(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

missk,

Oh the pumpkin got to be very very very mashed before my ger takes it. My mum does the trick by cooking the pumpkin with porridge. My mil not skilful enough yet haha so my ger dun take her pumpkin. She love sweet potato a lot. Oh, potato too.

I bought the convita manuka honey UMF 5+. 2 bottles of 1 kg each haha.. and also 3 small botles of UMF 15+. I haven't tried yet.

No MC? hahahaa.. sometimes must cheat a bit lah :p Oops :p

Cadbury world is cadbury factory in NZ. Should be the biggest one over there, in dunedin. Lots of varieties of cadbury chocolates there! Tempted to buy all!

serene,

Yah, i love mount cook so much!!!! See the lake tekapo already want to daydream there haha.. lake wakatipu.. in hotel room balcony can see liao
Queenstown gondola is definitely better than rotorua one, because of lake wakatipu scenery

We are surprised that actually tour package cost less than last year. Luckily never go last year because pregnant haha.. We thought price would increase since Air NZ not flying anymore.

If only we cover more of north island for another few days.. regret not signing up for 13 days package heehee.. but that would mean not seeing girl for so many days :p

Oh, if i can travel like u in april, i would go hokkaido!!! No need to think twice liao. But i always free in dec only leh.. how to go there?? so cold! and white white everywhere.. no flowers somemore.

kite,

Only bought honey and chocolates.. and 2 small opal pendants for mil and sil. Not really interested in other stuff. Oh, not forgetting our lovely postcards and fridge magnets.

serene:
hehe i booked online fr air tix, accomodation, car rental n everything thr online cos cheaper. Also do my own research n planned my own driving route
Love doing that....but now got bb, no time

April is autumn....in NZ. Best is to go during Spring in end Oct
We went Jan (summer) very hot! but weather can be 4 season in 1 day, unpredictable.

kk, you are luring me to NZ. I also bought the manuka honey. It's cheaper than in sg, but still not so cheap hor?

My school pple crazy one. Compete with one another for zero mc rate. Crazy enuff rite? Then even sick, also come to school, then lie on the table. wahaha

Yes, travel in april..haha..take urgent leave...then the school will trace u...

Mommies, some of you were talking bout taking baby's frozen puree out and how to go about doing it? well i saw my friend doing this and she said this is the best way about it. her daughter is 10 mths now.

she put a cube of veg & stock into the Avent via cup with bb rice and just microwave it wherever she goes. pretty good idea eh... the avent via cups, another usage for them...

LAdies:

the may thread: fighting

october thread... JUICY!!

extract...
"AHEM
====
wow! painful man. did it and it was not a very nice experience. like 1st time ML like that. pain like mad. so super dry. i c-sect also will like that meh?"

can u believe this!!!

Dal,
Aiyo... Your boy boy so cute... Aunty sayang sayang... Next time we go out again

michele, missk,
I am going to feed Aloysius with avocado today
Mashed already. Now waiting for him to wake up to eat
Avocado is very nutritious...

kk,
Welcome home!
Your gal must be very happy to see her daddy and mommy...

hmm... Aloysius dun like potato I think... He wanna latch on when I fed him potato yesterday. And made a mess on the sofa, his hands, legs, chair, floor... ***faintz*** He love pumpkin though.

hmm.. Is NZ baby friendly?? Sounds so nice leh... I wanna go also... But I cannot bear to leave baby at home. Even going to KL for a day, I am also thinking very hard now...

amy,
We had fun too
Jake is very cute with his hair style... and so cute when you are feeding him...

kite,
Wah... Lim Chu Kang can grow apples??
What kind of books you wanna read??

michele,
Wah.. you read all the threads ah?? oops.. fighting better not go... :p
hahaha.. your extract...

missk,

haha i guess 2 kg can last me for lonnnggg time.. 1 kg is NZ34. I think much cheaper than singapore? And the UMF 15+ small bottles cost NZ65 for 3.

