(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

kite,

i vaguely remember seeing it in moms-in-mind website, with removable underwire.. Anyway, it's true, not much support that's why no point..

Lok:
aiya cos wanted to wear spag strap so much but always hv to wear nursing bras so cant wear, either hv to wear sleeveless ones....any idea wat to do if i want to wear spag strap tops? somemore CNY coming mah.......

Lyn,
me kpo here...wat is the 5 min thingy? also wan to learn leh

kite,
u can go buy those strap that is clear plastic one..kee but not very nice lah

chrysalid,

welcome to our thread. which part of the US are you? are you a SAHM? if so, why dun you continue bfg? the rewards are really tremendous. just now... bb jake slept in my arms while bfg... been few days since he last enjoyed bfg... so happy... lu lu lu... motivated me to continue bfg....

wow... tml hv tim sum huh? shiok shiok.
too bad i cannot join.

5min thingy - introduce by my fren in SM.
the first 5mins when baby is about to sleep is the best time to "teach". they will be super receptive during this time. so my fren told me to talk to baby during this time.

5min thingy - my fren in SM also "sell" me this idea. she says it's really good. i been doing it everynite eversince the SM preview. but dun seems to see results. :p

been telling my boy - sleep till next morning 7am, dun wake up in the middle of the nite!! haha.

lyn - is it like tat?? :p

vivi,
What did you say?? The words you used are very important. For example there's a difference between saying "Be a good boy." and "Don't be a naughty boy."
"Be a clever baby." and "Don't be stupid." "Is a clever boy." and "Is not a stupid boy."

sunflower, ipanda,
It's practiced by most SM parents to "psycho" their kids. I dunno if I do it for 5 minutes. I just say whatever I gotta say
I have been saying almost same thing since pregnancy. I attend courses by "Global Success System" and I learnt to do it for myself. So now, I practiced it for Aloysius. It's the same as Shichida 5min thingy. The only thing is, in SM, we are not really taught what to say.
Basically, you gotta say what you wanna "psycho" to baby when he's very sleepy and just fallen aslep. If he's sick, I will say something like "You are a healthy baby. You will get well by tomolo." In Shichida book, he recommends "Fever will go away." I am not so sure about the word "fever".

Sunflower, I can share with you what I say to Aloysius tomolo if you are interested
My script is in mandarin...

Kite,
I will be staying in Indra Maya
Most probably will go to the swimming pool at Nirwana resort hotel. You wanna go Bintan also?? I am going from 4 Jan to 7 Jan

amy,
The feeling of baby sleeping in your arms while feeding is very nice hor?? That's why I "bu she de". Feel like capturing these moments with a camera.. :p Sometimes, Aloysius will also stare at me with big eyes and suckle.

mtdt,
I also haven't see results in that... I tell Aloysius to sleep till 8am for feed, and dun wake up in the middle of the nite. hahaha... but I did not faithfully 100% do it :p
That time when I really wanted him to sit and sleep in the stroller when out, I told him "papa mama dai ni chu men de shi hou, dang ni lei le, yao zai ni de wa wa che li xui jiao. wa wa che hen shu fu de." kekeke... I said from morning till evening, then from that evening we went out, he slept inside already. hahaha... maybe there was a strong push factor for me... For waking up, I am still not so bothered about that :p Maybe that's why haven't work.

lyn - ooh!!! so long huh? i try to use short direct sentences. :p

recently after starting bb z on cereal, he dun finish his usual milk amt.

so these 2 nites - i have been telling him:
"be a good boy, must finish ur milk every feed ok. mummy loves u very much"

so lets see if there will be good result this time. :p

hvn't come in for the whole wk cos real bz at work.

& oso just got bk fm KL over the wkend. drove in KL last fri with whole family includin bb. luckily bb slept almost the entire trip from SIN to KL. we had a great time.. brought him to the pool on 2 days at the svs apartment we stayed in. he enjoyed so much.

oh must share w u gals on this.. my little jeriel was so comfortable leaning on the float that he fell asleep..haha.. we quickly stopped playing in pool and went bk the room when we saw that.. sigh.. bbs are bbs.. can sleep anywhr and anytime.. hahaha

re: solid food/ feeding
i'm giving my bb cereals that is eu yang sen brown rice paste or heinz rice cereal 1 meal every day. he's taking it well. about 3 small teaspoons of cereal with 1 scoop of formula stage 2.

oh btw how much are yr bb drinkin now? my bb is now coming 6mth 2wks, and 180ml. but just increased his feed these 2 days to 210ml.

thanks so much for all the warm welcome.

