(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

lyn,
ya lah, same.. i mashed carrot until my hand ache. felt so angry when some of it fell to the floor just now when mashing! thought of just steam 1/2 carrot next time. but then the other half store in the fridge, is it good? or better steam whole carrot then store the mashed cooked half carrot in the freezer? coz today my baby only eat 1/3 only.
i cut the carrot in small pcs, easier to mash. but still make my hand ache, so next time will cut even smaller hehe..

missk,
aiya what recipe? i'm also clueless at cooking! haha.. baby food just steam only, so can do :p

Lyn,

Not sure about cross pattern crawling... maybe try to play with him when he is on his back? Grab his arm and leg and move them cross pattern to show him?

Shichida--because of his view on attachment, I am having persistent sore arms and back...sigh!

Mum2B,
It is this GD thing lah....that says can actually train bb to talk. But I don't really follow coz too lazy and too many things to do anyway. My parents noticed it first that she called me mama. The funniest is when she started saying 'nannan'.

Well, one day, i missed her feeding time and she opened her arms to ask me to carry her. Upon which she put her hands on my Bs and looked me in the eyes and go 'nannannannan...'. My parents both noticed it and said she is asking for milk. I didn;t believe it until it is repeated several times after that. But so far, think she only says, mama, nannan and ah bah (for daddy) with meaning. The rest of her utterings really dont sound like any proper words, at least not to me.. lol.

Lyn,
I was thinking, maybe try put him back on crawling track again? It did help my girl coz she was not crawling cross pattern too. She was more like crawling backwards or when forward, she would be lifting her bumbum and crawl like a worm...you know what I mean? After putting her back on the track for a while, I found her crawling cross patern and she seemed to take off from there..now creeping cross patern around the flat.

re: clingy

my girl TOOOO!!!! but she has not even turn 6 mths and she is already so clingy..
and dun think she is teething yet lei..
it has been like this for more than a week and she has also been screaming a lot lately, even in the middle of the night.
she used to sleep through the nite peacefully and did not need any patting or singing to go to sleep but now all these has changed!!!
haiii... is that yet another phrase that all bb have to go through?

dal,
hahaha.. I think I better than you leh.. I dun enjoy watching wor... I am thinking how to handle... lol..
I got the Dr. Sears' discipline book
My friend gave it to me at Aloysius' full month.

mum2B,
What about using a sieve to press?? I am thinking of buying a seive... If cut smaller, I think more difficult to mash leh...

Wen,
I have sore arms too. My wrist and fingers getting sore after doing those activities by Glen Doman.
wah.. your gal can "talk" already... Gotta learn to decipher what they talk... I am still not skilful and sensitive enough.
Oh I see.. maybe gotta take out the crawling track again..

wen,

Wow, ur girl 7 mths already at least can crawl backwards. My girl going 8 mths next thurs and dun even know how to crawl backwards. She will only flip over, then tilt her buttocks and can't even wriggle forward haha!

lyn,
ya lah i already using sieve from pigeon porridge maker.
btw avocado n banana no need to cook, can scrape then feed rite. how about papaya? can scrape then feed or must steam first? and mango?

wen,
wow cool
my baby only blabbing n will only say mamamawahaha.. when crying hehe
but i feel that she understands more these days, i like to see her mouth open and close like trying to imitate my mouth when i speak to her as i hold her close to me
babies are so smart ya?

Morning Every1!

lyn,

SO what shld be the exact words to say based on your previous post? :

vivi,
What did you say?? The words you used are very important. For example there's a difference between saying "Be a good boy." and "Don't be a naughty boy." "Be a clever baby." and "Don't be stupid." "Is a clever boy." and "Is not a stupid boy."

lyn,
Re: avocado
I thought avocado is quite soft and can be scraped off easily. I think scrape off 1st using spoon, onto the bowl, then mashed it will be easier.
Have fun experimenting!

mum2B,
Oh I see... I did not use any sieve :p How to steam papaya?? I think gotta feed direct. Else how to steam??

vivi,
I will say "Aloysius, you are a good boy. You are a clever boy. Papa and mama loves you."

Poohy, joelle looks diff in this pic... ha ha.. maybe put on weight so eyes are smaller... like jake...

lyn, thanks for the pics. Very sweet...

Wen, wow... gab knows how to talk? so fast... think gals progress faster in terms of speech

mum2B, read that mango can steam. i pureed mango last week - but my helper said i got the wrong type of mango, so i ate it myself. very sweet and tasty. papaya... think can steam or feed direct.

lyn,

me too leh..

i always says: daddy n mummy loves u, you are a good boy and daddy n mummy hope you could slp thru and stop sucking your fingers, thumbs. We have confidence in you that u can do it...

