(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

excerpt from www.wholesomebabyfood.com

Breast Milk and/or Formula are THE MOST IMPORTANT source of nutrition for your infant up to 12 months old!! Solids only begin to play a larger nutritional roll between 9-10 months old.

mum2b: About the stock, I just throw them away. Mich suggested that I blend them to make them into puree. I am not sure about it. If we do that, will the meat still be nutritious? Aiyah, to throw away is so wasteful. Hmm, maybe I should give to my dog. He's been drinking Similac and my breastmilk. One day, he might think I am his mother

To continue with the chicken stock, I put in about 6 cubes everyday. So the stock that I made can only last for a few days. Are you thinking to try too? Have I answered all your questions? If I miss out any, feel free to come back to me again yah

Yah, I agree with u taking care of bb 24/7 is the ultimate diet method. I was also 50 kg and now I am 45-46 kg.

michelle,

i have the bb einstein set too... ya i think language nursery have multi languages.. I played it for the children a few times and they are quite interested.. i hear some japanese, some french ... others i cant identify hehee

poohy,
I havent seen the cards in the language genius yet. For maths, I also think that GD cards are better. Clearer and big enough not to strain baby's eyes. So far, Aloysius still loves the dots and numerals cards. I am very slowly changing the numerals after stopping for a while, cos I was bored. hahaha.. to drag the maths program longer also.

sunflower,
Did you tell them that your boy is already creeping? And whether he's still suitable for Crawler 1?

poohy,
Last time I used to keep track of how many times. But it get less and less for Aloysius. So now, I just flashed till he starts to look away and I will retire the entire category
So far, I can keep his attention for 50 cards in a session when he's happy. Shichida's book also warned about baby looking away from the flashcards too many times.
I did problem solving with Aloysius last time. He can get it correct most of the times till I am bored :p I did maths problem solving and encyclopedic problem solving too... Now I stopped problem solving already. I realised that when I get bored, he will look away in future. So I stopped whatever I am bored too
Afterall, these programs are parent-child bonding, and gotta be enjoyable to both me and Aloysius

During problem solving, really gotta have the mentality of "no expectations" at all. I think young kids below 3 have really good ESP. Can know what we think. The first few times when I did, Aloysius got it wrong too cos I was expecting from him in the heart. After that, I conditioned myself that he's still young, and he will not get it right anyway before I did problem solving. But, to my surprise he got them correct.

hmm... If I did not remember wrongly, GD mentioned of not to take baby's hands to point at the cards. Let babies point on their own.

i_panda,
I went to the HMV at city link mall in the afternoon...

michele,

wow how much you paid for the 21 dvds?

lyn,
I told the lady, she said they also consider other aspects also like flashcards & other motor skills. but she said after the trial class, they can assess if the bb is suitable for crawler 1 or 2. so if younger but suitable for C2, they will put to C2 class.
I'll be going for a trial at gymboree this sat

re: BJG
most prob organise next weekend 28/01/07
This sunday got june gathering
keke and the timing is exactly the same. vivi will hang me if I organise the class for this sun

hi mummies ! have been away cuz so busy wif work.
and 2 days ago, my nipple bled !! so scary ... the doc gave some antibiotics and thinks that it's due to baby teething ... oh well, am better now, but the nipple still hurts

as a result, did not pump the affected b for a few days and now my ss is PATHETIC !!
so sad ...

wld love to join the gathering, but this weekend too busy :p

hey, do u still remember the first gathering we had ? that was when we were 5 or 6 mths preggie i think ... i remember Okipoki, happy sunflower, tinkerbell and Dor ... who else was there ?

k_ong,
Yeah... thats our 1st outing. Well, Josephine as well... she is the organiser leh !! We were commenting that ur tummy is very small...

poohy, sunflower,
I feel that littlebbluv are not cheap. Almost the same price as GD cards already if you divide by cost per card. And also worried of duplication of what I already have. What do you gals think?

lyn,

also think so. its about $0.30! so till now not decided yet. find their pricing ex hor..