Wahhh once i was sick with no voice.. that one cannot go to school for sure.. MC 2 days.. haha.. no voice go to school for wat rite? if sick, cannot perform in class leh.. bullied by students :p

Lyn: i not so free lah... another mommy told me... pls... they talked about everything!! abit......... oct is "sex n the city" haha!!

lyn

when you have time, can you please email me the pics taken from your camera?
the two boys holding hands? v cute leh...

i wanna get bb jake a thomas and friends trainset too... but not sure which one to get... so many to choose from. lyn, any recommendations? did aloy liked his train set?

wah, avocado. bb jake had banana this morning, he finished all, with his cereals.
ha ha.. i tried to puree banana - failed. seemed like banana should be mashed and fed directly, like avocado.

kk - wah, you must be very recharged lo... glad to know you enjoyed your NZ trip.

lyn:
apple fr usa, organic certified. btw not intending start chloe on apple cos today oni 2nd day on sweet potato. btw curious how s aloysious's reaction during feeding? when feed chloe today, oni a few mouthful but mostly all spit out like 1/4 got into her mouth.. meaning not ready or hv to try several times?

btw any idea sweet potato's flesh comes in yellow or orange color? any diff?

as for books, wanted to find 1 good one on baby food or development. any recommendation?

lyn:
avocado is good esp in fat. aiya seems like so many food to try but wil try for like 7 days then switch to others....but avocado has to wait like quite long to ripe hor....hv to buy in advance

Amy,
hee... I havent download the photos... :p
The wooden musical instrument set very nice and cute leh.. I thinking of buying liao
Thank you for your recommendation

For Thomas and train, I got the giant Thomas set for a start. I quite like the giant Thomas. And another basic set, cos the giant Thomas set does not have small Thomas. Aloysius quite like the bridge at the start and looked at the trains passing by the bridge for quite some time. Next time can "upgrade" the sets to the Shinkansen (more real) since the size of the tracks are compatible. Aloysius will look at the train for a while, or wanna touch it. He will not look for long now... Maybe he's bored when the train go round and round. I gotta change the tracks pattern. kekeke... training my creativity ah... and can last longer.. only need time on my part to change the tracks.
There's also a big Thomas and Percy whereby you press on the driver and the train can move. Aloysius will play with that when he's crawling on the floor. It some how encouraged more crawling. He will crawl to the train, then touch it and play. Then it moved a bit, he will crawl again to touch and play again.

I mashed the avocado... Was thinking of putting into the blender to puree but I think the avocado will stick onto the sides, so did not... This week's menu for Aloysius is avocado and apple

Lyn, okies. I will go and take a look at the giant set. approximately how much is the set? i saw few sets on discount on toys r us... dunno which one to buy.
in addition to the instrument set, i plan to get a stacking block set that comes in a bus or train. i might also get a leapfrog tv/controller set... dunno what it is called... suitable for 9 - 36 months bb. will check it out on Sunday.

re avocado - yes - should not puree. should mash and serve immediately.
wow... avocado and apple... this week, jake will have peaches and brocoli.

kk, yah..a lot cheaper wor!! I saw in taka. Exorbitant. Haha ..if I am sick, I will definitely be on medical leave.

lyn, thanks..will try avocado too!

mum2b: how did u prepare the carrots? Step by step please. Me an idiot at cooking.
You gonna try avocado? Haha...indons love that!

lyn,
Envy you, can be a full time mum to prepare nutritious food for Aloysius... Just now, my mum told me my boy loves mashed sweet potato and puree banana very much...but seems not had enough.

kk,
Hokkaido is beautiful but it seems that i've too many plcs not been yet esp I realised that my hub and i had not been to a ang moh country together b4...so maybe would want to go to a western country 1st.

kite,
Like you, i love to plan the holiday. I'm one of those who will read up and do homework for the trip, i love doing it too. I love to look at map and love the role of a nevigator.
Now got a bb, lots of considerations if want to bring him along.....

hey mummies:
initially e start of introducing solid food to your bb, usually they wil spit out 3/4 n only 1/4 goes into the mouth rite? cos today is 2nd day of my ger starting of sweet potato n she behaved tat way. normal reaction rite? how long to feed until they r really ready for solid? thanks

kite, when i first intro solids, jake did not spit out leh... did you feed using a small baby spoon? maybe you try giving less in each spoon feed?

amy:
duno y chloe spit out, does that mean not ready for solid yet? yes i m using pigeon feeding set leh got 2 kinds of spoon, i m using e smaller one. Hmm ok wil try again...btw how long usually takes for feeding? its seems like just 5 to 10mins done, cos she seems not keen? or maybe i m wrong?

kite,
Gotta try to feed a few times... Maybe Chloe not used to swallowing yet. The first few tries, Aloysius also spit out and gotta feed bit by bit. Spit out and feed... Now, he can swallow already
. I fed Aloysius potato on Sat and Sun, and he dun like. Dunno is it he dun like me to feed, or he dun like potato. But when I fed him pumpkin last Thurs, he will eat. He will reach out his hands to grab the spoon, wanting to feed himself. Today, my mum feed him the avocado
He likes it...
I bought the avocado from NTUC. Choose those that are ripe. Press a bit, can press. And purple in colour already.