Yesterday, i do the 5 min thingy again at 12. then he wake n make noise at 5. i pengz. Think has adverse effect on him.

When i dun do the 5 min suggestion, he guai guai leh... SO now am still in a dilemma whether to do it anot..

serene, amy,

i cant help but feel time flies... J looks like a big girl now.. heheee no longer newborn. Hmm she got a tooth now.. so had been playing with it..

I prob will only send J to shichida next term... so maybe when u mummies goes to the class, can share what they do ...
I wanna teach her myself first then send her to the class next term when she has slightly better motor skill.

a good news is she passed her MCU scan last friday... phew... i am thinking of not bringing her to the DMSA kidney scan liao... she was crying very badly throughout the entire scan last fri .. they placed a catheter into her urethra and inserted some dye to take scans..

poohy,
How much is the fee shichida charge? Are they really so good? I heard the fee is so expensive!
One of my cousins had sent her 3 big boys to Shichida too, heard spent a few k, but she commented her kids never gain much...

Poor baby Joelle, she must be suffering, so xin tong yah...Glad that her MCU scan is ok.

keline,

My bb going 8 mth next week and we started semi solid food for her since 4 mths old. We gradually introduce more varieties to her. Now every afternoon she is on either brown rice/porridge. Other feeds FM with heinz rice cereal.

keline,

Forgot to mention.. jar food too such as pumpkin, sweet potato, applesauce, etc. When we started.. is accordingly to what is stated on the jar. Basically my ger started to accept the taste of jar food from 6th mth onwards.

hi kk

wow...since 4mths ya, tat very early.

I try heinz cereals for brandon but he dun like it and felt like to vomit. His pd also advise not to give him b4 6mths. so i wait for 2 more weeks b4 giving him any again. how many times u feed per day?

vivi, lyn, whenever bb jake cries, and i need to soothe him, and if all fail, i will tell him Jesus loves him...
and mummy and daddy too...

for the past week, jake has been sleeping thru the night - 6 to 6. so now no need to wake up at night to feed...

poohy, glad to know joelle passed the test... she is really a big gal now...

poohy,
Wah.. Joelle is very chubby and adorable... What FM are you feeding her??
Glad that she passed her scan
She will be a healthy baby

amy,
You are welcome
hee.. next time we can take more photos...
Which type of mango can baby eat??

vivi,
My friend shared with me the 5 min suggestion about sleeping. I have put the "script" in my blog - http://lnung.blogspot.com/
hmm... maybe you can say "can sleep through the nite" instead of "hope he can". My friend told me to end with "daddy and mommy love you". I dunno if there's any difference between saying this in the beginning or at the end.

Serene,
I got the detail charges of SM in my blog, if you are interested. Under "Shichida Method - Yes"
How old are your cousin's 3 big boys?? Does your cousin do home practice at home daily??

amy,
It's so good that Jake can sleep through the nite... I think it's my fault also.. cos I bring Aloysius out and his sleeping time very erratic :p. It depends whether we go out or not... :p

serene,

maybe i also add in xingan baobei.

amy,

wow so good ah..

my boy sleeps from 8.30am - 7.30am. sometimes he wakes up like 3x in between. esp so when i do the 5 min suggestion.

lyn,

will try that.. i always start n end with daddy n mommy loves u. Good nite..

my boy naughty ah.. He likes to suck his hands so i let him suck on the pacifier instead. Sometimes he suck both together. There was once, i was quite irritate by this and i said this to him. If u gonna suck both together again. Mummy will not give u pacifier anymore and i will also bind your hands together. And guess wat, he took out the pacifier st and pass to me then he look away from me..

vivi,

how old is ur boy? so smart lei...hehe.
my precious doesnt want pacifier and only wants it when going to ZZzzz..
i rather he want the pacifier than suck his hand or put everything into his mouth.. =)

hi keline,

my boy is now 6 months 1 week n 5 days old.

Cant remember when he did this to me.. Shld be when he was 4mths +.

i never gif pacifier to him as i dun really like the idea. But hor he has been sucking his hands like nobody biz so i rather he suck pacifier then licking his hands. MY parents oso used pacifier for him when they pat him to sleep. He used to reject it but now he seems to like it alot.

Hi Ladies!!

How is everyone? v busy lately though i am on leave... so tiring looking after the 2 rascals that i lost 1kg... haha, also good lah cos now back to my pre-preg wt.

