(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

toto
Haha...creative juice overflow ya..

I have a "Good night" song for her.. She loves it.

mtdt, mspiggy,
hahaha... Yesterday we went out with ABC for dinner
Everything was smooth... Today maybe going out again. A bit scared to go out cos I am scared later both gals need milk togather when outside. I havent master feeding both togather.
hahaha.. that picture certainly gave me an idea... But gotta go and find chairs with armrest.

aishite,
Congratulations on successful potty training!
How did you potty train her? My A still not potty trained
He knows when he's going to poo, and he will hide behind the curtain. That's the cue he gave me. This morning, too slow to bring him to the potty.

joyfulmum
u r doing a great job at managing G's tantrums...saw how she cried the other day at Esplanade but u were a real cool mama...hats off to u!

aishite
has S been swimming all these while? does she enjoy herself in the pool? floats r quite scary for tots at first esp if they r not able to balance themselve...N is like that too...she loves the water & can be dunked, will kick her legs to swim short distance to us etc but she will resist all kinds of floats...best not to force her or once she develops the fear, hard to get her into water without protesting again.

angeline
guess that's becos he's on the safe side...i know he's not the type to opt for c section if it's not necessary cos he refused to do it for me though i have back problems & initially thot of C section. yes, WK Tan supposed to hv very good feedback for VBAC cases...is she v ex now?

Mspiggy - u manage to video it!!!!!!
I still trying v v v hard to video my boy singing leh!!!
but he is not as fluent n clear as W... :p

<font face="tahoma"> MTDT,
yeah... indeed "very heng"!

that morning, Wes was super vain. He's actually performing in front of the mirror. I rushed to get my phone and asked him to sing again... and he actually did it!

Cheri,
Haha..you witnessed it! Was such a tough one manz...Till now still don't know what got to her. She was enjoying the show! She cried all the way until we were almost home. Then stopped and play like normal. Daddy won't know how tough it was if I hadn't video it. Yes, I video it! The first I have done on her crying. Sigh! Motherhood....I am having a bit of Monday blue because of the tough episod. Like, what did I do wrong? What else can I do? So, I signed up this toddler parenting class starting this Sat...there, my one weekend pm gone...for I think, 8 lessons!

mspiggy - i saw ur ur blog post on the hairstylist one.

W soooooo cute. somemore got sound effect leh! hahahha (but we also can see how hiao someone is lah... W learn from Someone one mah!! haha)

playtime - I went to... nice show for our age tots.
aiming for the next one in aug liao. hehe

Parenting course - notice u always hv such course. is it really useful?

<font face="tahoma"> MTDT,
WAHAHAHAHAAA...... SOMEONE hor??? but alot of pple saying Wes takes over PaPa more! kekekeee </font>

MTDT
No leh...where got? Oh, there was this with Gary Ezzo - but ended up didn't go. This is a different one, bo bian...try lah. I read quite a bit. Find some of the tips really useful. Mainly learnt from books and you mommies.
But my girl a tough one...have to learn more...and also to see if can find other mommies with equal tough nuts around. So that can share strategies...keke.

joyfulmum
hahah yes, we were sitting down to let N eat her snacks then saw u &amp; G...din dare interrupt cos know u were disciplining her...my hb went "wow! this lil ger can really cry so loud &amp; for so long!" But we were both so proud of u for not giving in to her...

Lyn
Potty training. No hard and fast rule about it actually. For a start, she has been seeing me wee wee so knows what it is. Then I got her a potty last week and put her on it as and when I remember (I hear solid training involves putting them on the potty every hour). I also bought a potty book which I read to her whilst she's sitting on her throne (it tells about a little boy Mac who wants to be potty trained and the steps required, and I also cement it with letting her watch Elmo potty youtube)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PqLMcyUFrSA

Last week, each time she managed to wee wee or poo poo, we will praise her lavishly. Intermittently we will ask her if she wanna wee wee or poo poo, and many times, she fly kite on us, said yes, sat on her no throne, and nothing came out. Today she woke up and said she wanna wee wee, we thought she was joking, but she gave us that huge potty. So I think it takes time, and many false alarms, but will get there. All the best in it.

Cherri,
You don't know how thick skin I have become after becoming a mother. I have to keep telling myself to calm down, pray big time. Then have to remind myself, cannot give it. Coz she will learn that crying helps her to get away with things and cry even longer and louder. So have to ignore all the stares and question marks. Think at a point of time, there are 2 ladies thought she was lost coz I was walking away. Then, they turned and saw me there with black face. Cham!

