(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Hi tinklebell,
You have a long break..
So did you meet up with peng? Your gal knows to crawl already ah, mine not yet.
You planning for a holiday? Bringing yr kids along? I'm also thinking of a holiday, maybe in April, not bringing my boy...Also considering to go australia, my brother is @ Melbourne so if i go there, everything is easy, he can bring us around, moreover my hubby has not been to Australia yet...Then again, I'm also thinking of NZ, USA or 1 of the europe country but they are too expensive...Hubby says it's hard pain to spend so much $ on a holiday. To him, as long as it's holiday, destination not important becos he believe it will be fun and enjoyable... Actually on financially wise, it's true, spend so much $ for just a 7-10 days trip, imagine we could use the $ for my boy's milk & diapers and alot more...

Tinklebell,
Your MS drop is it becos that you didn't pump frequently at home? Actually your gal turning 6mths this friday, aren't you thinking to stop bf?

poohy, tinklebell
U2 are positive about having #3 yah? It would be fun to have 3 kids but i think mummy has to quit the job so that have more time with them. Imagine like us working full time, when we reach home, all the 3 wanted attention from us....there is no enough time to split for them and what about ourselves? Think i will go crazy! Haa!

dor: am fine ...how r u? Banned words? What words? I didn't use any vulgarity

poohy: hmm..I book direct from Silk Air. Usually, I book direct from the airlines. My frens told me that Zuji is cheaper but most of the time, it's more expensive for me. I dunno why.

For hotels, I did a search and compared the prices at various sites. In the end, I booked direct from the hotel for this particular trip. For some other trips, I have tried Asiarooms, latestays.com and a few others.

I prob will only travel next june when K is 1 yr old to celebrate his birthday
DEstination ..no idea yet ...

Where and when do u intend to go?

Btw, there's a shichida class in Jakarta! USD 400 for 10 classes. Issit ex?

poohy,
So far, i have only booked F&E trips to Bintan and Genting with BB.
I think Australia should be a good choice if you're bringing yr kids on F&E. The country is clean, bb friendly and not diff to book the hotels though they are expensive. As for airticket, it's cheaper to go to www.singaporeair.com.sg or www.qantas.com.sg to book direct online. As for hotels, you can go to www.wotif.com. Their rates are quite good. Another one you can consider is www.asiatravel.com.

serene,

ya u r rite abt the attention part... already now.. I find myself torn constantly between J & S. But I cant quit my job even if i have 3rd one. Or I shd say even more if i have 3rd one. Cos it would be toooo tough for my hb to earn for the entire family.... young babies are the most expensive with their diapers, infant formula etc. They cant eat wat we eat...

Its becos of the attention part thats why i am delaying having no. 3 till next year 2nd half of the year...

anyway with 2 there is no time for ourselves already. But I really love my kids and their company.... and 2 just is not enough for me leh.

serene,
ya loh... i think i dont pump when i am on leave so when i pump, the Bs dont respond to the pump

Yes... met up with Peng for lunch on Monday at BPP ... we went to Cafe Cartel
... next Wed and Thurs on leave again... think i may spend the time searching for my new home. Else come next yr, i wont have the time. I found a buyer for my flat (my neighbour) but they hope i can hand over the keys after CNY wh i dont think so cos i'll be homeless.... maybe if things go on smoothly, i'll be moving out before June.

tinklebell, mine too! I am very sad cos I cant meet my son's demands. So now I use frozen milk and try to express regularly.

serene: quite true hor...spend so much on a few days of fun. Can buy loads of milk powder, diapers and toys! haha Melbourne is one of favourite cities. I love it. What's your brother doing there?