I was in the u.s when I got preggie. Was in boise, Idaho (where even the birds dont lay eggs). Haha..it was really too boring for city ppl like me and my hubby. This baby was an unplanned one for us. We always joked that its because boise was so boring there was nothing to do but.:p Came back after first tri cos I was so sick when I was there and I so missed the food here. I could still remember the posts u guys made over the mee rebus, the chicken rice and the tonic soup Wa raos, I was sick with envy and ms!! Haha..kept alternating between salivating and vomiting while I read the posts.

Actually, I had a really hard time bfg cos I have the wrist condition some of u gals mentioned. It was excruciating to hold the baby and bf for a protracted period of time. My back was also killing me. Maybe Im not very maternal, but I find bfg to be a very stressful and sweaty experience..hahamaybe Im scared of failing. pretty envious of u gals who are bfg well. The kind of closeness and the bond forged with baby is pretty awesome hor. I see some mummies outside bf very gracefully, but me hor, aiyoh!! Haha..during my confinement, I kept sweating. Think my baby had salty milk. Then decided to switch to pumping exclusively lor...less painful and demoralizing for me and more satisfying for the baby bah..haha..

I used to think of giving up pumping everytime Im doing it. Its just so xin ku. Whenever pump already, wash the equipment, play with the baby for a while, then need to pump again!! My life revolved ard that pumping machine man! But when I read of you gals perseverance, I will push myself to continue. My tobey thanks all the bfg mummies who shared their difficulties. If not, this mummy would have given up long ago and he would not have any fresh milk!

My baby was born on 24th june, so hes abt 5.5 mths? Btw, Michele, am glad that ur son is growing well!! So happy to hear that. Cant imagine the worries u must have had. I used to be very easygoing. But after being preggie and having a baby, I worry about everything to the point of paranoia man. Are u guys like that?

Amy,
Im not a sahm. I dunno how the sahms do it le. I was taking care of the baby myself during the 2nd mth after I sent my maid from hell back to phillipines for like 7 wks, I nearly K.Oed from it man. Some more my dad still help me take care of the baby in the afternoon and my mom help me bathe the baby in the morn le!! I really cannot make it man. And I kept having fever for 3 wks consecutive! Wah biang! And I only have 1 kid le! I cant believe myself man!! Haha..u guys are really amazing!

wah..sorry ah..din noe my post so lor soh..kekeke.. must have been holding it all inside me for too long. so when u all warm welcome, i cannot 'ren' already, everything also want to share!! haaha..

Idaho potatoes... HI..
i grew up in the states, in not the most exciting part of town too... ohio!!!

oh, u read bout my son? thanks for the thought... am still very easy going & 'cool'.. haha!! or try to be...

do u have msn? [email protected] if u do, add me!

lyn, mtdt, sunflower,
last night before my girl went to sleep, i told her "after milk u go to sleep ya, don't wake up until 7 in the morning". then true she went to sleep at 10.30pm, but wake up at 6 am. then this morning i read ur posts about this 5 mins thingy.. hehe.. care to elaborate more? this 5 ins must be b4 baby sleep at night or applicable b4 naps as well? 5 mins b4 bb "pong" to deep sleep or 5 mins b4 the sign of sleepiness? hehe.. i'm excited

chrysalis,
i was a BCM (breasfeeding challenged mom) too :p
for the first 2 months, i endured BF, pumping, then bottle feeding EVERY 3 hourly BY MYSELF! then i came into my senses to just pumping exclusively. so i pump and bottle feeding every 3 hourly, still by myself :p wah u r still good, even tho overseas u have ur parents there to help u, i'm not local here parents and mil not around, no helper, no experience in handling bb.. never work physically this hard b4 so much so that i lost lots of weight now. but it's not bad also lah, can lose weight w/o diet haha..

celeste blur,
same i also got it during 20% disc. i like GB socks, they are simple but cute n adorable, n so affordable during sale

hey celest and mum2b: does ur socks ride down after a while? When my son first wears it, it looks snug and fits well. Then after a while, it just rides down, especially after he kicks. Does it happen to you guys? It's the same when he wears old navy socks. That's even worse!

missk: Bren's socks dont do that BUT we were out with my friend and her 5 mths old yesterday when her socks did that and they fell to the ground. she didnt realized it was hers...

ours are short socks, not up to the knee kind...but there again... most of the thing we wear shoes.

chrysalid,
You're so wei da! Thumbs up! I always salute to mummies who can bfeed their babies till 6mths. That's what i wanted to do also when i was preggie, then i cannot cope with the difficulties and gave up! I'm so useless! Also, my milk flow decreases alot suddenly and i'm so stressed!

duffybuff,
Which service apt you staying in KL? I'm going there on 29 this month but has not decided where to stay yet. Was thinking of Holiday villa Apt Suite near KLCC.