ANyway, on the way home, I have to acknowledge her feelings...say that I know you are angry. It is ok to get angry sometimes but need to learn to control so that won't hurt ppe. When you are sad, mommy is very sad too. bla bla.....then, she stopped! Suppose to take MRT, ended up go home with taxi! And my arms sore struggling with her + risking being maybe video and put on utube by some passerby who think I am a siao mother or some cruel stepmom.

Joy
You are doing great stuff with G, keep it going. S and G same gang one lah, v commando kids these. I use a lot of the "Pretend" to eat tip from you on S, it works, at least she reduces the # of times she put things in her mouth.

Cheri
S is a water babe, so I extrapolated her usual behaviour by plonking her direct into the deep end. Ya lor, now gotta slowly repair.

MTDT...

TOYS SALES.... Ala.. i more interested in the fox one... Think i will go tmr.. hahahahhahaha

Lunch time go lok yang... evening go fox... nite go toy r us... hahahahha

MT,
I suggest wait for Explorer to open then explore lah, but i dunno when it'd open.
Ferris Wheel $6.50/ head, under 130cm needs adult accompaniment (ie. another ticket!). Going to let the kids try this thursday if they r still awake after a long day out and evening BBQ at my place! (doesn't sound optimistic)

joyfulmom,
agree kudos to u. To be totally honest, i didn't understand what u meant in ur posts... i tot, how loud can a GIRL be? :p Until that day at my place, then I realised, woah. Ur darling's a spirited one, challenging for YOU, but u r doing just SWELL.

Wen,
Nowadays, A also starting to cry out loud when he dun like something. I wonder what have I done wrong too...
It started after I gave birth to BnC
When B or C cries, he will also cry sometimes. Very loud with tears that kind... I also at a lost now.
Think I am getting very impatient also. Gotta really control my own emotions and keep calm. This morning, home alone with ABC again. I made A cried
He wanted to ransack my cupboards in the bathroom and I carried him out. I got no patience to ask him nicely to stop ransacking.

Did you take up May's course? Starting on 10 May. I should be going for it. But gotta arrange my time a bit...

MT,
oh I went to the new mall yesterday evening, today lunch... and now my girl's off there again with my mum. Sometimes I think having supermkt too near makes us absolutely inefficient and wastes time. We end up popping by too often, instead of one-shot BULK grocery shopping.
I'm trying to switch to BULK shopping, be more disciplined and save time!

Lyn,
me and several of my frens experienced adjustmt issues from the Eldest, when Siblings arrive.
1 fren's kid rejected the dad, another rejected the mum, mine was tearful lots. She din express thru tantrums, but in a more subtle way... hard to explain, can read her confusion of feelings at that time. If I had ignored, it wld be double-whammy repercussions down the road. I guess it's very hard for them to understand or comprehend, at this tender age. Need lots of reassurance, 1:1, special bonding time, and eventually things will work out.

At one point, I was singing to Ath every night after she slept, "Athena is special, Athena is perfect, Mummy loves Athena, Mummy loves You." Kinda like the 5min suggestion, but in song cos err, it sounds better in song when repeated OVER and OVER. :p

Now Ath's adjusted to HAVING A SIBLING. She gets jealous, but also cos she's abit older now, she can handle ALOT BETTER. Only little hissy fits now and then, nothing like what she was exhibiting intially. So it does get better

Paula : East Coast Apartments/Condo - have nice places !!! there is one just across from me !! i'll drive by tonight to catch a look at the name then u can go and check it out

Nao : well done on the potty training !!!
aiyo, go easy on her with swimming la. She is already very gungho, compared to my K !!!

Lyn/Joy/PP : Toddler/terrible twos ?? Are they crying more cuz they are approaching the terrible 2 ???
I also feel bad once in a while when i lose my patience

On Sat, i brought K out alone to erm, heehe shop and meet some friends.
had to do a nappy change at Raffles City nursery, and afer the change, she insisted on sitting on the small cute chairs there. I let her, for like 1 min, then took her hands to bring her out, and she started struggling and crying !!! I felt really bad, but we had to go (cuz friends waiting for us) and i literally dragged her out of the room
(((
I also can imagine ppl giving me strange looks - like this silly heavily pregnant mommy does not know how to control her toddler !!!

Lyn : how do you take A/B/C out ?? In 2 strollers ?? can u sling the twins together ? heehe, dont think so right ? sorry la, sillty qn !!

