(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

leejen

u can try the taibaobi, they charge abt $38 for that service. alternatively, u can try Jin Long Zi but charges is higher. both shifu will provide a booklet and explanation of the name. Hope that helps

hehe....my fav topic...insurance. For travel insurance, if your hubby is SAF regular or reservist....can check out SAF-EZ travel. The basic cover plan should be one of the lowest.

One word of advice, when you buy travel insurance...check that it covers post-medical cover. Some insurance companies, if you never see the doc when overseas, you will not be able to claim for your medical bills incurred in Singapore upon your return. Especially for small kids, they tend to suddenly fall ill upon return from a short trip. AIG provides 7 days grace whereby I can still bring dd to see the doc and claim back the expenses.

hee-hee, why I know, in my old job...I use to help activate travel insurance over the telephone line.

Chinese name :
Actually I am not particular but since fil travel to china frequently for biz...fil will take the ba-zhi for the china priest (dunno what you call them) for the character. The 1st one was really good cos he came back with a poem to explain why certain strokes were required my 1st dd's name. In singapore, everyone seems to recommend You Long zhi @ Geylang.

Speechwise :
Amber does speak a few words especially when she's in a generous mood words like 'daddy', 'phoebe' (my dog's name), 'ashley', 'mum-mum', 'nan-nan'. Otherwise, she's babbling a lot of glibberish which we have no idea she's talking about.

Detergent :
For my dd1, we used Pigeon baby detergent till Ashley was 1plus years old. But for Amber, think we stopped when she was ard 6mths old...my mum felt that the helper tended to use too much of the detergent power so she finally decided that it's okay to use normal washing powder.

Why this thread so quiet liao? Where are the rest of the mummies????

<u>Speech</u>

Baby girls speak faster right? My boy can say the basics like 'paapaa', 'maamaa', 'nainaii, 'bus', 'ball', 'bubble', 'apple' etc
But he can sign more stuffs!

Thanks ah K, I will look into Aviva nearer to my hols

Just want to share:

Sien: Mama
Me: Yes.
Sien: nanana (take)
Me: You want the food?
Sien(nods head)
Me: Give mama a kiss.
Sien then gives me a big kiss and that made my day. Still floating on cloud nine... hahaha

I am not worrying because he's walking already

Just want to check, do you buy hard or soft sole shoes for them now? I find he prefer to walk without shoes on.

wow

seems most of the babies start walking liao hor..

my gal still cruising...

fates, u wanna try pigeon shoe...is kind of mid cut shoes. veri soft.my elder gal used to have a pair and seems veri comfy for her coz she kept insisting wearing tat pair even she alreadi outgrow liao...

<font color="0000ff">shawny & fates,
Thanks for the reply on insurance. Maybe I'd do some readup first but am very blur about financial jargons. Urggg ...

Which brand of disposable diapers are your tots using now? My Nepia is running out and am thinking whether to switch brands as I was told that the recent batches have some leaking issues. Is it true?</font>

Fates

Soft shoes gives little support. For hard shoes, you need to let them get used to the shoes. Sien has both. But she prefers the hard ones. I got mine from collette....

bbloh
Disposable diapers used is drypantz when going out. At home NTUC housebrand. At night Pampers Pre. She has ants in the pants while outside and refuses to sit down and change when outside.

Crazy me
Today, I was talking to my friend who is a pregger. I MISS THE BABY KICKING IN ME! I want to be preggie again!!! Hahahahaha....

bbloh, you are welcome. Do check out this other insurance thread for more information.

Regarding disposable diapers...I have been using Drypers since Ashley's time. Hardly have any leakage...and when it happens, more likely it was caused by the fact that the diaper was not properly worn.

<font color="0000ff">gabby,
I bought NTUC disposables last weekend but it bruised my DS' skin between his hip and thigh. So heart pain! Si'en doesn't face this problem?</font>

Hmmm must get them used to the hard-sole shoes huh? Okok..
Thanks pooh! I will bring J to try out the pigeon shoes

Any good reviews on Clarks shoes?

Disposable diapers

Very similar to gabby, been using Drypers/Nepia during the day, and Pampers Premium during the night for J. Strictly pantz when we go out as it's impossible to get him lie down for diaper changing now. Sometimes at home, I'll let J wear Bumwear! Wanna save $$ on diapers and it's environment friendly

bbloh

Sien does not have any problem.

In fact she has been using them since she could wear M. never tried other brands on her. My mum does not like drypers, mil does not like petpet. so no choice use NTUC as everyone finds it okay...

fates,

My Bumwears has been sitting in my closet even before Ariel's born.. and it is still sitting there now.. muahahahah~

Who wants to buy my BumWear??

any mummy brought their 1 year old to the dentist yet just to intro them to check ups? Any good dentist to recommend? oso, how do u know whether u r really brushing their teeth? i'm using the brush now but somehow just swipe around oso not sure if really clean or not...plus she's struggling or resisting so have to do it quick quick...

how many naps r ur babies having now? i'm thinking of pushing my ger's morning nap later so that she will take only one nap and then sleep earlier in the nite. but not sure if she'll get enough sleep.