I am looking for local sweet potatoes, but I dun seem to be able to find in NTUC. Guess gotta go to the market to buy. My mum said feed the yellow type cos last time she also feed me the yellow type. hmm... yellow and orange types got different types of nutrients and texture also different. I think I will feed both colors...
Do you intend to steam the apples??

What type of parenting you wanna follow?? I am following William Sears' attachment parenting. hmm.. baby food and development, I browse through several books in the library. For food, I bought a book in chinese by "jiang1 shu1 hui4".

amy,
I think we paid about $125 for the giant Thomas set. It was discounted by 50%. Got that from Takashimaya. hee.. and asked them to deliver

hmm... I dunno which type of stacking blocks you are refering to... I bought a fisher price stacking blocks for Aloysius too
. Got cars, aeroplane, train. Come in cubes to stack. So far, Aloysius will play with it for a while, but I haven't teach him how to stack...
haha.. I am looking out for zig-saw puzzles... But dunno where to start. If you see suitable ones, let me know
My friend's son can assemble 100 pieces puzzles on his own at 2 years old...
I think the Thomas rail and road sets can play for very long... Got many trains and vehicles to collect... and lots of extension to buy once they are really into creating their own system...

Serene,
Aloysius also dun seem to have enough when feed him pumpkin...

Like you, I also love to plan trips
Usually my hubby just follow... Now with baby, dunno have time or not. I will navigate. Think now, with baby, my hubby gotta navigate and drive, "bai ka liao" already...

kite,
Did you add EBM into the sweet potato to make it more watery?? Is it too thick??

Kite,

If bb loves the food, most likely won't spit out. All the while i didn't use any feeding set for bb. Normal adult spoon haha.. then now get free mac plastic spoon for her :p

missk,
peel carrot, cut small, steam for 10 mins, then puree using pigeon food maker. if make big quantity better use electric handheld blender, fater. today i wasted 1/3 carrots because it fell after i painstakingly mashed! lucky not all..
yesterday i bought some organics veggies n fruits to try this 2 weeks. havent't bought avodaco. is it? i seldom eat avocado

lyn, jigsaw puzzles, i saw some two pcs, some six pcs in a shop at Suntec - think it sells educational stuff. comes in animals, transportation, etc. think bbs can start with 2 pcs first.
quite cheap, less than $10 i think.

re sweet potato - i am also feeding yellow type. but it's not really jake's favourite.

kite, maybe you can try mixing the sweet potato with cereals? jake will take it if mixed with cereals and ebm, to a nice and consistent texture.

amy, lyn,kk:
or sweet potato considered bland? i use BM to mix n mash until like paste like. correct??

tis is just 2nd time of chloe trying. or she not used to it??

amy..i hvnt start cereal yet....

amy,lyn:
as avocado and banana are to be mashed and not pureed, then does it mean I cant intro these to my boy till he is 6mths old? or i can still do so but jz add milk/water to make it more watery?
m waiting for my hb to come back to sg in 2 weeks' time then go shop for blender so now if can intro foods that can jz mash and serve will be best.

kk,
wah.. you took so many photos ah... So beautiful... envy envy...

mum2B,
Is it easy to mash carrots?? I haven't tried carrots, cos I thought it's hard.. Lazy to mash :p

amy,
hmm.. I think I know where you saw. It's a shop near the music shop rite?? If I cannot find nicer ones, might go there to buy. I am trying to find time to teach Aloysius how to stack first, before moving on to jig saw pizzles.

kite,
I dun think sweet potato is bland. It's sweet... I think should have more taste than breast milk...

dal,
Your boy is so cute and adorable... hugs hugs...

dal,
I mashed the pumpkin, potato, avocado. I did not use the blender. Cos too little to blend. I mashed till my hands ache. Use a metal spoon is better. Mash when the food are still very hot, then easier to mash. FOr avocado, bobian... just now I mashed till my hand ache...
I have another idea for avocado.. I will try tomolo. Maybe will use the spoon to scrape...

Any of your baby becomes more clingy and need lots of attention lately?? Aloysius complain a lot lately and very loud some more... I cannot leave him alone even for a few seconds now. He will cry loudly and with tears wor... How ah?? Is it due to teething?? At nite, he wanna nurse to bed... Really make me think again how to start the weaning process...

lyn... my Bren was like that till about a week ago. DR. says cos of the major surgery he went through... BUT teething also causes this.
buy the little teether soothing gel it helps!!

hi lyn

mandy is like tt too. even with daddy around, once she sees me and I walked out of her sight..she will cry out loud with tears rolling down and when i walked back..she stopped crying.