My son's 2nd tooth finally come out liao since he had his 1st tooth during 2 mths old...I was worried how come only 1 tooth... I guess he is ready for more solid soon. He loves the puree banana & pea too besides the sweet potato and pumpkin.

missk,

Zuji - must book earlier. the closer you book to the flying date, the more exp. and the jump can be by few hundreds. That time my hubby wants to book an air ticket, missed it by 1 day, and they charge $200+ more
can pay for airport tax already.

poohy,
I would also love to go for a holiday - australia will be nice, been wanting to go Tasmania. but must be with my bb but hb feels he's too young to travel plus logistics will be a headache.

missk, serene,

thanx for the tip... I will look out these sites to plan my holidays.

serene,

me same thoughts as your hb... for years i had not gone anywhere liao... each time i walk into the tour agency i give up... too exp liao. I think of the number of classes and other toys i can buy for my kids my forgoing that one trip. Even this one i am planning now maybe will just end up as talk only.... cos just cant bear to part with so much money leh....

missk,

usd400.. hmmm quite exp still hor
though cheaper than singapore lah... but u r thinking of flying there for class rite ?

serene,
haha! yr comparison with diapers and milk sounds like my hubby! LOL! ask him to buy me a christmas present ... he commented wow! can buy so many mths of diapers and milk ...argghhh

but then.... if i quit my job and stay at home, think i may go mad chasing the kids around leh
But if i dont quit, my mother cannot cope with 3! That's why i am not purposely planning to have no 3.

missk,
That's why my hubby sometimes say that I'm not realistic, never count.... :p My brother studied there and now working in a bank, Westpac.

morning...
wow, HOLS!!

me too planning to go Oz self drive next year. before tat, thinking of going to BKK or HKG for a short trip first. :p

sunflower - huh, i dun really like him. tat's why i change PD. :p

He seems to speak with a script, so any questions tat i ask seems to be ignore. maybe becos tat time, bb was NB only. so it's those standard questions, so he gives standard answer bah.

another thing is he like to stick his finger in for baby to suck to pacify them. huh... dunno his hand clean or not one. :p

n he not v responsive kind. like half asleep :p

but read from other thread tat he "looks" boh chap, but actually a v caring PD. is ur new PD Dr Keoy?

Dor: where got banned words??

poohy: my hub's words... fly with kids must fly biz class... more comfortable... + more baggage allowance!! u can try eva air, they have a special class called "economy deluxe" we flew that back to s'pore but my hub upgraded us to biz when we flew back to tw... i like eva air best!! good service & food... if u need itinery idea with aust, europe & USA... maybe i can help a little...

www.airfares.com.sg

kite: i also bought those sweet potatoes grown locally... heehee!! my yellow flesh...

3 kids... WAH!!! *fanitz...

Serene: where u buy peas? fresh kind or?

MTDT: did u buy ur bag? when u going bkk? maybe i'll see u there...

tinklebell: xmas gifts... sigh!! hub bght me a watch but whats the point? hardly go out now... watch in the safe cos scared the helper steal... SIGH!! can indeed buy alot of diapers!!

mtdt,
nope. I'm opting for the Bishan branch - forgot her name liao. but thinking if not 'click' with this PD, wants to transfer to another. keke
he bochap huh.... hmmm then if really need to transfer then I'll go Tiong Bahru, further from my place but he came and checked bb before when I just gave birth as my PD tied up at another hospital, think he's quite ok.

michele,

haha I don't even wear watch now. 1stly worried scratch bb, second he loves watches and will pull and conveniently aim into his mouth !

tinklebell,
You really planning to move? Actually our hse environment is very nice, esp now they repainted, so clean and nice? How come yr neighbour wanted to buy over yr hse, i thought they also stay 5room flat, same size??? You wanted to move to bishan as planned?
Hehe, your hubby same as my hubby ah? Guys are more realistic on materials lor...

poohy,
From the influence of my hubby, i also think alot now...imagine last time b4 i have kid, i go holiday every year...hmm. Then again, i never regret having him, his my precious baobei now.
But I still want to go holiday leh...hee, greedy lah. So no choice, we compromise, go short holiday 1st...like bintan & genting.