do you have the encloy knowledge cards from GD? how much is it ?

sunflower, lyn,

ya the cards are not cheap.. and a lot of topic are already repeated in all those 4000 cards I bought from bulk purchase. Though the good thing is i was told the resolution is good. Hmm I am considering BJG cards too.. cos they have those 11x11 cards but prob quite exp too. But those are more worth it since its 11x11 high resolution with program of intelligence behind.

lyn, ya I always flash without expectation too... as long as they respond to me, I feel v happy already. Even if they dun respond, I will hug them and move on to something else. I helped Joelle point once to encourage her to point to me the answer. That's just once. After that she got the idea and will point when I asked her something. I dropped problem solving from samuel's sessions because I feel i wanna concentrate on input only. hehee... but now is the time shichida classes expect some form of output here and there .... his class teacher gave us a stack of worksheet for him to do at home! I see already faint... all need to use a pen/pencil/crayon to draw... he's hardly exposed to writing yet. I am now trying to expose him to drawing with crayon/marker before slowly teaching him to do his worksheets...

for cards tracking, I also take cue from bb when she keep looking away, I will retire. But I wanna mark down how many times she sees it so that I know when I can fully retire the set. When bb look away from a set... I will re-introduce a few days later for reinforcement and she will still look at it happily... Joelle also loves her flashcards despite being so much more mobile now... she can easily sit through 200 flashcards or more... each morning... just that I may at times be too busy to flash cos still have to give Samuel his session...

btw, u introduce numerals to aloysius liao ah? so where r u in the maths program? sequences? Joelle is only on 4-step equations (for ages now) and sequences/fractions. I had not introduce numerals at all even to Samuel. I hesitate leh... cos I read that the window of opportunity for dots are below 2.5 years old... so I was thinking of optimising this opportunity before moving to numerals for the rest of their life hehee. I dunno whether I am doing the right thing though.

Samuel dun seems to like his maths session anymore... so I am thinking of introducing the shichida 65day maths program with variety dots for him leh...

lyn/sunflower...

the encyclopedic cards from gentle revolution definitely more exp than the littlebbluv ones since they consist of program of intelligence and 11x11.

mum2b

wah,u lost so much weight? envy!! i still got my tummy there despite all the weight lost..haiz..hey,we really v similar leh..where u stay?if near,maybe we can meet up n go shopping 2gether..its getting boring at home all day for 5days a week..sian man

okipoki

my ger oso woke up ard 3am+...crying n fussing..guess that shes hungry..fed her FM..she drank 110ml.then she zzz again..till 7am+ she woke up..haiz..nowadays when she hungry,she will say 'mum mum' alot of times..

mum2b, angeline,

looking after bb will definitely slim down wan lah.. especially if u dun have maids or old folks living with u to rely on...
I was 46kg before preg... and now I only 42kg. This is my weight when i was in university... hehee...

last time my boy i took care of all his feeds including nite feed by myself all the way... even now on and off he still will wake up for milk in the middle of the night. For joelle, I told my hb to take over... so she is happily torturing my hb with 1-2 nite feeds a night now..... btw I had not switch her to semi solid yet ... only added some cereal into her milk feeds... maybe that's why she so hungry gotta wake up at night. I think I will go back to jc weight below 40kg if i still need to wake up for joelle's night feeds every night hehee... told my hb to endure... next child (if there is one) will be my turn to do all the night feeds.

Re: bb einstein VCD
wesley doesnt seems to be interested at all... he will look at it for a few secs then look away already.

mspiggy,

bb have preferences too... dun worry abt the bb einstein... after a few weeks, u play again and see if he interested. Last time my boy also not interested in anything other than bb einstein. I showed him signing times and he keep looking elsewhere. I kept it and introduce again after a month or so, he simply enjoys it...

re: maths program

wen,

one suggestion is the following:

1. ascending orders
2. descending orders
3. greater than
4. smaller than
5. equal to
6. not equal to

gotta revise the book on what else to do after that
think its progressions... fractions