I think now she noes how to throw temper or cry to seek attention from us....haha

wow so many postings today.

Lyn,
can email me some of the pics also. kekeke esp the ones they hold hands.

weaning food:
wow so many tips for me to learn.

kk
me also very gien to go NZ. wanted to go v.long, but no chance & now got bb, hb says wait he older we all go as family.

have to wait for 3 yrs then.

mashing of food:
can use those potato masher to mash? or the quantity too small to use it?

lyn,

mine very attention seeking also. must have someone with him to play if not will cry. but hor once we turn back, his cries switched immediate to smile!

sunflower,

On the plane i saw many kids crying due to pressure. Poor things leh. See like tat, i dunno want to bring my ger to somewhere far next year or not. Got one daddy even carried her daughter all the way from NZ to singapore. 9 hrs from auckland!! Oh gosh! The girl around 2 yrs i think.

Lyn,

My girl very attention seeking nowadays. But not due to teething cos she has passed that stage for her two front lower teeth. Sometimes she will just make noise no matter where we left her.. walker.. exesaucer.. she just want that sense of touch. Sigh!

Kite,

Oh didn't mash the sweet potato. If soft enough, can just scoop to give to bb haha! That's what we did with my ger lor.

sunflower,

Hmmm u will miss him lotsssssss haha! No joke leh.. we called twice back to singapore - one in the afternoon one at nite to check on girl. Dunno how much our IDD calls will be. Tried using ICC but failed

Wow, wow...so many postings!

kk,
Welcome back! Love your photos...bring back lots of fond memories. Hope to go back there soon with my girl soon, I hope.

Lyn,
Think bb now wants ppe to play with..more interaction. My girl also 'complain' lots if I leave her for just one second. Last nite, I thought it was such a bliss when she woke up at 3.30am after sleeping since 10pm. But alas, it was all the way downhill from there... woking up every half an hour. Think must be consistent on the 5 min suggestion liao.

On weaning... I wonder how is it going to be like to wean her off bf.... imagine she doesn't want milk bottle. What happen if she wakes up at night asking for 'nannan'... that is the 2nd word she utter with meaning after mama... can you imagine..

Amy,
Thanks for the info on musical instruments... had been looking for them. So far only got her handbells and triangle. She loves them but cannot give it to her coz is metal and may become rusty. She put everything into her mouth.

Kite,
when I first started feeding bb, she also spat out a bit. Think it is what they called the tongue thrusting action. Start with somethng more diluted helps. Eg. mix milk to the food. And start with just the amount of 1 tablespoon then gradually build on it. Your bb will get used to it after a while.

lyn,
re: clingy
yeah, my boy has been like dat for the past week also. sometimes jz taking his milk bottle to the kitchen only and he will
610607.gif
, very loud and pitiful type. haiz....
i read that bb arnd 6mths may experience separation anxiety and also knows how to show their emotions better.

re: mashing
oh, u dun make the food in greater qty and store in the freezer using the food cubes?
ok, let me know if the spoon scraping method is gd.
610608.gif

Dor,
Yes yes... Aloysius dun really want his daddy to carry when I am around
He knows how to complain when he dun like something.

Sunflower,
Yes yes... must be there.. then his cries with tears can become smiles immediately one leh... So funny...

kk,
Dunno will this phase pass hor??

sunflower, amy,
The picture of all 3 babies are very nice
K, I will try to download it tonite and send to you both by email

Wen,
I think I need to get a clock somewhere near where I sleep liao.. hahahaha.. to see what time Aloysius wakes for milk... :p Since last nite, he realised the fun of crawling, suddenly can crawl very fast... but not really cross pattern. He usually uses his left hand and right leg. How?? Any suggestions to correct that to using both legs and hands??

dal,
Yes yes... very loud and pitiful with tears type of cries... hmm... last nite, I let him cried and just watched beside him.. lol.. bad mommy hor?? I called my friend this morning, he kinda reminded me of what I have read from the Shichida books... Gotta be more patient and attend to him. Carry him as much as he wants... haiz... From William Sears' book, it's also the beginning of discipline... I gotta revise liao...

I dun make food in greater quantity. I prepare daily. Quite a lot of work... hmm... I dunno if I have the patience to scrape tomolo.. lol... Let you know if it's a success...

lyn,
haha... same same, i did dat too. jz sit & hear him cry for a short while. kinda feels good leh, like he cannot live wifout mommy. me bad mommy too. lol

u bought dr. sears The Discipline Book? I jz visit their website for info. actually its good to hv the book coz so much easier & more precise.

wow, u prepare aloy's food daily? u sure r a diligent mommy! :)