(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

<font face="tahoma"> rodeo,
Endo is made in China while Tiger is made in Japan. That's the diff

Steffi,
if you're making soup... add in all the stuffs into the inner pot, put over the high fire on the stove. once started boiling, transfer the inner pot into the "thermal pot" and cover. and the end of the day when you're back from work, the soup is really to serve!

no need electricity or gas ... it's safe if no one at home to monitor and can save $$

mspiggy: Wow, the tiger thermal pot is really ex compared to endo. They are huge too! Smallest is 3l. I feel that 1.8l already v big.

Steffi: Like what mspiggy says, u put the inner pot to cook over the stove. After boiling, move the whole inner pot into the thermal outer pot and close. It'll supposedly continue to cook even though it's not on the stove.

1.8L not that big actually. just about 2 serve of porridge for Wesley.

if thinking of making soup or dessert (red/bean soup etc) for family then shd get 4.5L coz with all the stuffs in plus water, that's what my colleagues said. </font>

Happy Birthday Zavier n Jerica!!

Fiona's birthday was yesterday. We had a mini celebration for her with her cousins on Friday at home. She fell asleep before photo taking but when we whispered "Barney Birthday cake" into her ears, she was wide awake again! Hee hee

1491030.jpg

Yesterday, Fiona suddenly recited A to Z without me prompting her... felt so happy listening to it
Hiaz.. my maternity leave is gonna end in 3 weeks time. Sob sob. My boss was worried i would tender my resignation after that :p But i think for the sake of saving more $$$ for the kids education, better work. Yesterday's Sunday times says i need almost $1m for the 3 to go overseas wor
gosh faint

<font face="tahoma"> hi tinklebell,
fiona is looking more like you!

i read abt that on the papers... told my hubby he can forget abt early retirement aleady! :p

done digital perm before... to me it's all the same. just PERM! but according to my stylist she said it's less damaging to our hair. as per maintain, i think perm needs quite alot of maintain. need to apply cream/oil else looks fizzy for me. rebonding is the best option for me! </font>

mspiggy: Hmm, 1.8l only 2 servings of porridge ah.... I'll need to check my pressure pot size at home. I'm currently using the small WMF pressure pot for soup, think it's 2.2l or 2.5l. That's just nice for about 3-4 adults. My hub sometimes complain that the soup is not "nong" from pressure cooking cos it's not cooked over fire. Wondering if thermal cooking can help in that aspect.

not sure.. but my colleague likes it. she said when she makes the ABC soup, the spare ribs just nice and those potatoes and carrots also nice good, not too soft. guess it's really depends on individual likings. </font>

mspiggy,
rebonding is the best but then my hair has been rebonded before and is v dry. i did rebonding on rebonded hair previously at kimage and it turned frizzy! so i think i will stay off rebonding for a while. am using those ceremic hot tongs to straighten once in a while ... needs a lot of effort to do tat

<font face="tahoma"> tinklebell,
try soft rebonding... it's using a less damaging cream and the effect looks very natural! i like it.

you can try it at HairInn at AMKhub B1 (right at the corner). Look for Suzanne Kong (Tel : 6853 4609 / 6853 0823) Think they are having some promos right now. No harm checking it out.

tinklebell - happy belated bday to F too.

wow.. she does look "steam" in the pics... but still v princess looking.
she is so chubby.

thanks sunflower

tinklebell
i got the same barney design for my gal yest ...:p drawback of the cake - the wordings do not stand out..quite diff to read them..

We brought Arianne to sentosa last week. It's really tough bringing all 3 out. But we had q a bit of fun in the underwater world. aaron wanted to take pics with the snake outside underwater world... cant believe he is so brave :p

1491104.jpg

Steffi,
hee hee oh ya i remember seeing your posting. My gathering is q small so i could only order the 1k cake. They have BJ and BB Bop but Fiona prefers Barney. Agreed that the words r q small but so long as the kids love that it's ok lah.

mspiggy,
I'll check that salon out. hee hee ...have been going to amk hub v frequently lately. actually it's v near my home...didnt realise it previously :p

<font face="tahoma"> Hi Tinklebell,
Aaron is such a brave boy!

yeah AMKhub is very near to your home. Call to check with them on the promo... i need to trim my hair soon too. Very out of shape already

tinklebell,
wow ur boy is so brave! How old is he now?
digital perm is nice! I did japanese perm last dec. Perm hair not easy to manage, imagine hv to spend time to apply styler n cream. however I m gg to try digital end of tis yr since my hair is straight now

tinklebell,

really, Aaron is very brave! I look at the snake I also leg go weak liao.. dun even mention going near them.

joyfulmom
yup yup..my ex-coy was once involved in some legal case, and photography got his evidence deleted by the other party. He managed to get it restored at a photoshop and develop it...not sure where he got it restored though...

Kite,
Aaron's 5 half now. Usually he is scared of flies and bugs. But i dont know why is is not scared of snakes.

Joyfulmum,
same, i am so scared of snakes and reptiles too. Perhaps is bec aaron watches Animal Planet on Discovery often so he is not fearful of them.

Thanks for the birthday wishes and compliments Mummies!!

Celeste, her cake is 3kg.

MT, nice train theme for Zavier's birthday.

Tinklebell, Fiona's white dress is very nice. Aaron is so grown up already. And yes he is really BRAVE to carry the huge snake on his neck.

Mspiggy, double thumbs up for the thermal pot, my mum uses that to cook soup for us nowdays.

mtdt,
Happy Birthday Zavier!