Joyfulmom : i asked k if she wanted to go school today, and she said yes, so i asked who u wanted to meet in school and she kept repeating Gabby Gabby Gabby !!!

cheri

yaloh...$2700 lei..but i didnt got the chance to ask much details.the lady on the phone was very impatient n rude...maybe will call again 2morow...

joyfulmum

u not alone..celest oso always throw tantrum outside.she will eat/lie on the floor n cry etc...i will tok to her nicely..then after tt i get angrier...then i will just walk away..n she will cry even louder...then bo bian she will run n chase aft me...very thick face hor...my hubby always will siam when he saw he like tt...

Lyn,
Think A is just feeling insecured. It is a hugh change and it is stressful for him. G was acting funny last week coz we had been changing her from room to room, plus some other adjustmetns at home...she was a bit confused and I could see her feeling insecured.

I read in Terrific Toddlers, one of the best way to help a tot to feel secure is to spend about 30 min of 1:1 time with him in the morning, say, after breakfast. Make it into a special time just between you and him. Have heart to heart talk and do things taht he likes. That helps builds a special sense of security and they will be less sticky the rest of the day. If 30 min is impossible, try at least 10 min a day. Try for a few weeks. Coz some kids learn faster and will fall into the routine easier. Some may take up to months before it reaps result. But this is a tip that is highly recommended.

On routine - maybe with B&amp;C, lots of routine are kind of out. At 2, tots like routine coz it gives them a sense of control. And yes, they like to control otherwise we won't have terrible 2 syndrome. So, maybe can examine this area too and see if routine has changed too drastically and if you need to introduce more stability, hopefully, with some help around.

Angeline,
Maybe should let G and C go out together. See how they fight...who knows, they become best friends..haha. You know, I had a friend overseas who have a tough girl. When they met, they clicked immediately - like old friends. So funny...

ange,
if u REALLY want to VBAC, go try, at least no regrets even if unsuccessful.
I switched gynae to Dr PT, in the end *didn't* manage to, based on his advice and how things went in the end (cervix not ripe at full-term, big baby, large head circumference). Abit xin-suan-suan abt it esp when I hear success stories, but at least I tried.

Since u r pretty advanced, u can just hav consultation with Dr PT, on ur CHANCES. And evaluate fr there whether to continue with current, or switch gynae.

Joyful,
I think I know another mum, her approach is always positive and "seen fr the child's perspective". Basically for every so-called tantrum, she looks at it from the child's perspective to see what set it off, boredom, tiredness, or a normal assertion of choice/ independence. She doesn't expect the child to march to her beat... aiyah wun go into reasons but u get her wavelength.

Her approach takes ALOT of effort, and some other mums may see it as "spoiling" but the child, but I don't see it that way.

<font face="tahoma"> lyn &amp; joyfulmom,
i think our tods are at this age of TTs, Wes also started crying when things are not according to his way. no matter how nicely i tried to explain, he simply refused to hear. i too lost my patience a few times...

Poohy,
It is directly opposite Courts, right behind the Singapore Church. Nice location.

Lyn,
Last transaction for 4 bedroom units recorded at 1.285mil. I am now in haggling war! Haha. Hubby plans to stay there for 3 to5 years, then in the meanwhile, secure another freehold unit near Bukit Timah area that will TOP in 2010 or 2011 then move in freehold and rent out Raintree. Cos the monthly rental can fetch about S$6500.

K_Ong,
Muacks muacks … but first preference still in Bukit Timah lei. Keke.

Sorry to interrupt. I have 2 boys of preschool age and want to send them to school. May I find out from you what are the important factors that you all consider when choosing a preschool? Ie. teacher-to-student ratio? Price? Curriculum?

wen
hahah dun worry, if u got videoed on the youtube, i'll vouch for u!

aishite
no worries lah, i'm sure S still likes the water then. just keep the floats away hahah

joyfulmum

haha...2 fighter fight together..but wait celest hit G,i will be very paiseh...

pp

wah..ur fren really have a very high tolerance...n shd be very patience with the kids...peifu..dun tink i can do tt to celest..today already scream at her for a few times liao...u mean during Ath time, it was a c-sect?tts wats bothering me now...if i change,wait c-sect again...i tink i will be like u...furthermore,will incur more cost n my hb sure will nag me forever...anyway,i got until my next appt b4 i decide..hehe...

Eh mummies
Wanna do a birthday bash for our kiddies or not?Potluck style, also a chance for us to catch up with one another and see how our tots have grown. The one we had last year was really fun!

I suspect this year's turnout, if we have one, will be light, given so many have just delivered and may not be convenient to step out of their house.