Time/Venue: 28/01/2007, 4-5PM, Bukit Batok
1) sunflower - ok
2) serene - ok
3) i_panda - ok
4) okipoko - ok

5) dal -

okipoki - sorry sorry missed out :p

wen,

if you keen, you can come & join us for the trial. if not, you call Annie & check if there's a Crawler 2 actual class & join in. But note that if you do not sign up for the term, the class is $35 & not at trial price of $20.

sunflower,
thx. got ur earlier PM. i'm ok for next sun too.
656748.gif

oh, they'll consider things like flashcards? i dun do flashcards wif my boy. well, let's see if he enjoys the trial first! keke.

wen,

hey if u wanna come crawler2, can come to J's class on saturday 12:30pm... then we can exchange materials and pointers more easily
hehee...

re: SUn gathering....

Heres my address: Westwood AVE , Near NTU, Jalan Bahar,

In case , i do not have the time to assess emails hence, Heres my contact : 81239081

Cya on sun....

btw BJG is minimun 5, think can take up to max 7,
So if more mummies want to join us, pls let me know

Dal: they will consider that if you want to join crawler 2 instead of crawler 1 class. if not, no issue

hooray, we got the minimum requirement, will call them now to book

Time/Venue: 28/01/2007, 4-5PM, Bukit Batok
HomeTeamNS Bukit Batok Clubhouse
No. 2 Bukit Batok West Avenue 7,
#01-10, Singapore 659003.

1) sunflower - ok
2) serene - ok
3) i_panda - ok
4) okipoko - ok
5) dal - ok

serene, i_panda, okipoki, dal

pls email me the following details as I need to email to BJG.
- child's full name
- child's DOB
- Parent's name
- contact number

tinklebell, vivi, sunflower,
re: my boy's fall
thx. he's better now. woke up a few times wailing (maybe still 'scared' of the bed'. hehe).

tinklebell,
yeah, shld be v v painful. he was like a missile straight down! immediately he opened his mouth to cry but no voice came out.
656807.gif
yeah, gotta dismantle the bed frame and put the mattress on the floor.
haha, same! my boy also now very pro in pulling himself up in the playpen. he loves doing dat. he wl stare at the playpen n make noise to signal me to put him inside. once inside, he wl do it n then give me a smile.
656808.gif

now i'm looking for a toy dat can let him do his standing (n maybe walking). all mummies, any suggestions?

sunflower,
I thought I calculated more than $0.40 per card.
GD encyclopedic cards very ex. I paid more than $500 for set of 100 cards. Some more felt so pathetic after I read the "How to teach your baby encyclopedic knowledge". Cos $500+ worth of cards can be finished in about one week!

poohy,
Oh BJG also sells cards? To make encyclopedic cards, a lot of knowledge and research are required.
Joelle is very smart
Just show her once and she knows

Take those worksheets as training ba...

wow... Joelle can sit through 200 flashcards or more
So good... You are also a very dedicated and hardworking mother. pat pat...

I think there are no right or wrong thing here. I did 4 and more steps equations ages ago till I got bored :p So I stopped. I finished multiples. I did not do fraction though. How do you do fractions?

Initially, I did not wanna introduce numerals so early. But I have nothing to do for Maths already, so I introduced numerals. Furthermore, with knowledge in numerals, I can teach him bus numbers, block numbers, queue numbers, etc. when outside.

Does littlebbluv bits cards also has many facts behind the cards?

I am thinking of printing some of my sister's photos as encyclopedic bits. She loves to take photos. She has corals (from diving), fishes (from diving), animals (from zoo), birds (from bird park), flowers (from botanical garden), trees, ferns, etc, and many places of interests around Singapore. Plus books with knowledge on the corals and fishes, flowers, places of interests around Singapore... She's a licensed tour guide, so I told her to bring Aloysius for tour around Singapore to practice reciting the history of Singapore... lol... Only thing is I gotta search through all her stacks of DVDs for the pictures. Wonders how to excite her in taking pictures for insects... How I wish Aloysius can read on his own now... :p And how I wish to have more time...

kiki,
The cards are from GDbaby.

