reasons though.

Lyn,
Thanks for your present. You shouldn’t have.  Aloy’s pressie still with me too. Will arrange a gathering once I am over this super duper stress period.
Have a not-so-good news. Kell is down again. She woke up with a stream of thick green color mucus raining out from her nose. I never see so much mucus in my life before. Just spoke to Dr. Lim and he wanted her back for tests today. I tell you ar, I am super duper tired. We are whatever we can … home confined her, puff her, feed her with hou ning and etc. I got an air sanitizer, brought new mattress, get part time auntie to clean up my house four times a week with Dettol now and still kena. This is the second episode now after hospitalization now. I really want to faint. Actually hor, I want to buy that soap bar from you. Vitality … can email me more product information? [email protected].

So far, Kell hasn’t really been stuttering yet. If she thinks too fast and she is not fast enough to talk them out, she will just go … ‘papa buys qiqi bread … hmm hmm … and cake’. So, she will hmm hmm in-between. But she is really sweet. I went back home late last night cos’ meeting up with a business investor. So, she went to bed without me. This morning, she woke up and saw me, she asked ‘mummy, go where?’ … then she said, ‘qiqi miss mummy’. So sweet hor?

Toad,
Tomorrow Sin Flyer’s date… think might not be able to make it liao. We talk tonight okay? The little one seems to miss Shannon quite a bit especially when she looked at the star that she made for her. Whenever I asked her who did you make the star for? She replied shyly ‘shannon’… so sweet hor?

Celeste, Aishite,Peng,

Yep, my ger was indeed very happy...she went 'Barney!' and squealed so loudly...not something she'd normally do. You know when we sang the bday song, almost the entire mccafe sang along! So nice!
Wish we had more cupcakes to share with everyone there!

Pawprint, Tinklebell

Yah...they all love Barney...no need anything too expensive, which is good...haha! Still don't find him attractive leh but read somewhere his features were specially designed to appeal to the little ones...haha...we're old liao! ;p

Pawprint,

Actually come to think of it, my ger will also fast hand fast leg eat when with us but think she's very shy and conscious of herself when others around so will slow slow and sneaky peek at people around her...haha...my funny darling!

Celeste,

Best to doubleboil cordyceps? Why the powdered ones not as good? More convenient leh. Btw,which branch did you go? Which sinseh?

Paula,

Kelly's really sweet.

Many kids falling ill these few days...i see a long list on my ger's cc's medication file...mainly cough and cold. Keep her in if you have to and warm especially at night...i believe the sudden change in weather is the culprit.

Re: Tingkat Recommendations

Me wanna to take one month break from cooking to adapt to the new work routine first. Anyone knows any healthy tingkat catering ie. no msg,low salt, no deep fried ones? Thanks!

Re: Dental Visits

Any of you brought your tods to the dentist yet? Any experience to share?

Sorry gals, I need to vent my anger on Shichida.

ER did not attend the current term and when I called up beginning of this term to enquire about the deposit, they said I have to email to say I withdraw to get it back. If I want to continue in the followin term, then no need to email just call to enquire on class vacancies towards end of the term. Today, finally got class vacancy so I went down to make payment and then they told me my deposit has been forfeited. If I want to attend class next term, then will need to pay deposit again!!! GRRRRR!!!!

pawprint
the lady at bedok prima told me got to book barney's cupcakes in advance, there isnt any off the rack

okipoki
nope, my gal's bday is on 21st...i was induced on 20th, but she popped the next day instead :p

rodeo

Paying deposit a 2nd time is totally rubbish, and the biz model sure sounds odd.

The idea of a deposit is supposedly to last you through the entire tenure of your duration with them, and also to secure your loyalty with them. There's no reason why it should be forfeited, and demand a 2nd payment from you, esp when you have expressed interest to continue with them. I suggest you call them up and say you will highlight this to CASE given its non-alignment with conventional practice, and I am fairly sure you will get your deposit back in no time!