He got very nice big cake and a beautiful jelly.

mspiggy,
I have got a thermal cooker too. But bought from Robinsons. hmm... Need long time to prepare soup in it. Get the size that suit the family. I got a big one. It's not efficient. Cos if the pot not filled to 3/4, gotta reheat a few times and heat lost is fast. Nowadays, cos boiling for lunch, I am cooking over the stove fire. Not enough time to allow it to slowly cook inside the thermal pot. Then store the pot of soup inside for dinner. My hubby complaining why I buy the expensive thermal pot since I am boiling over the stove now :p And put away my pressure cooker one side also :p

rodeo,
Happy birthday ER

hahaha... you remind me to take out my long forgotten pressure pot to boil soup again :p

tinklebell,
Happy birthday Fiona!

$1m for 3 to go overseas, provided they dun do medicine ;)

rodeo,
If you want the ingredients of the soup to be "nua nua", you need to boil over fire. If you like the ingredients to be whole and cooked, thermal pot is best. Else you will need to boil a few times using the thermal pot. Alternatively, can use thermal pot to "cook" for long hours, then boil over stove for half an hour, then the ingredients will be "nua nua" and the soup very "nong" lor...
Nowadays, I am using my thermal pot to boil over the stove fire cos I want the beans to "melt" in the soup. Cos my A only wants soup and plain rice. If he's mood is good, then will eat the ingredients.

mspiggy,
If you like grainy red bean soup, thermal pot is good. But I prefer "nua nua" red bean soup.

tinklebell,
Aaron so brave!

joyfulmum,
Sentosa or national museum tomolo? I am only looking at going out for half a day. No energy for full day. If Sentosa, go in morning. If national museum, go in afternoon. How? Want?

Lyn,
Yes! I was thinking about National Muzeum too. Brought G there a few weeks back and totally enjoyed ourselves. Sentosa....too hot leh. :p

<font face="tahoma"> lyn,
thanks for the feedback. am thinking more like boiling then after work can have the soup ready when i reach home. shd be long enough right?

maybe i shd think abt it again before i make pymt! :p</font>

tinklebell: Wow, aaron is so brave to hold the big snake!

lyn: Thank you for your birthday wishes. Hmm, think I'll give thermal pot a miss cos i also prefer nua to whole soup. You should take out your pressure pot to use cos it produces v nua ingredients for soup. You can pressure cook it 2x, ie up 2 rings, off fire, when pressure is gone, put pot back onto stove to go up another 2 rings. Alternatively, when it's 2 rings up, turn your fire low to simmer for 15min. All the ingredients inside will be very very soft. Pressure pot do very good nua nua red/gree bean soup 8) For me, pressure pot is a must-have cos it makes soup cooking v easy, just throw everything in and it'll be done in half hour. Save time, save gas :p

lyn, mspiggy, calliope,
$650 excl. delivery, tuning, internal cleaning or watever repairs. German. no lobang, just google n wait til *urgent relocation* sale.

the bench is giving me problems. I wanted to DIY refurbish the bench...
- 1.5hr sanding and filling holes w/ wood putty
- 3hr sanding down the putty areas
... then realise FIL bought me an all-in-one stain-cum-varnish... cannot, my wood putty colour is very light, must go buy marker/ stain to match the colour before varnishing.
- estimate another 3hrs tomorrow

Existing bench very beat-up, dun suit my living room... but brandnew is $160. Bohbian, must DIY *try*, without guaranteed success sia... my labour is cheap mah *sob*.

lyn, toto,
ya v fun for them...both kept jumping on the capsule until i was so pai seh... but i thought it was a bit boring for us. Go during weekdays so that dont need to q. Anyway, was free for Fiona so u can bring ur toddlers/ babies below 3 there foc. just need to pay for the adults.

tinklebell,

SF looks fun hor...

PP,

your girl going to start piano lesson? private tutor?

toto,

is Jake still attending school? Din see him yesterday when I was there.

I left work early to go to bring J to Dr Terence Tan for referal. He agreed that there are some indicator flags about J that require further assessment... so we were refered to a educational psychologist. Hope to make appointment asap... Felt that she does not have very good eye contact and not to mention her speech. She can say single words but not all the time will say. I am just feeling very concerned about her apparent delay in communication development... so I guess its time to do serious intervention.

poohy - oh, am sure J will be alright with all the help u r giving her.. I dun rem her having any issues with eye contact... but the time i spend with her also only v limited.

poohy, J is still attending school. ke ke... today will be bringing him out - shopping and swimming, so will not be going to school today.

poohy, hope J will be fine. did the teachers at LW mentioned J had some problems with communication?

MTDT,

think her eye contact problem also mild. She does have eye contact but not all the time. Family members felt she got those type of "bochap" indifferent attitude. Like in her own world most times. And her speech is definitely too slow.

toto,

during the parent teacher chat, they did mentioned they felt a little concern that J had not spoken to them at all till recently she utter a few words.

poohy
my gal was also quite slow in her speech. she only started speaking in words/sentences recently...think diff toddlers will develop at diff pace?

poohy, oh i see. if the teachers felt the same, then maybe you need to investigate this further. my feedback for J was that he dun like art and craft and dirty stuff, so i need to expose him more. ke ke...

MTDT - do you know what show is Marina having now? they have something in the central area... some sort of kids performance...

steffi,

speech delay is the smaller concern. Its communication delay that is worrying. Anyway, even if overkill, I rather err and waste money than delay intervention and affect her life if required.

poohy - agree with u. early intervention wld only help the kid... so go for it.

Toto - huh... Marina? not tat i know of :p

poohy,
Hope J will have a quantum development soon
Are you still continuing the flashcards and speed reading cards?
A's teacher at SM recommended more speed reading for speech and language development. A's speech development not fast too. Nowadays, he's stammering a lot. I just have to be patient with him when he wanna speak.