sunflower,
Dr Keoy was appointed for my son's 1st PD too. I do not doubt his profession but I dun like him in person cos he looks very boring and 1Q to 1A, if never ask, he never say anything, looks sleepy and sianz. Never play and tease my son also....I always thought a PD will be someone who loves kids alot at least....maybe if my son sees him also sianz...haa! :p
I never go back to him after 2-3x, that time my son had jaundice.

serene: oh, westpac. Does he like it there? Is he a PR already? I am trying to get my hubby to go there to take a look at the environment. Hopefully, he likes it and we can retire there

sunflower: wah ..jump by hundreds! It's crazy! So far, it's better to book direct from the airlines for me. Even for SQ, Zuji charges a few dollars more. Tazzy..I hope to go there too. There's so much to do there. Yah, if the bb is too young, there's quite a bit of logistics. in the end, it's not a very fun holiday.

poohy, flying where to have lessons? I am saying that the shichida lessons in jakarta cost usd400, managed by a Japanese.
What destination do u have in mind?

Wow, so many pple going to OZ!

Michele,
I taste it myself, it's nice, taste exactly the same as those canned or frozen pea (round green colour) which we used to fry the fried rice... In fact on every puree, i taste it myself b4 giving him...

missk ,
ya lor. so better to book earlier if planned trip is confirmed. My hb says so much logistic, end up we will not have fun, busy looking after baby and carrying all the things :p

missk,
I think my bro likes it there, that's why he don't want to come back after the study though he says in future he will come back for good....??? I personally feel, for the place, no doubt, it's a nice city, clean, quite safe, friendly ppl, but the living standard there is very high and in fact it's quite diff to look for jobs there unless you don't mind those odd jobs. That time, my bro worked as part time newspaper dispatch, AU$19/hr...very good price right? My friend's brother worked as a sweeper in the school, AU$20+/hr..... ;)

serene: hey the jar pea nice? What brand? I am travelling to another city next week and I want to bring jar food. More convenient mah.

sunflower: haha ..i understand. Brought him to phuket. It was a good experience. FAmily members must understand lor ..with a bb, cannot go partying at night. We had our meals in the room. The food is nice so it was alrite
TRavelling with a bb must try to get a nice room. If I am alone I don't mind 3 star or lodges or hostels.

serene,
ya loh... will miss the place esp since i know the pp here well. My neighbour staying with his parents... so they intend to buy over my flat cos near parents. Once they have kids, parents can help... somemore same level... where can find such good lobang?

Think i will still move as planned..told my hubby maybe we can cont to rent a flat in BP till boy boy goes to P1. LOL!

I like Bishan cos central, has many good schools nearby and has a nice big library

missk,
Yes my brother has already got a PR. He had long ask me to apply the PR and stand by but my hubby not keen cos he think there's no job for him there...for his industry, quite diff. Also, i think he has consideration about his mum is here...Wow you so fast think of retire?

MTDT/ Sunflower, Dr Keoy also Fiona's PD when she was born... never really notice how he talked (LOL)... anyway, didnt see him after discharged fr hospital.
But i did notice he was holding a set of card in his hands while he talked... my first impression was that he looked like my church priest!! (LOL)

serene: yah ..they are paid very well for such part-time jobs. Hmm, a few frens found it hard to find jobs too. One fren was an architect with first class honours and had to work for a famous Aussie architect with pittance salary. So poor thing. In the end, he came back. A few pple went and came back liao. So for retirement is probably ok. But I dunno.

Melbourne is vibrant to me. I like the fact that I can drive to the areas around it during the weekends, unlike Singapore. I can only drive to Mysia. I like nature and dun mind doing that every weekend. I had a good time in Melbourne whenever I am there so I guess I associate Mel with a lot of postive feelings

I also like Bishan! So convenient! Easily accessible!

tinklebell,
Wow so coincidence hor...that's really easy, you already got ready buyer. Since they staying with parents, sure no hurry to move, anyway they have a place to stay. How much is the price of 5 room at our place now? Has the hse price gone up? How many yrs is our estate?

missk,
I bought HT brand for the jar pea. Yes i will bring jar food too when i go genting this year end.