Chrysalid,

Welcome! After reading your post, I am reminded to recommend a friend in San Francisco to join this forum. She married an American and is now with 2 kids. The younger on was born in October and I think she needs lots of support. =)

5 min suggestion
I think I should try that soon. Has not have a full night sleep since she was born man... I think my look aged at least 5 years! Look so hagged nowadays.

Serene,
I don't know much about hotels in KL but I stayed at Boulevard Hotel adjourned to Mid-Vally mall when I last went with bb about 2 months ago. They throw in a complimentary baby crib, that is if your bb sleeps in crib. My girl decided to bunk with us...sigh! Another good point is I could go shopping with bb without all her supplies coz the hotel is adjourned to the mall...hehe.

hello Chrysalid,
I have a friend currently staying in Idaho. She has just delivered a pretty girl 2 mths back

mommies,
anyone have the list of shops selling organics fresh products? i know there used to be a thread on this, but somehow been removed. i watched a programme called high life (or something like that, hosts by dick lee) last week featuring one of shops selling organics products at holand v, but dunno the excat address. anyone can help?

lyn,
thanks for sharing the 5mins thingy. heehee I shall start today!

lyn, amy
nice meeting you girls today. Had a great meal. heehee hopefully the next gathering more mummies can join us. its so fun!

serene,
today at the dimsum lunch, the captain & a waitress ask me 'girl huh'? ***faintz****

hi serene,
i stayed in this apt called Sucasa Svs Apt. I've tried a few svs aprt in KL..namely ascott, holiday villa. crown regency. I like svs aprt cos the whole family an stay together. well.. if u want a reasonable & good svs apt then sucasa is great. if u hv more to spend then can go for ascott, facilities are excellent.

holiday villa and sucasa are very near.. the same stretch of road. the room in holiday villa is slightly smaller compared to sucasa. but svs is better at holiday villa though. u can chk out more at if u hv more asiatravel.com. for this trip i called sucasa directly, oh ya i asked for baby cot as well.

this trip to KL we even bought seafood fm the supermarket and cooked in the aprt.. enjoyed it so much!!

hi Chrysalid,
din get to say hi to u..! i fully agree.. no matter how bz i am, i wil also try try to check out the forum once a wk! heehee..

my bb is super hyperactive.. he can crawl fm 1 end to the other end of the playyard. He even tried to stand with the support of the playyard. he will hold on and lean against the playyard to stand. He fell a few ocassion trying to do so.. sigh.. boy is boy! now in the baby cot, he'll also try to stand. U know what he can kneel and touch the muscial mobile buttons. hahaha. this morning i saw a small 'bo-ko' on his forehead, dunno what he banged himself?!

lyn, sunflower, amy
609208.jpg
my boy so sad he wasn't able to attend the dum sum outing... haiz....
and hv to send my car for servicing tomo. burn hole in pocket liao...haiz...

Mum2B,
maybe jz hv to be consistent and keep doing wat u did last night since it worked for u n bb, and apply this tactic be it for his nap or bedtime. seems like u can look forward to good nights of rest n sleep liao! kekekeek....

hello!!

someone asked about avocado...

Avocado (yes, avocado is a fruit!)(4)6 months+
Vitamins: A, C, Niacin, Folate
Minerals: Potassium, Phosphorus, Iron, Magnesium, Calcium

1. Peel and take out the pit of a ripe avocado - do not cook
2. Cut meat out and mash with a fork
3. There should be no need to use a machine as just like bananas, avocados
have a very soft consistency and texture. Avocados do not need to be cooked

When selecting an Avocado, you want a dark green colour with bumpy texture. The fruit should be firm yet yielding when gently pushed. When an avocado is sliced in half, the flesh colour should be a green that gently transforms into a buttery yellow around the pit. Visit our Avocado Topic for More Information

http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/FruitRecipes.htm

YOu can now view my NZ photos at http://new.photos.yahoo.com/kerenelu/album

Missed my girl a lot!!!!!!!!! My hubby said it is the first trip he wanted to come home asap to see daughter haha..