How? Keen? Vote yes or no and I will collate and source for venues and dates later.

Closing date of reply is 2 May, Fri.

Angeline, if you really feel like going for VBAC, then go for it, otherwise you might regret not trying in case in future you decided not to have #3. Like what pp said, if it din work out, at least you know you have tried.

Aishite, congrats on successfully potty-training Shannon. Its never too late to start. Even though I started Jerica on potty very long ago, I am ashamed to say that till now she is not fully potty trained yet.

Joy, i find tat you are doing a GREAT job disciplining Gabby, I really peifu you for having such patience and tolerance with her, sometimes I just cannot take it and will scream or yell at Jerica when she throw tantrums or behaves unreasonably.

PP, thank you for sharing how you handle Ath's change of behaviour and moods when you were expecting Irvin. I can use as reference in future.

Lyn, give A more time to adapt. Its normal that he will feel insecure and wants some attention as he may not truly understand why suddenly there are 2 babies living in his house and mummy no longer spend as much time with him as before.

Morning,

Yes yes i m keen on the birthday bash.. still rem the last one.. so fun..

Yes, agree with all munmmies that our child is going through TT.. sometimes ethan is also very naughty and doesn't want to listen to us.. Btw, i realise that ethan is getting more mature.. he now wants to order his own food whenever we dine out and eat by his own..

Aishite
Congras to your potty training..i fail terribly in this area.. juz can't make him to do it.. he is so funny.. he likes to keep himself to a room and asks us to go away when he wants to ng ng... haha..

Angeline
Go for it if you want to have VBAC. my gynae, Caroline Khi from TMC is very nice.. u can consider her..

Lyn
Yeah maybe A is feeling insecure... slowly he will realize his 2 sisters are fun to play wiht.. Ethan at first is quite scared of his didi, but gradually he realizes that didi is fun and now they r enjoying themselves.. but of coz they do fight..

Btw, anyone knows how to stop our children from fighting?? Sometimes my 2 boys will snatch toys from each other.. if i give it to 1, the other will cry.. if i take away from both, both will cry.. faint..

Lyn,

Now you have 3, I would recommend these sets of books: Terrific Toddlers One and Two.

In Terrific Toddlers One

The refreshing message of Terrific Toddlers is that as a parent, you can make a difference in your toddler's behaviour. In her straightforward and practical books, Mel Hayde is profoundly positive - encouraging parents to proactively guide and train their children.

She firmly believes in the calm consistency of a flexible routine. In this environment, mothers more frequently feel calm and in control, and toddlers can learn the self-control they require to play happily with others and alone, to share, to be polite and to obey.

Terrific Toddlers will inspire you to make a difference in your home – establishing a degree of order that suits your lifestyle and personality, and giving your children the lifelong gift of learning to control their words and actions. The needs of all family members are met, and the joy of parenting becomes a reality. Be positive and proactive, and enjoy your toddler!

Book One

Contents1.A picture Story 2.Positive Parenting3.Managing Anger4.Some Basics5.The Root Cause6.Advantages7.Balancing Act8.Flexibility9.Toddler Activities – part one10.Toddler Activities – part two11.Other Activities12.Motivating Behaviour13.Implementation14.More than One15.Questions16.Dad to Dad (by Kris Hayde)

In Terrific Toddlers Two

Mel Hayde builds on the opportunities for training self-control which she introduced in her first book – ideas which inspired countless mothers to manage their families in a positive way, maximising harmony. She shares many practical tips on teaching kindness, helpfulness, cheerfulness, obedience; reinforcing the idea that as parents we have the enormous privilege of training our children’s hearts.

She maintains the balance between theory and practice without becoming prescriptive, encouraging parents to examine the model they are presenting and to have a plan for what they wish to teach. Using everyday activities as training opportunities to instil positive virtues lends meaning to the cyclical nature of most women’s lives. This is immensely encouraging and will enable mothers to train their toddlers to not just be good, but to be the best that they can be.

Be inspired to relish your role and enjoy your children!

Book Two

Contents1.Flexible Routine2.Parental Model3.Daily Life4.Self-control5.Obedience6.Speech7.Kindness8.Patience9.Sibling Friendships10.Helpfulness11.Cheerfulness12.Questions13.Dad To Dad (by Kris Hayde)14.Fun

pp - are u referring to Kelly? I find tat she is just like wat u say, v good with her kids.

Aishite - sure...

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+2">Birthday Bash Votes :</font></font>

1) Spicegal
2) Peng
3) Joyfulmom
4) MTDT
5) Celeste (depends on date)