Hi all ,

i m looking for this doctor , Dr Lee Seow Lang , from CHYE CHILDREN CLINIC ... previous add of her clinic is at Toa payoh Blk 54 , but she moved already ... any one know where is she now ? pls email / PM me : [email protected]

thank

sponge,

Why not let Ariel try the bumwear?? It's quite good leh! I like it actually, as it's gentle on their skin. The downside is we gotta wash them after use

fates, ur bb using bumwear pull up??

i have one which i got for my elder gal when i'm trying to toilet train her..is kind of thick leh..find it funny when she wears it to walk...now white elephant ..kekeke

afternoon mummies....

pooh, where to find pigeon shoes? im still finding nice and comfy shoe for jen. by the way, my ger still cannot walk yet.

bbloh ar, im using nepia pants daytime, quite good, night time is mamypoko. so far, so good.

fates...my colleague's son wearing clarks shoes, she have a feedback on it, the shoe is quite hard at the sole there, not flexible/bendable enuff.

leenjen

i saw the pigeon shoes at bugis seiyu before..but dnt know now have ant...taka and isetan will have pigeon shoe.

HTH

hi leejen,
bugis and isetan confirm have the pigeon shoes. But hor, their soles is the hard kind. May wanna let J try when she's older...

Bugis also carry the brand Combi. For more ranges, u may wanna check out Combi distributor called Tai Sing located at North Bridge Road.

actually i tot those soft sole shoes not bad. i've shoo shoos and jack n lily...find that it's quite comfy on my gal lei.

Now intending to try pediped...

ino,
the soft soles are good when they just started walking...but once they are stable, you might find that the soft shoes are lacking in support and slippery.
thats my experience lah...1st week, soft soles, then move on to sandels liao.
Pediped is good but lack of friction.

ya. agree wif Ivy. When start to walk, mst get a pair of gd shoes wif friction. if not, dangerous sia

wow, ivy, ur boy how many pair of shoes/ sandals liao? Once they start walking and growing, ur storeroom will have lots of shoes coz have to get new ones once they outgrow!

oh i see...i tot the pediped has friction...hehe...my gal still not walking yet...only cruising...that's why i felt that it's more comfortable for her to wear soft sole shoes at the moment. Yeah...will take yr advice to change to hard sole ones when she becomes a serious walker...hehe

pooh...
haha...he got 2 pairs of jack and lily, 1 pair of BATA, 1 pair colette, 1 pair of Gymbor, 1 pair of disney.
Out of which, only 2 pairs can fit in now!!!haha..
6 pairs seems a lot but i think lesser than his gf lah! opps!

oh, actually soft shoes, ive got 3 bobux, i find the sole quite not solid enuff, u know what i mean, coz sometimes jen wanna walk wif my assistance at shopping mall, letting her walk on bobux, i don't feel ease, thinking to buy shoe with sole, at least when she step on something, the sole is there to protect, never koe got needles or wat.

ever heard of aprica brand? i saw it at stores, however quite boyish looking, so i didn't buy.

Ivy,

That's needless to say leh! Girls will forever have MORE shoes than guys

J has a Combi shoe...it's hard sole but very comfortable in my opinion. He don't have those soft soles ones.....so cartoonish.....

Yes leejen, saw the apricas range before. V nice too!

leejen...the pigeon and combi ones are a little boyish (in my opinion) but i like the padding lor.

but i saw more girly range for combi at tai sing.

combi is cheaper than pigeon...hehe...tink half the price. Pigeon ones are around $60...more ex than adult shoes wor....haiz...our lil ones are truly expensive...the cheapest combi i saw is at isetan when they have private sale (so mummies, go apply for the isetan card). They were going for $15 a pair!

leejen

u can go to colette and take a look also. they have many nice soft sole (bendables) shoes also..reasonably prciced.

<font color="0000ff">Baby's shoes
I have 2 pairs - a pair of soft sole and a pair of hard sole (Disney). Yet to let my boy wear them as he's still learning to walk. I just let him wear socks during outing.

Vaccinations
Is there any anti-vax mums around? Some parents mentioned that MMR (Measles, Mumps, Rubella) jab can lead to autism and there's a rising trend of people not bringing their kids for vax until they are older. The parents feel that it's not good to introduce so much virus into their little bodies. fyi, the only compulsory jabs are Measles (not MMR) and Diphtheria. The rest are recommended only.

http://www.moh.gov.sg/mohcorp/legislations.aspx?id=4450</font>

bbloh,
ha, i am one of the anti-vax mummy. Thats why i keep delaying p-jab too...definitely not taking chix pox jab either...
for MMR, i did heard about it. But so far no proof yet. Thanks for the link, let me go and read more about it!

pooh and leejen - yes, i oso bought colette for my girl's first pair of hard soled shoes, very comfy, sole can bend and good price. Now GSS, got 20% storewide discount somemore...thinking of getting one more bigger size pair for her. Must go vivo city outlet, more designs to choose from.

before that she wore shoo shoo...now she can walk a little, so we try to let her practise more and let her down to walk whenever it's safe to outside. So she needs the hard soled shoes.