Today is aaron's bday so went down to his school to celebrate for him tog with his classmates... thinking of bringing him to vivo city later.

serene,

shichida per term course fee is about 900+sgd i think. Hmm well i guess it depends on home practices... the more diligent and innovative u r in doing home practises and keeping your child interested, the more they will progress
I intend to send S & J back in the following term which prob starts in mar/apr... my plan is to send them alternate term so that I will be able to save money by learning and teaching them myself at home. The saving can go into buying material for them to do home practises mah

lyn,

r u ttc again ? Hope u succeed soon.... children are such joy. I am hoping to ttc again when J reaches 9m - 1 year... I just cannot bring myself to stop just at 2 leh ...

i am feeding S & J enfalac A+. Samuel still on mixture of enfalac A+ and enfapro A+. I dun intend to upgrade J to no.2 follow on milk yet... prob will consider that when she reach 1 year old.

I dun really do the 5 min power of suggestion.. hehee... at first I wanna do but then I am always scared later i talk... they wake up

but i believe strongly in positive affirmation and appreciation...Most christians will know the power of the tongue. I praise S & J all the time and tells them we love them all the time...

Hi All!

I am from the May thread.

Heard that there are lots of mummies here who are sending their little ones to Shichida classes. I enrolled my son there too, and class starting Jan '07. Hope to share tips with SM mummies

hi fates, welcome. which SM slot are you enrolled in?

kk, lyn, yup... becos bb jake sleeps at 6 pm... i have not gone out after 6 pm on the weekends since he arrived. nowadays, after 6 pm, i do his puree, update his blog and read up on baby care books lo...

poohy, agree with you - the power of our tongue.

lyn, re mango - my helper said the one i got was angel mango - round like. she said will cause tummy upset, should feed longish type mango... dunno what name...

vivi - your boy so clever? can understand you and return you the pacifier?

Amy,

The earliest time i heard bb sleep was 830 pm and tat was my colleague whose daughter now 1 yr old i think.

Hmmm, 6 pm is still happy hour for my ger haha!

kk, ya lor.. i also find it funny. dunno why.. by 6 pm, he will zzzz... once, i was bathing him, placed him on his change mat... was so busy dressing him up, din realised he fell asleep in the midst of dressing him up...

Hi Amy,

I am in the morning slot at Springleaf Tower. Sunday classes

Are you one of the SM mummies here??
If yes guess we are meeting at PEC?

Amy,

Haha babies real funny. When they want to knock out, they will knock out anywhere. My ger slept in her pram yesterday. Suddenly sleep with we noticing it. She also dozed off on sofa, walker, etc.

kk... wah.. sleeping on walker? bbs v cute hor?

fates... yes... i am attending SM next term. mine is afternoon Sat Spring leaf.
i will be meeting vivi (possibly lyn) for dinner prior to the PEC. if you like, you can join us.

Amy/Vivi,

Ya lor, like old pple dozing off in front of tv haha.. i tell hubby she must have learnt it from my in laws cos my fil always sleep in front of tv :p

vivi,
hahaha.. your boy so cute... Usually I just let Aloysius suck his hands as much as he likes. Sometimes, will just remove it and give him his handkerchief to play with... kekeke... He will suck his fingers with the handkerchief and at the same time, wipe his own saliva... I read that babies will suck their hands or fingers when bored. I think it's quite true... I also read that sucking their fingers or hand is a natural process of learning to eat on their own. It's the hands and eye co-ordination development.

tinklebell,
Happy Birthday to Aaron!

poohy,
Thank you... I gotta stop breastfeeding and do an intensive detox before TTC... Cannot bear to wean Aloysius off the breasts now
I want a piggy. If cannot make it, gotta wait for a cow already. I am assuming that I will make it at first try... :p fingers crossed...

fates,
I am going for Sunday, HDB Hub, 4.30pm
See you at PEC.

amy,
Aloysius will start his jumping at about 8pm usually... I think he must have been used to this schedule since my pregnancy. Cos I usually go out at nite, after my hubby knocks off from work ;).
Jake is so cute... like alarm clock... so good...
Sure... let me know when and where is the dinner

kk, amy,
Your babies reminded me that last week, Aloysius slept while eating his potato halfway... lol... Slept on the high chair and nodding his head ("diao4 yu2")...

lyn,

i also read that b4. Thats y i only intro his pacifier like a month after his sucking of hands. Think he shld have enjoy himself liao. Hence, now trying to stop him from sucking his fingers then pacifier.

Aloysius oso very cute... Slept while eating...

BTW, u've got mail...

hey keline, i just started on cereals too. I am using Healthy Times brown rice. Currently, I am just giving a teeny weeny bit in the morning. Probably, next week I will increase the amount and also feed him twice a day

kk, wow... u feed ur ger jar food. What brands u use? I am travelling next week so I intend to get some jar food. Any recommendations?