Girl also missed us lotssss. She always woke up in the middle of the night at in laws place and at times cried too. But over here, she sleeps throughout the nite

lyn, sunflower, nice catching up again. sorry i was late...
had fun... jake too....

dal, no worries, can join us on our next outing.

chrysalid, what are you doing in Idaho?
are your parents there as well? wow... good to know you have help during confinement.

Hi kk,

Welcome back! You have great time? Which agency did you join, how many days and how much you pay? Fly by SQ yah? Wow the scenery is so beautiful! No wonder everyone says when you go to NZ, you will be stunned by great beauty of scenery! I'm sure it's worth a trip to go and see it yourself huh? Is the shopping there good? I always thought NZ is great for scenery...
Thanks for sharing the pics.

Hi duffybuff,
Thanks for sharing. I've seen the website of Holiday villa, it's quite clean and looks beautiful. Is the actual vision the same? Sucasa good huh? How much did you pay for sucasa this time? How much you pay for holiday villa last time, book with asiatravel.com too?

morning!
today me on childcare leave. Been so busy past 2 days.

Btw i went to organic farm at Lim chu kang n bought sweet potatoes n apples. Very crunchy n nice
Has given sweet potatoes to my girl but she seems not ready yet. Later today shall try again

kk:
I miss NZ! Esp mt cook, lake tekapo n Lake Watikapu!!! Its so beautiful! Hopefully next time can bring my ger along.

Mum2B:
i didnt go greencircle. instead i went firefly
Not bad they have a varietyof vegs n fruits there.

missk,

Sweet potato and pumpkin considered vegetable? Haha.. green leafy not yet.

Serene,

Not cheap! Somemore peak season. 10 Days South Island and North Island (2 days). Dynasty Travel. Around $3500 per pax. Cash we spent around $1800 there (include heli ride).

In fact i only bought honey and chocolates. Chocolates alone i spent $80 at cadbury world haha! I spent around $200 on honey.

Yup, fly by SQ
Else faint on plane.. approximately 10 hours leh!

Oh not much shopping to do in fact. All scenery which we love

Weather was very very nice!! Cooling.. and i only managed with a light sweater
No need heat pack, no need windbreaker, etc. The coldest we experience was around 10 degrees maybe.

Michele,

Hmm dun really wanna nonya leh.. want something like tarts etc.. more western style.

kk: thanks. Of cos they are considered vege. How does ur ger like pumpkin? Yah, the scenery damn beautiful. Did u buy the manuka honey? It's good for teachers. Pple swear by it. U take some everyday and u will get good immunity. No MC. Then maybe u still can get a prize for havng no mc in 2007.
How's CAdbury World?

Any mummies tried avocado? How's the bb's reponse?

kk,
NZ tour has never been cheap, not to mention now that Air NZ don't fly direct anymore. Which means only SQ alone is flying direct so the agency will have to use SQ flights for all NZ tours...the price sure won't be cheaper... Yes for NZ tours, is expected to pay more than $3k for the package. I see that your tour seems very comprehensive, covered quite alot.
I'm thinking to go for a tour with my hubby next April, i think April is good time/weather to travel, no holiday surcharge, be it japan, china, USA, Australia, NZ or europe, the weather is just nice, cooling in April, is either spring or autumn time...Not sure if we could make it to the trip? Whether we can bear to leave behind our baobei son, or rather I can apply for a long leave or my hubby can go away for so long from his job???

kk,
When you see the beautiful scenery there, did you go, "WOW", as if you're in paradise? I think I will have this feeling if i'm there...it will be great if going on yr own, then you can take yr own sweet time, perhaps prepared a basket of food and have a pinic there while enjoying the scenery of the lake, and mountain...my girlfriend and her hubby caught a glance of rainbow too over one end of the lake to the mountain, you can imagine how beautiful the picture was......I'm sure at such a moment, we wish we can stay there longer, forget about coming back to this hectic city! sigh! I find life so hectic here in singapore...wish we could have more $ to get away this city for more relaxation liftestyle...hubby says i'm not realistic. Yes, i wish i'm not but no choice, all of us are forced to be realistic for our daily life! sigh...

kk:
haha i spent $6+ for my 2 weeks nz f&e self drive tour for our honeymoon. Glad tt u enjoyed e trip n scenaries! beautiful rite! Wil go WOW in e beginning but since we were 2 wks there, nearly towards e end of our trip, find e scenaries alittle bit boring....cos mostly e same! for me i love southern part, dun like west coast...

did u buy e beefbone pendent? very in there, Nzealders love wearing tt.....we bot 1 each, e symbol represent meanings