Ivy

Hi^5 !! Me also did not give chicken pox jabs to my gals. not 100% guaranteed also. anyway, my friend's 3 kids had the chicken pox jabs but still kana chicken pox but mild type lor.

if X not goin to childcare/ school, u can delay P-jab lor.

MMR jabs can really lead to autism?? Opps..i better go read the article. Thanks bbloh~

pooh,
You did not give chix pox jabs to your gals too huh? Me in two hearts now..

I let my girl take the chicken pox jab reluctantly.. cos the PD keep stressing how impt it was blah blah.. Ariel still hasnt take her pneumoccocal jab too.. am dragging this jab til she goes to childcare.

Fates

my 2 gals din take chix jabs at all. even rotavirus, no2 din take also...As for my no1, during her time, no rotavirus ..

i think the main concern of kana chix pox for kids is high fever lor. apart frm that, shld be alrite

re: pnuemococal
wanted to bring no2 for the jab, but she was sick. the nurse can only take the jab 5 days after she fully recovered.

<font color="0000ff">The link that I posted earlier is MOH's regulations that only Measles (not MMR) and Diphtheria are compulsory jabs, not info on MMR jab leading to autism.

For the latter, though it's not proven that MMR jabs lead to autism, but it's also not proven that the jabs do not lead to autism. one of the links is:
http://www.cbsnews.com/blogs/2007/06/15/couricandco/entry2934107.shtml?source=search_blog

Google for more links, ya.

fyi, Japan Green Clinic (Paragon) do carry single measles mercury free jab.</font>

<font color="0000ff">This lady submitted a proposal to the Waste Cut Panel regarding Vaccinations. The details are:</font>

Date: Jun 17, 2007 1:02 AM
Subject: Acknowledgement email.
To: [email protected]

Dear Sir/Madam,

We have received the suggestion below that gave your email address for contact purposes. Please let us know immediately if you were not the person who sent the suggestion. Thank you.

Name: CAROL LOI PUI WAN

Email: [email protected]

Contact Number: 98476180

Category: Health

Subject: Vaccincations

Suggestion: I refer to the CBS News article at this link:
http://www.cbsnews.com/blogs/2007/06/15/couricandco/entry2934107.shtml?source=search_blog

I would like to suggest that MOH reviews the list of compulsory vaccinations, with the aim to shorten the list to as few as possible. There are risks involved in vaccination. While there is no definitive study linking vaccines to autism or ADD, but there is also no study definitively disproving a link. Since there is free vaccination at polyclinics, shortening the list would reduce government expenditure, at the same time reducing potential risks, especially to those who genetically do not take well to vaccination.

I would like take this opportunity (since MOH officials will be looking at this) to ask the following questions:

a. Re point 7 of the article: Is the test described by the scientist who testified in The Vaccine Court (to test children for a hidden hole in their immune make-up that makes them susceptible to bad immune reactions from vaccinations) available in Singapore? If so, where? If not, why?

b. What are MOH''s efforts in trying to maximize the potential benefits of vaccines and minimize the harm?

Further, I would like to suggest that new parents be fully informed of the benefits and risks of vaccinations though MOH. Just as the list of compulsory vaccinations is given to new parents, there should be an accompanying list describing how vaccines work, potential side effects and reasons for them, and more importantly, the risks involved. This will allow new parents to make informed decisions instead of subjecting their babies to injections automatically, or just because they are legally required to get into schools. The latter is an oppressive way to force parents to comply instead of allowing parents to have the flexibility to decide what is best for their child.

Yours Sincerely,
Alvin Goh
Cut Waste Panel Secretariat
http://www.cutwaste.gov.sg

Hi Ino,

Really ah? Combi shoes so comfy? Got padding? The friction at the soles are enough? I got Isetan card leh. So, the next sale i shd chiong there man
We shd make appt to go together :p

Which other brands of shoes are good as in good friction for sole but comfy for wearing?

My boy is walking alot at home now, can even run sometimes but outside we try not to let him walk too much though he is super eager to walk outside.

He has 1 Disney shoe and the rest are all Fox ones. How come no one buys FOX shoes here? No good ah?

Cheers.

<font color="0000ff">Wow! A day at Singapore Botanic Gardens really seems blissful. Just checked the website and it's stated that there's a Family Film Fest this Sat (30 Jun), 6 - 10pm.

854431.jpg

Is parking convenient over there?</font>

bbloh..
parking will be tight if you gog to the Symphony Stage. ( Evans entrance)
but you can park at the other entrance (tanglin gate), and walk over. Eh..thats abt 20mins walk hor.

timing wise, 6-10pm, not very ideal leh. BB slpg time ard 8.

<font color="0000ff">Ivy,
Thks for the info. I've not been to SBG since childhood days. Guess I won't be attending the a/m too as my DS also sleep at 8+ pm. Maybe will schedule a visit on one of the weekend afternoons.</font>