Michele,
Melb is depressing? I went there b4, no leh...though the nites are quite quiet.

serene: ya lor ...getting a pr...must think a lot! But it's just my dream and I havent gotten down to doing it! To apply must pay money already ...like abt 1.8K per application yah?

Missk,
Agreed with you, I love driving around esp to the suburb area. Love the green, the farm animals, the mountain, great ocean road etc...Yes, i think for retirement and holiday, it's good. But for now, our age, not practical to stay there long...

missk,
Yes, the price had increased so much for application of the Aussie PR...the points to qualify also had increased.

yo serene ...HT jar..ok ..will go look. It costs sgd4 here. I think more ex than sg. You going to genting? wow....by coach or self drive? Have u taken the transtar first class coach? Not bad leh

Serene: was there for 4 years, school was in gippsland, AIYOH!! stayed there for 2 yrs then moved to the city. moo moo land.. literally!! wake up, cows moo at u, at nite can hear koalas... and always cold cold cold...
then moved to the city and drove 2 hrs to and fro from sch. hardly went to sch (heehee)
i find melb. depressing unlike sydney!!

serene,
think fetch only 270-280k
... we havent finalised the price... waiting for valuation first. my colleague fr Msia keep laughing at us ... say for the price of our flats in Singapore, they can live in a semi d or even a bungalow in their country

serene: haha ...yah .. I love the suburbs too! Mornington peninsula ...go and take the steam train. Your bb will like it when you bring him there. So fun! It's a real train not some fake ones that go choo choo in the malls. Then Great Ocean Road ..if got time can drive to ADelaide or even Sydney. Then another weekend, St kilda or BRighton beach. Then another weekend, in the city. Then another weekend, probably fly-fishing ...oops...talk too much liao

Wah the points went up again ah? I am over 30 now. So I need even more points now! And my hubby will have problems finding a job. For me, I hear that it's quite easy but I dunno.

oh yea serene... the bkk trip very ex leh... 3k sgd for 3 days 2 nites... faintz... stay at banyan tree or grand hyatt, now thinking real harD!!

morning mummies, wow.. so busy today.

tinklebell, hope your MS will revert back to normal.

re: travel - ya lor, with bb, v hard to travel. think gotta give up travelling for the time being.

Mic - tot you can buy fresh peas from supermarkets?

mum2b - bb jake is exclusively organic at the moment, plan to feed him organic till at least one year old.

re mango - think my helper mentioned those longish ones are ok, but cannot find organic ones at my local shop. need to try somewhere else.

sunflower - heard of Bellamy organic brand. think it's ok, though i have never tried this before. what are you feeding xander this Sun?

hi missk,
not sayin u usin vuglar word la...

Dun noe why when i clicked yesterday thread. it keeps showing me tis

'The page you requested has been blocked because it contains a banned word. URL = http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/353640/611975.html?1165901723'

well.. nvm la.

Re : semi solid

Yest i gave apples to Mandy using the metal spoon.. i think she gets all the apple juice instead of the puree... keke.

re: holidays
ya i also want to plan for our holidays... i bet most of u hv done passport for ur bbies. but i hv yet to do for Mandy..keke

Am plannin to aussie next spring... lookin forward to it.

amy,
have u feed any beans to ur bb? if long bean or french bean, do we puree just the pods only or whole bean (pods plus skin)?

wah.. so many ppl going for holiday.. i don't have that luxury. everyone talk abt tour package, i still ask about bb food! hehe..

re: enfapro
i'm thinking to change to enfapro after my bb is 6 months old. but on the tin it's stated for 7 months old. can give to 6 months old bb or not? anyone can advise? actually i asked enfa hotline n they said no problem. but somehow i'm still worried..

mum2b - i have fed green beans liao. long beans, puree everything.

mic - green peas with pods, not just the peas. i plan to puree everything as well, but use strainer after that.
if bb jake does not like, than can intro as finger food later. peas make great finger food.

me also planning an Oz trip next year. visit my frens there...