Wen,
I am thinking of ordering blank cards too. hahaha... I think I no need to organise BP and share liao.. cos ultimately will use them all up. I dunno where to store them now. Gotta clear the storeroom first. Only one baby and only 7 months old, half the storeroom already all his things, and haven't include those in the living room.

very busy at wk.. can't talk much..

sorry can't join this sun cos bb juz recovered from gastric flu so want him to rest more at home.. have been very busy with him these days..

talk to u gals next time

dal,
sayang sayang your boy... My boy also cried till no voice when he fell, and whole head red red.

Peng,
Take care oo... You have two babies to take care now... plus yourself..

Sunflower,
In that case, I will try see if they have trial class for crawler2. Thanks!

Poohy,
Thanks on suggestion on maths. Think I need to be more discipline..=b Maybe because I myself don't really love maths that I am not very enthusiastic about it lor.

BJG Crawler 2 - can still join? I thought the class started already? I haven't been taking note on how the class is structured so quite ignorant about how the arrangements are and didn't ask them. Do they go by number of sessions and not by fixed class? Anyway, I just called them to ask if it is possible to transfer from Bk Batok to another branch later (should it be nearer to my place), and they say cannot.... So I am still thinking. Meanwhile will go for a trial first.

mummies: anyone planning for another kid ?
how to conceive when my period is not back yet ?
can i still breastfeed ??

no, i'm not thinking of having another one yet la ,... but just asking the above questions heehee

K_Ong,
Careful..no period does not equate no chance to get preggie...one of my friends got her second one because she didn't know..keke...

angeline,
i stay at clementi. u? sure can go shopping together. but the thing is i can't manage my bb alone when going out, too trouble some coz she still needs milk 3hourly (coz cannot take much in one go mah), plus the solid feed. u can go w/ bb alone? so good!

poohy,
ur mom stay w/ u? do u have a helper as well?

missk,
hehe.. can u email me a photo of ur suster feeding ur boy? trying to copy :D
haha u r so funny, ur dog is o lucky to drink breast milk! yeah why don't u feed the chicken to him also, at least not so wateful rite, organics chicken somemore!
wah so much stock in one feed? hey today i made plain porridge then mix in sweet potato, n my girl eats it
will add a little bit of green veggie f/ dinner.
hey u r so slim too. now that i stop bf, i think i will put on some weight if i continue to eat like b4. but then with my bb to look after, should not be too bad

mspiggy,
when my bb was younger she was not interested in bb einstein at all. then i tried again yesterday, she had a blast! kept laughing n look excited. but her attention span so short, can't finish the whole show

wen,
my math flash card is dying too.. even though i used to love math when in school, now i'm bored n lazy to prepare

dal,
omg..hope ur boy is ok now. my bb is pro at standing too. what i do is putting abc mat on the floor and surround it w/ sofa. then she will crawl n stand holding onto the sofa. i also bought FP ride n stride, but this one i have to hold it coz it can zooom v fast. my bb can move her legs and cruise a bit holding onto sofa or the ride on now.

re: June babies & mummies gathering

hi ladies, need to compile for Vivi, can let me know who is coming? Thanks

Address: Westwood AVE , Near NTU, Jalan Bahar(Jurong west extension, Floravale)
contact 81239081

Attending:
1) Vivi
2) Sunflower
3) Fi
4) Tinklebell
5) amy

Sorry, I lost track of who's coming, the rest is from the old list, can copy whole thing & add your name if you are coming ? Thanks

Aishite
mum2b
okipoki
Tracy
i_panda

Hi Sunflower,

Thank you for arranging the trial at BJG. I'm ok for next sunday. I have already email the details to you.

See you gals then. Oh ya, you all got to introduce to me who you're then as you all are using nickname...or I may have to guess who's sunflower, dal, panda, okipoki...hehe!

mum2b

clementi?wah so far..hehe..i stay near central area..ya..usually if my frens ask me out,i will bring bb out oso alone..but i wun go too far lah..norm suntec/orchard/PS/ etc..hehe